Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Solstice | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Solstice

Aktualisiert am 8. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

170 Bewertungen gefunden

3.9
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
73%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
86%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Solstice CEO Kelly Manthey
Kelly Manthey
33 Bewertungen
  1. „Full Stack Engineer”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Full Stack Developer in Buenos Aires
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Solstice (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Ok salary, good mentorship program, paid meals, excellent people working here, most of the projects are really fun and interesting to work on. Nice offices with several great perks. Great career program.

    Kontras

    Salary could be better I guess. Some projects are not as interesting. Pair programming is promoted here, not for everyone.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep growing, improving stuff!

    Solstice2019-09-09
  2. „Good company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Technical Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Solstice (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great people, everyone loves to learn

    Kontras

    Offsite clients can take away from the good atmosphere

    Solstice2019-08-30
  3. Hilfreich (2)

    „Good perks, extremely low quality work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Sales 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Solstice als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    good private insurance, events in general

    Kontras

    poor quality of work, bad leaders (low skilled).

    Solstice2019-08-09
  4. „Amazing place to work, grow and have a great time.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Solstice als Vollzeit

    Pros

    You can see and experience the Solstice culture. It's in every detail and encourages you to be better and make better the ones you work with.

    Kontras

    You may feel overwhelmed at times with all the social side of the company culture.

    Solstice2019-06-14
  5. Hilfreich (4)

    „Solstice's biggest investment is in training its people. If you want personal growth then work here!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Technical Consultant 
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Solstice (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Solstice is a boutique consulting firm, so it charges a premium for the work it provides. Clients are happy to pay this premium if they feel that the workmanship is superior. As a Solstice technical consultant, you are part of the product being sold, so Solstice has a high stake in your ability to perform. The company provides you with multiple avenues to grow as a software engineer. First, you're trusted to... learn on the job. You may not have direct experience with Swift or React or Spring Boot, but you'll be put on those projects with the understanding that you'll grow. This wouldn't work if Solstice didn't foster a culture in which everyone lifts each other up. This makes sense: a more senior engineer wants you to improve because it makes the team look better to the client, and will mentor you if you need it. The second avenue of investment comes in the form of a large training budget (including training days which you can take) that can be used in any way that you can justify. People are encourages to attend conferences, take online courses, get subscriptions to OReilly Safari, all on the company's dime. The third investment they make is in internal projects, which you can work on outside of your regular billable hours, and sometimes get paid for (depending on the project). These internal projects often become big marketing tools for Solstice, so it's a win-win situation. The executives are very open to feedback. I've personally had one on ones with some of the CTOs (yes, there's a few of them) and the CEO herself. All of this lead to my personal growth while working for the company. I often tell my friends that 6 months of consulting with Solstice taught me more than 2 years or working at a fortune 500 company.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Solstice has 2 major issues, both of which stem from the fact that as a consulting firm, they have no differentiator that they can settle on. Solstice became very committed to very fast growth, and has been doubling in size again and again for a couple of years now. This has caused some growing pains. Many people around the office often wax poetic about the loss of culture, and for the most part, they're right.... The other issue is that because Solstice is trying to expand quickly without a differentiator, they often have to be flexible to the demands of the client regardless of the well-being of their developers. You want a team that's half Solstice half Cognizant? OK sure Solstice will do that. You want our developers to work on-site with you 5 days a week.... well... OK Solstice is still happy to take that money. Some "teams" are essentially just staff augmentation consisting of 1 or 2 Solsties essentially being shipped off to work for a client every day. Which is tough, since you don't get the Solstice culture in an office with cubicles. This has lead to some brain drain in the firm. The company is becoming bottom heavy as they hire dozens of junior devs while their experienced developers leave for better working conditions. Readers of this review many wonder why company has 4 starts with such a long "cons" section. I'm giving Solstice the benefit of the doubt here, as I personally know that the executive sweet is currently taking action to address this problem. These issues may be a thing of the past soon. My advice to anyone considering working for Solstice: ask about these issues, or else you may find yourself commuting to some random suburb and never seeing the office you were given a tour of on your first day.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Solstice2019-05-30
  6. „Great place to work and learn”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Buenos Aires
    Empfiehlt
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Solstice als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Solstice is one of the best companies I have worked for because of several reasons. Solstice took me under their wings and is giving me the chance to learn and develop new skills. There is an anual training budget per employee, a mentoring program followship, a complete on-boarding process, and a strong confidence on the potential of people. We work under scrum methodologies resulting on strong personal relations... and fluent communication between team members. We all know on what is our team mate currently working. As a company that is constantly growing, there are lots of things that are still to be done, and that gives you the opportunity to come up with new ideas and being heard. The best part of Solstice is it's culture: we have fun while working on a motivational atmosphere, servant collaborating attitude and catching excellence at work are highly valued and recognized, and you have the opportunity to be part of initiatives outside of your role and commit to them. Definitely, Solstice forces you to get out of your comfort zone.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Fast speed growing pains related.

    Solstice2019-06-06
  7. Hilfreich (23)

    „Growth at what cost?”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Solstice (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You will have the opportunity to work alongside some of the smartest, passionate people in the industry. People genuinely want to share their skills with others which means there are many learning opportunities for those starting out in their career. The work is challenging and the projects can have high-visibility. Because of their agile mindset, they will encourage and support you to do whatever you are passionate... about- whether that is starting up a gaming group on a Friday night, hosting a charity event or exploring a new piece of technology. Generally the work/life balance is okay and for those who don't like structure then this place is great. There is no set track here, and if you are good at what you do and people see it, you will find a lot of success here. Unlike most consulting firms, the focus on local companies is refreshing and enables a better work/life balance. If/when you care about work social events, there is always something on. They host meetups which create plenty of opportunity to meet other people in your industry. The device policy and training budget are also great benefits. All in all, Solstice has great people and tries to promote a good culture.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    - Pay is below average: they will put it on the new hire to take a pay cut or to take a title downgrade. - No budget for innovation/R&D - Poor retention rates/high burnout - Immature company with patterns of favoritism - Promotions are subjective and based on mentors. There is no transparency in the process. - Lack of empathy for introverts- public promotions are anxiety inducing and can be disappointing... for those working hard and are not being recognized. - The pay gap between two hires at the same level can be drastic. HR doesn't like people talking about it. - They only promote people who are well overdue which causes valuable team members to leave. It can also hinder employees in their career advancement. - Unpaid hours are non-negotiable. Quarterly meetings, involvement in any circles, committees etc. - Client work is rarely exciting and "innovative" - Meetings often involve management trying to sell to employees. The kool-aid gets old. - They don't fund R&D and the expect people to stay back late and work for free - Cliquey culture - Serious lack of diversity - Lack of support for certain disciplines at management level- they are a dev shop as much as they try to sell themselves as something else. - Not totally "flat" but also their attempt at being a flat organization causes problems for people don't know who can advocate for them - Risk aversion cripples innovation - Travel compensation policy is terrible - No annual pay increase or bonus - Rarely a bench- everyone is spread thin - Minimal sick days - Open office can be distracting - Glassdoor reviews are fake news, many have been planted by the firm What was a warm and welcoming environment has become a place that is very growth focused. There has been a shift away from management who genuinely cared to management who lacks transparency and behaves very reactionary. Passionate people will only mask the cracks of a growing firm for so long. 


    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Our start-up approach doesn't scale and isn't cute anymore. We are a firm of 500 employees. Start placing more trust in the people who are around you, start caring more for the people you have hired. We all want to see the firm succeed. More transparency in your messaging would go a long way, “we have identified our problems and we’re working on improving them by doing a, b and c." The company has invested... immensely in growing, but hasn’t done enough to retain employees and lacks the foresight of a multigenerational firm. The corporate rocks/goals don't feel human, which begs the question, how can the firms employees get behind them if they can't relate to them? I would also hope that the firm was more generous with regard to its CSR. While many employees are willing to donate or give time, it becomes difficult to continue donating so many hours when we are expected to be 40hrs billable/week. Invest in CRS like you do marketing and you will have happier employees and a better conscience. Offer paid volunteer hours to help increase participation.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Solstice2019-05-14
  8. Hilfreich (8)

    „Four years in and continually thankful I found Solstice”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Director in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Solstice (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    It's the best Technology Consultancy I have ever been a part of or interacted with at any of my client sites. I’ve been at 2 Consultancies and worked with/for/at 23 clients (Ten F-500 at Solstice) since entering the workforce 14 years ago. I’ve still yet to see a single company generate a culture, hire the talent, have an awesome office space, blend relevant employee benefits, consistently do engaging, meaningful... project work, and build employee capabilities, as I have seen at Solstice. I’m sure they exist elsewhere, but to say this is a 1-star place is someone speaking from a position of naiveté or spite. Solstice has indeed changed since I joined 4 years ago — as all companies do. But my favorite part of it is that its matured and improved and I had the opportunity then — and still do now — to shape how it continues to evolve. The career growth and opportunities I have found in just four years is phenomenal and I am thankful for the past and excited for the future.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    I don’t think Solstice does a good enough job setting expectations that we are a consulting firm. Clearly, a lot of people were recently hired and didn’t understand that causing their experience to mismatch their realities. Solstice is a consultancy, and consulting isn’t for everyone. At Solstice, you will (eventually) work on things that are potentially different than what you have done in the past or the thing... your interviewer said that you resonated with. You will use new and additional technologies and processes that may be new to you. You will move desks, sometimes multiple times in a month. You will meet new clients and Solstice teammates — most of which are fantastic, friendly, and brilliant, but some that are average. Projects you fall in love with will end and projects you will love are around the corner. If you feel stuck on a project for too long, ask your leadership for a plan — I’ve been in the recurring, frequent meetings where project succession planning is discussed and I think they do a really nice job helping those that ask to find new opportunities. Yes, there are other things that could be improved too. There always is. But if consulting is in your blood, then there isn’t anything that a conversation with your mentor or leadership, with their open door policy, can’t solve.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    We hire great people, that can do anything. The problem is that they can do anything. To achieve the significant, but realistic, growth targets, there is an opportunity to create a stronger long term incentive plan to keep the people around that will help those goals become a reality.

    Solstice2019-04-15
  9. Hilfreich (7)

    „Good people”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - User Experience Designer 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Solstice (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Amazing, smart, kind people work here. People truly care about each other and earnestly try to make each other's lives and work better.

    Kontras

    A flat organization to a fault. Too few true leaders, undefined career paths, and critical feedback is often ignored in favor of back-pats and high-fives—which leads to grassroots efforts that too often die out (mostly due to lack of a supportive structure to enact change).

    Rat an das Management

    Recognize the internal struggle for improvement that a significant portion of your employees are passionate about. Dedicate people to internal initiatives and pay them for it—don't expect things to get better anytime soon if people need to work a full load for their clients first.

    Solstice2019-04-19
  10. Hilfreich (33)

    „Amateur Engineers”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Solstice (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    1) $5000 training budget + 4 professional training days 2) Slack... a gamechanger for communication 3) Generally no overtime 4) Test Driven Development mentality 5) Mentorship program 6) Billable overtime is paid at your calculated hourly rate + 10% 7) Work from home policy 8) Casual dress 9) Good location, downtown Chicago right outside the Loop 10) Free phone/device 11) 100$/month toward phone bill 12)... Monthly catered breakfast/lunch 13) Happy hours every couple weeks 14) After hours social events & clubs (book club, painting, cooking, etc) 15) 3 weeks PTO, managers are flexible and let you use it 16) 401k matching up to 4%

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    1) Cliquey/frat culture ... unprofessional 2) Volatile leadership...lack of transparency. 3) Open office (loud disruptions, nerf guns, distracting eye contact) 4) Pays below market value (there is lots of fluff e.g. ping pong, coffee) 5) Expectation is 44 hours/week but only paid for 40 6) Staff is encouraged to stay and work late on R&D without pay (Pay it Forward event, Solstice Labs) 7) LTIP is weak. A... few hundred dollars and a laptop sticker after two years, and a sweatshirt + few hundred dollars more after five years. 10 years you get plane tickets. 8) It is unlikely you will work with the tech stack you were hired to work with 9) Lacks deep understanding of enterprise software development (Continuous Delivery, blue/green deployments, SLAs's, A/B Testing, API Design, etc etc). Zero hardware competency. 10) 100% paired programming mentality ... overkill and mentally exhausting 11) Siloed teams (zero engineering culture) 12) Empty answers from leadership e.g. "We hear you. Thank you for your feedback." 13) LOTS of kool-aid (circles, networks, upside down triangle etc) 14) Public promotions (that's right)...very toxic...very unprofessional 15) Promotion reviews are subjective, opaque, and not scalable. You get reviewed by a large committee and you need everyone in your corner. 16) Unpaid quarterly meetings 17) Sadly most contracts are boring side gigs from F500 companies 18) Offshore teams 19) IT setup ... conf calls / phone rooms are noisy & not insulated... makes it difficult to hear and work effectively 20) The bench is an unorganized disaster 21) Travel compensation policy is a bad deal 22) Only 6 paid holidays 23) Only 3 sick days 24) Many of the 5 star glowing glassdoor reviews are fake reviews posted by HR

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    I give this shop 2/5 stars. There are some leaders who truly care and empathize with the staff. Unfortunately there are so many more leaders that are out of touch with reality. Many projects nose dive into the ground after a couple years because of incompetent "product owners" and people cutting corners to meet arbitrary deadlines. Then Solstice tries to sell the client a re-write of the entire application... (sometimes more than once; I have witnessed this at least 3 times). The engineering dept has lots of kids/amateurs who do not deliver high quality code. Middle management is mostly original employees who were promoted based on tenure and not expertise. Lots of Solstice veterans (5+ years) are leaving. Action items for leadership: 1) Stop talking to employees like they are ignorant clients. Leadership is made up consultants who are adept at bending and exaggerating the truth. Don't forget that your staff are consultants too--they know when you are distorting reality. 2) Stop discriminating. I have witnessed HR & Resource Allocation make decisions predicated on characteristics such as age & personal situations (kids, marriage, pregnancy, etc) 3) Bring back the anonymous questionnaire. Anonymity is how you will get honest feedback 4) Stop public promotions...unprofessional and toxic 5) To ignite culture, there should be lunch presentations with guest speakers EVERY DAY 6) Tone down the kool aid ... it feels like a cult 7) Udemy/online training is not effective...hire experienced engineers 8) Implement a real LTIP to minimize turnover 9) Be transparent about all of the quantitative metrics of the business...not just the numbers that make you look good 10) The slogan "prove what humanity is capable of" is alienating, too abstract, and ultimately confusing. Perhaps "prove what your business is capable of" would be better. 11) Pay a market wage and raise the engineering standard

    Mehr anzeigen
    Solstice2019-03-14
170 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden