Arbeitgeberbewertungen für TNTP Teaching Fellows | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für TNTP Teaching Fellows

Aktualisiert am 26. Aug 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

62 Bewertungen gefunden

2.9
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
45%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
0%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
TNTP Teaching Fellows CEO  (no image)
3 Bewertungen
  1. „BCTR Cohort member”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teaching Fellow in Baltimore, MD
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei TNTP Teaching Fellows als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Work with wonderful people and receive terrific training and feedback Guaranteed a job as a teacher Lot of growth and feedback to facilitate growth Supportive environment

    Kontras

    Not paid for summer training. A little difficult to make ends meet during PST Regimented way of doing things that isn’t best for a certain group of kids For some people who didn’t make it through the program, they didn’t tell them until the very last day. There’s a lack of transparency to anyone who falls in the 1.90-2.40 range of “consider additional evidence” to see if they make it through training.

    TNTP Teaching Fellows2019-08-07
  2. „Would Not Recommend”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Resident in Baltimore, MD
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei TNTP Teaching Fellows als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    The residents you meet in the program are amazing. That's about it.

    Kontras

    do NOT do this program. there are much better teaching programs out there. i had people in my cohort who passed both praxis exams, who were there early every single day, who turned in their lesson plans on time and were never late,who were always polite,professional, and dressed appropiately who were cut on the VERY LAST DAY. they were cut over people who are sitting in classrooms right now who haven't passed EITHER... praxis exam, who were regularly late, who were unprofessional, some people taught lessons completely wrong, turned in lesson plans late, etc. and were kept as they were considered "favorites". the observations are completely subjective and your fate is left to whoever is observing you that day. the coaches are completely unprofessional: they would openly mock certain residents within earshot of other residents, they weren't prepared themselves, they didn't know how to answer questions, if residents asked questions they didn't like-the resident was berated for it in front of the entire cohort. i almost wish i hadn't passed because now i face down a year of random observations, three hour weekly seminars, and a huge tuition fee to a program i no longer believe in. they preach they have baltimore students in mind during every single step of the process but they do not. they would not have cut such creative, thoughtful, amazing people who were completely blindsided on the very last day and kept medicore people who they just favored. certain people who fell into the "passing with considerations" bucket were told repeatedly they had nothing to worry about from their coaches and then were cut. there is a major communication problem. this program sucks. do not move across the country for this program. do not waste your time. you could potentially be a model resident and be cut for no apparent reason (and given no real explanation as to why you were cut either)

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Don't wait until the last day to cut people. If you think someone is going to be cut, TALK TO THEM. DON'T BLINDSIDE THEM ON THE VERY LAST DAY OF TRAINING. I get you want someone to teach your classes for free, but it's not fair. Be straight up about the very real possibility of not passing. Make the "considerations" more clear.Don't yell at people for asking questions. Every question should be considered valid; we... are there to learn, not to be berated.

    Mehr anzeigen
    TNTP Teaching Fellows2019-08-27
  3. „Great job to gain experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Tutor in Selma, CA

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei TNTP Teaching Fellows gearbeitet (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    Decent pay for working 20 hours a week. Working with the kids is amazing

    Kontras

    A lot of paperwork if required that is basically repetitive.

    TNTP Teaching Fellows2019-07-01
  4. „Short-sighted. Misses the target in providing comprehensive teaching strategies.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Lead Teacher in New Orleans, LA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei TNTP Teaching Fellows gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You can get your teaching certificate investing less time and money than a traditional program. Read Teach Like a Champion for an explanation of how they.d like to program you.

    Kontras

    The summer program is very intense, which would be fine if you felt like the time was being used wisely. In the morning you will teach summer school, not the worst because it's only 1-2 hours of active teach. Except...the curriculum they provide expects you to teach a 90 minute lesson in 60 minutes, then move right on to the next one, never mind any gaps in understanding. They talk about then gloss over the... importance of many things that go into being an effective teacher. Basically it does a lot of teaching based on data about certain teacher behaviors, but has no heart.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Be more transparent. Saying vague things like "everyone who truly wants to teach passes" in both unhelpful and false. Admitting that many people don't finish the summer program, or don't last through the first year would help many applicants decide if TNTP is right for you. It would've been more effective to use some of the afternoon PLT time looking at previous lessons and considering reteaches than plowing through... curriculum.

    Mehr anzeigen
    TNTP Teaching Fellows2019-05-29
  5. „Teacher”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Bilingual Elementary School Teacher 
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei TNTP Teaching Fellows als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Hours are not too bad if you manage

    Kontras

    The pay could definitely be more

    TNTP Teaching Fellows2019-03-30
  6. „Fellow”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich arbeite bei TNTP Teaching Fellows (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    - Good opportunity for graduates

    Kontras

    -long training program -very low pay

    TNTP Teaching Fellows2018-10-18
  7. Hilfreich (5)

    „Traumatizing for Many; Money Wasting; Soul Selling”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei TNTP Teaching Fellows als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Only join this program to receive free training in the summer. Their grading is subjective so do not waste two years to find out that they don’t think you qualify to be a teacher. The price reduction is not worth the added stress.

    Kontras

    BCTR makes this experience more stressful than it has to be, but blames it in you. They have unrealistic expectations. They expect to own all of your time. If you have a family, just don’t. You are better off spending the next two years working full time elsewhere or completing an actual graduate program that isn’t subjectively graded on a single pass/fail basis at the end. There are no grades or transcripts to... prove your work. All you have is the voice of your observers. Leadership picks favorites and lets some students redo their formal evaluations until they receive a better score but deny that opportunity to others. They will lead you to believe you are passing and ask you to fork over money for student supplies, transportation, and living expenses for additional weeks of free labor for them just to cut you for something that was resolved on the first day.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    I am not sure that management is willing to hear any criticism or receive any advise. I’ll stick to pointing out what you’re good at You are good at getting people’s hopes up. You’re good at pretending like you care about people. You are good at getting good people on board with your ideas. You are good at misleading people. You are good at lying to people. You are good at making things more difficult than... they could be.

    Mehr anzeigen
    TNTP Teaching Fellows2018-10-17
  8. Hilfreich (2)

    „Wonderful Program!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - TNTP Fellow in Nashville, TN
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei TNTP Teaching Fellows gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    This program prepared me to be an effective teacher.

    Kontras

    The summer training is intense but effective.

    TNTP Teaching Fellows2018-07-27
  9. Hilfreich (4)

    „Be careful”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Lead Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als 5 Jahre bei TNTP Teaching Fellows gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The mission is good but it's the worst of these sorts of programs

    Kontras

    The execution of the mission is immature, poorly planned and more concerned with standards than students and teachers. This program ignores what it really takes to be a great teacher and reduces everything to percentages and rubrics. BCTR is another impersonal bureaucracy under the already unwieldy bureaucracy of Baltimore City Public Schools. It's much better to get your teaching degree from a local University... and avoid this group. Any coursework you do with them will not transfer to a University if you want to go back for a Masters.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    The immature management does not understand the sacrifices people make to enter this program. They do not support new teachers, they rate and judge them. They also chase away many new teachers with great potential who leave the program midway through.

    TNTP Teaching Fellows2018-07-06
  10. Hilfreich (4)

    „Horrible experience- but worth it for the end product?”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe bei TNTP Teaching Fellows gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You are able to receive a teaching certificate for much cheaper than anywhere else. A very fast track to becoming a full time, certified teacher. I was teaching my own classroom (with salary) within 3 months of starting the program, and I have my completed certificate within a year.

    Kontras

    I completed the program from 2014-2015 and I still have anxiety and flashbacks about it, hence why I feel I needed to leave a review a few years later. The summer training is awful. You will be miserable, lack sleep, and any resemblance of a social life. You will teach in classrooms that you do not choose (the least of any issue), you will be trained boot-camp style, you will be yelled at, you will be made to... feel insignificant, and you will be expected to write insane lesson plans all night, every day for the entire summer. You won't be able to take any sick days, or take any time off to interview for jobs. You'll be "required" to take the first job offered to you. You will suffer the whole year while you teach your first year through pop-up observations. During one of my observations, the "coach" advised me to keep a vibrating timer to buzz off EVERY 30 SECONDS to check for understanding. Honestly, it was one of the hardest and most miserable years of my life. But- I did pass and was able to leave that craziness behind and actually enjoy teaching. Prepare yourself- but might be worth it in the end.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Hire better coaches.

    TNTP Teaching Fellows2018-06-05
62 Bewertungen gefunden