Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Saiful Bouquet | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Saiful Bouquet

Aktualisiert am 29. May 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

27 Bewertungen gefunden

3.2
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
58%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
64%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Saiful Bouquet CEO Saiful Islam, Ph.D., S.E.
Saiful Islam, Ph.D., S.E.
18 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (17)

    „Don't be fooled by their masks!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymous in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 5 Jahre bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Nice co-workers but that is about it!

    Kontras

    The president Saiful Islam is the biggest jerk you will ever come across! His way of managing is by yelling and screaming at his employees and threatening their jobs. He works them to their bone and there is no appreciation for their hard work. Instead he tells them that they are unappreciative and they are lucky to work there. The company has 10 partners but no one stands up to this jerk, they just let him do... whatever he wants. All the partners are to scared to stand up to him even though most if them do not like the way he runs the company. They treat there employees like children not adults. They don't care that you work late nights and don't get to see your family, but if you are 5 mins late after 8:30 am they make the front desk write down your name to that you get into trouble. This place has no heart and no soul!!!! They don't care about anyone. All the employees are overly stressed and unhappy. They only stick around until they find a better job. People quite all the time 3-5 at a time and they still don't get that's it's because of their management. They are in denial and they will never change! It's really sad because the employees are nice people and hard workers but they are under the management of this monster who thinks he is above all and better then everyone else. I think he forgot where he came from! Don't be fooled by the nice big office and all the great project or the great benefit package you are offered in the beginning. You will never see your 5th Friday off or be able to take a normal vacation, your lucky is you are even able to take a sick day. Save your health and happiness and stay away from the sweatshop!

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    You have to give respect to get respect! Fear is not respect. It only shows you are a weak person who only knows how to bully people to do your dirty work SAIFUL!

    Saiful Bouquet2014-06-20
  2. Hilfreich (18)

    „Join it, but at your own risk!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The only good reason to work here is that you get a lot of exposure in less time.

    Kontras

    Cons- 1. Very mediocre pay for engineers ($56,160 if you are a masters graduate). Every other firm in California pays more than SBI (atleast $60k), considering California is pretty expensive as compared to other states. 2. Too much pressure and work-load. They will directly ask you to stay on the weekends or stay till mid-night almost everyday. 3. No over-time. None. 4. Displeased employees. While I was there,... all of my colleagues (90%) were dissatisfied with the work culture, compensation and behavior of Managers. 5. Managers actually shout at you, in front of everyone. And this includes the senior managers as well, who are there since 16 years. 6. Abrupt lay-offs/letting-people-go. I have seen a lot of people let go abruptly without any warning. And that too within the first few months of their joining. One would question why would they even hire these students if they had to fire them eventually; ruining their careers at the initial stage itself. Overall, I would say that if you have no life other than your work, and you like being someone's slave, go ahead and join this firm.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Only one advise- Employees are the ones that form a company; take good care of them. Do not treat them as slaves.

    Saiful Bouquet2014-06-13

    Reaktion von Saiful Bouquet

    July 24, 2014Managing Principal / CFO

    Thank you for your feedback. Saiful/Bouquet management regrets that some former employees felt that their extra work was not compensated. Like most professional engineering firms, Saiful/Bouquet pays for overtime in accordance with state law and standard business practices. For salaried employees, there is an approval procedure to ensure that additional time is in fact required and work cannot be redistributed to others. We have not heard of any instances of such an approval being unreasonably denied, and in fact we take extra steps to ensure that all weekend work is properly compensated. We understand that employment is “at will” and we work very hard to create a comfortable, collegial, and rewarding work environment.

    Weniger anzeigen
  3. Hilfreich (25)

    „Extremely long hours, no compensation, high stress environment”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Engineer 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    There are many younger engineers and drafters working at the company. Spending so much time together leads to a really good social life within the company. Long happy hours were really common (we would call them happy hours but in reality they occurred long after happy hour was over) where we would let loose and really seemed to follow the idea of party hard, play hard. The half day Fridays are pretty nice even... if half day often seems to mean normal hours at other firms. Some of the managers have a lot of good engineering knowledge and there are some exciting projects that you can have the opportunity to work on. The high workload means engineers will be forced to learn to become sufficient early and fast. It's sort of like trying to drink out of a firehose all the time.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    All of the projects seem to be running on an extremely low budget. This means that the managers expect you to work ridiculous hours with no compensation in order to meet the limited budget. By long hours I mean typically at least 12 hours a day (a lot of engineers work from 8:30 am to 8:30 pm on a usual day). And when there are deadlines such as the last month at the end of the year, the engineers will consistently... work until past midnight. Not only are the hours so long but we were almost never paid any sort of compensation for our hard work. The hiring strategy seems to be to hire young engineers straight out of school so they don't require high salaries and more importantly don't have the perspective of other companies to know if they're being treated unfairly. The trend seemed to be towards hiring international graduates that require work visas because they are often more willing to work the long hours without complaining and can't leave the company without getting another job or being deported. The work environment is very stressful. The CEO is easily agitated and it's not uncommon to hear loud yelling happening in the meeting rooms with a lot of table pounding. The managers are stressed as well and often pass down this attitude of belittlement and condescension. There is an extremely high turnover where engineers leave after a year or two at the company when the lack of a work life balance become overbearing. The remaining managers that have been there for the long term all have lasted because they frankly just don't go home. I used to work on Saturdays and Sundays quite often, because 5 days a week isn't even enough to finish the immense workload, and I would see certain managers there like clockwork. Some of them could even be living at the office because I rarely saw them go home. This means that some of the managers expect those working under them to adopt their lifestyle. I came into the company with the mindset that I wanted to be exposed to everything and learn as much as I can. This definitely came true although it comes to a point where the constant deadlines mean that doing rather than learning happens. I came to realize that designing a building in a couple of days with a material you've never worked on isn't actually the most educational experience. Time is needed to be properly trained and educated to effectively finish the project. Unfortunately the required time is almost never existent. I came in being told that if I worked hard and did well I would be promoted because the company rewards hard work. I learned this wasn't actually true when several of my coworkers that had been at the company for multiple years failed to receive raises or promotions, even while working years of long hours and being highly intelligent and competent. It definitely wasn't a surprise when engineers began to leave in droves to the greener pastures of other firms where their skills can be appreciated.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    The company has an organization of almost exclusively managers then lowly engineers with almost no middle level engineers. This means that with the engineers working extreme hours with no compensation have little trust in the higher ups because they begin to ask where the money is going. My advice is to either reduce the work hours to a more reasonable amount. If this can't be done then compensate employees for... additional hours. If this requires cutting into the higher ups salaries then so be it. Honestly the company is not being run correctly if it can only stay afloat by treating the engineers like sweatshop workers. If there is concern for the huge turnover that continues to happen and is hurting the company then drastic change is required. In an engineering firm like this, skilled engineers are the firm's largest asset. So many great engineers have already left which is crippling the company. Skilled and experienced engineers cannot be as easily replaced by new cheaper graduates as the company seems to think. Because at the end of the day, why would engineers stay when they can work more typical hours at other firms, receive higher pay, and not have to deal with such a stressful environment?

    Mehr anzeigen
    Saiful Bouquet2014-04-26
  4. Hilfreich (11)

    „Mixed feeling”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Variety of experience. Work with smart, famous and knowledgeable principles with new ideas.

    Kontras

    If you are young (<25) with full of energy, very healthy and running/walking/swimming/biking for at least 10 hours /week or 1-hour/day, don't care too much compensation and over-time work, go there.

    Rat an das Management

    1. Raise the wage when economy becomes better. 2. Make more communications. 3. Clarify the task and DUE date.

    Saiful Bouquet2013-07-11
  5. „Amazing growth”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Saiful Bouquet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    This company is one of the largest structural engineering firm in Southern California. If you want to work on projects that screams names like Sony, MGM, and Long Beach Airport then this is definitely the place to work at. One of my tallest building that I worked on is a 55 story high rise during my first year at this company. All these projects come for a price of hard work and stress during deadline, but I'd... honestly like to be stressed knowing that I'm working on a high rise rather than to be stressed out about engineering someone's backyard canopy. This is a company that will get a large projects to put on your resume and to take with you for the rest of your life. During my time here, I was able to finish my master in Civil Engineering with emphasis in structural as a part time student/full time engineer. The company did pay for my entire program. The company will notice hard work and leadership growth within the engineer and reward them for it.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    I've seen many engineers not make it during my career in this office. I believe that if you're willing to work hard and put in the time then the company rewards you; unfortunately some aren't able to handle the demand from not only the company, but from clients and meeting the client's expectations. I do not recommend this company to people who want a 8-5 schedule, but this company has a great amount of resource... for growth as a engineer.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Sometimes we will get engineers that are not qualified for the position. Management should do a better job during the interview process to save on training resource.

    Saiful Bouquet2013-03-21
  6. Hilfreich (21)

    „Poor management, high stress, low pay”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    They had a steady stream of projects coming in even during times when most other design firms were stagnant or downsizing, so kudos to them. This does lead to some cons though (see below). Good range of project types covered (hospitals, retrofits, schools, commercial, etc). Benefits provided, and they like to tout their 'scholarship' program where employees get a certain amount (not much) if they wish to pursue... part time higher education and are deemed "promising" enough by the company. To date I have only seen 1 or 2 people be able to take advantage of this though, but technically it does exist.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Let me first say your experience at SBI will vary greatly depending on which manager/owner you are working under. I've worked with several during my time, and the comments below are purely based on my own experiences. Because they manage to keep a steady stream of projects even during hard times, be prepared to work extra hard. Stress is generally pretty high at the office due to engineers juggling multiple... projects all with competing deadlines. Management is extremely concerned with the quality of work leaving the office, which often means they will stand over your shoulder to make sure things are done the way they want. Usually they prefer things done in a very particular format, so even if the work is done be prepared to spend a lot of time formatting and organizing. Management will also not be shy to point out your mistakes. Reprimanding is common so it helps if you have thick skin. In my experience, management does little to protect their engineers, instead opting to bend over backwards for clients. For example, one time we were asked by clients at 6pm if we could re-do something (which would require several hours of analysis and prep work) to be delivered the same night. Instead of asking for a delivery time of the following morning or before noon, management's answer was "but of course we can! Not a problem". This is great for the clients, and that's why the company still had many even during hard times, but engineers may be left feeling overwhelmed. The position does not pay very well, but considering the design industry is still a little slow you may be tempted to jump on board. Best of luck to you. They are also not very flexible with hours. At one point they demanded all employees arrive at the office no later than a certain time (8:30 I think). Most people work way more than 40 hours a week, however if you need to miss a few hours of work one day due to car trouble and try to wave it off, be prepared to be told you need to take that out of your PTO. Even if you work way more than 40 hour weeks. On last thing worth mentioning. Many current and former employees often joke that SBI is not actually an engineering company, but instead an HR/IT/Marketing company. It's sometimes easy to confuse who works for who here.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Stop running the company like a sweatshop. Learn to trust and respect your engineers. Yelling, belittling and ruling by fear are not good long term tactics.

    Saiful Bouquet2012-12-04
  7. „Excellent”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
     

    Ich arbeite bei Saiful Bouquet ()

    Pros

    Reasonable paid, growth opportunity, good location

    Kontras

    Long working hour, weak management

    Saiful Bouquet2012-05-16
27 Bewertungen gefunden