Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Oliver Bonacini | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Oliver Bonacini

Aktualisiert am 21. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

70 Bewertungen gefunden

3.1
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
47%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
57%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Oliver Bonacini CEO Andrew Oliver (no image)
Andrew Oliver
27 Bewertungen
  1. „Great company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Oliver Bonacini (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Flexible shifts, benefit packages, good tips

    Kontras

    Long days, employee turnover

    Oliver Bonacini2019-09-21

    Reaktion von Oliver Bonacini

    September 26, 2019Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We’re happy to hear you enjoy the flexibility with shifts, our benefits program and compensation. With respect to long days because of the nature of the business, each day is different with respect to business levels and some days require longer hours to ensure our guests receive a great dining experience. With respect to employee turnover, as I’m sure you know the hospitality industry generally has a higher turnover rate than other industries. We try to go above and beyond to provide a fair, enjoyable, and safe work environment with plenty of opportunity for our people to learn, grow and develop both personally and professionally. Retention is always top of our list and in the spirit of Collective Genius: continuous improvement we are certainly open to hearing ideas for how we can increase retention and create a better employee experience. I’d love to connect to discuss this and any other areas for improvement and ideas you have. You can reach me at hr@oliverbonacini.com. Regards, Sarah Lawson Sr Manager, People

    Weniger anzeigen
  2. Hilfreich (2)

    „Weak leadership, and punishment for speaking out about basic problems”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Server in Toronto, ON
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Oliver Bonacini als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Great staff, excellent food, 50% off food, staff meals everyday

    Kontras

    Weak leadership on the management side, tip pool means you only end up keeping 40% of the tips you earn, way less than industry standard, poor planning on the marketing/advertising, disregard for safety in some circumstances.

    Rat an das Management

    Listen to your employees. Give them the tools they need to do their jobs well. Live up to your company mission statement, and take care of your employees and reward them for their hard work, show them they are appreciated.

    Oliver Bonacini2019-09-16

    Reaktion von Oliver Bonacini

    September 18, 2019Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed working with the staff and enjoyed the food at O&B, as Inspired Quality is one of our core values. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the tip pool. Because we believe in Collective Genius and that everyone's contribution is extremely important to the flow of service, we think it's important to share the tip pool amongst everyone actively involved in service. That being said, we are always looking to improve so if you have any recommendations, please share them with us. I would like to connect with you to discuss the circumstances in which you observed safety issues and other experiences you had. You can contact me directly at hr@oliverbonacini.com to share your concerns. All the best, Matin Haeri HR Assistant

    Weniger anzeigen
  3. „Great place to learn”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Assistant Manager 

    Ich habe bei Oliver Bonacini gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Fun and social culture, room for growth, great dining allowance with generous discount on all O&B restaurants Canada wide

    Kontras

    Long hours, no compensation for excessive overtime

    Oliver Bonacini2019-09-01

    Reaktion von Oliver Bonacini

    September 18, 2019Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for providing your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed the O&B culture and the growth opportunities we work hard to provide for our employees. Due to the nature of the industry service levels fluctuate and at times longer hours are required to meet the demands of service. As per the Ontario Employment Standards Act, managers are exempt from overtime but we try our best to limit these hours for managers whenever possible. That being said, we would be happy to hear any recommendations you might have on better ways to reduce overtime hours for managers. You can contact me directly at hr@oliverbonacini.com. All the best, Matin Haeri HR Assistant

    Weniger anzeigen
  4. „excellent banquet serving experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Server in Calgary, AB
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Oliver Bonacini (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    structured, keeps you very active, very flexible and good for students or as a second job, rewards and recognizes employees who go above and beyond

    Kontras

    none that I can think of right now

    Oliver Bonacini2019-08-28

    Reaktion von Oliver Bonacini

    September 11, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at O&B. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed the flexibility and structure at your work. Going above and beyond for our guests is part of our core value of Emotional Service so we think it's important to recognize those moments of truth on a regular basis. Should you have any other feedback for us on how we can improve the employee experience, please contact me directly at hr@oliverbonacini.com All the best, Matin Haeri HR Assistant

    Weniger anzeigen
  5. Hilfreich (2)

    „Disappointed, Weak leadership, No growth, Clear favouritism”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Server 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Oliver Bonacini gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -50% off on all O&B restaurant. -Working with great people, a friendly peer working environment. -Great ingredients and recipes, you can learn a lot from the chefs and cooks. -Fairly good staff meal but limited. -Health benefits if you working over a year. -Great Decor and interior design.

    Kontras

    1. Poor Unrealistic scheduling, managers are constantly worrying about the cost control due to the pressure from the GM (phone calls and messages during shift told managers to cut staff without knowing the situation and schedule at the floor.) And the managers’ salaries are subsidized from the tips. GM doesn’t know how to distribute the workload and lack of people skills. Always has one manager(male) for closing... and rarely rotated the shifts. The same situation happens to the Server’s section assignment and staff scheduling as well. The schedule usually posts late on Sat and Sun when it supposed to be on Wednesday or Thursday. 2. Managers (not the GM) are working as a host, server, server assistants and managers at the same time during peak hours, no designated host and managers. Hosts are count as server assistants with a little bit higher paying. Managers were regularly being asked to cut the staff’s shift within 2 hours before the scheduled start time, then found out short-staffed during the peak hour. 3.Power abuse and unprofessional conduct during the shift. Received message such as ” I don’t need you for xxx shift, let me know if you got this message.” Or find you in person 1-hour after you start the scheduled shift and said: “You are getting cut, punch out and leave.” Witness the GM drinking wine at 9 pm at the bar when the restaurant was full; Ordering staff meal right after telling one server “you are not allowed to order staff meal at this moment” Telling staff members that the staff members are not allowed to have any espresso-based coffee, only brewed coffee was allowed. 3.Punishment for speaking out basic and practical problems. 9 staff members quit in 2 weeks, 7 of them were quit because of lack of communication, steamrolling basic problems, not enough tools. The other 2 were moved to other cities. Fired a good server without any customer complaints and peer complaints because he speaking out several basic problems in the restaurant. Fired a hard-working server assistant because he also speaking out basic problems. Constantly steamrolling any problems staff members found out, the whole team was frustrating because of suffering the same thing day after day. 4.Poor stock managing skills. Not aware of daily consumable items in the stockroom, in results the service quality was damaged by it. Servers and SAs were embarrassing in front of the guest for not have a proper take-out box. 5.Against the O&B company value. The higher management doesn’t care any of the “lower tire” staff, such as line cooks, SAs or servers, managers are blamed if you are not cutting enough staff for keeping your cost low, which means you have to fill the people you cut. The GM was even expected the whole staff team refreshed with in 3 months, said this over a conversation with other managers. 6.Very clear favouritism on shift arrangement and promoting. If you are a “yes-man” and willing to constantly fire-fight on the floor, you will be scheduled with a good amount of working time and not getting cut no matter what level of working performance you have. If you complained about scheduling, basic problems, or any other things that could be improved, your shifts will be cut to the minimum. 7. There was almost no-training when on-boarding. The website training module was unstable, you are not able to access it constantly. And you are blamed if you are not up-to-par during on-boarding. 8. Great training materials but the actual training was conduct by your peers based on their own experiences. And there are no designated training shifts to let you have time to understand your co-worker’s “training”, you are maximized scheduled working, not training, for the restaurant without tipout. 9. Server and server assistants are underpaid in contrast with O&B’s competitor, you will find out you only keep about 40% about your tips if you are a server. SA’s tipout is incredibly lower than other chain restaurants.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    I wish the company value is still close to when Peter Oliver created O&B, but sadly not. You are losing most of your good staff members who are really care about the company, the company and the value Peter Oliver brought to them, now everyone is jump off the ship for better opportunities. This happens when people losing faith on the leadership. I strongly suggest senior management send someone undercover... working in their restaurant just to see the managers suffering from the power abuse, see how unstable of the service level caused by insufficient tools and supplies that should be provided to server and SAs. Some of the staff members quit because the disappointment, they told me writing a review here is wasting time, my review is combine with information they shared. For the people want to working at O&B, take a look on the job board on the titles and locations they are hiring for, this extremely high turn over rate happens for a reason, think twice when you are applying. Other recent reviews are true, this is a company-wide problem, not only happening in one or two restaurant. If you are a professional server living on tip, if you looking for growth want to be a server or bar-tender, this is not the place for you. I appreciated all the things I learned from O&B in the past several years, consider this is a parting gift and I hope the company can get better. And a word to HR, bad reviews can't be compensated by replying corp-wording. Several emails were sent to you and never got replied.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Oliver Bonacini2019-09-21
  6. „Server”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Server 

    Ich habe bei Oliver Bonacini gearbeitet (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    Great job. Great team..good management

    Kontras

    Can be Long hours into the morning working events

    Oliver Bonacini2019-08-15

    Reaktion von Oliver Bonacini

    September 11, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for providing your feedback about your experience at Oliver & Bonacini. We are glad that you enjoyed working with the O&B team and management. Due to the nature of the business, hours can fluctuate and some shifts can be busier than others. Should you have any suggestions on how we can improve the employee experience, please don't hesitate to contact us directly at hr@oliverbonacini.com All the best, Matin Haeri HR Assistant

    Weniger anzeigen
  7. Hilfreich (3)

    „Destroyed.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Server Assistant 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Oliver Bonacini als Teilzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    - Co-workers are understanding and accepting - Diverse clientele during dinner shifts - Fast-paced work environment forces you to hone your skill-set - Employee meals are usually very tasty, but limited - Decor, architecture, and music are top-notch - If you work there for a year, there are health benefits and discounted programs that offer you official certifications you in food and liquor

    Kontras

    - Managers's salaries are subsidized from tips (company-wide issue, managers are not at fault) - Server assistants are grossly underpaid in tip-outs in respect to the hours they put in, especially in comparison to other fine-dining establishments (for reasons stated above) - Managers act as food runners and hosts/hostesses as opposed to managers of the restaurant. There are no dedicated managers during service..., they are on the floor. - Clear favouritism in scheduling and promotion; you will never become a server if you are a visible minority (race and orientation). Will have one token minority server; definitely not Black. If you're a woman who gets promoted, you will receive a disproportionate amount of criticism and passive and active aggression from management - Poor training during on-boarding; co-workers are made to train the never-ending chain of new hires during high traffic times with no additional support from management (there are no attended guidelines, meaning each person that trains you, trains you from personal experience; outright distain from senior employees in regards to how management and corporation heads lay out training) - Younger managers will watch you work while they drink alone during busy periods. - Website training modules are notoriously broken. Managers ignore this, and promise a fix with it never transpiring. You are blamed if you are not up-to-par with on-boarding (website + underpaid co-workers who are made to train you while trying to do their own jobs) - Incredible insensitivity towards how situations (i.e. bereavement, financial insecurity, workplace bullying, power structures created by younger managers) contribute to work performance, even if temporarily. You will be fired and replaced if you're dealing with all this within probation - You have to pay for all staff meals during the day, including ones that are purposely scheduled to happen before your shift. Management tells you to tell someone to save a plate for you - Unreasonable assumptions regarding swiftness and job performance during shift where you are the only one (sometimes they will add someone a few hours later) working in your role - Made to buy expensive uniforms ($60+ shirts from outside shops) before your first paycheque. Sometimes managers are unsure of the specifics of which uniform you need to purchase, forcing you to take pictures of retail tags from other employees, and hunt down where to buy it yourself. No documents of links to seller's page or SKU information. - Head in the ground in regards to discrimination based on -ism within the workplace ("Section 184 of the Criminal Code prohibits wilful interception of private communications, but provides an exception if one of the participants consents to that interception. Basically, that means if you consent to record your own conversation, it’s perfectly legal. If you can’t get your own consent, you may be breaking the law.") - Clientele differs based on individual restaurants. One can focus on guest experience, another can focus primarily on impressing big suits in an fast-food express manner. Big suits are uncomfortable with diversity - Management makes spectacles out of other co-workers to forewarn you of your future if you follow in a similar trajectory (making an honest mistake, not moving fast enough in accordance with the environment and lack of support, not being a caricature of what waitstaff are supposed to be.)

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Being obtuse doesn't make you sharp. Be better; do better.

    Oliver Bonacini2019-09-11

    Reaktion von Oliver Bonacini

    September 16, 2019Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for providing your feedback about your experience at Oliver and Bonacini. We are sorry to hear that your experience with O&B was not what you expected. At O&B we value collective genius and working as a team. As such, all employees who are actively involved in service participate in gratuity sharing. We are also an equal opportunity employer. We value inclusion and diversity and take issues of discrimination extremely seriously. If you feel that you or any employee has not been fairly treated based on race or gender I would strongly encourage you to please contact me directly so that our HR team can conduct a full investigation. If you have any recommendations or would like to share more details about your experience with our managers, please contact me directly at hr@oliverbonacini.com Natalie Trochanowski Director of Talent Management Oliver & Bonacini Hospitality

    Weniger anzeigen
  8. „Great company with great people!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Server in Toronto, ON

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Oliver Bonacini gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - great benefits - opportunities to move into management if you desire - high standards - discounts at all O&B restaurants - company events/outings are always fun

    Kontras

    - tip out can be high - long hours (like all restaurant jobs) - guests know how committed we are to service, can take advantage of that to get promos

    Oliver Bonacini2019-06-05

    Reaktion von Oliver Bonacini

    July 18, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Our staff's engagement and development are very important to us and we are glad you enjoyed the investments we have made for our employees. Given the nature of the hospitality industry, hours may fluctuate based on the needs of the business. That being said, we are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience so if you have any further suggestions on how we can address those issues, please feel free to contact me at hr@oliverbonacini.com All the best, Matin Haeri HR Assistant

    Weniger anzeigen
  9. „Catering Server”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Oliver Bonacini gearbeitet (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    Flexible, Nice co-workers, Good food before or after the events

    Kontras

    Some Managers think that they are gods and don't have respect, but most of them are nice.

    Oliver Bonacini2019-06-05

    Reaktion von Oliver Bonacini

    July 18, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed working with the catering team at O&B. Having caring team members creates the synergy and collective genius that we value very much. I'm sorry that you felt some members of your management team were difficult to work with. We are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience and help the development of our leadership. So if you have further details you would like to share with me on how we can do that, please feel free to contact me directly at hr@oliverbonacini.com All the best, Matin Haeri HR Assistant

    Weniger anzeigen
  10. „Most are great, but can be hierarchical and catty. I was actually pushed by my manager. With six plates in my hands.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Event Staff in Toronto, ON
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Oliver Bonacini als Teilzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Consistent money and shifts are available

    Kontras

    Inconsistent management leads to confusion and maltreatment of staff

    Rat an das Management

    Hire real leaders.

    Oliver Bonacini2019-06-12

    Reaktion von Oliver Bonacini

    July 18, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience at Oliver & Bonacini. I'm sorry that you did not have a good experience with the management team. Investing in our employees and leadership is an important commitment for us and we are always looking for ways to foster the Collective Genius that makes our teams stronger. If you have any recommendations or would like to share more details about your experience with our managers, please contact me directly at hr@oliverbonacini.com All the best, Matin Haeri HR Assistant

    Weniger anzeigen
70 Bewertungen gefunden