Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Silverchair | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Silverchair

Aktualisiert am 20. Nov 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.9
75%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
83%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Silverchair CEO Thane Kerner (no image)
Thane Kerner
22 Bewertungen
  1. „Company values mean nothing if they don't occasionally cause pain”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - SQA Engineer in Charlottesville, VA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Silverchair - Vollzeit

    Pros

    This is one of the few places I've worked where the company values are more than just PR, or something we tell new hires about and conveniently forget when it impacts revenue. I've worked at those places. Places where calling out an issue leads to someone telling you to mind your business or stay in your lane. Silverchair actively encourages you to raise issues. They're by no means perfect about solving them, but... they do strive to improve over time and that means a lot. Silverchair has an amazing work culture and ethic. People are open and honest about feedback and criticism with the goal of constructive growth. Also has some of the smartest people I've had the privilege of working with. I've learned and grown a ton working there, and continue to learn every day. Great work life balance, great PTO system, decent benefits.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    The business side can sometimes have a bigger voice in outcomes than other orgs, this is generally true of most agile shops however, and there are genuine attempts to improve that balance.

    Rat an das Management

    A company dies once it loses it's core values. There are plenty of local examples of this as well as other examples nationally. Keep hiring those that truly believe and internalize the core values of Silverchair and the company will continue to do great.

    Silverchair2019-11-20
  2. „Product Owner Interview Process”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Product Owner 

    Ich arbeite bei Silverchair - Vollzeit

    Pros

    From start to finish the process and communication was clear, timely, honest, and overall very pleasant and positive. The team members I communicated with at each step were all warm and engaged, and created an environment which allowed for a relaxed and friendly exchange of information and ideas.

    Kontras

    None, it was a very positive experience.

    Silverchair2019-10-31
  3. „Mixed bag”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymous Employee in Charlottesville, VA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Silverchair gearbeitet - Vollzeit

    Pros

    You will get baptized by fire here. Depending on how you respond to that will determine if that is a good or bad thing. If you love Agile, which you should, this is the place to learn. Everyone is extremely smart. You will learn so much if you work here.

    Kontras

    Onboarding is decent but the mentoring program seems to be an after thought. Which is unfortunate since you're expected to be 100% ramped up after about month. The tech debt is massive and the platform is extremely complex. Shipping features as fast as possible is valued over clean code and proper unit testing. It's a very cliquey culture and devoid of humor unless you think cat pictures are comedy gold. It's... also next to impossible to affect change. Lot's of good idea's die quick death's at the hands of C-Level executives. Turn over is extremely high.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Research other companies that have successful mentoring programs and model their programs. If you turn your focus to nurturing and cultivating talent instead of pushing it to burnout, you'll see turnover decrease, which will lead to more productive workers, which in turn will lead to having a smaller, yet more efficient work force. I don't know how to fix the clique problem other than to say the fix has to come... from ideas generated by the worker bees and implemented from the top down. It will be uncomfortable at first but lean into the discomfort.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Silverchair2019-11-14
  4. „I have been working as a Business Analyst for less than a year.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Business Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Silverchair - Vollzeit

    Pros

    Good company, very flexible, opportunity to learn and grow in your area of work. The more initiative we take the more there is to learn and grow in the company. The interview process was pretty smooth and finished in 3 weeks time with a telephone round and an onsite interview for 3 hours.

    Kontras

    Benefits are medium.

    Rat an das Management

    Good Company, great work environment. Work toward employee retention.

    Silverchair2019-09-26
  5. „Great training, teamwork and mission-driven rewarding work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Developer in Charlottesville, VA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Silverchair - Vollzeit

    Pros

    Great onboarding program, paired with onboarding buddy who really helps you learn the codebase and how to navigate the company resources. A lot of investment in people; having a good attitude and being adaptable to changing needs can really take you far. Going to repeat what other reviewers have said, when it pertains. "Everyone on my team is really helpful and encouraging. Silverchair also really appreciates their... employees. They are very understanding about sickness and emergencies. (Plus, they keep the kitchens stocked with nice snacks!)". "One of the best places I've worked from a company culture standpoint." "Fast paced. Rapidly growing. Our success has led to a quickly evolving workplace where top performers rise rapidly."

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Benefits are comparable in terms of the Charlottesville tech scene, which is generally on par with a city of this size, parental leave policy is low.

    Rat an das Management

    "Seems like a unique time in this competitive space - keep the pedal to the metal and take advantage - it may not last long!" Prioritize side projects and innovation during PIPP and allocate more resources to finding more SQAs and an additional architect. Don't allow tickets to overload PIPP planning, provide time for innovation to engage developers and allow them to grow and expand.

    Silverchair2019-07-07
  6. „Lots of energy, growth, and great training”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Product Owner in Charlottesville, VA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Silverchair - Vollzeit

    Pros

    Most training I've ever had at a new job; people like working here; company on the growth curve; excellent resources for new hires; great facility; flexible PTO

    Kontras

    Parking can be a bit of an issue (they provide discounted options); benefits are average

    Rat an das Management

    Seems like a unique time in this competitive space - keep the pedal to the metal and take advantage - it may not last long!

    Silverchair2019-06-12
  7. „Loved my time at the company!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Silverchair - Teilzeit

    Pros

    Great management team, loved the people I worked with

    Kontras

    I wish the pay was a bit higher but overall no real cons

    Silverchair2019-05-01
  8. „A wonderful work environment, very helpful collegues”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Associate Software Developer in Charlottesville, VA
    Empfiehlt

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Silverchair - Vollzeit

    Pros

    Silverchair has a great onboarding process. They introduce all new employees to the different departments in the company, giving a good overview of how it all works together. This is my first job out of college, so it was important to me to have a job where I could build my skills. Silverchair has been that. Everyone on my team is really helpful and encouraging. Silverchair also really appreciates their... employees. They are very understanding about sickness and emergencies. (Plus, they keep the kitchens stocked with nice snacks!)

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Silverchair does not have any company parking. Employees need to either pay for parking or walk from a free parking space.

    Silverchair2019-04-22
  9. Hilfreich (2)

    „Great to learn at, hard to make a difference”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Unspecified Non-Developer in Charlottesville, VA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Silverchair - Vollzeit

    Pros

    Overall, Silverchair is a really excellent place to work if you're hungry and want to learn about Agile & web development. Fellow employees are friendly and helpful. The demand for quality & dozens of sites they maintain means you will have plenty of work to do, learn, and grow on. It's filled to the brim with extremely smart technical people. Company's business plan has improved immensely over the last... years is going in the right direction with financial proof. They really are a huge player in a niche industry and are doing their best to scale with the amount of clients they're going after. Benefits rule, unlimited PTO is a real thing (depending your team)! Location on the mall is excellent, as is the setup inside the Hardware Store building, great snacks are always available, and meeting walks on the Downtown Mall are common. The HR support staff care for their employees extremely well and always offer fun events and opportunities. Company culture overall is super fun, humorous, but hard working.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Silverchair is a revolving door of employees and middle-management. New employees often wont last a year. Stellar employees leave after a few because they found a competitive opportunity. Because of this, training, resources, and direction are sometimes really hard to track down, even when you're expected to know it all. Morale gets really low as great people leave and gaps are left. Niche industry of academic... publishing contributes to a tech company that's behind in its technology standards. The company sells their innovative "Platform" but it's really held together with tape on a pile of unorganized legacy code. Upper-management, sales often doesn't know what it's selling, and puts unneeded pressure confusion on build teams. This is all bewildered by the fact that Silverchair is just creating a bunch of content-heavy websites with few complex features. There's nothing truly innovative going on here, but the status quo in the industry is Terrible Websites so any bit of quality shines a lot I guess. Upper-management makes dumb decisions sometimes that effect the whole company negatively with expectation that employees with make up the difference. On the flip-side whenever you go out of your way to try and improve something "that's always been this way", good luck getting buy-in from them.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Provide more direction and goals for what you want your employees to accomplish. Allow for even a tiny amount of change, innovation, and side-projects for ALL teams and you'll retain your best employees for longer. Stop allowing terrible client relations to run your employees into the ground, fire clients if you witness the organization isn't ready to handle them. Find more of a balance to invest back into... reorganizing code and improving technology stack instead of dealing with a crazy client's demands for little return.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Silverchair2019-04-05
  10. „Silverchair culture, environment, and work flow”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Client Service Analyst 
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Silverchair - Vollzeit

    Pros

    amazing PTO and benefits, also an awesome location for the office

    Kontras

    traffic around the area, and parking

    Silverchair2019-03-15
39 Bewertungen gefunden