Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Toffler Associates | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Toffler Associates

Aktualisiert am 5. Mai 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

2.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
42%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
Toffler Associates CEO Maria Bothwell
Maria Bothwell
0 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (9)

    „Not a great place for growth”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
     
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Toffler Associates gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Some opportunity to work from home a day or so each week unless you are on client site. Though this had diminished before I left. Worked with some good people over my years with the organization - but sadly, most of them left for similar reasons.

    Kontras

    There is a general lack of consistency across the board. No one could ever tell me what was required to advance, and when I did get feedback it was contradicted in the next round. Painful part to me is that the company knows it but has been unable to do anything about it. You can only claim to be "transitioning" the organization for so long before you have to pick a path and move forward. This, combined with the... long hours and challenging leadership, makes it a hard place to stay over a longer period of time. No real quantitative capabilities here, nor a willingness to develop this skill-set. Majority of what we provided to clients was ambiguous without real rigor behind it. The firm does not seem to value advanced degrees or specific industry experience. Organization seems to be shifting its model to more of a staff augmentation support in the Federal space which is concerning. Lost a lot of the long-term employees and their talent/expertise (some for more than 15 years). For being at a "commercial" organization I did not do any commercial work. At best, there is one commercial client and some projects with organizations that are funded by the government. Tough to grow into the commercial skill-sets without opportunities. Leadership is a challenge in itself, with the Managing Director following whatever whim is the topic of the day - again a total lack of consistency. This, along with the lack of transparency, makes it difficult to trust leadership here. Everything is not ok just because you say it is. I saw many smart people give feedback and try to make it better, but they would ultimately get frustrated and leave - I got frustrated too. The positive piece is that you realize this quickly after you start.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    More structure and consistency in approach to the market - need to offer more than thinking to our clients. This seems to shift a great deal each quarter, resulting in a lack of commitment to the continuous changes. Learn from past mistakes, stop repeating the same ones again and again. Work on retaining good talent, sad to continue to lose people that I enjoyed learning from.

    Toffler Associates2015-01-13
  2. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great place to learn from the best”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Research Associate in Arlington, VA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Toffler Associates als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    -Amazing co-workers -Very interesting projects -Great brand -Fun culture -Good benefits

    Kontras

    -Not much training -Limited upward growth

    Rat an das Management

    Don't forget about your offsite employees

    Toffler Associates2019-05-05
  3. „A good place to learn future focused strategy consulting”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Associate in Arlington, VA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Toffler Associates gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Direct access with senior clients. Create deliverables that typically make a difference for the client. Team culture. Colleagues really like working with each other.

    Kontras

    Small firm, have to really roll up your sleeves and work all aspects of engagement.

    Toffler Associates2019-04-11
  4. Hilfreich (4)

    „Should be great but isn’t”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Toffler Associates gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Given the lack of structure or method, you really learn quite a bit about good and bad ways to deliver consulting. There are still a few great people there who are fantastic to work with. Brand is viewed positively in select markets

    Kontras

    Has been an up and down for years due to leadership challenges and a cult-like mentality at the top. Currently going through yet another turn around, and almost 40% of the company has left in recent months.

    Toffler Associates2019-04-13
  5. Hilfreich (6)

    „Keep looking, there are far better places to work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Associate 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Toffler Associates gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good benefits and compensation and flexible work location (when you’re not on client site)

    Kontras

    I would echo what most others have said. There is an immature approach to the market, a borderline hostile work environment, and an unwillingness to accept other viewpoints-if you don’t quote Toffler books or repeat the same tired mantras (the workforce is aging, bio-digital convergence, company or client x isn’t a third wave company) then those in charge don’t want to hear your opinion. If you are fairly new... to the company, you will get stuck as an engagement leader (this will be presented as an opportunity) and miltiple directors will take credit for coaching you. When it starts to “fail”, someone will swoop in and “save” it and take the credit. It’s happened to countless people in the company.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Spend time teaching the directors how to be professional. Talking negatively about the other directors, the COO, or the MD behind their backs and to current employees doesn’t help create a welcoming atmosphere. You should also probably listen to your few employees who actually think on their own and present new ideas. The standard Toffler future predictions are starting to get old and sound silly to clients.

    Toffler Associates2018-06-23
  6. Hilfreich (6)

    „A continuous cycle of mediocrity”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Associate 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Toffler Associates als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Small company with a lot of exposure to different aspects of the business. Very flexible, some interesting projects.

    Kontras

    Poor work/life balance, poor leadership, lack of direction, and sometimes hostile work environment.

    Rat an das Management

    Fix the underlying issues instead of writing overly positive Glassdoor reviews.

    Toffler Associates2018-05-31
  7. Hilfreich (2)

    „A fantastic niche firm like no other!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Associate in Reston, VA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Toffler Associates gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - The most incredible family-feel culture I've ever experienced - True autonomy and trust from leadership. Forget micromanaging; most times, you're not even managed in a traditional, dry sense of the word. Instead, leaders provide direction and general guidance, but they trust you to do the right thing and make the right decisions. - Innovation and intellectual curiosity are not just encouraged; they are an... integral part of the culture. You want to go off and learn about some random topic and then see how it can benefit others? Go for it! The firm supports you, 100%. - The people, again. I have never before or since found such truly supportive mentors, managers, counselors, and directors, as I had here. They didn't just push me to become better - they led the way and joined me on the journey. - Work-life balance is superb. Depending on client, telework can be a great option. Very little travel. Your evenings and weekends are actually your own.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    - This is a small and relatively flat firm. So, if you need traditional stringent structure, this might not be the best place for you. - Autonomy can be challenging to some. Just be mindful of your own limitations and preferences. - The CEO can challenge you, at times. But she means really well and truly has your back, at all times! I can attest to that - even after I had already left the firm, she continued to... support my professional growth! - The firm portfolio is heavily focused on public sector clients, which can be a good or a bad thing, depending on where you want to go. - Hierarchy means nothing here (Personally, this is a huge PRO for me!). So if you're used to delegating smaller, minute tasks to EAs or Analysts, think again. Everyone, no matter the level, does whatever needs to be done. No room for egos.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    There have been many programmatic and strategic changes to the firm's direction over the past year - and it's been wonderful! Keep doing exactly what you are doing.

    Toffler Associates2018-03-13
  8. Hilfreich (2)

    „curiosity plus creativity equals a great place to be”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Washington, DC
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Toffler Associates (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I've worked at a couple other commercial consulting firms prior to Toffler and am impressed by the thought leadership, ideas, client relationship, and intellectual creativity the Toffler team brings to it's clients. For a small firm, it leverages its assets and knowledge network better than the large firms - like a nimble speed boat versus a cargo ship. The focus is on delivering value to its clients and being a... compelling place to work, and not on partner profit. I love working with this team of colleagues because they are smart, curious, fun, and very collaborative.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Being a small firm and competing against the big guys can be tough. It takes the right experience, knowledge, attitude, and scrappiness to be successful.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep focused on bringing value to clients and being curious.

    Toffler Associates2018-01-29
  9. Hilfreich (2)

    „A great group floating adrift. Wish I could give 3.5 stars.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich habe bei Toffler Associates gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - There is an amazing culture here based on a legacy of intellectual excellence and team camaraderie - I always felt proud to call other TA employees my friends and colleagues. - A robust onboarding process and ongoing learning and development including creative exercises and engaging lesson plans to teach you the essentials to being a Toffler Associate. - All team members are accessible and responsive to emails,... meeting invites, phone calls etc. - Most leaders provide ongoing individual feedback including positive accolades, opportunities for improvement, and coaching on development areas. - The firm pretty much only works with executive clients (federal and commercial), so your facilitation, presentation, and analytical skills should be (or will quickly become) top-notch. - After demonstrating competence and building trust, you can contribute to just about any internal firm initiative. - Unmatched benefits with full health coverage, home office set up + monthly internet, daily parking/mileage, and potential annual bonus. - The firm invests in team relationships and celebrating success with all-day company meetings 6 times per year, black tie holiday party, fancy dinners, frequent happy hours/lunches, and annual awards ceremony. - The firm provides right-sized technology solutions for a small firm (Laptop + Internet air card, company iPhone, Office 365 + MS OneDrive, Yammer, etc.) - Nice office stocked with drinks, snacks, supplies, etc. - Free copies of all of the books by founder, Alvin Toffler.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    - Toffler Associates is a place where things move fast, but not always with the same long-term strategic thinking that the firm aspires to deliver for its clients. - Lack of clear business development process yields contracts that are misaligned with primary expertise in foresight and strategic advisory. - Seemed to shift market focus several times, but did not win new work, which created a limited ability to... support new clients - was on the same soul-crushing contract for 2.5 years. - Did not rotate staff to "bear the brunt" of some of most notoriously difficult, disrespectful, or hostile clients. Reserved unique client or internal opportunities for same inner few - you may float in and out of this group at times and if you are "in," it will be in addition to your normal duties. - Leadership does not proactively communicate about much, mostly updates the firm after things are already in motion and questions arise, causing confusion and lack of trust. - Roles and responsibilities are unclear, including new titles appearing overnight and assigned to 6 men, causing misunderstandings, unclear growth trajectory, and a lack of leadership diversity. - Not a very transparent performance evaluation process. Some employees rack-and-stack others. Unsure of how raises, bonuses, and promotions are determined. - Fail to hold low performing leaders accountable when they do not meet expectations of their role, especially with respect to mentorship of others. - Passive aggressive communication and heavy emphasis on military culture can make some interpersonal relationships challenging for non-military staff. - Substantial group think is a risk with any small company, but seemed especially tribal here. Quite a bit of gossip and never quite sure where you stand.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    - Proactively communicate and be extra clear - if you think you are oversharing, it's probably just right. Saying "if you want to know something, you can always ask" is not communication. - Don't assume that money + benefits makes up for dealing with abusive clients. - Define a long term BD strategy and then focus on that for more than a quarter or two. Hone in on your niche, don't try to be too many things... to too many people. - Remember that TA is not the military or the government, even if it has served both. Be careful of letting that culture/style dictate your interpersonal relationships and processes. - TA doesn't sell a product - it sells its people, yet you wouldn't know from the marketing. Loosen the reigns a bit on the firm's external communications channels and lean less on the legacy of "the old ways." You're missing an incredibly unique opportunity to tell the story of how vibrant, intelligent, high-performing, impactful, polished, personable and funny your current team really is.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Toffler Associates2018-01-24
  10. Hilfreich (1)

    „zero to hero”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Toffler Associates (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Been at the company for 5 years and in that time I've gone from teammate to engagement leader to senior leader... I've gotten 20 years of experience in about a 1/4 of the time. Amazing experience. Even more amazing people. Unmatched benefits Owners care more about employees than I've ever experienced... I feel like I'm part of a family. I'm allowed to explore my passions, express my creativity, have a say in... the direction of the business, and contribute to meaningful work.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    We're a small company so it's usually all hands on deck at ALL times... even though no one tells you where you have to be or what you must do... get ready to WORK

    Rat an das Management

    Empower, empower, empower... our people are our greatest asset. Never forget that!

    Toffler Associates2018-01-17
42 Bewertungen gefunden