Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Teach for America | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Teach for America

Aktualisiert am 14. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

1140 Bewertungen gefunden

3.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
71%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
89%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Teach for America CEO Elisa Villanueva Beard  (no image)
Elisa Villanueva Beard
230 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (4)

    „An organization in retreat and decline”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Managing Director in New York, NY
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Teach for America gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    A very good mission and sense of purpose. Good health care and 401K benefits, very flexible with an excellent work from home policy, and very good work life balance.

    Kontras

    1. Low salary and lofty titles. 2. Unstable work environment - regular rounds of layoffs to cut costs. Two consecutive and large round of layoffs. After that layoffs were done in stealth mode. I suspect cost reduction will continue to be the norm at TFA as the organization continues to shrink and retreat. 3. Not a meritocracy and a lot of organizational politics. Competence and results seen disconnected from... career progression. 4. Leadership comes from an education background and tends to have an unusual style, which at times can be refreshing. However, as demonstrated by constant lay offs and turbulence, they did not anticipate decline and were way too reactive.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    1. Steady the ship and make it less turbulent environment ( constant change = no change) 2. Create talent retention strategy to retain talent even as the org shrinks to contain costs

    Teach for America2019-04-03
  2. Hilfreich (1)

    „Good Job”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich arbeite bei Teach for America (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Got me into the field

    Kontras

    Wish there was more training

    Teach for America2019-03-21
  3. Hilfreich (1)

    „Poor training”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Teach for America als Vollzeit

    Pros

    High pay in my state

    Kontras

    No training, high stress, 60+ hour work weeks

    Teach for America2019-04-26
  4. „Review”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Teach for America gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Incredibly smart people, hard working, dedicated to mission, good energy among co-workers

    Kontras

    Time-demanding environment. can be a little cult-like and people burn-out (though management does take some care to have people pace themselves).

    Teach for America2019-03-22
  5. „Operations Associate”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich habe bei Teach for America gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Cares about professional development of their employees Great opportunities for learning from senior management about their past experiences in teaching, with the corps, working for the organization

    Kontras

    Can have some long hours Living & working in the same place (institute) may not be for everyone

    Teach for America2019-03-19
  6. „Great organisation to work for !!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Data Analyst in New York, NY
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Teach for America als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Amazing personal and professional life balance. Passionate people about the mission. Given the freedom to work and innovate. Work recognition.

    Kontras

    Slightly less pay but that's okay as it is a Non Profit Organisation.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep on doing the great work.

    Teach for America2019-03-19
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „Excellent experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Corps Member in Denver, CO
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Teach for America gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Meaningful mission, great alternative path to education, growth focussed

    Kontras

    First year is very demanding and tiring

    Teach for America2019-03-14
  8. „Local leadership challenge”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Managing Director 

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Teach for America gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great mission Good people to work with

    Kontras

    The local leadership was poor (has since changed) Very expensive organization Only certain people “fit in”

    Teach for America2019-03-29
  9. Hilfreich (2)

    „Highly variable experience based on manager & division”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Director in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Teach for America gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    [Please note, there is a difference between working for TFA and being a corps member (teacher). This is a review of the regional staff experience.] Very bright/energetic staff and no one ever says "that's the way we've always done things". Some divisions are high-performing and fantastic to work with (e.g. recruitment, IT). Offices are nice and pay is good for a non-profit.

    Kontras

    The staff experience is highly variable based on the experience of the manager and the division. Many managers don't have any training other than using sound-bites from business books without any thoughtfulness as to what applies in a non-profit environment. My manager has the best of intentions and was a skilled subject-matter expert but had no skill in managing others. Our team completely disintegrated. My... biggest frustration was that there was no separating constructive criticism of the organization (and its methods) without being painted as someone who "didn't believe in the potential of our students" or distracting from the "real work". There appears to be two camps of people: ones who genuinely buy-into the TFA jargon and those who know how to code-switch effectively and have the meaningful conversations/work outside of the office environment. I don't feel the TFA culture brings out the best in people and they hemorrhage talent to other ed groups (e.g. OneGoal) but don't own that fact that people actually leave because of the way that they were treated at TFA. Some teams - particularly TLD - lack boundaries and it feels like a frat-house than a professional environment. The amount of people who binge-drink on weekends to cope with the stress of the job should be a red-flag.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Hire more non-corps members and more mid-career professionals with experience working in other functional organizations (both education related and non-ed related). It is a problem that the overwhelming majority of the talent only has experience working for dysfunctional schools and/or in TFA-like environments (KIPP, etc). Hold yourself accountable to the standard metrics of organizational effectiveness... (turnover rates, etc) and spend more time assessing problems/criticisms (e.g. TFA as "corporate ed-reform") rather than dismissing it as baseless criticism or people leaving because they couldn't cut-it. Yes, urban education is tough but that has nothing to do with how people are treated in an office in the loop.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Teach for America2019-03-26
  10. „Great network, opportunity to learn various cross-functional skills, compensation not great”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Director of Development in Miami, FL
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Teach for America (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Values driven work Great employee benefits (health, retirement) Opportunities to build cross-functional leadership skills

    Kontras

    Compensation is not great Work-life balance great, but workplace benefits are few At times resource constrained

    Teach for America2019-03-11
1140 Bewertungen gefunden