Arbeitgeberbewertungen für World Wide Technology | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für World Wide Technology

Aktualisiert am 20. Februar 2019
748 Bewertungen

Filter

Filter


3,9
StarStarStarStarStar
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
World Wide Technology CEO Jim Kavanaugh
Jim Kavanaugh
579 Bewertungen

Mitarbeiter-Bewertungen

Sortieren: BeliebtheitSterneDatum

  1. Hilfreich (3)

    „Behind the scenes, getting better”

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung & Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Cable Technician in Edwardsville, IL (Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika)
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Cable Technician in Edwardsville, IL (Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika)
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite in Vollzeit bei World Wide Technology (mehr als ein Jahr)

    Pros

    Upper management that honestly cares about their employees. Best benefits package possible. Core values and standards you can be proud of.

    Kontras

    A lot of growing pains at Edwardsville. With the pace of our growth, there are always problems that need addressed. For a long time, morale was super low, then it got better when concerns were addressed, now it's going back down because a lot of people feel like they've been duped with empty promises.

    Also, a lot of people are complaining about the new headphone policy. Well... We've kind of brought this on ourselves, guys. Too many people were playing around on their phones, then saying they were just changing their music. It got pretty out of hand. How it was handled, though, was kind of ridiculous... Saying it was a safety issue and headphones could damage our hearing.... That's just downright dishonest. Not sure if this is the safety team trying to justify their existence or someone else using the safety team to come up with weird excuses to get people off their phones... But.... If everyone worked as much as they played on their phones, they probably wouldn't have ruined it for the rest of us.

    Rat an das Management

    Communication is key right now, guys. A lot of lower-level employees have no idea what you guys are doing behind the scenes. They think that Jim was blowing smoke up their rears at the Town Hall meeting when he addressed the issues that were brought up. The work that you guys are doing on the compensation plan and career advancement path should be communicated to everyone down the chain so they know you haven't forgotten about us. It takes time to fix a broken system, but it's good to know that you are at least working on it, even if it's taking longer than originally planned. As far as headphones go: instead of taking all headphones, supervisors and leads should be enforcing existing policies and writing people up when they get caught on YouTube or twitch or fortnight or whatever.

    Advice to techs: hang in there. Good things are coming, right around the corner. There are a lot of things being tested and implemented behind the scenes that are going to be great for everyone. They just haven't been communicated to you very well. They're working on all the things that were addressed, and more, and haven't forgotten you. Hang in there a little bit longer and you'll see what I'm talking about. It's better that they get the system in place completely functional than rolling it out partially and making change after change down the road.

    Things to look forward to: new job titles, organization, and pay rates are being worked on still. There will also be a clearer path for people to advance within the company - a path to get where you want to go along with what you need to accomplish and learn to get to that point. Metrics will allow tracking of employees' workload, proficiency, and skill level and allow management to make more informed decisions when handling raises and promotions. Hopefully, this will all lead to a more performance-based system, as it should be, and those who put in the extra effort will begin to be rewarded for it. Again, hang in there, guys. There's a LOT that's going on that isn't directly communicated to lower-level employees unless we ask the right people. We're getting there.

    Antwort von World Wide Technology

    20. Feb 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you. I agree that communication and transparency are so important and often underestimated. I really appreciate you sharing this.


  2. Hilfreich (5)

    „Great company, great benefits, but needs focus on the right people”

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung & Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite in Vollzeit bei World Wide Technology (Über 10 Jahre)

    Pros

    I work at the Edwardsville LKV facility, in one of the major programs that has seen consistent growth and success year after year. In my tenure, I lived through and have seen improvements and greatly appreciate the efforts of all that helped make things better, starting with the executive team’s focus on culture first and the empowerment to allow employees on all levels to challenge and voice their opinions but also make a difference by submitting improvement ideas. I have had great support from management, HR and people I work with everyday. Management/leadership is available and engaged on the floor in most departments and employees have a sense of pride working at the facility. The company has great benefits and the benefits have gotten better as WWT stays competitive year after year against much bigger companies.
    I work with the majority of what I describe as awesome people, with much improved cross functional collaboration between departments and a mentality of teamwork and doing whatever it takes, volumes are crazy at times but the people are what makes a difference and you can see that in the success and longevity of the program. The facility runs round tables and skip levels, also focuses on presenting cultural topics in daily huddles, employee reviews, catering on holidays, recognizing weekly difference makers, engaging in fun contests and even catering drinks & ice cream in hot months, Christmas parties, potlucks, team outings, working on dealing and managing with sporadic volumes from a long term, satisfied customer.
    You see evidence of people that work hard get recognized and continue to grow and embrace opportunities, a lot of people come in when new and can’t believe how much better it is than previous companies they worked for.
    The recent town hall meeting delivered with improved subcontractor conversions, reviews and compensation.

    Kontras

    Not much at this location, at times work life balance is difficult and work in progress but secure employment outweighs this if you have realistic expectations and willing to make the sacrifice. Growth has some pain points and having the time to do it all makes it difficult. There’s good transparency but communication can be always more clear and more effective, everyone normally doesn’t communicate at the same level.

    Overall I see the general cons at WWT that have come out recently as a mix of complacency, entitlement and lack of accountability on multiple levels; things that absolutely do not represent anything from the executive team, especially as they drive coaching peer to peer and management to employees or employees to management. Their drive and humility to build the foundation of this company needs to be enforced, not brought down by people that don’t care or complain. Some do not have a good understanding of the mission and vision and do not practice it, pointing the finger and complaining but never doing anything. It is easy to complain but the hard work and reward is in doing something about it. It is disappointing to see the comments that are out there on glass door, between a mix of empty promises and false expectations. Not everyone is suited for a new position every 6 months and some hop on every opportunity to get pay increase or promotion and leave their managers if they do not get what they want or think they deserve it, some managers are hired and they don’t grow in their roles for different reasons and they affect their teams.
    For those who care, everyone needs to voice their opinion on how great the company is.

    Rat an das Management

    There’s a combination of bad managers and bad employees, and they both need to be coached up or coached out. The burden is clear for an upper manager to investigate all the bad issues while trying to dedicate time on the right people and the business. the burden is also for the good employee that has to compensate for the weak one. Help is needed there. Pay some bad employees out of their roles if needed, to clean up and hire the right people in.
    There are some employees that are victims of the ongoing situation but it’s also up to us all to do what is needed to ensure the continued success of WWT.

    Antwort von World Wide Technology

    12. Feb 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for this comprehensive and constructive feedback. I appreciate you recognizing things we are really trying to improve upon and get right. It's helpful to receive this kind of encouragement... Mehr

  3. Hilfreich (1)

    „Life changing decision”

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung & Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Production Control Manager in Edwardsville, IL (Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika)
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Production Control Manager in Edwardsville, IL (Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika)
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite in Vollzeit bei World Wide Technology (Über 5 Jahre)

    Pros

    I have been employed at WWT for more than 6 years. It has been amazing to see the growth of the company since I have started. I have to say that working at WWT has changed my life in such a positive way, I can hardly put into words how grateful I am. Not only does the company live by their core values, they truly care for the people that work for them. I have had the pleasure of working with some of finest leaders in the industry, who have not only helped me grow professionally but personally as well. Prior to working at WWT, I worked in the financial industry, for another Fortune 500 company, where for 10 years I only felt like a number. At WWT I feel like a valued member of a large family, that continues to grow. Most of my time here has been spent in Operations at LTC, and I feel the leadership here has done a great job balancing the business growth, while maintaining the culture that WWT prides itself on. Not to mention the fact, that the company continues to invest in their employees with the profit sharing, 401K match and incredible insurance. As previously stated, I couldn't be more proud to say that I work for this amazing company and can not thank my leadership teams enough for believing in me and providing me with this opportunity.

    Kontras

    That I didn't start my career here at WWT sooner.

    Rat an das Management

    Continue to listen to your employees that bring constructive areas of opportunities. All of the growing pains that we have experienced over the last couple of years have brought some tough times, but keep your head up, YOU ARE APPRECIATED. I also believe it has been great to see the Executive team's quick response to recent feedback.

    Antwort von World Wide Technology

    20. Feb 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you so much. It's very encouraging to hear this feedback.


  4. Hilfreich (1)

    „Amazing place to work, not always the best place to grow.”

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung & Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Network Engineer in Edwardsville, IL (Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika)
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Network Engineer in Edwardsville, IL (Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika)
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe in Vollzeit bei World Wide Technology gearbeitet (Über 3 Jahre)

    Pros

    The people: Hands down the people are the best part of the company almost everyone is always friendly and willing to help others.
    Management: I had the best manager and supervisor I could have asked for in the position I was in when I left(Networking Team @ NAIC2), they never made me feel left out or unheard and the amount of time they were ready to invest into me was amazing.
    Benefits: I looked into a lot of companies while I was with WWT and I can say with no doubt in my mind that they offer absolutely AMAZING benefits and will be hard to beat no matter where I go.
    Family oriented: Management makes it very clear that family and health comes first for WWT.
    Invested: WWT has made it clear that they're invested in your growth as an employee of theirs.
    They actually LISTEN to their employees no matter the position they're in. Every glass door review they can respond to they do which is pretty awesome.

    Kontras

    Management and career growth: This is the absolute most frustrating part of WWT. The position I started in (RNS Team @ NAIC2) there was too many people and not enough management. I got out of that team when they started implementing management into the team more so I know it's gotten better but it was AWFUL when I started. I actually lost out on a higher job opportunity within the company because I was just a "temp" and no one bothered to tell me that management had changed and with that my new supervisor pulled the rug out from under me 2 weeks before my start date for the new position even though my old supervisor had approved of everything leading up to me getting into the new position. Sure this may seem to be a one time slip up but when there are multiple people being told they're gonna be transferred to another team just to wait around 10 months and maybe finally get moved once the "pipeline" has allowed them to be brought on.
    Growing pains: I'm gonna jump on the bandwagon here because it's as plain as day that it's a thing happening throughout all of WWT. That being said Corporate has not been quiet and they have talked about it ALOT. So far all the promises they made have been true and implemented (although some slower than others) and hopefully it continues in this direction.
    Pay: Just because you offer the best benefits around doesn't mean you shouldn't pay your employees close to average market pay. (They were working on this when I left but I had not seen anything implemented yet)

    Rat an das Management

    Keep your promises. Especially to Temp-to-hire workers who feel like they could be replaced in a heart beat.
    Make management changes clear as day to EVERYONE not just people with a higher position.
    Keep moving in the right direction and reward the workers that bust their butts day in and day out with sometimes no recognition. Along with this employees that go out of their way to get more schooling or certs need to be rewarded with more than just a pat on the back and a "good job".
    Lay out a clear path for career opportunities for EVERYONE at the NAIC2.
    Please stop posting that you're hiring for a certain position just to then tell the interviewee that you're waiting on the "pipeline" to hire you on.
    Corporate please just keep listening to your employees on the floor and I believe this can be a company that anyone would want to work for.

    Antwort von World Wide Technology

    21. Feb 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks and I agree the rapid growth hasn't been easy. Thank you for recognizing the efforts that have been made to make things better. It's encouraging to hear this. I appreciate all your... Mehr


  5. Hilfreich (2)

    „Great place overall.. growing pains”

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung & Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Consulting Systems Engineer
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Consulting Systems Engineer
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite in Vollzeit bei World Wide Technology (Weniger als ein Jahr)

    Pros

    Great place to be. Many positive people and truly a good culture.

    Kontras

    Company is growing up and trying to become a much larger company but is having typical growing pains. Growth without investment at similar scale is always challenging. Especially in professional services.

    Rat an das Management

    Tighten up the go to market messaging around PS and development.

    Antwort von World Wide Technology

    14. Feb 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for this helpful and constructive feedback. I agree, growth isn't easy. Thanks for joining us and helping us!


  6. Hilfreich (1)

    „dont have any”

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung & Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Lab Technician in Edwardsville, IL (Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika)
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Lab Technician in Edwardsville, IL (Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika)
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite in Vollzeit bei World Wide Technology (Über 5 Jahre)

    Pros

    Work schedule great, benefits great, location good, some of the management is good to work for.

    Kontras

    to much favoritism in the lab.

    Rat an das Management

    uplift your employees job well done.

    Antwort von World Wide Technology

    14. Feb 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you.


  7. Hilfreich (3)

    „Great place to work!”

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung & Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Consulting Systems Engineer in London, England (Vereinigtes Königreich)
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Consulting Systems Engineer in London, England (Vereinigtes Königreich)
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite in Vollzeit bei World Wide Technology

    Pros

    It is easy to find out if a company delivers remarkable service or not: just ask their customers!
    WWT in EMEA is obviously doing a great job in their GSP (Global Service Provider) division: just ask their customers (large telcos/communications providers) what they think about WWT and they will no doubt say WWT is an innovative technology partner, that is helping them drive their digital transformation agenda.
    As an employee, WWT is impressive as it has a unique ability to execute! It is a large and established company, but it very much feels like a nimble startup, where you feel empowered to do what is best for the customer.

    Kontras

    Rapid growth inevitably brings a few pain points such as office space and a large volume of projects. However, this is addressed by management straight away as they re-invest in the business and the people.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep up with the good work and excellent organic and innovation-driven growth by the GSP organisation in EMEA. The recipe obviously works!

    Antwort von World Wide Technology

    6. Feb 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you very much. Great to hear from our London TEAM.

  8. Hilfreich (1)

    „Awesome place to work”

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Network Supervisor in Edwardsville, IL (Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika)
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Network Supervisor in Edwardsville, IL (Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika)

    Ich arbeite in Vollzeit bei World Wide Technology (Über 10 Jahre)

    Pros

    Growth,flexibility,benefits,fun environment ,opportunity, people

    Kontras

    Moving to different buildings every several years due to growth

    Antwort von World Wide Technology

    11. Feb 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you. Yes, moving buildings is a lot of work but we need the space. Thanks for your support!


  9. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great, growing company”

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter

    Pros

    The previous company I worked for stressed leadership...all well and good except it led to individuals all seeking to lead, little team work and lots of infighting. WWT leads with core values as the central aspect of what they do. ‘The PATH’ and the integrated management and leadership model are focused on effective team work doing what it takes to serve the customer...and have fun along the way.

    Kontras

    Exponential growth makes it challenging to scale smoothly while blending new joiners with tenured employees. It’s a good problem to have and my experience has been that tenured employees are more than happy to spend time with you to provide context and history so you can become part of the ‘history’ being made.

    Antwort von World Wide Technology

    28. Jan 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Very good feedback. Thank you and good luck.


  10. Hilfreich (1)

    „Best companies to work for”

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung & Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Developer
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Developer
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite in Vollzeit bei World Wide Technology (mehr als ein Jahr)

    Pros

    Culture is the Key. Really believes in employees are key pieces to build a profitable growth company. Health insurance benefits are best. WWT culture motivates employees to perform at the highest level and give their best. Having transparency with management is plus.

    Kontras

    Can't think of anything right now.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep the culture going strong and be the best in the industry.

    Antwort von World Wide Technology

    28. Jan 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you very much.