Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Tango | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Tango

Aktualisiert am 11. Jul 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

2.9
39%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
58%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Tango CEO Eric Setton (no image)
Eric Setton
14 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (22)

    „Sinking Ship”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Mobile Applications Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Tango gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Tango used to be a leading messaging company; however, they lost their battle to competition that executes faster with a coherent strategy. Great talent has long left the company.

    Kontras

    - No evident exit or fundraising options for the future. Even existing investor Alibaba invested in Snapchat. - Undergoing major layoffs with people disappearing over night. These efforts are led by a ruthless CEO who thinks investor's money are his own. - Almost 50% employee turnover with many new hires leaving the company in a couple of months after realizing coming to Tango was a mistake. - Below the market... compensation plan. If you are a great engineer you have much better options in a hot market these days. - Weak leadership team with no growth strategy as evident by tanking user numbers and engagement. - Lack of product vision. The core product team has no prior experience in social. Just check out the latest reviews of the app in the app stores

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Reorg the management team, specifically the CEO and the product team which are responsible for horrible culture and subpar product.

    Tango2015-08-19
  2. Hilfreich (16)

    „Would not recommend”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Tango gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Mobile messaging is an exciting business to be in, and there is a good deal about it at Tango. Also, there are some quality people at the company.

    Kontras

    A small group of employees has been there for 4+ years, and most others are less than one year into the job. The pattern is that many or most have such a bad experience that they leave in one year or less. The "old timers" feel locked in by vested but not liquid equity.

    Rat an das Management

    This one is tough because even solving the problems at Tango doesn't change the fact that Facebook's acquisition of Whatsapp probably sealed Tango's fate.

    Tango2015-06-11
  3. Hilfreich (6)

    „Tango's culture is ambitious, diverse and full of opportunity.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Mountain View, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Tango (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - Innovation & openness to new ideas - Opportunity to advance and/or switch teams to work and contribute to new areas of interest within the company - There is always something new happening - People are nice - People are passionate about the product and their role in contributing

    Kontras

    - Internal communication across teams - Culture clashes: We have a diverse team which is great, but when people are from different countries and unfamiliar with business etiquette in America then they often offend others without knowing or understanding why they offended the other.

    Rat an das Management

    - Assign owners to projects/features and then communicate it clearly with the entire company. - Provide an educational business etiquette outline that Tango HR feels fits the Tango culture and is appropriate, then have it passed out in the on-boarding packet for new employees and also distribute it to the rest of the company.

    Tango2015-04-15
  4. Hilfreich (5)

    „Good company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Tango ()

    Pros

    Good company for engineers. Salary is OK

    Kontras

    stock option is not attractive.

    Tango2015-02-16
  5. „Very team-oriented company with a fun work environment and potential for growth”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Programmer in Palo Alto, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Tango (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great compensation, lots of room for personal growth, very fun office environment with many perks and amazing co-workers. The office is filled with passionate and incredibly hardworking people with diverse backgrounds, which makes for an enlightening and satisfying work experience.

    Kontras

    Work-life balance is a bit difficult, with long hours but work is satisfying.

    Rat an das Management

    We have many group company meetings, although would be more effective to have some more one-on-one meetings with management as well.

    Tango2015-01-20
  6. Hilfreich (3)

    „If you have realistic expectations its great!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Tango (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Lots of ownership of work, and ability to make an impact. Benefits are pretty good compared to other tech companies. Smart people who are good at expressing themselves and communicating upwards get recognized. Still small enough to get C-Level executive time when needed. Lots of improvements in flight and are super exciting!

    Kontras

    If you don't have a fire in your belly for startup work, don't bother. Many people who get frustrated forget that it's a startup. Engineers who are entitled or aren't prepared to iterate on their work should stay away. Many people get frustrated when they don't really understand why things are done a certain way. It is not that abnormal to hear "we've always done it this way" from some of the older employees -... if you know what you are doing you can usually bat away the concern. Those that really know what they are doing thrive, those that don't or fake it get broken.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Recognize your rock stars more, and bulk up your QA team. We need more iteration and testing. Stop having engineers or artists design features. Need actual product designers or managers to do this as its apparent the former doesn't know how to build a good app.

    Tango2014-12-30
  7. Hilfreich (14)

    „Need a better management team”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Tango (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    There are quite a few smart and experienced engineers here. Large user base, a lot of interesting problems.

    Kontras

    Large portion of the management team are not qualified to be manager or director. They don't know how to motivate people and how to make people happy - You can see that from other reviews. They don't really listen to you because they don't really respect you from heart - Reasonable suggestion by multiple engineers are just got ignored and don't try to mention it again if this happened.

    Rat an das Management

    Ask yourself what you did today helped your team member. Learn how to motivate people.

    Tango2014-10-23
  8. Hilfreich (2)

    „software engineer”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Tango (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    It is a very energetic company. very friendly people. developing mobile platform and i feel they are winners. more than 250M users. great stratosphere in the office

    Kontras

    demanding environment. need to be smart to get appreciate bu the team

    Rat an das Management

    keep going

    Tango2014-10-15
  9. Hilfreich (13)

    „The company needs a better CEO”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Tango (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Lots of great people. Good potential to really build something big.

    Kontras

    It's such a pity that great people are overruled by poor management, led by the tyrant CEO. The CEO constantly spreads out negative energy throughout the entire organization by micromanaging, public scrutiny even humiliation, last minute changes, short-term focus, and promoting long hours and weekend work. No respect for individuals. No appreciation for work. The company doesn't have strong vision or mission.... Only strategy seems to be making numbers seemingly attractive and hoping to sell to Alibaba some day. Focus is always very short-term. Projects are rushed out or cancelled. Conflicting priorities at all times. On top of that, the company has mis-aligned execs. It has more VPs than people who actually get things done. Directions come from all over the place. But guess what, it doesn't matter if they are aligned, the CEO will change it after all anyway.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    If the Board really want Tango to succeed, need to replace its CEO. We need someone that can lead by inspiration, vision, and appreciation, who would focus on long-term and lead people with clear strategy towards it's goal, whom people would follow instead of afraid of, who leads instead of bullies, who doesn't cause most of the attrition over the past few years.

    Tango2014-11-02
  10. Hilfreich (8)

    „Great people. Extremely motivating environment. Very good long-term outlook.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Tango gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I worked in Tango for a bit less than a year (I had to leave because I've got my dream job in Google, not because I didn't like working in Tango) on H1B visa. Before joining Tango I've read some of the negative reviews on Glassdoor and was a bit hesitant about joining. I'm very glad I ignored all these reviews! My overall experience with Tango was extremely positive: - I've learned a lot of new things in a very... wide range of topics and as a result I improved as an engineer tremendously! - I've met a lot of very smart and motivated people and made a lot of friends! - All managers that I was working with (directly or indirectly) were extremely helpful and responsive to my needs! - I had an opportunity to take a peek into insides of a very successful Silicon Valley startup! - Last but not least I should mention all the perks: great food 3 time a day, a lot of team/company events, phone/education/gym reimbursements...

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    With more than 200 employees and almost $300 millions of raised funds Tango should already be considered BigCorp for all intents and purposes, not a Startup. And most of the cons in my opinion are strongly tied with the inability to switch away from "startup mode" in which Tango continues to operate: - too much focus on the short-term - inefficient, outgrown code review practices - reluctance, unwillingness... of mentoring new people - occasional mandatory work on weekends - a lot of flakiness in the decisions

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    It's time to move away from the startup mode!

    Tango2014-09-01
92 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden