Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Virtual College | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Virtual College

Aktualisiert am 24. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

4.2
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
82%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
97%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Virtual College CEO Rod Knox
Rod Knox
46 Bewertungen
  1. „A Fun, Caring and Creative Place to Work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Quality Standards Coordinator 
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Virtual College gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    • A caring company that looks after its staff above and beyond anywhere I’ve ever worked before • The freedom to alter processes’, being given the ability to be creative and offer ideas on how things could be changed for the better • Regular Company events including, celebratory events, away days and seasonal parties (Christmas, Halloween, End of Financial Year etc) as well as weekly fruit baskets and the... occasional Hamper to each office

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    • As there are 2 buildings within Ilkley, working in some departments limits you when getting to know people around the business. • Car parking has become a bit of an issue within the last few months due to parking permits being introduced. Although there is a car park you're not guaranteed a space.

    Virtual College2019-09-24
  2. Hilfreich (3)

    „Great outward appearance, but not a great employee experience in IT”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Test Lead in Ilkley, England
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Virtual College als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    VC staff are largely good, hard-working people. Staff get fruit baskets weekly. Good reviews on this site. Note: HR do email staff encouraging them to leave a Glassdoor review,, so whilst these reviews are good, the number of reviews might be artificially inflated. Naturally, if employees are current, that could affect how candid the reviewer is.

    Kontras

    Low morale due to the following long-standing issues: - Little or no information from the leadership team on the direction of the department to staff. This meant big projects were undertaken with no plan and as such enormous amounts of time, effort and money are wasted, which for many hard-working staff members is deflating. - Big architectural decisions made without consulting experts (the developers in the... department) has made development and stability of the software difficult. - Salary had not increased adequately as staff gained more experience and qualifications at the company. Some people in IT were hugely underpaid, despite being invaluable assets to the company. The pay for newer recruits is more in line with industry which is rather unfair. Requests were made for appropriate pay rises but not met. - No defined career path or progression. Hard-working, motivated members of staff had not had applicable skills developed for many years, despite asking during 1-2-1 sessions and appraisals. Although VC allowed staff to do courses on another e-learning site, it was not always directly relevant and had no bearing on progressing in a role. - I witnessed bullying in more than 1 team in IT, some occurring on multiple occasions over a long time. I don’t think these have been dealt with properly and for the people on the receiving end, there’s very little solace. The seating in tech is very carefully planned and basically moving desks is limited as these matters are still ongoing (when I left). - The Leadership team in IT does not have the expertise required to run the department. They are not from a technical background and the department needs someone with applicable experience. - Several middle managers in IT felt unsupported and there was a sense of hopelessness for the future if the leadership team remained the same. - Customer service received by major clients is below par. I have 15+ years of dealing with customers in many industries, and I considered VC's approach to be cavalier at best, but more often reckless. Communication is poor and I witnessed more covering up than I was comfortable with when we had committed to delivering products. - The actions/inaction of the leadership team made it completely impossible for me to get any traction with plans I had for my team. I have never struggled to add value and motivate people but with my time spent mainly firefighting and personnel issues, I had no opportunity to move us forward.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    When middle managers are asking for help and direction, provide proper guidance. The leadership team should be there to impart advice for the benefit and welfare of employees as well as the success of the company. When seeking feedback from employees, it feels like it's a bit of a PR exercise. Listen, consider, act, or don't act but in any case communicate back. I think considerable amounts of money are... wasted on badly run projects, and employee well-being initiatives, which is nice but somewhat superficial and too frequent. Staff would feel more valued with an appropriate pay rise. Big personalities in tech (not managers) are allowed to essentially control the department this desperately needs to be addressed to keep hard-working, high calibre developers.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Virtual College2019-09-11

    Reaktion von Virtual College

    September 30, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for your review and recommendations. As you know we jointly discussed a range of concerns during your short period of employment with us. These concerns were investigated in line with our internal procedures and the appropriate response and action taken. We are sorry that your working time with us was not wholly positive. Virtual College prides itself on a duty of care to all employees and takes concerns and complaints very seriously.

    Weniger anzeigen
  3. „Collaborative, Positive and Grown Up”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Head of Sales in Ilkley, England
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Virtual College als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Our people and our reason for being. The working environment is unlike other places I have worked for the right reasons. There is an authentic and genuine desire for collective success.

    Kontras

    Parking can be challenging for those that commute to work by car.

    Virtual College2019-07-25
  4. „Great place in the heart Ilkley town.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - IT Support Analyst in Ilkley, England
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Virtual College als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Friendly and accommodating work culture. I love the weekly fruit baskets ! :)

    Kontras

    Nothing to mention at the moment.

    Virtual College2019-06-28

    Reaktion von Virtual College

    July 25, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Virtual College. We are pleased to hear that you feel Virtual College has a friendly and accommodating work culture. As part of our wellbeing initiative, we provide weekly fruit baskets for all staff and we regularly hear that these go down well! We are glad to hear that in your short time at Virtual College you cannot identify any fundamental areas to improve. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to you playing a part in our vision going forward.

    Weniger anzeigen
  5. „A great company to work for, who put their people at the heart of all they do”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Learning Technology Consultant in Stroud, England
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Virtual College als Vollzeit

    Pros

    I have found Virtual College to be a very inclusive, friendly and supportive place to work. There are many forward thinking initiatives encouraging staff right across the business to be involved in shaping the future of VC, and their commitment to their employees is very transparent. As a remote worker, they go above and beyond to make me feel part of the team and include me in all rewards and initiatives.... They are constantly innovating - always looking for better ways to support their clients with digital learning solutions, whilst also enhancing the working environment for their own staff. They are a great company to work for - well organised with a clear vision and strategy, who put their people at the heart of everything they do. I'm very happy!

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Holiday allocation could be better

    Virtual College2019-06-28

    Reaktion von Virtual College

    July 25, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Virtual College. We are pleased to hear that you feel Virtual College is a very inclusive friendly and supportive place to work. It is true that there are many initiatives that encourage our people across the business to be involved in shaping the future of VC such as companywide surveys, cross company working groups and 1-2-1s with managers to name a few. As our first remote worker in the history of Virtual College, we are really pleased to hear that you feel part of the team and are included in all our rewards and initiatives. We are glad to hear that you feel that Virtual College are innovative and forward thinking to understand how best to support are learners and customers, but how this is also translated internally in our own working environment. As a company, we value self-directed learning and encourage our people to have a growth mindset, in addition to providing ongoing training. It is great to hear that you understand our vision and strategy as we have recently aligned our strategic vision and growth plans with function objectives which is working well. It is true that Virtual College does put people at the heart of everything they do and, as such, we are reviewing our holiday entitlement in line with recent staff feedback and the external market. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to you playing a part in our vision going forward.

    Weniger anzeigen
  6. „Really happy that I took this role”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Business Analyst in Ilkley, England
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Virtual College als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Fantastic, friendly people. Forward looking and embracing change Great location Respect for knowledge and experience, trust to get on with the job, the right sort of interest in what I'm doing and appreciation for my efforts.

    Kontras

    Nit picking but initial holiday entitlement could be higher

    Rat an das Management

    Keep doing what you do.

    Virtual College2019-06-28

    Reaktion von Virtual College

    July 25, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Virtual College. We are pleased to hear that you feel Virtual College has fantastic and friendly people – we agree! It is great that you can recognise that we are forward thinking and embrace change. We agree that the town of Ilkley is a fantastic location to work, with independent shops, cafes, supermarkets and lovely parks. We are also fortunate to have a train and bus station just a stone’s through away from our offices which makes Virtual College easily accessible from Leeds and other major towns nearby. We foster a culture of respect and trust within our workforce and therefore our people manage their own workloads and take ownership for their work. As you have recognised, there is an interest across the company of what part each person is playing in the wider vision and widespread appreciation as a result. We’d like to think that Virtual College puts our people at the heart of everything we do and, as such, we are reviewing our holiday entitlement in line with recent staff feedback and the external market. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to you playing a part in our vision going forward.

    Weniger anzeigen
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „People with less capabilities are set as leaders.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymous 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Virtual College als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Friendly environment, less stress .

    Kontras

    Although the company boast of 3.5 million learners there isn't any vision for growth.Thats a funny situation where the company has high targets but no relistic means to achieve that.The core Technology severely lacks leadership of good skills.They don't have any technical skills are just leading the department.The product is very poor in terms of functionality and features.3.5 million learners is a big lie .The... company just runs on friendships , so, if you are not friends with big people you are vulnerable.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Have same rules and policies for all.

    Virtual College2019-07-31

    Reaktion von Virtual College

    September 30, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for your review and recommendations. As you know we jointly discussed a range of concerns during your short period of employment with us. These concerns were investigated in line with our internal procedures and the appropriate response and action taken. We are sorry that your working time with us was not wholly positive. Virtual College prides itself on a duty of care to all employees and takes concerns and complaints very seriously.

    Weniger anzeigen
  8. „Positive progress is underway”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Manager in Ilkley, England
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Virtual College (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - Ambitious organisation which embraces change - Provides staff with opportunities to develop within role - There is scope to voice suggestions for improvement and ways of working across all levels - There is a greater move towards listening to staff and engaging with them to understand feedback for improvement - Fun motivators, e.g. pancake day hampers, international waffle day, company away day - Committed to... looking after staff e.g. sleep advice, yoga sessions, wellness hampers such as herbal teas, essential oils, water bottles. We're getting better at looking after each other. - Communication in the organisation is improving steadily

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    - Poor holiday allowance - Salaries are disproportionate across people with similar responsibilities. The pay rises aren’t really meaningful enough, there is capacity to earn more elsewhere for the same job - is it really market-led? - Invest in training, show that you’re committed to our professional development - Although the people are great it can be cliquey at times which ultimately challenges... professionalism across working relationships and internal development and progression

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Keep listening to staff. Invest in your people - show that you're committed.

    Virtual College2019-07-01

    Reaktion von Virtual College

    July 25, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Virtual College. We are pleased to hear that you feel Virtual College is an ambitious organisation which embraces change. It is also encouraging to hear that you recognise the opportunities we give our people to develop within their roles. As a company, we value self-directed learning and encourage our people to have a growth mindset, in addition to providing ongoing training with a dedicated Learning and Development budget. We are glad to hear that you believe there is scope to voice suggestions for improvement and ways of working across all levels. In the last year, we have spent a lot of time reviewing our communication, consultation and collaboration processes and agree that there are multiple platforms including companywide surveys, cross company working groups and 1-2-1s with managers to name a few, that help our people to voice their views. You mention that there is a greater move towards listening to staff and engaging with them to understand feedback for improvement and we are happy to hear that you can see these efforts taking shape and communication is improving. It is great that you have mentioned our fun motivators which we have recently introduced as a company to recognise the hard work and dedication of our people. We provide an inclusive selection of various incentives which relate to different days in the calendar year, for example pancake day hampers, international waffle day treats as you mentioned. We also have an annual company away day which takes place in summer and is a great informal way to bring the whole company together. We are excited for our company away day this year, which is a festival theme focused around our health and wellbeing agenda. As you have mentioned, we are committed to looking after our staff and our wellness treats, advice and yoga sessions have resulted in great feedback from our people. In relation to benefits including holiday allowance, we are currently reviewing these in line with the external market and consulting staff on their thoughts. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to you playing a part in our vision going forward.

    Weniger anzeigen
  9. „Great Place, Great People!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Learning Technology Adviser in Ilkley, England
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Virtual College als Vollzeit

    Pros

    I have worked at VC for such a short time so it can be hard to really voice anything. What i can say is that the company do care about you, the line managers and above listen and take into consideration what you say. I have had nothing but support since joining the company and i don't see it easing off. Another thing to state is that every person in the company is genuinely a nice person, and that is hard to... find in businesses. Every person i have been in contact with has given me the time of day and helped me continue to progress. not once have i (or anyone else) been turned away when asking a question or asking for help! truly good people!

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    a couple of the processes could do with being ironed out but as changes have been happening to the company (growing) there will always be teething issues.

    Rat an das Management

    Always listen to the staff members, this is a company full with extremely talented people, keep encouraging them to voice their opinion!

    Virtual College2019-06-28

    Reaktion von Virtual College

    July 25, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Virtual College. We are pleased to hear that you feel Virtual College has supported you from your first day. As a company, we try to make our onboarding process as helpful and informative as possible. It is true that Virtual College prides itself on our people and therefore it is great to hear you are finding your colleagues genuine and supportive. We agree that the company listens and cares about our peoples’ views, and Virtual College provides various platforms to voice opinions such as our companywide surveys, cross company working groups and 1-2-1s with managers. As we are a growing company, there are naturally processes that need reviewing and ironing out however we are working hard to improve these. As we continue to grow and develop, we are trying to minimise any teething issues by having a growth plan and aligned team objectives. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to you playing a part in our vision going forward.

    Weniger anzeigen
  10. „A company that has bounced back from dark times”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Virtual College (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I have been working at Virtual College for nearly 6 years now and throughout that time I have witnessed countless people come and go and have been through umpteen restructures. We have a fairly relaxed culture here where most people come to work in a "smart-casual" dress code. We are updated on the company's activity and business ventures on a weekly basis and have regular team meetings. In addition to that, we have... a team that organises special events for us such as Christmas parties, Halloween parties and summer BBQs; things that some people can only dream of having at their workplaces. To put it briefly, we are a company that likes to work hard and play hard! All of this, as well as other benefits, is what makes Virtual College the company that it is today where staff look out for one another and strive to meet their objectives. Take care of your employees and they will take care of the clients.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    I give credit where credit is due, but Virtual College has definitely been through some rough patches in its time. Communication wasn't always up to scratch and departments were very disconnected from one another. Further training wasn't always provided for staff; it took me 18 months to be fully trained for my job role despite asking time and time again for further training which is quite ironic considering that... we're an online training company. Some members of staff - myself included - felt that their work wasn't appreciated and that their concerns were simply falling on deaf ears. At that time, it wasn't about what you knew, but about who you knew; a kind of "all staff are equal, but some staff are more equal than others" sort of place. A generally unhappy and sour atmosphere was felt in my department where bullying, sniping, cattiness and talking behind one's back was commonplace. However, the staff have spoken and the Leadership Team have rolled up their sleeves and have responded with action instead of just words. My only wish is that all of this could have been done much sooner, but, hey, better late than never, I suppose. Please note that this is a review based on my full time here at Virtual College and so please don't be put off by my negative past experiences. The Virtual College of today is a place where I am proud to work and despite all of the bad memories I do have some very good memories here as well.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Keep listening to us, keep believing in us and keep your sleeves rolled up!

    Virtual College2019-04-30

    Reaktion von Virtual College

    May 13, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences as you reflect on your last six years at Virtual College. We agree it has been a journey following a restructure of the business however this has enabled an alignment of our strategic vision and growth plans. We are pleased to read your thoughts on our relaxed culture, the Sports and Social events and your acknowledgement of the work hard, play hard ethic. As a company, we have worked towards bringing all teams together to celebrate all the hard work and successes so far. We are of the firm belief that people are at the very core of our business and we agree that if you take care of your employees, they will take care of our learners. From recent staff feedback, we understand that a thank you goes a long way. In the last eighteen months we have centralised our Learning and Development function and all new staff now have a bespoke induction programme. We value self-directed learning and encourage our staff to have a growth mindset, in addition to providing ongoing training to staff with a dedicated Learning and Development budget. In the last year, we have spent a lot of time reviewing our communication, consultation and collaboration processes with further work to be done in this area. We are glad to hear that you are proud to work at Virtual College and continue to remain loyal to the company. Despite the ups and downs you have felt during your time so far, it is good to hear that you think things have changed for the better. We appreciate your honest feedback which management have listened to and we hope that you are keen to play a part in our vision going forward.

    Weniger anzeigen
73 Bewertungen gefunden