Bewertungen für eBay Software Engineer III | Glassdoor.de

eBay Bewertungen für Software Engineer III

Aktualisiert am 29. Jun 2018

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
76%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
eBay CEO Scott Schenkel (no image)
Scott Schenkel
0 Bewertungen
  1. „Great employee treatment. Less innovation than desired”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer III in Santa Clara, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei eBay (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Employees are treated well. They get what they deserve. The teams work on good technologies

    Kontras

    There is less innovation until now. The industry is full of giants who dare to go into different ventures

    Rat an das Management

    Please invest in innovation and buying startups etc.

    eBay2018-06-30
  2. „This is a decent place to work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Software Engineer III in San Jose, CA

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei eBay ()

    Pros

    Okayish career growth Good work culture and teammates in most of the teams

    Kontras

    Lack of diversity Aggressive growth and diversification strategy

    eBay2017-08-19
  3. Hilfreich (15)

    „Average company which lives in 2000's”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer III in San Jose, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei eBay (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    * Big company * CEO has vision (but it will take years to change the engineering team culture) * People recognize it (Although they seem to be sad that you are working there and start asking why you are not working at Amazon) * Good work life balance * Some colleagues very helpful and knowledgable * Free breakfast

    Kontras

    * They mostly hire average people. If you are above average, you will have a hard time growing. Your ideas get shot down, you get resistance from low performers. *Most senior people wont help you learn the process and tools and there is very less documentation about them. I believe this is a way to keep your seat: Do not write documentation so you cannot be replaced easily by a better engineer. *If you are... average or below average you are in paradise. You will get promoted even if you just do minimal work but stay in the company. No incentive to care about the product, the code , or whatever you are doing. * They don't keep up with the technology at all. For almost every tool, they use a custom in-house built one which is 3x worse than an open source one everybody out there is using. * After spending years here you will learn almost nothing new because everything is custom made. It is only relevant if you stay at eBay. If you leave, that knowledge is not valid anywhere else. That is why senior engineers are trying to save their seats by politics and not allowing new engineers to learn. * To write one line of product code, you need to learn about 10 custom build frameworks which do not have API documentation. You just keep asking around, creating help tickets.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Fire half the engineering staff and keep the agile, open source minded people who care about code-reviews, coaching new members, owning the product writing good documentation.

    eBay2017-04-27

    Reaktion von eBay

    May 12, 2017Talent Acquisitions

    We appreciate your feedback. As a company that strives for a great work experience for all employees, we are sorry to hear of some of your experiences. We would like you to know that your feedback has been heard.

  4. Hilfreich (5)

    „eBay review from a PD”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer III in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei eBay als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Great team. eBay hires solid people at the individual contributor level. All my co-workers are hard working, intelligent, sharp developers. There's no lack for talent. eBay also has above average compensation and awesome work-life balance. It's a healthy place to work.

    Kontras

    The tech stack. Ebay's technology is years behind it's major competitor - Amazon. It's getting more current, but that takes time. There has been a solid push at the company for the last year or so to revamp old processes, and we're seeing a lot of that work paying off. Middle management seems to lack direction at times. Upper management has a pretty clear vision for company growth, but middle management often... changes the approach to achieve their goals.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Continue investing in technology. Grow by giving your engineers the best tools and opportunities to create great products.

    eBay2016-04-09

    Reaktion von eBay

    May 9, 2016Director - Global Talent Engagement

    Our global talent engagement partners work hard to find top talent and bring them into our workforce - and we are all so fortunate to be surrounded by smart, talented co-workers. We are able to do this with the competitive compensation we offer and positive work-life balance atmosphere. We are glad to know you see our push to improve our current technology, and you are right, it does take time. We will inform upper management of your feedback to continue to invest in technology. We want our engineers to thrive within eBay and to constantly innovate. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your insights.

    Weniger anzeigen
  5. Hilfreich (2)

    „Reorg and internal bureaucracy and just people managers”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer III, Quality in San Jose, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei eBay gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good benefit, which includes decent salary, ESPP and onsite facility. Still a highly reputable company for your resume. Depends on which team you are working with, you may get chance to working on very interesting and innovated project. Majority of people working with you are friendly and decent, of course there are aggressive and self-fish people which you will run into in any company. Company revenue and... profit are very good in comparison to the number of employees and other companies in the industry.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    1. Heavy internal politics and bureaucracy which get engineers involved in daily life. Things are getting done slowly or sideways , some efforts are totally waste. Every half year there will be reorg on the Director or VP level in almost every department. How could you expect them to improve the product as none of them is being hold responsible for long run for new/old product quality. 2. Quite a few managers on... QE side play just people manager and non technical. Yes there are some mangers are very hands-on and technical knowing the real problems, but they are mainly on the developer side. Quite a few first or second level engineering managers on QE side have absolutely NO coding or design or not even decent level of general industry or software development knowledge. They have been in the company for 10 + years and were prompted from manual testers. Some of them do not have any outside eBay experience and some even only work for the same product line for 10+ years. So don't expect them be very supportive on innovation or really understand engineering difficulty and solve the real problems. They are more there acting like project managers but only care you finish it not how you finish it or it is done in the right way. Because of their knowledge limitation, they also not be able to fairly judge team-members work load , contributions and ability. 3. This may differ by team. But most senior QE engineers are self-sustained expect to do lots of manager level job for project & people management (but without given actual power). Manager is almost non-existence and don't care as they are working on "more important" project or some "process improvement" or "planning". Working on day-to-day work won't get them prompted so they pushed the "less important" work to their employees. Manager is only there to send a thank you letter when project is finished. 4. Many projects were done by taking short cut to meet deadline, making the product is hard to maintain and improve later on . Many projects don't even have code review or ERD.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Change the "Step Up" profile of QE side, which is absolute unfair in comparison to other discipline as it has taken more manger's responsibility, especially project management than a developer counter partner. It also has been used by managers as a "tool" to push their tasks to engineers.

    eBay2016-01-02
  6. Hilfreich (3)

    „Stay away”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer III in San Jose, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei eBay gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Decent salary, health benefits. Free soda, coffee. Sabbatical every 5 years. Onsite Gym.

    Kontras

    Pathetic work life balance. I would say none. Working late nights and weekends is a norm. It is not expected but is required to survive the tight deadlines and pressure put on you. Management driven, engineers have no say. Limited career growth.

    eBay2015-12-23
  7. „Good Experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Praktikant - Software Engineer III in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei eBay als gearbeitet

    Pros

    Time is flexible, project is awesome

    Kontras

    I need to have lunch myself, and I can't work from home

    Rat an das Management

    Let us work from home, and give us better laptops lol

    eBay2015-09-18
  8. „Great Compeny”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Software Engineer III in Netanja
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei eBay ()

    Pros

    life work balance is very important to junior and senior management

    Kontras

    for now there are no cons that I can think about

    eBay2015-09-02
  9. Hilfreich (3)

    „May be good. May be bad. It depends on lot of things”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer III in San Jose, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei eBay (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    There are some really good teams to work for (which I am in). They reward hard work well. They have great learning resources like trainings, conferences etc Easy to switch between teams and gain good knowledge of whole domain

    Kontras

    Most of the decisions are made based on bureaucracy, rather than technology. ebay management loves rewriting projects again and again. There are directors and VP's who make their teams work on certain already existing projects just to keep their ego Everything moves like a snail. It takes forever and ever to make any decisions They still use technologies like clearcase (Mother of all torture development tools)

    Rat an das Management

    Please stop making decisions based on politics. Use a little bit of common sense to understand why you are writing new project which are already existing and new one you are writing is not making anything better than existing ones.

    eBay2015-08-31
  10. „Software Development Engineer II”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer III in San Jose, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei eBay (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Lots of long timers and have expert knowledge. Many new technologies being used in the company. Company culture is chilled.

    Kontras

    Depending upon the team there would be pager duty as well which can be really hectic if the system is not designed good

    Rat an das Management

    Should provide more stock and salary to employees as it is not upto the mark with other tech companies. Also it falls slightly short in terms of benefits provided.

    eBay2015-08-14
29 Bewertungen gefunden