Bewertungen für The University of North Carolina System Postdoctoral Fellow | Glassdoor.de

The University of North Carolina System Bewertungen für Postdoctoral Fellow

Aktualisiert am 15. May 2017

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

12 Bewertungen gefunden

4.5
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
100%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
The University of North Carolina System CEO Bill Roper (no image)
Bill Roper
0 Bewertungen
  1. „Postdoctoral Fellowship”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. befristeter Mitarbeiter - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei The University of North Carolina System ()

    Pros

    Friendly and intelligent people to work with who are vested in your success as well. Beautiful campus.

    Kontras

    Limited parking on campus but public transport is free and accessible to other areas in the Triangle.

    The University of North Carolina System2017-05-14
  2. „Postdoctoral Fellow”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei The University of North Carolina System (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Huge amount of resources, nice area with low traffic in the immediate area when compared to other parts of the Triangle. Large competitive research community to help you excel.

    Kontras

    Numerous moving parts, and as such some things can be marred with Bureaucracy, but that's to be expected with a University. Research environment of the School of Medicine is other, but not always, toxic.

    The University of North Carolina System2017-05-15
  3. „Standard Post-doctoral Research Fellowship”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei The University of North Carolina System gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    I worked as a Post-doctoral Research Fellow in the chemistry department. Many labs are in the new chemistry building(s), such as Venable Hall. Great opportunities to network with scientists in other labs. It was a positive experience.

    Kontras

    I was paid less than the NIH standard for postdocs at the time. I worked long hours but that was mostly self-imposed.

    The University of North Carolina System2016-05-16
  4. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great place for a postdoc”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei The University of North Carolina System ()

    Pros

    Location, support network, campus, people, reputation are all great.

    Kontras

    Benefits (insurance premium, lack of dental, changing plans without real notification)

    The University of North Carolina System2015-05-07
  5. Hilfreich (1)

    „Supportive environment”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei The University of North Carolina System gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Beautiful campus and great campus transportation system, good health benefits through the university hospital and exciting research!

    Kontras

    Supportive environment but as with many state universities, lots of uncertainty due to budget cuts, especially in the administration sector.

    The University of North Carolina System2015-05-19
  6. „UNC Chapel Hill”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei The University of North Carolina System ()

    Pros

    This is a beautiful campus, with lots of nice people. The surrounding town of Chapel Hill is a nice place, and it is also accessible from Durham by bus.

    Kontras

    As a postdoctoral fellow at a university, much of the experience is determined by the lab I am in rather than at the level of the university. Parking is an issue. The little parking that is available on campus is expensive and often distant. I take the bus from Durham, which is a pleasant ride, during which I can read or enjoy the scenery, but on the rare occasion when I need to drive in, my parking options are... not good.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    As a postdoctoral fellow in the School of Medicine, I could do without the regular emails from the University president and others about how the university is working with this or that community to address the latest issue that has to do with an athletic scandal or is only relevant to undergraduates. This is a minor complaint. Certainly not affecting my work.

    The University of North Carolina System2015-05-21
  7. „One of the most well equipped universities to complete a postdoc”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei The University of North Carolina System (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    State of the art facilities, plenty of grant money, exciting research. Great people to work with and a great reputation, especially locally.

    Kontras

    You are a postdoc. Bottom of the Ponzi scheme that is academia. Long work hours with minimal compensation. However, it is the system that is broken, not the institution.

    Rat an das Management

    More support for postdocs looking for the next step.

    The University of North Carolina System2014-05-29
  8. „good place to do a postdoc”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei The University of North Carolina System (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Lots of seminars on topics beside research, decent health care

    Kontras

    small college town, politically liberal but conservative mindset in town

    The University of North Carolina System2014-03-02
  9. „Postdoc at UNC”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei The University of North Carolina System gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Many great investigators. Several cores to share the work-load. Salary ok. Great environment for postdocs with a interactive postdoc forum. Great city to raise a family.

    Kontras

    Job opportunities limited regarding assistant professor advancement within the University.

    Rat an das Management

    Consider hiring talent from within the University.

    The University of North Carolina System2014-02-24
  10. „Ideal for those interested in pursuing an academic career, not conducive for preparing for other scientific careers”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei The University of North Carolina System (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Independence - particularly on projects Project Management - lots of opportunities for this as a postdoc in larger labs with undergraduate and graduate students Flexibility - depending on the lab you can have reasonable work/life balance

    Kontras

    Limited support for jobs outside of academia Overwhelmed/disconnected PIs

    Rat an das Management

    Sometimes PIs are overwhelmed with responsibilities, especially given the funding situation and there are long delays in feedback on your work.

    The University of North Carolina System2014-01-09
12 Bewertungen gefunden