Bewertungen für Saiful Bouquet Engineer | Glassdoor.de

Saiful Bouquet Bewertungen für Engineer

Aktualisiert am 25. Mai 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

4.2
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
88%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
92%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Saiful Bouquet CEO Saiful Islam, Ph.D., S.E.
Saiful Islam, Ph.D., S.E.
10 Bewertungen
  1. „Exponential Growth - Holistic Exposure Of Running The Show (Projects)”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Briefly about me; I worked for 3 1/2 years at SBI. Worked directly with executives, Saiful & Tom and principals Matt & Vernon and often interacted with several other principles. I was a fresh graduate out of UCSD and this was my first full time job. (1) Getting onto the point I feel to be the most important. It was a period of exponential growth for me. I was directly part of much more of what can... typically be expected in that time. These include engineering and management skills attained through working on great projects. I had a holistic exposure of running the projects. Analyzing, designing, detailing, managing drafters, coordinating clients & other consultants, attending meetings and presenting. To mention here, was directly coordinating & attending meetings with Gensler & HP which are one of the largest US architect and contractor respectively. You wont be a person who fails to look beyond numbers been thrown out of a computer. (2) If you remain persistent eventually your hard work will pay off well. There will times of ups and downs. But the resolve to self-improve & maintaining positive attitude to utilize all the growth resources at SBI will cash out amazingly as you being a person who understands how projects run (engineering+management). (3) There is large group of young & smart engineers. They work on all kinds of projects in concrete & steel ranging from airports, high rises, schools, hospitals and commercial plazas in new and existing buildings. And each one of us was a resource of learning for other. This environment of being part of a group of smart peers accelerates the learning. (4) Majority of the people at work are quite friendly and I made some very good friends & work relations there. They were good people to hang around at & outside work. (5) The Pasadena & DTLA offices, both are high tech & fancy offices comparing to vast majority of the big structural offices in US. My concluding remark is that I have practically seen myself and good number of engineers walking in to the office fresh out of school and through persistence & resources available at SBI transform into great project engineers. I have witnessed people growing towards being capable of handling complex projects. And learning that the real world engineering is not about mere crunching numbers & analysis on computers but how to generate workable solutions, talk & handle clients, contractors, plan checks and management skills in general.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Need additional time for R&D and a reserved & designed time for personal development. Might sound like a radical idea but is not and this can be big winner for time ahead.

    Saiful Bouquet2019-05-25
  2. „Good company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Entry Level Structural Engineer 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Saiful Bouquet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -insurance -working environment -high salary -overall a good company to work for

    Kontras

    -interview process was too long

    Saiful Bouquet2019-04-14
  3. „Prestigious and forward-thinking structural engineering firm”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Saiful Bouquet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great company that gives to young engineers exposure to exciting projects. Engineers who are willing to take responsibilities are rewarded by working on very high profile projects. All principals are very knowledgeable and technical therefore you will always find an answer to your questions. The company is fast pace therefore you will get to learn a lot in a very short term. The company rewards long term... commitment and provide very good benefits (very good 401k, many company events, free snack/drinks,...).

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    As the company works on very high end and fast pace projects, young engineers need to close the gap between the school knowledge and practical/required technical knowledge within the first 6-12 months. Therefore engineers need to do their "homework" and be willing to work on their own to match the company expectations. This pressure is not easy to take and sometimes overwhelming but i do believe that this is for the... engineer benefits as well.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Have faith in young engineers and empower them.

    Saiful Bouquet2018-10-08
  4. Hilfreich (2)

    „Structural Engineer - Pasadena”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Saiful Bouquet for sure provides more than an engineer can expect. However, not everyone is able to understand and feel it, let alone benefit from it. Projects & Work The best part about the company is the high profile projects that an engineer can work on. Unlike the big firm only allows one to work on something he is good at, Saiful Bouquet gives young engineers the opportunity to work as much as he can. From... conceptual design thru construction administration, from concrete to steel, an engineer is encouraged to learn as much as he can. Imagine an engineer can do the performance based analysis for a high-rise building in his first year, ambitious ones consider it as a rewarding challenge, while others complain it as pressure. Usually this is the phase creating problems. Industry is nothing like school, where people work for their own benefit and have sufficient time to learn, those people are called students. However, in company people work for clients, and are being paid to perform rather than to learn, then they become engineers. Some engineers consider the learning process as part of the work, which in my opinion, is not. Get out of the school doesn't mean we stop doing homeworks, and that shouldn't be considered as overtime. Once engineer is familiar with SBI's standard and required knowledge, all the rewards will eventually come on his resume or become part of the skill set. Benefit Very generous 401K matching plan, and probably the best medical insurance plan. Fresh fruit and many types of snacks and drinks are always in the kitchen. Office massage, quiet room, and relaxing environment makes SBI have the best perks in the industry. And thank you to the office manager, who keeps making everything better. Culture With the profound understanding of the building code, SBI tries to push the design to its limit. That requires a very solid knowledge about every parts of the design. In order to make things done, SBI wants its engineers to understand the concept first. Furthermore, SBI concentrates on the quality of drawings, which makes engineers have to pay attention to every detail. The working culture makes SBI engineers very valuable in the job market. All the managers are super knowledgable, and they are willing to help anyone in the office. With many immigrants, SBI has a very friendly working environment. Actually Mr. Saiful is very supportive to immigrants, so is office manager Jeannine. There is no difficulty at all for an immigrant to fit in and make friends with each other. Happy hour, office activities including bowling and fishing, birthday party every month, all make the office a very good place to work. I hardly see people in other companies still talk to each other after work, while SBI is so different. All in all, I think SBI is a company that separates engineers into two groups. Engineers in one will survive there and be able to survive everywhere; engineers in the other may only be able to do mediocre work and move slowly.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Sometimes the workload may be higher than usual, which increases the pressure. However, it does happen in every firm that has a growing reputation. Some managers may be harsh to engineers when they make silly mistakes. Do homeworks first before taking the exam and don't take it personal.

    Rat an das Management

    Not everyone has 20+ years of experience and born to know everything. Here I quote what Mr. Saiful said to engineers before:"be patient, and good things will come". I guess the wise suggestion may be considered by everyone.

    Saiful Bouquet2017-05-03
  5. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great platform to grow and learn.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Structural Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Saiful Bouquet ()

    Pros

    As a Structural Engineering Firm, Saiful Bouquet has been growing at a very fast pace. This has brought in a lot of interesting and high profile jobs and has opened up great opportunities for the employees to gain tremendous amount of experience as structural engineers, drafters, coordinators, admin, marketing and managers. I have been working as a full time engineer for over a year now and have realized many... benefits of working in SBI. Listed below are a few crucial ones: 1. You get a chance to work directly with the Project managers and Principals. They have an open door policy, you can consult any principal directly. 2. SBI has a fast work pace. If you are focused and determined, you would gain an enormous amount of experience in a short amount of time. 3. Young employees benefit the most, as they are learning from people who have had more than twenty years of experience in the industry. 4. All colleges are extremely down to earth, friendly and helpful. 5. It's extremely challenging and always keeps you on your toes. As engineering graduates and aspiring structural engineers, it is very important that we understand that Structural Engineering is not all about engineering. As structural Engineers, we have to coordinate with almost all of the different organizations that are involved in the completion of a project. At SBI, employees get exposed to all the elements of structural engineering since the beginning which facilitates their development and growth.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Sometimes as a young engineer all you care about is engineering. You may get disappointed by the fact that sometimes you don't get to do analysis or engineering due to the phase your project is in. This phase may get stretched for a long time depending on the project you are working on. I believe, this is inevitable regardless of where you work.

    Rat an das Management

    My only advise to the management would be to try and understand the thoughts and needs of the new generation and bring a change in the work environment once in a while.

    Saiful Bouquet2015-07-19
  6. Hilfreich (2)

    „Good company to get some overall experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Saiful/Bouquet has a great work environment. I was always treated fairly by my PM’s. I gained a lot of real-world experience right away working on large scale projects. It was tough during the deadlines, but that project knowledge and having to learn to deal with hard deadlines right away has definitely helped me in my new position. There are a lot of fun people there. From the Drafters to the Admin, they have a... fun group. They provided great health insurance benefits which unfortunately I didn’t use often.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Long hours were the norm. Deadlines were really intense and stressful. And depending on your manager, your stress level could double or even triple. Work/life balance was poor. And I don’t think there was enough one-on-one guidance.

    Rat an das Management

    Do a better job mentoring engineers. Management needs to be more engaging with lower level employees in decision making. Hours are extremely long. Try capping the day at 10 hours. Hire more people to ease the load on engineers. Pay for overtime or show monetary appreciation in other ways.( ie. Additional days off). Just do more to make engineers feel appreciated.

    Saiful Bouquet2015-06-29
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „CHALLENGING & HIGHLY REWARDING!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Saiful Bouquet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I started working at SBI as an engineer more than a year ago and although the work load was very demanding, the amount of knowledge I gained was invaluable. The benefits of working at SBI is that it is a fast paced, prestigious and rapidly growing company that will challenge you to grow. There is opportunity for advancement if you perform well. Also, the projects you work on are a huge resume booster. Moreover, the... corporate culture is young, people are friendly, and you literally get to work with the best engineers in the business. In short, if you see yourself as intelligent, detailed oriented, hard working, and passionate about engineering this is the firm for you! Personally, I'm happy that I chose to work at SBI and feel proud to be a part of the most talented family of engineers in the industry!

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    The bar is set high and you have to be on top of your game, therefore this firm is not for the mediocre. I have seen some engineers not able to cut it. Since the work is demanding, you have to be passionate of what you are doing and if you are not, it will ultimately lead to your failure.

    Rat an das Management

    Conduct team building exercises such as ropes course events with the outcome objectives of increasing communication, synergy and trust. This may help cultivate vertical solidarity between upper management and young engineers.

    Saiful Bouquet2015-05-29
  8. Hilfreich (1)

    „Fast-paced and creative place to work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Structural Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Saiful Bouquet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Working with some of the most hard working, fun and talented people in the industry. Management is extremely passionate about engineering excellence and putting their best work in front of the client. They have been adding a lot of perks that make the work environment fun.

    Kontras

    - Work life balance is a bit off. More accrued vacation would be a great trade-off - Need to discuss clear growth plan with employees - Better training needed so expectations are clear from the start.

    Rat an das Management

    Start having weekly meetings so everyone is kept in the loop on all aspects of the companies growth. Don't lose your way as the company grows. Keep on the path that made Saiful Bouquet one of the premier engineers in California.

    Saiful Bouquet2015-06-01
  9. Hilfreich (25)

    „Extremely long hours, no compensation, high stress environment”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Engineer 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    There are many younger engineers and drafters working at the company. Spending so much time together leads to a really good social life within the company. Long happy hours were really common (we would call them happy hours but in reality they occurred long after happy hour was over) where we would let loose and really seemed to follow the idea of party hard, play hard. The half day Fridays are pretty nice even... if half day often seems to mean normal hours at other firms. Some of the managers have a lot of good engineering knowledge and there are some exciting projects that you can have the opportunity to work on. The high workload means engineers will be forced to learn to become sufficient early and fast. It's sort of like trying to drink out of a firehose all the time.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    All of the projects seem to be running on an extremely low budget. This means that the managers expect you to work ridiculous hours with no compensation in order to meet the limited budget. By long hours I mean typically at least 12 hours a day (a lot of engineers work from 8:30 am to 8:30 pm on a usual day). And when there are deadlines such as the last month at the end of the year, the engineers will consistently... work until past midnight. Not only are the hours so long but we were almost never paid any sort of compensation for our hard work. The hiring strategy seems to be to hire young engineers straight out of school so they don't require high salaries and more importantly don't have the perspective of other companies to know if they're being treated unfairly. The trend seemed to be towards hiring international graduates that require work visas because they are often more willing to work the long hours without complaining and can't leave the company without getting another job or being deported. The work environment is very stressful. The CEO is easily agitated and it's not uncommon to hear loud yelling happening in the meeting rooms with a lot of table pounding. The managers are stressed as well and often pass down this attitude of belittlement and condescension. There is an extremely high turnover where engineers leave after a year or two at the company when the lack of a work life balance become overbearing. The remaining managers that have been there for the long term all have lasted because they frankly just don't go home. I used to work on Saturdays and Sundays quite often, because 5 days a week isn't even enough to finish the immense workload, and I would see certain managers there like clockwork. Some of them could even be living at the office because I rarely saw them go home. This means that some of the managers expect those working under them to adopt their lifestyle. I came into the company with the mindset that I wanted to be exposed to everything and learn as much as I can. This definitely came true although it comes to a point where the constant deadlines mean that doing rather than learning happens. I came to realize that designing a building in a couple of days with a material you've never worked on isn't actually the most educational experience. Time is needed to be properly trained and educated to effectively finish the project. Unfortunately the required time is almost never existent. I came in being told that if I worked hard and did well I would be promoted because the company rewards hard work. I learned this wasn't actually true when several of my coworkers that had been at the company for multiple years failed to receive raises or promotions, even while working years of long hours and being highly intelligent and competent. It definitely wasn't a surprise when engineers began to leave in droves to the greener pastures of other firms where their skills can be appreciated.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    The company has an organization of almost exclusively managers then lowly engineers with almost no middle level engineers. This means that with the engineers working extreme hours with no compensation have little trust in the higher ups because they begin to ask where the money is going. My advice is to either reduce the work hours to a more reasonable amount. If this can't be done then compensate employees for... additional hours. If this requires cutting into the higher ups salaries then so be it. Honestly the company is not being run correctly if it can only stay afloat by treating the engineers like sweatshop workers. If there is concern for the huge turnover that continues to happen and is hurting the company then drastic change is required. In an engineering firm like this, skilled engineers are the firm's largest asset. So many great engineers have already left which is crippling the company. Skilled and experienced engineers cannot be as easily replaced by new cheaper graduates as the company seems to think. Because at the end of the day, why would engineers stay when they can work more typical hours at other firms, receive higher pay, and not have to deal with such a stressful environment?

    Mehr anzeigen
    Saiful Bouquet2014-04-26
  10. Hilfreich (11)

    „Mixed feeling”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Variety of experience. Work with smart, famous and knowledgeable principles with new ideas.

    Kontras

    If you are young (<25) with full of energy, very healthy and running/walking/swimming/biking for at least 10 hours /week or 1-hour/day, don't care too much compensation and over-time work, go there.

    Rat an das Management

    1. Raise the wage when economy becomes better. 2. Make more communications. 3. Clarify the task and DUE date.

    Saiful Bouquet2013-07-11
11 Bewertungen gefunden