Bewertungen für Teach for America Teach for America Corps Member | Glassdoor.de

Teach for America Bewertungen für Teach for America Corps Member

Aktualisiert am 31. Okt 2018

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

9 Bewertungen gefunden

1.1
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
6%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
0%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Teach for America CEO Elisa Villanueva Beard  (no image)
Elisa Villanueva Beard
2 Bewertungen
  1. „Does not prepare Corps members for full time teaching”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Teach for America Corps Member in New Orleans, LA

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Teach for America als

    Pros

    TFA gives you the chance to help low income communities

    Kontras

    TFA does not adequately prepare you for full time teaching Terrible work life balance - 60-70 hour weeks

    Rat an das Management

    Extend the training time

    Teach for America2018-10-31
  2. Hilfreich (4)

    „Corps Member, Teacher”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teach for America Corps Member in Los Angeles, CA

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Teach for America gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You will be surrounded by very bright, capable, and passionate educators and trainers. You will receive fantastic preparation to become an amazing, effective teacher. My mentor was truly wonderful and helpful. I learned so much from her.

    Kontras

    It is indescribably intense; you can't really have anything else going on in your life (like a family or hobbies) because it will consume all of your time just to survive. You are placed as a classroom teacher with no experience (only a summer training course), and you learn "by being thrown into the fire." I ultimately became a wonderful teacher, but I suffered a lot. Extremely intense and busy. You have to attend... graduate courses in the evenings, and TFA trainings a lot of Saturdays, in addition to being a brand new classroom teacher. The expectations are extremely high; I was honestly working my hardest and felt like a complete failure when I compared myself to TFA's standards and expectations.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Make sure candidates know exactly what they are getting into. It's not just an alternative certification program. It's an EXTREMELY intense, life-changing experience.

    Teach for America2017-10-05
  3. „TFA Interview”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teach for America Corps Member 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Teach for America gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    It seems as if you are truly making an impact in the lives of children, if it's a path that you truly desire.

    Kontras

    I'm pretty sure that are better programs out there for people who desire to become teachers. TFA seems to like people, who are going to be in policy.

    Teach for America2016-12-19
  4. „Corps Member”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teach for America Corps Member in Memphis, TN
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Teach for America gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Benefits from pooling resources together, accessible office

    Kontras

    A real shot in the dark in regards to placement; your whole experience depends on it. The MTLD's were okay, at best. Felt very undersupported

    Rat an das Management

    Change up the senior leadership

    Teach for America2016-09-29
  5. Hilfreich (4)

    „Horrible”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teach for America Corps Member in Houston, TX
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Teach for America gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You can make a few (I emphasize a few) great friendships. You get an Americorp award if you haven't received it already.

    Kontras

    They focus on Black and White tensions but ignore the histories of Hispanics, Natives and Asians. Many of the institute employees have a White Knight mentality in which they believe their way is the best way and look down on veteran teachers who have not been involved with TFA. There is no responsibility taken for the lack of progress the organization has shown throughout the last 25 years. At times it feels like a... cult. Their political branch has a man who is homophobic running it. I would never recommend anyone work for this organization. It was honestly the worst decision I made.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Practice your values, particularly humility.

    Teach for America2016-06-28
  6. „Corps Member”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Teach for America Corps Member in Baltimore, MD
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Teach for America gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    The chance to make a difference in students' lives is what drew me to join the corps.

    Kontras

    No preparation or support; I was a full classroom teacher without anywhere near enough training. I was completely isolated and when I had difficulties, TFA staff blamed it on me "not caring enough." They care about appearances and are not open to feedback.

    Rat an das Management

    Actually care about your corps members

    Teach for America2016-01-17
  7. Hilfreich (2)

    „Teacher”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teach for America Corps Member in Houston, TX
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Teach for America (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Direct classroom experience. Work with like-minded individuals who are determined and hard working and who ultimately want to make "transformational change" in education.

    Kontras

    Long hours. Lack of support (in most cases) Weekend/Weekday professional development obligations Lack of autonomy (in terms of school placement or reassignment)

    Teach for America2015-05-28
  8. Hilfreich (1)

    „TFA hires unqualified young people to move from afar to disrupt the already underprivileged communities through teaching”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. befristeter Mitarbeiter - Teach for America Corps Member in Oakland, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Teach for America gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Prestige of organization name, networking opportunities, amazing colleagues doing their best against an oppressive system working against kids

    Kontras

    Not enough support, work-life balance, demands from my local chapter were not reciprocated when Corps Members needed additional help, very limited opportunities for Special Educators, TFA is not involved in the Oakland community at large

    Teach for America2014-11-15
  9. „Worth Every Minute”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teach for America Corps Member in Rocky Mount, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Teach for America (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The Amazing Support the Company Provide

    Kontras

    Transitioning to Teaching From Different Profession

    Teach for America2014-11-10
9 Bewertungen gefunden