Arbeitgeberbewertungen für VUS English Centers | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für VUS English Centers

Aktualisiert am 17. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

36 Bewertungen gefunden

3.2
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
62%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
  1. „Working environment and colleagues”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teaching Assistant in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei VUS English Centers gearbeitet (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    Nice and relaxing working environment; friendly colleagues

    Kontras

    Some expatriate teachers are not dedicated and experienced.

    Rat an das Management

    More standard requirements set for expatriate teachers.

    VUS English Centers2019-09-17
  2. „Great Teaching Option in HCMC”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - English As A Second Language Teacher in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei VUS English Centers (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - Flexible schedule with lots of potential time off - There aren't any hidden tasks for you to do out of class which are time consuming, your job is to come in an teach! - Freedom to create your own lessons. There is content provided (eg 2 pages of a book) to complete each lesson but otherwise you can choose how to tackle the lesson. - The biggest pro with VUS is you are rewarded for your work ethic! Having... actual people designate your hours means if you hard working (take subs, keen to get involved) then they will reward you with loads of hours. If you see complaints about hours for VUS it's probably because those don't do themselves any favors when it comes to actually being a hard-working individual.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    - There will be ups and downs in hours. Eg close to TET, people don't sign up for classes. - Part of your rating comes from your likability and understanding in class (for older classes not kids). For young enthusiastic teachers this can be advantageous as teens might find you more fun and thus mark you higher. It only forms 1/3 of your evaluation, and all aspects are considered by the managers (they know some... teachers are stricter etc) but it can still be a system that can be improved. Eg. I would normally score quite high on fun but I had a class being bad, I had to discipline them and be the "grumpy" teacher, and it just so happened that on that day they got to rate me... - If you're not liked by the teacher care that schedule your hours, they will give you low hours. They tend not to fire people but rather give them unlivable number of hours until people quit.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Allow for open conversation with the teachers, to keep improving. I understand Vietnamese culture doesn't deal with criticism very well, but ultimately constructive criticism is what will continue to improve VUS. Also keep being awesome! I loved working at VUS

    VUS English Centers2019-09-13
  3. „A Good Job with some downsides”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - ESL Teacher in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei VUS English Centers als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Good communication in terms of scheduling, they provide all teaching materials, and it is very clear what topics you must cover

    Kontras

    They overhired which resulted in a lack of hours. They care very deeply about making money even if it effects quality. For example, the max class size is supposed to be 25 but I frequently taught larger classes including a special type of class that had as many as 50+ students.

    Rat an das Management

    Do not inflate class sizes. Listen to teacher feedback in the class notebooks instead of just writing "noted" or "we contacted so-and-so's parent's, please do a better job of reminding them of x"

    VUS English Centers2019-08-12
  4. „Friendly teachers and working environment!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei VUS English Centers gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The great thing about VUS is the high number of hours I was offered and a relatively high hourly rate. Also, the teaching staff were generally very helpful and easy to get along with. Good place if you are looking to socialise with other expats.

    Kontras

    Limited oppotunities to teach IELTS or adult classes. While I did pick up a few IELTS classes, they weren't offered to me until half way through my second year. They generally seem to start new teachers on young learners and teen classes.

    VUS English Centers2019-07-12
  5. „Great place to start my TEFL journey”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English As A Second Language Teacher in Birmingham, England
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei VUS English Centers gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Net hourly rate is one of the best around Vietnam for new teachers and tax is already paid for by the company which is one less thing to worry about. My friends at other companies were always moaning about getting heavily taxed up to 20% at the end of each month which isn't the case with VUS. Number of potential hours available is great and you can really save a lot of money during busy periods of the year if you... wish. Training and development opportunities are great for new teachers. The facilities at VUS were always great. Staff at VUS are friendly and generally very supportive. Students are a pleasure to teach in general. Support with work permit and visa and the general HR experience was broken down and made very easy by the staff. Full time benefits seemed to be much better than others around in that we had very good health insurance and a months pay bonus at the end of the year. The annual outing trip was always the only time i would ever get the opportunity to stay in luxury villas with their own pools by the sea and of course the free Vietnamese classes were invaluable.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Were limited opportunities for career progression and extra responsibility for expats, apart from moving up to head teacher. Was not able to start as a full time teacher but needed to prove myself first.

    Rat an das Management

    Continue doing what you're doing as the current setup provides a great environment for new teachers to develop and grow. Perhaps think of new ways to provide career paths for career teachers and encourage growth through providing extra responsibilities.

    VUS English Centers2019-07-02
  6. Hilfreich (2)

    „BB”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teaching Assistant 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei VUS English Centers (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    - Nice students and parents - Wise task arrangements

    Kontras

    - Low experienced teachers and managers - Unfair Handbook updates

    Rat an das Management

    - Keep going on

    VUS English Centers2019-06-04
  7. „Overall a decent company to work for (especially the pay)”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teacher in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei VUS English Centers als Teilzeit

    Pros

    Your pay is higher than companies like ILA which get stung by tax (VUS have a special agreement with the government). There is little/no micromanagement so you have relative freedom to conduct lessons how you see fit. They pay on time and they're quite flexible if you're a part-time teacher.

    Kontras

    There is little professional development. Some campuses are disorganised.

    VUS English Centers2019-05-10
  8. Hilfreich (3)

    „Stay far from TanBinh Ut Tich! Mgr is most obnoxious, mean VN person I've met so far!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei VUS English Centers als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    No income tax (it's paid by VUS!), your quoted salary is what you're paid. Salary good for beginning teacher at over $18.50/430K VND per hr., materials in TchrRm are good (once you know gig you can show up unprepared and pull it off), AC excellent (serious this is an issue at public schools), class size good no too large, nice parking garage, payroll 2 x per month (this is rare in VN!). In closing, I do recommend... this school for a beginner teacher. They grant enough hours, teaching resources are good, building has AC, class size is acceptable. Mgr. at TanBinh was a horror but that was an exception. There are many small schools that are much much worse than VUS (even with it's shortcomings). The salary quoted is after tax (they pay taxes for you ... many large schools will tax you and quote you a gross salary before tax so be careful).

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Manager was worse most obnoxious person I've met in Vietnam so far, work shops are unpaid, too many spelling contests and extra stuff that makes learning job and teaching kids at same time difficult. NO training, they just throw you in class and the Teacher Assitants don't know the computer system and some are lazy and do not help you. Report lazy TAs immediately because they will "rat" on you about missing (1)... lesson ... don't let this happen. Report the lazy TA first! Payroll is a force direct deposit with a Vietnam bank that treats expats awful.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Fire that obnoxious manager at Ut Tich Tan Binh! I think he's a VietCong ghost! You need to pay for Workshops. Stop trying to cram in several lessons into one class. It's ridiculous. Give the teacher some credit to skip it if it's awful, not working, or time constraints!

    VUS English Centers2019-05-06
  9. Hilfreich (2)

    „Okay company as long as your expectations aren't too high”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - ESL Teacher in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei VUS English Centers (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -more or less choose your own hours - not a lot of work during the week - nothing strict or intense evaluation - time off and contract completion bonuses

    Kontras

    - cannot really be promoted if you're a foreigner - pay only increased for me after two years - CEO is creepy and tries to sleep with female employees

    Rat an das Management

    don't allow CEO to have private all-female birthday parties or create hyper-sexual female dance shows at the yearly Teacher's Party.

    VUS English Centers2019-04-19
  10. „Great place for teaching experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English Instructor in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei VUS English Centers gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -Solid pay for standard of living -Kids and adults that will put a smile on your face every day. Can't stress enough how that in all the jobs you may have in your life few will have as direct and tangible benefits as this. -Overall good coworker environment. Local staff is kind and respectful and overall expat instructors are fairly competent and care about what they're doing -Pay is accurate, on time, and... professional -Can quickly stand out if you get good reviews and are on time to class

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    -Risk of burnout - you might not think that teaching only 20 hours a week for great pay would burn you out, but teen and kid classes can be exhausting. Kids will tire you out, teens will test your limits, and adults can be literally dead by the time class starts at 6:30 pm after their full work day. Teaching the same lesson again and again can get repetitive -VUS has a sort of "if it ain't broke..." Philosophy of... teaching which can feel stifling to some -Toxic expats that don't get fired. You know the people that quit but never left? The people that stopped giving a damn about anything but still show up to do the bare minimum? These people are fairly rampant, and are highly toxic toward Vietnamese in specific or Asians in general, but for some reason remain employed because teachers are in high demand. It is just awful because for most students having a foreign teacher is an exorbitant expense and honor, and to see their hopes of a good class dashed in their faces is painful. -No advancement for foreigners. You might become head teacher of a campus, which looks good on a resume but actually does not grant any responsibility except to be the mouthpiece for local management. -For more experienced teachers that can build their own brand, VUS can quickly become redundant as they find other opportunities -Local / expat split. Instead of mingling and connecting the expats like to stay apart from the locals and the locals have learned to avoid the expats, as there is a fair amount of decision toward local professionalism within the expat community. It's a shame.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    -Fire toxic expat staff -Provide upward mobility for talented and ambitious expats -Teambuilding needed to fix cultural split -Need better disruptive classroom experiments - not just tossing iPads in a room -Better top-level support for teachers in terms of visas

    VUS English Centers2019-04-24
36 Bewertungen gefunden