Arbeitgeberbewertungen für RealSelf | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für RealSelf

Aktualisiert am 11. Oct 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

123 Bewertungen gefunden

4.0
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
67%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
74%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
RealSelf CEO Tom Seery
Tom Seery
98 Bewertungen
  1. „Great people and culture, rough waters ahead”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - BI Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei RealSelf gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The people here are thoughtful and bright. Leadership is active in working on challenges the company faces, and clearly communities with the rest of the business. Tom and the rest of the execs are open, honest, and seem to care about their people. The analytics team is rebuilding, and there is a lot of opportunity there for someone to come in and make impact. The work/life balance and benefits are second to none.... The office space is also great.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    It’s gotten better but focus seems to be an issue. Often times context or priorities switch. I ran into cases where I worked on something for two weeks that was decided to be no longer needed and dropped. But this has happened a lot less in the last three months. The business is trying to get its footing after a decade of growth. A lot of turnover in the last six months

    Rat an das Management

    Continue to communicate with the company and good luck!

    RealSelf2019-10-11
  2. „A great place to grow and impact change”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Community Manager in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei RealSelf (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The people are fantastic. It's a testing environment and you're empowered to try new things and make a role what you want it to be. The work is mission-driven and the challenges are unique. I'm personally interested in this part of the beauty industry so the work and the community I engage with energizes me. I love the office environment–it's open, inviting, dogs are allowed, and hours are flexible (but it depends... on your manager). I also love that the company participates in large community causes and regularly invites or notifies employees of service projects to be a part of.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Things are constantly changing (i.e. reorgs, goals, office environment) so that means you have to be agile and flexible, and work with sometimes ambiguous or broad goals. Most times this is great, but it can be a con because it can slow progress in some areas even when it's growing other parts of the company. This can lead to a lot of uncertainty but managers are pretty supportive through changes and transparent of... what's to come. Career-pathing isn't always clear but that is starting to change. Representation of women/women of color in leadership isn't as prevalent but that is starting to change as well.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Continue to support your teams through big changes and keep up the transparency. Continue to invest (time and money) in programs and tools that foster inclusion, increase representation in executive roles, and help empower every employee's contribution to company goals and mission.

    RealSelf2019-10-10
  3. „Great people, great benefits, and great mission!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei RealSelf (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I've been working at RealSelf for a little over a year now and am so happy I made the move last September! We have an incredible mission, great culture, benefits, pay and room for growth. There is a lot of opportunity to own your career path here and if you work hard you are compensated for it - I was promoted a little under my one year mark! My manager and team are extremely supportive and helpful. The best part... about working here, in my opinion, is the people - everyone is so great to work with and so passionate about the work we do. Other perks: Great culture, beautiful office space, super flexible work schedule with WFH opportunities, free snacks, fun office events, employee development grant, opportunities to explore what you're passionate about.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Change is a constant here - if you don't like a rapidly changing environment this likely won't be a great fit for you.

    Rat an das Management

    Continue listening to your employees, continue to embody our values and behaviors even as we scale, always be direct and honest with employees even when it's hard.

    RealSelf2019-10-08
  4. „Perspective is Worth Its Weight in Gold”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Director of People in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei RealSelf (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I started at RealSelf just over 3 years ago and then about 3 months ago I left. That is not where this story ends however. This week, I returned after being gone exactly one quarter. It was hard to leave, but easy to come back to. I went to try out an opportunity that, at least I thought, I could not miss. I learned a lot, but most of all I was able to take a step back and get perspective. Sometimes the old adage,... the grass is always greener is true and sometimes what is right in front of you is where you need to be. Of course there are hard times, there will always be ebbs and flows, but you can say that about anywhere you are. I will say though that at RealSelf the good times far outweigh the tough times. I also don’t want to forget to mention the RealSelf team. I have never worked with such dedicated and caring people. I thought about them every day while I was gone. I will end by saying, anyone that is currently here or considering joining, if you have concerns or just want to talk about RealSelf, please reach out to me. I am happy to share my experience and also talk through what is on your mind.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    To be here, you have to be comfortable with change. The good news is that we offer support for this, but it's not always easy for people to handle.

    Rat an das Management

    Let's keep the lines of communication open and make sure that our employees know that they are valued.

    RealSelf2019-10-02
  5. „Continues to be a great place to work!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei RealSelf (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    As a company, RealSelf is very thoughtful about its employees. From how org changes are relayed to the layout of the office space and everything in between, there are a number of ways each day that employees are being factored into decisions made. While every company has its ups and downs, throughout it all the overwhelming feeling from employees, especially those in leadership, is respect for one another. This... company aims to work with employees to help them reach their professional goals. Through our formal professional development program or even one off conversations that our HR team offers, if you want to grow within the org that will be made possible for you. With that said, there are a lot of changes happening currently, hopefully for the better. If you prefer a stable environment with minimal change, this may not be the best place for you right now. I don't think it will be like this forever though.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    There have been quite a few changes in leadership over the last year. I'm hopeful that will steady out now as we seem to have a pretty good group in charge at this time. Company revenue is not booming like it has in years past so budget, bonuses and compensation are much tighter than we have previously seen. Again, i'm hopeful this will turn around in the near future.

    Rat an das Management

    Trust your people. This includes your fellow leaders and those you have hired within their teams. Give new changes time. Previously, we have been quick to make changes when things aren't going well and that was oftentimes necessary. Recently though, I worry we have been making changes too quickly, specifically leadership changes. Sometimes it takes time for a leader and team to find their groove.

    RealSelf2019-09-27
  6. Hilfreich (6)

    „There is no growth opportunity in this company unless someone quits and you fill their position”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymous Employee 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei RealSelf (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good work/life balance in the company.

    Kontras

    Dog friendly office and office perks are not the only criterion for ‘good work culture’. During my time at Realself I experienced mobbing, so good luck fighting for acceptance. Lack of direction and ever changing priorities are some of the other challenges for the working teams.

    Rat an das Management

    The legacy ‘gold star company values’ are non-existing today. Instead of pretending as if everything is the same as they used to be, corrective actions need to be taken - and actions need to be taken not just for the sake of telling ‘we are doing things’, but with genuine intention of creating solutions for long term stability.

    RealSelf2019-08-29
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „People & Product make RS the #1 Team in Seattle!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Employee in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei RealSelf (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The people I get to work with each day make the days fly by. My team is smart and driven beyond what I've ever seen before. Even with the growing pains and changes over the last year, the core group of leaders and employees are customer obsessed. So pumped for the RS Network launch which is already delivering value to doctors and our users.

    Kontras

    Employees and managers that struggle with change are tough to be around.

    Rat an das Management

    Excellent job hiring and recruiting top talent this year. The negative energy from a few disgruntled employees is disruptive. Stop putting up with negative attitudes and greedy entitlement

    RealSelf2019-08-08
  8. „A career with a purpose!!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Executive Account Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei RealSelf (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    ~Innovative approach to educating consumers ~Real-time problem solving in a fast moving environment ~Leadership that delivers transparency, and is open to opinions and feedback

    Kontras

    ~Also listed as a Pro, but RealSelf is a fast moving environment and can seem overwhelming. But, if you enjoy a company that keeps you on your toes this is the place for you.

    RealSelf2019-08-05
  9. Hilfreich (8)

    „Run far, far away.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Marketing in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei RealSelf gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Smart, interesting people who care about their work and the success of the company. Dog-friendly office. Snacks. Average compensation and above-average work life balance.

    Kontras

    I'm very surprised that this company has 4+ stars. I've worked at companies from start-ups to enterprise, and RealSelf is by far the biggest mess. The company has so much potential, but unfortunately, the CEO and his executive team are disorganized, constantly at odds with each other, and without a clear vision for success. Priorities change almost weekly, before giving working teams time to test/implement any plans..., and working teams are later blamed for being ineffective.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    RealSelf is getting in its own way. If the company wants any chance of long-term success, the board needs to replace the CEO.

    RealSelf2019-08-09
  10. Hilfreich (4)

    „Not all bad, but not enough to make me stay”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei RealSelf gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    In my opinion RealSelf is like a movie trailer: the most exciting 3 minutes of the movie are shown in the trailer to entice you in, just as the best parts of RealSelf are in the hiring campaign, to entice you in. There are dogs, a great Pioneer Square location and all the Kombucha you can drink. But once you're in you realize that the 3 minute hard sell is all there is and in 2019 you can get that AND a better... culture from every start up in Seattle. To be fair, it wasn't always like that. There was a much better culture at RealSelf in years gone by. There was belief in the mission and trust in the leadership. But as the saying goes "all good things must come to an end" and they did.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    14% of the company laid off, followed by almost everyone at a senior leadership level laid off, or voluntarily moved on , because the CEO needs a "strong leadership team" behind him. In my opinion the problems at RealSelf begin and end with the fact that the CEO is still in place. If he could put his pride aside he would see that the only way RealSelf has a chance of being successful is if he steps down and lets... someone who knows how to run a company take over. RealSelf has always relied way too much on Google for their traffic. There's no brand recognition in place and they have never been able to figure that problem out.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    1) Start to rebuild RealSelf's culture and live the values instead of paying them lip service. If you rebuild the culture you can retain talented people naturally, instead of having to overpay in order to retain. 2) Make better hiring decisions. E.G. Just because someone wants to do a job, doesn't mean they should. An individual within the HR team is a prime example of inexperienced people in too senior of a role.... It's telling that within a few short months of each other both the VP of people and Sr. Director of people left RealSelf. 3) The CEO needs to step down. This isn't the role for him. He'd make a decent marketing guy and there's no shame in taking on a leadership role that isn't CEO.

    Mehr anzeigen
    RealSelf2019-07-24

    Reaktion von RealSelf

    July 31, 2019Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. You are correct in stating that we are no longer the company we were in years past; while many core elements of who we are as a company remain true, we are now taking on larger business initiatives as we continue to grow. You are right, we did have to make some tough business decisions at the beginning of this year which, unfortunately, resulted in the departure of some very talented individuals. One thing we have learned as part of that process, is that some employees are great at a certain stage of a company, but we are at an inflection point, where we needed to infuse new talent into the organization. We are very excited about the recent leadership additions including a new CTO, a new head of product and myself as COO who will share the responsibility of leading this company to the next level alongside the existing leadership team.

    Weniger anzeigen
123 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden