Bewertungen für Okta Software Engineer | Glassdoor.de

Okta Bewertungen für Software Engineer

Aktualisiert am 9. Oct 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

21 Bewertungen gefunden

2.6
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
46%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
99%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Okta CEO Todd McKinnon
Todd McKinnon
18 Bewertungen
  1. „Great Company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Okta (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Awesome community with very broad knowledge base

    Kontras

    Sometimes the cold brew coffee on-tap is empty :)

    Okta2019-10-09
  2. „Great place to intern”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Praktikant - Software Engineer(Internship) 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Okta als gearbeitet

    Pros

    -Got to build a feature that customers will use -People are helpful and easily approachable -Very chill environment, almost no micromanagement at all -Fun offsites every few weeks

    Kontras

    -Intern classes are small, but growing -No housing stipend

    Okta2019-10-10
  3. Hilfreich (9)

    „Antiquated tech and process”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Okta als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    My coworkers were friendly and supportive. No-meetings are allowed to be scheduled on Thursdays and it's a company-wide WFH day. Decent comp package.

    Kontras

    The tech stack is a joke; monolithic Java stack, and Chef-based deployments. The process around planning is so heavy when it came to monthly and weekly sprint planning that I felt like I was constantly in meetings. Okta has a "Technical Program Management" that is basically a team of glorified Scrum Masters where the majority of them are non-technical. Okta felt like a rest and vest sort of company where I can't fathom why anyone wishing to grow their technical skills would even entertain wanting to work there. Okta is also a very "email heavy" culture.

    Okta2019-07-11
  4. „Incredible company that really helps in developing its interns”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Praktikant - Software Engineer() in Toronto, ON
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Okta als gearbeitet

    Pros

    Good pay Solid mentorship Nice people

    Kontras

    Nothing really to say about this

    Okta2018-12-21
  5. Hilfreich (4)

    „Great Place to Work but limited learning/growing capacity”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Empfiehlt
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Okta (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - Everyday challenge - Rapidly growing - Nice kitchen - Flexible hours - Good pay

    Kontras

    - Benfits do not match Canadian standard - Outdated technology in some areas makes it hard to learn and grow - Promotion and career advance can be tricky because of the monolithic architecture only certain teams, who work closely with the core of the monolith have a chance of being visible for their everyday work

    Weiterlesen
    Okta2018-09-06
  6. Hilfreich (8)

    „Good challenges, growth opportunities, great pay, very nice office”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Okta (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - Great co-workers, lots of smart people, though most of your team members will likely be at HQ in San Francisco or San Jose - New Toronto office is very nice, with good perks. - Toronto co-workers are great, from a breadth of different teams - Very flexible hours, and work from home once a week - Excellent base pay - Honest and candid leadership - Recognition is given regularly and properly. Lots of opportunity for growth. Well-defined career tracks (technical & management) - People, in its great majority, put a genuine effort in improving what's not good enough

    Kontras

    - Benefits (especially vacation) are very basic, even when they didn't have to be - to the point of being annoying sometimes - HR and workplace management are all in HQ (San Francisco), so getting their attention on many of the pain points around benefits/office issues can be very challenging - Work/life balance can be tricky with a Pacific-Time based team - Complicated dev environment & monolithic architecture of the product sometimes complicate the simplest of tasks - Not the fastest brand of agile is followed in the dev process

    Weiterlesen
    Okta2017-07-25
  7. Hilfreich (3)

    „Fun place to work!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Praktikant - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Okta als gearbeitet

    Pros

    Lots of perks, catered lunch and good work place environment. People are great to be around and office is beautiful to be at. Flexible hours and great culture. Just all around awesome to work at.

    Kontras

    Growing pains. Lack of support in the office and communication is lost from HQ. Too busy trying to implement features when there's need to be more time put into cleaning up the tech.

    Weiterlesen
    Okta2017-07-29
  8. Hilfreich (20)

    „A good company that tries to do its best”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Okta gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Okta is a good company. The people mean well and try to live by it. Todd McKinnon and Freddy have done a phenomenal job building out the company to where it is now. The product is a leader in identity management. Quite frankly, if you have SSO, MFA, or just need a more extensible LDAP, you would be a fool to not consider Okta top-of-mind. The company is winning big and making money. The engineers are talented. Perhaps not the most talented group I've worked with, but they get the job done. The top-end of the talent is very high, and there are sufficient paths for growth in both engineering and management leadership. If you do your job, the promotions will come. Okta tries hard to be fair in compensating you according to the market. You will not be under-paid, but Okta will not go out-of-band to make sure you are exceptionally well-compensated. If you want to learn about how to grind out and build up an enterprise SaaS company, there is no better place. Okta will instill in you respect for process and why/when they get added. How to get a flock of engineers to march to the same drummer and build products. You will have fire-support whenever you need it, but you need to own your feature, own your product, and own your career. Okta is building a mini-brand and other companies know about Okta. I can personally say that I can use my experience and my reputation as having worked at Okta at other enterprise SaaS companies with a surprising amount of leverage.

    Kontras

    The mobility team is a mess. The engineering management lacks leadership and vision for how to evolve the product, grow the team, and effectively compete with the other OMM vendors. This is made worse by the incompetent product management there. Okta should have a tremendous advantage over the existing OMM vendors because it's anchored by the premier identity management and SSO product. It's an incredibly opportunity missed to dominate that vertical and Todd needs to shake that area up. Engineering managers by-and-large are not great. Greg (the VP) tries to do well but is the more or less the only engineering manager who has the skills needed to help grow a team. There are a couple others as well, but most of engineering management either lacks the emotional intelligence to understand how to keep engineers happy and productive, hands-off to an extreme, is really an engineer promoted far too fast, or has some other major flaw that keeps them from being an effective manager. Despite the fact that we have career tracks, career development is basically nonexistent in-so-far as working with managers to acquire new skills and build up careers. Luckily Okta has some fairly good technical leads and product leads for the teams, otherwise engineers would just spin in circles. Some attrition in a fast-growing company is acceptable and perhaps even desirable to get fresh blood in and open positions for them to grow into, but a lot of the attrition at Okta comes from bad management. That is a real bummer.

    Weiterlesen
    Okta2016-11-03
  9. Hilfreich (3)

    „Senior Software Engineer”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Okta (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I have been working at Okta for year and a half. Its been an amazing experience. The best thing I love about Okta is that there is a lot of opportunity for growth for fresh engineers. You are gonna learn so much and its going to build a solid foundation for your future. Colleagues are cooperative and set achievable goals for you in each sprint. We are agile so you get a perfect balance between development and testing environments. It offers a great work life balance. If you do your work right and keep everyone happy, you can take as many holidays as you want. I love Okta and Im loving it more the more I stay with it.

    Kontras

    Honestly there are no cons of working at Okta. Management is transparent enough and tells you everything that you as an employee need to know, good or bad.

    Weiterlesen
    Okta2016-09-15
  10. Hilfreich (1)

    „Best company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Software Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Okta ()

    Pros

    Salary, flexible PTO, environment, opportunities, growth, and many more!

    Kontras

    Really cannot think of anything.

    Okta2016-08-15
21 Bewertungen gefunden