Bewertungen für T J Morris, „10 discount” | Glassdoor.de

Mitarbeiterbewertungen für T J Morris zu „10 discount“

Aktualisiert am 17. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

2.8
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
43%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
46%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
T J Morris CEO Tom Morris
Tom Morris
111 Bewertungen

Bewertungen zu „10 discount“

Zurück zu allen Bewertungen
  1. „Management at different stores can thoroughly influence your experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Sales Assistant 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei T J Morris (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    - Having worked at three different Home Bargains stores across the country, the management at the first store I worked were very responsible with the knowledge that the way they treated those working junior to them could massively impact their wellbeing. They understood that, as much as was within their power, it was their job not only to ensure the well running of the shop, but to ensure that coming to work was as... pleasant as possible for their employees (problem customers, busy shifts, etc. are all part of the job, of course, but management should be able to ensure that the actual work environment, including the dynamic between management and employees, is a healthy one). - You get a 10% discount on products in store - Kronos system theoretically means you can put yourself forward for more hours, swap shifts, put in for holiday, etc. without having to fill in long forms. - I've witnessed first-hand that career progression is readily available to those willing to work for it. - Management at all stores I've worked have been good student employers in terms of being willing to work around exams, classes, lectures, etc. - Pay is above minimum wage (I'm 23 and earn 45p per hour higher than minimum wage) - Management at all stores I've worked have understood that some people work better in different areas of the store (eg. it's been my experience that older women are more confident working on the tills than on the shop floor), and wherever possible accommodate them working in these areas.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    - In all stores I've worked, there seems to be a level of nepotism, and while this doesn't have to incur a negative impact (the first store I worked, a sales assistant openly spoke about the fact that her area manager cousin got her the job, and when a sales assistant position opened, the store manager's daughter in law very quietly joined the team, but both were hard workers regardless), it did in the second store... I worked at. Here, the store manager hired her younger sister (who seemingly had no sales experience) as part of the management team. Younger sister would frequently talk down to more junior employees, presumably knowing that she was 'untouchable' because of being related to the manager. - One of the stores I worked at, management was quite sexually suggestive to some female workers. I myself knew it was meant in a jokey way but could easily see others getting upset by it. - Second store I worked at were hugely oblivious to mental illness. On one occasion I started going through a depressive episode midway through shift (I have depression, which at its worse can lead to me feeling suicidal), and spoke to management to see if there was any way I could leave earlier (not even right away) than the all-day shift I'd been scheduled in for. Management told me I could leave early but to 'work through my depression' until they told me I could leave. They didn't tell me I could leave, I ended up working the whole shift, and having a major panic attack once it was over. If I had shown symptoms of physical illness, I know for a fact that I'd have been allowed to leave, or offered alternative help (eg. when another worker came in throwing up from a hangover, he was allowed a longer than standard break). Additionally, after deliberately making it known at my interview for this store that I, because of my high levels of anxiety, find that I work better when given specific feedback on what I've done well and how I can improve, only one member of management ever tried to do this. Invisible disabilities are just as important as visible, and given that the store operates a nationwide 'quiet hour' on a weekly basis to help people with sensory issues, you'd think that understanding of this would be drilled into management training to ensure unilateral understanding across stores. - Lack of standard procedure, or adherence to a standard procedure, across stores has made it difficult for me personally to fit into the various new stores I've joined each time I've moved home. For example: it's generally taught that aside from on the first aisle when all product is brought forward, product should be pushed back on all shelves apart from top and bottom, where it's brought forward. This changes by store, seemingly on management's whim, and can make it very difficult to know how to tidy the store (Eg. whether to go with the manager's rules or the company's rules) - Management in general at the second and third store I worked at were nearly all unpleasant (with some very pleasant exceptions). It was recognised amongst the staff at the second store that the store manager would not speak (other than to scold) to sales assistants, apart from one select favourite worker. When I told management that I could no longer work the last few hours on a tuesday (Eg. not even that I couldn't work tuesdays, just that I couldn't work the latest shift on a tuesday), I was told that my contract (which was twenty hours each week, though they usually scheduled me in for around thirty five each week with no consultation with myself) might be slashed in response.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    - More training in mental health awareness - Recognise that a good work environment is one where people feel comfortable coming to you with any problems, not scared of how you'll react. - Do NOT just hire people because they're your friends or family.

    T J Morris2019-09-17
  2. „Decent for a first job but don't expect much from it”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Sales Assistant 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei T J Morris (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    short shifts ideal for students 10% discount

    Kontras

    Low pay - have to be 25 to get minimum wage! Incompetent management who think they are superior to staff, they belittle you and treat you like you're stupid Too many managers in a store (at least 7) so there is a lack of communication between them Discount only available in the store you work in Shifts not given more than two weeks in advance

    Rat an das Management

    Treat staff with respect, retail is hard enough without bullying

    T J Morris2019-08-09
  3. „Ses assistant”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Sales Assistant 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei T J Morris (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    Good shifts sometimes 10% discount which is like 10p

    Kontras

    Management at terrible Don't care about staff

    T J Morris2019-05-20
  4. Hilfreich (3)

    „Not great”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei T J Morris (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    Not a hard job to do, you get a 10% discount which is pretty decent and it’s easy to learn how to do different things

    Kontras

    Management can be condescending, they don’t take into account you have other things to plan and rotas are often late

    Rat an das Management

    Don’t be condescending to your younger staff as during holidays you rely on them a lot, the reason the staff turnover is so high is because employees don’t get treated right

    T J Morris2019-03-01
  5. Hilfreich (1)

    „Supervisor”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Derby, England
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei T J Morris (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    10% discount Yearly Christmas party which is 100% paid for Chance to become a ‘Wow badge’ holder and you can enter competitions to win festival and football tickets etc. Gives you valuable skills like experience in merchandising stock and cash handling Sizeable bonuses for senior management when targets are achieved Good progression opportunities into management or travelling the country as part of the... merchandising team Liverpool training at head office to learn procedures with other people from across the UK After 5 years of employment you are rewarded with an additional weeks holiday per year In this company you don’t have to worry about being made redundant as they’re opening a new store every week across the UK and doing really well considering retail is supposedly failing Overall it is a good company to work for it just needs more money spent on staff and management, even if profits aren’t as enormous as they currently are

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Not all procedures and policies are fairly followed throughout the company, a minor but good example, in your staff handbook employees are not allowed to wear black skinny jeans, but at their main stores in Liverpool the majority of the staff are wearing them, I really don’t see what the big deal is about black skinnies at work but I’ve had my boss having a moan because I’ve not sent staff home for wearing them No... set rota, shifts usually completely different from one week to the next Working time directive is often broken as if you close on a night you have to open in the morning Depending on your area manager you can be extremely stressed due to the unnecessary pressure put on you High staff and management turnover in some areas, so constantly having to train new employees Efficiency is the main focus of targets but when you haven’t got enough staff or management they can become almost impossible while trying to maintain the standards of the shopfloor Managements contracts are 44hours per week and you are on a salary so when you do overtime(which is unavoidable 99% of the time) you will not get paid extra, so the more hours you work, the lower your wage works out to be per hour The maximum contracts that staff are given are 20 hours a week over 5 days but they often have to work between 25-35 hours per week, this makes them miss out money when taking holidays Management have to create rotas for staff, often getting left until a few days before new rota started

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    My main ask to the CEO would be to increase staffs contracted hours as they are being unfairly penalised when taking holidays, it would be less of an issue getting staff to stay extra hours too if they were contracted to work the hours Pay better wages to staff to attract better workers Rotas need to be computerised to take pressure off management HR need to take complaints about bullying more seriously as I have... witnessed the majority of complaints being made about Area Managers being swept under the rug and forgotten about

    Mehr anzeigen
    T J Morris2019-02-03
  6. Hilfreich (2)

    „Job is fine if you just want to be paid and on temp basis”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Sales Assistant in Liverpool, England
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei T J Morris gearbeitet (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    Regular hours (minimum wage)- contract was 12 hours over 3 days but there would frequently be more hours available if you wanted. Opportunity to increase hours during breaks between university (let them know in advance as rota is done 2 weeks before). Assisted in the opening of two new stores (my store included) where I worked overtime 40+ long hours but worth it for the extra money (maybe £450?) Busy but easy... work- I worked tills/fill shift/first aisle and rebuild. 10% discount at the stores you work in- thankfully my store was close to my house but not much advantage if you live far away, have to take public transport etc . Most of the staff were nice and friendly

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Fill shift - the most intensive role as you have customers asking questions (what is this? where is that? etc) which increases the time you empty your cage (which management have set unrealistic targets of 40 mins per cage-and that is for a full cage with lots of small boxes, they would calculate less for half cages or big bulky items- 15/20 mins). Cages were located strategically according to the manager/s (i.e.... kitchen boxes on kitchen aisle) but while maybe half the cage was kitchen the other half would have you running back and forth to different aisles while you had 1 customer asking where the teabags were while another customer knocked into the shelf and broke something made of glass/spilled liquid on the floor, making sure this was cleaned up took priority due to health and safety-when you had a good manager they would normally be roaming around to assist so you could notify them and leave them to get it sorted which if you had a cage they would be more than happy to do-they really push to get cages empty! If stock levels were low (mostly start/end of the day) products customers wanted would still be cages so if they asked you did you have any or saw it on the cage you would have to take time to get them their item (customer comes first), which was fine but many times it was the bottom box of the cage and when you finally got the customer their product (most genuinely appreciated the effort) this would could make the boxes unstable/falling out and if you didn’t sort it out by a manager walked by they would say why is your cage so messy/this is dangerous etc . if the store is unusually busy or tills are understaffed you could be called away from your cage to the tills-depending on how long you were on tills someone else could’ve been moved onto your cage if they finished theirs (in which case you still haven’t done 1 complete cage by yourself? Justin has already done two-okay but Justin hasn’t been on the tills for 30mins) or your cage would still be unchanged. Then sometimes you could be asked to do random jobs while on your cage-lead sales could you to take products to star buy-manager could ask you first help with fridges/milk/bread which is understandable as these are chilled/staple daily products but they often don’t reduce your time on the cage or later when they shout or ask why you haven’t finished you have to remind them that you took me off the cage. So while filling shelves with stock is easy enough all these potential often frequent interruptions make 40mins per cage ridiculous, it could be done sometimes if it was a drink cage and the store wasn’t busy but majority of the time it was simply unrealistic which just adds unnecessary frustration and pressure. I asked why not have the fill shift in the night when there would be no customers same as the other stores they said they have pay 1 ½ wage for unsociable hours and they claimed because of this they empty cages slower-or maybe just more realistic targets? First aisle – can get quite boring especially if there aren’t many customers or no cage to help out with (normally towards closing time). Normally the same staff on first aisle-they only continue putting you on if you can make the aisle look good at all times. You are never supposed to leave the aisle which I find impractical because sometimes you need to get a manager or someone to help with something assisting a customer/reporting a thief etc. (Although they have walkie-talkies now so first aisle can communicate with management). The role is quite silly and should be removed, I don’t know of any other supermarket that employs this practice- they say it is to keep the aisle presentable to customers to make a good impression/you are there if customers needs help and to report robbers. But one really good thing about home bargains is members of staff are always on the shop floor and easily locatable. While making first aisle presentable is good that staff member could float around to ensure the rest of the store maintains that impression. Tills – can be very busy/very empty. I preferred busy when it gets empty it gets boring and time can drag on. Simple enough- scan items, receive money, give change. Again it is usually same employees who operate the tills, mostly middle age women at least in my store that is how it was. The younger staff, particularly those worked on the fill shift didn’t like working on the tills, I never understood why-maybe they found it boring or not wanting to interact with customers- found it a nice change of pace. The majority of customers were nice and friendly I personally never had any problems with customers but some of the other employees had had arguments with customers. We actually ran out of bags at checkout and had none in store, this happened several times either someone would drive to another store to pick some up or if we were understaffed/nearing closing time we just had to apologize to customers who looked at us in disbelief. You would think this was one independent start-up store not a nationwide supermarket chain with 400+ stores. They should always be a cage of bags in the back consistently topped up over the week. One time an employee (working there for several months- he wasn’t good at any of the roles in the store, they got rid of him eventually) lost money in his till- probably by giving out the wrong change (he got me the wrong change once)- I think £20 over the course of the day, he got a warning which fair enough he made a mistake but two other staff on the tills also got a warning- maybe because they didn’t know which till the money was lost I don’t know but there was no investigation just a blanket warning to all three which understandably really angered and annoyed the two innocent employees. One thing that really annoyed me about the tills was they had no ‘closed sign’ which I know annoyed customers too, you had to verbally tell customers you were closed and sometimes they didn’t hear you, on their phone/wearing headphones etc. so they would put their stuff on and you either had to tell them repeatedly like an idiot until they heard you while serving your current customer or just serve them before you closed off. And if you didn’t see them unloading their basket when you told them then they understandably got annoyed, reloaded their basket and headed towards an open till. All this confusion is completely avoidable by a ‘sorry we’re closed’ sign. I asked a manager why they didn’t have these signs and was told they are ‘uninviting to customers’ which okay I guess I understand but surely that is better than inconvenience/annoyance. Another girl employee told a customer she was closed, she heard her then moved to the next till, another customer came who she repeatedly told that the till was closed but she didn’t hear- maybe she was deaf?- so she decided it would be easier to serve them but the previous customer got angry and emotional, asked to see the manager and claimed the cashier who racist. The cashier ended up getting a warning. They used warnings for the most minor things people started not to care, they no longer had an impact just further resentment and dislike of the managers, their job and the company. Needless to say because of this staff turnover rates are huge. Half are young (uni students or their first job out of school) and the other half are older women. Staff are generally nice and friendly, some managers were great others were lazy, walking about not helping always on their phone-which always annoyed me as we had a strict no phones on the shop floor policy, they claimed it was a work phone but it clearly wasn’t and everyone knew that- lead by example/one rule for me, another for everyone else? It could be a great supermarket for customers and employees, they have the resources and the manpower. But they clearly have the wrong people making the wrong decisions, a huge disconnect between management/head office to the shop floor, staff and their problems. It feels like everyone just says that is just how we do it and how it has always been, if they know/think procedures should be changed no one seems to speak up to improve efficiency or employee engagement. I didn’t hate working there but I knew going in that it was a temporary job until I finished studying I wouldn’t have wanted to work there longer at least not if everything stayed the same. They do offer career opportunities, lead sales/assistant manager etc., but unless you can climb high enough to make chances I would suggest looking elsewhere for career opportunities or progression. Also beyond wage and 10% discount, no additional perks.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    There is so much they could do to improve morale and engagement which would mean lower staff turnover and therefore less hiring costs but they wont because they see it as a waste of an investment as they can easily be replaced. They could targeted perks to their staff- young staff get discounted driving lessons like they do in McDonalds/20-25% of baby items for parents etc but they just wouldn't.

    T J Morris2019-01-20
  7. Hilfreich (3)

    „Agency staff get more respect than full time workers”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Warehouse Picker in Liverpool, England
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei T J Morris als Vollzeit

    Pros

    decent pay, 10% discount, some good lads and girls to work with mainly English and Romanian. difficult to write 20 words that show Pros for this company

    Kontras

    Full of bad mannered Polish agency staff. Really bad management skills - couldn't manage their way out of a paper bag. No respect from supervisors, Treated like cattle, expected to keep to unhealthy pick rates, and cautions/warnings are ten a penny the poles seem to run the company

    Rat an das Management

    treat staff like human beings and listen to them, promote from within rather than to agency staff, get English in ALL departments before BREXIT

    T J Morris2019-02-23
  8. Hilfreich (1)

    „Overworked, Underpaid, Constantly Shifting Goalposts”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei T J Morris gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    10% Discount on products, day would pass quickly

    Kontras

    Not enough hours in the day to appease area management expectations.

    Rat an das Management

    Fairer wages to reflect how many hours management work in a difficult environment,

    T J Morris2018-12-19
  9. Hilfreich (2)

    „Fill shifts a mess”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Sales Assistant 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei T J Morris (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    Lovely staff to work with 10% discount

    Kontras

    Fill shift are on from 8 till you finish the cages no end finish time allocated could be there till shop shuts ridiculous hours as if you have young children they don't like you picking them up from school. Only on a 16 hour contract never done 16 hours since being there

    Rat an das Management

    Treat people with more respect listen to your staff's concerns and be considerate. 16 hours means 16 not 25. Putting too much stress on fill shift to end a big delivery of 30 or 40 cages with 4 staff on in 4 hours is unreasonable

    T J Morris2019-01-16
  10. „Best discount retailer to work for”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei T J Morris (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Paid weekly Above min wage Area manager is very hands on Lots of progression oppurtunies 10% discount Staff Xmas party is free

    Kontras

    Its retail, same as any other shop

    T J Morris2018-12-12
269 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden