Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Saiful Bouquet | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Saiful Bouquet

Aktualisiert am 29. Mai 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.2
58%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
64%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Saiful Bouquet CEO Saiful Islam, Ph.D., S.E.
Saiful Islam, Ph.D., S.E.
18 Bewertungen
  1. „Great Place to Make a Career”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    1. Excellent support and help from project managers and colleagues .The team has a great chain of command and any time I’ve had an issue, my supervisor has always been approachable, a good listener, and gives such great advice. It's a great chance for engineers to learn. 2. Great projects all over the nation and opportunities to grow. Received exposure to a broad range of things. Engineers have chance to work on... the airport, museum, hospital, and hotels. I was lucky to exposure to those high profile projects in my past two years at SBI. 3. Great benefit. SBI provides good health insurance, and 401K match compared to other engineering firms.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Hours can get rough when deadlines hit, but that is to be expected anywhere.

    Saiful Bouquet2019-05-29
  2. „Exponential Growth - Holistic Exposure Of Running The Show (Projects)”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Briefly about me; I worked for 3 1/2 years at SBI. Worked directly with executives, Saiful & Tom and principals Matt & Vernon and often interacted with several other principles. I was a fresh graduate out of UCSD and this was my first full time job. (1) Getting onto the point I feel to be the most important. It was a period of exponential growth for me. I was directly part of much more of what can... typically be expected in that time. These include engineering and management skills attained through working on great projects. I had a holistic exposure of running the projects. Analyzing, designing, detailing, managing drafters, coordinating clients & other consultants, attending meetings and presenting. To mention here, was directly coordinating & attending meetings with Gensler & HP which are one of the largest US architect and contractor respectively. You wont be a person who fails to look beyond numbers been thrown out of a computer. (2) If you remain persistent eventually your hard work will pay off well. There will times of ups and downs. But the resolve to self-improve & maintaining positive attitude to utilize all the growth resources at SBI will cash out amazingly as you being a person who understands how projects run (engineering+management). (3) There is large group of young & smart engineers. They work on all kinds of projects in concrete & steel ranging from airports, high rises, schools, hospitals and commercial plazas in new and existing buildings. And each one of us was a resource of learning for other. This environment of being part of a group of smart peers accelerates the learning. (4) Majority of the people at work are quite friendly and I made some very good friends & work relations there. They were good people to hang around at & outside work. (5) The Pasadena & DTLA offices, both are high tech & fancy offices comparing to vast majority of the big structural offices in US. My concluding remark is that I have practically seen myself and good number of engineers walking in to the office fresh out of school and through persistence & resources available at SBI transform into great project engineers. I have witnessed people growing towards being capable of handling complex projects. And learning that the real world engineering is not about mere crunching numbers & analysis on computers but how to generate workable solutions, talk & handle clients, contractors, plan checks and management skills in general.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Need additional time for R&D and a reserved & designed time for personal development. Might sound like a radical idea but is not and this can be big winner for time ahead.

    Saiful Bouquet2019-05-25
  3. „Good company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Entry Level Structural Engineer 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Saiful Bouquet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -insurance -working environment -high salary -overall a good company to work for

    Kontras

    -interview process was too long

    Saiful Bouquet2019-04-14
  4. Hilfreich (8)

    „Honest Review: Come here for health insurance, not work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Health insurance, that's it. They have an excellent health insurance plan where you don't have to worry about getting killed by the deductibles and co-pay. Hopefully you won't have to use it during your term there.

    Kontras

    1. Work culture is very bad. I saw some recent reviews tactfully putting the sentiment that the young engineers should do their "homework" on their own time, which basically means company doesn't want to pay you to learn anything, which comes to you working 45+ hours on a 40 hour pay (I would encourage you to question the recent "five star" reviews by talking to present/past employees to make sure they are not fake... reviews being written by the IT or HR person). Few managers are terrible (god help you if you end up with them), who shout on young, fresh graduates for not doing something which the manager should be guiding the poor guy on, and not appreciating your efforts even if you pull in 50+ hour week to meet the deadline. This translates into resentment and feeling of inadequacy on the engineer's part that they are not good enough, which no one should go through. 2. Bad practices in terms of paying wages or compensation. The company has 9/4 schedule, which means 9 hours from Mon-Thurs, and 4 hours on Friday, which is very convenient because if engineers were to actually track their time (including the time it takes to learn stuff), we clock in 40 hours by Thursday itself, and Friday we end up working 5-6 hours anyway. I was told that couple of extra hours on Mon-Thurs are not paid because they are part of "professional development", instead of being honest and saying they would rather keep the profits within the upper echelon. Add couple of extra hours from Mon-Thurs, and you will see the engineer put in 11x4 = 44 hours already, which obviously they don't pay because they'd rather appease the client than be fair. The other thing is "banking" hours and the company shutdown during Christmas week, where Saiful will personally ensure that if you don't have enough "banked hours" to use during shutdown (which is imposed by the company), you have to use your hard earned vacation hours, which I don't know if it's legal. Also, if the project is running out of budget and/or you accumulate too many banked hours by the end of the year, you run the risk of losing your banked hours (decided by Saiful himself). 3. Lack of transparency in decision making and company structure. It is well known fact among the people that if you perform well while working with Saiful (by staying late, flattering, etc), then you will get promoted faster, because he plays favorites. Also, all the dubious titles (Engineer > Senior Engineer > Project Engineer > Project Manager > ???) are meant to keep you shackled in terms of compensation and responsibilities, because even after working for 10+ years and having a title of Project Manager, all you are is a glorified engineer, because you don't bring in work (or which is small/unimportant), and everything goes through Saiful himself. There is no time to develop professional relationships for a manager because he has a family, and works 45-50 hours (the additional hours he could've used for networking). Engineers at the bottom of the ladder don't even know what's going on, and they just have to keep their heads down and be okay with it. Unless you're going to promote the company (worth decided by Saiful), forget about attending any SEAOSC, ASCE, or other meetups/events. 4. Speaking of company structure, your experience is pretty much decided on the day you join the company. Whatever team you join, whether it be steel or concrete or any other team, you will be there unless something drastic happens. Company values efficiency (just like any other company), and will keep giving you similar work which won't give you a broad experience when it comes to design problems. This might be okay with you, but some people want experience in all the materials before deciding on something, and this company won't provide you that platform because you're working 40+ hours anyway (without overtime, which won't motivate you to study on your own time), and they don't care what you want, as long as their deadlines are being met.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    You have lost a large number of talented and motivated people over the 20+ years you've been in the profession, and it seems Saiful's ears are closed in terms of being flexible, which is ironic given that he's trying to change the ways of other principals/managers. Please compensate the engineers well, and don't overwork them without overtime. The faux banked hours will only do so much.

    Saiful Bouquet2019-04-29
  5. „Prestigious and forward-thinking structural engineering firm”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Saiful Bouquet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great company that gives to young engineers exposure to exciting projects. Engineers who are willing to take responsibilities are rewarded by working on very high profile projects. All principals are very knowledgeable and technical therefore you will always find an answer to your questions. The company is fast pace therefore you will get to learn a lot in a very short term. The company rewards long term... commitment and provide very good benefits (very good 401k, many company events, free snack/drinks,...).

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    As the company works on very high end and fast pace projects, young engineers need to close the gap between the school knowledge and practical/required technical knowledge within the first 6-12 months. Therefore engineers need to do their "homework" and be willing to work on their own to match the company expectations. This pressure is not easy to take and sometimes overwhelming but i do believe that this is for the... engineer benefits as well.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Have faith in young engineers and empower them.

    Saiful Bouquet2018-10-08
  6. Hilfreich (2)

    „Structural Engineer - Pasadena”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Saiful Bouquet for sure provides more than an engineer can expect. However, not everyone is able to understand and feel it, let alone benefit from it. Projects & Work The best part about the company is the high profile projects that an engineer can work on. Unlike the big firm only allows one to work on something he is good at, Saiful Bouquet gives young engineers the opportunity to work as much as he can. From... conceptual design thru construction administration, from concrete to steel, an engineer is encouraged to learn as much as he can. Imagine an engineer can do the performance based analysis for a high-rise building in his first year, ambitious ones consider it as a rewarding challenge, while others complain it as pressure. Usually this is the phase creating problems. Industry is nothing like school, where people work for their own benefit and have sufficient time to learn, those people are called students. However, in company people work for clients, and are being paid to perform rather than to learn, then they become engineers. Some engineers consider the learning process as part of the work, which in my opinion, is not. Get out of the school doesn't mean we stop doing homeworks, and that shouldn't be considered as overtime. Once engineer is familiar with SBI's standard and required knowledge, all the rewards will eventually come on his resume or become part of the skill set. Benefit Very generous 401K matching plan, and probably the best medical insurance plan. Fresh fruit and many types of snacks and drinks are always in the kitchen. Office massage, quiet room, and relaxing environment makes SBI have the best perks in the industry. And thank you to the office manager, who keeps making everything better. Culture With the profound understanding of the building code, SBI tries to push the design to its limit. That requires a very solid knowledge about every parts of the design. In order to make things done, SBI wants its engineers to understand the concept first. Furthermore, SBI concentrates on the quality of drawings, which makes engineers have to pay attention to every detail. The working culture makes SBI engineers very valuable in the job market. All the managers are super knowledgable, and they are willing to help anyone in the office. With many immigrants, SBI has a very friendly working environment. Actually Mr. Saiful is very supportive to immigrants, so is office manager Jeannine. There is no difficulty at all for an immigrant to fit in and make friends with each other. Happy hour, office activities including bowling and fishing, birthday party every month, all make the office a very good place to work. I hardly see people in other companies still talk to each other after work, while SBI is so different. All in all, I think SBI is a company that separates engineers into two groups. Engineers in one will survive there and be able to survive everywhere; engineers in the other may only be able to do mediocre work and move slowly.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Sometimes the workload may be higher than usual, which increases the pressure. However, it does happen in every firm that has a growing reputation. Some managers may be harsh to engineers when they make silly mistakes. Do homeworks first before taking the exam and don't take it personal.

    Rat an das Management

    Not everyone has 20+ years of experience and born to know everything. Here I quote what Mr. Saiful said to engineers before:"be patient, and good things will come". I guess the wise suggestion may be considered by everyone.

    Saiful Bouquet2017-05-03
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „Enjoyed my Time”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
     

    Ich habe bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    I was well taken care of during my time at SBI. There were occasional company outings and coworker bonding events as well as good snacks. My specific team of coworkers were fun people and generally hard workers.

    Kontras

    Often times demands/deadlines lack a realistic approach to getting work done on time. This can lead to crazy hours or not being able to give proper time to a project.

    Saiful Bouquet2016-09-18
  8. „Part-time intern - San Diego”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Engineering Intern in San Diego, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Saiful Bouquet gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    My experience at the San Diego office was extremely enriching. The office is a small group of devoted and intelligent engineers. They are also great people, and the office is like a small family were everyone gets along very well each other. On the technical side, you can get out of the job as much as you put in. Projects are challenging and engineers there get to work on multiple aspects of each project, thus... promoting learning and growth. On the inter-personal side, the people at the office are amazing. There were there for me every step of the way, as they are for each other. They would not only answer my questions, but take an extra step and give me insights on the background. They are not only hard-working engineers, but also fun and good at heart.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    I did not have any negative experiences while at the company.

    Saiful Bouquet2015-12-18
  9. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great platform to grow and learn.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Structural Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Saiful Bouquet ()

    Pros

    As a Structural Engineering Firm, Saiful Bouquet has been growing at a very fast pace. This has brought in a lot of interesting and high profile jobs and has opened up great opportunities for the employees to gain tremendous amount of experience as structural engineers, drafters, coordinators, admin, marketing and managers. I have been working as a full time engineer for over a year now and have realized many... benefits of working in SBI. Listed below are a few crucial ones: 1. You get a chance to work directly with the Project managers and Principals. They have an open door policy, you can consult any principal directly. 2. SBI has a fast work pace. If you are focused and determined, you would gain an enormous amount of experience in a short amount of time. 3. Young employees benefit the most, as they are learning from people who have had more than twenty years of experience in the industry. 4. All colleges are extremely down to earth, friendly and helpful. 5. It's extremely challenging and always keeps you on your toes. As engineering graduates and aspiring structural engineers, it is very important that we understand that Structural Engineering is not all about engineering. As structural Engineers, we have to coordinate with almost all of the different organizations that are involved in the completion of a project. At SBI, employees get exposed to all the elements of structural engineering since the beginning which facilitates their development and growth.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Sometimes as a young engineer all you care about is engineering. You may get disappointed by the fact that sometimes you don't get to do analysis or engineering due to the phase your project is in. This phase may get stretched for a long time depending on the project you are working on. I believe, this is inevitable regardless of where you work.

    Rat an das Management

    My only advise to the management would be to try and understand the thoughts and needs of the new generation and bring a change in the work environment once in a while.

    Saiful Bouquet2015-07-19
  10. Hilfreich (2)

    „A place for engineers who are passionate about their work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Management in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei Saiful Bouquet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Saiful Bouquet is a dynamic, growing company with fascinating projects, set up with a structure that allows engineers to establish their careers and grow with the firm. However, it is not an easy place to work. A lot has been written here about Saiful's tendency to challenge engineers publicly. I actually see this as one of the positive aspects of the firm, but others take it differently. Saiful wants to train... his engineers to communicate effectively and think holistically about their projects, and this sometimes involves putting them on the spot to answer questions that might be posed by discriminating architects, owners, or contractors. At its best, it is a stimulating Socratic method that can be very constructive for the engineer. However, some engineers are put off by his brusque approach. If he finds that an engineer has been working on a project for months with no Basis of Design, or with assumptions that have not been properly communicated and confirmed, he will lose his temper. Many engineers - even those who join with several years of experience - start out with a very blinkered, process-oriented, uncommunicative approach. They need to be converted to the firm's way of doing business, and that can involve a certain amount of argument. Engineers who have worked with Saiful Bouquet for many years learn not to take these challenges personally. They will also learn how to defend their design to owners, architects, contractors, and peer reviewers, with the conviction that their design is not only Code compliant, but also cost effective, appropriate for the intended use, constructible, and consistent with the architect's aesthetic vision. They will look forward to brainstorming sessions with their peers knowing they will be challenged, but the process will improve their project. Eventually, those who succeed will end up being rewarded with a high level of trust and autonomy (and compensation) as a Project Manager or Principal of the firm. Nobody who has reached this level has ever left the company. As the company's reputation has grown, the size and quality of projects has improved. The portfolio now includes many of the largest and most challenging projects in Southern California, including many Performance Based Engineering designs. These projects offer exceptional career opportunities.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Some employees do not appreciate this type of work environment. Being called upon to discuss and defend projects can be distracting and uncomfortable for many engineers, as well as others in the open office area. As noted above, Saiful Bouquet pursues some of the most high-profile projects available, and these projects also tend to have very demanding schedules. Engineers at Saiful Bouquet are frequently asked... whether or not they wish to participate in such projects, since the very nature of these projects involves certain short-term and long-term sacrifices. As with most competitive design firms, there is little margin for error, and the firm’s insistence on cost-effective designs and client satisfaction sometimes takes a toll on engineers. Some engineers try to get ahead by putting in many more hours than expected or requested, to be sure their designs are fully vetted before being presented - only to find that the entire design was based on an incorrect assumption and needs to go back to square one. As the company grows, more of the training of junior engineers is incumbent on the Project Managers, whose training abilities are evolving. Some engineers did not get a fair experience in this regard, and left feeling bitter about the company.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Saiful Bouquet2015-07-02
27 Bewertungen gefunden