Bewertungen für Okta Account Executive | Glassdoor.de

Okta Bewertungen für Account Executive

Aktualisiert am 11. Jul 2017

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

8 Bewertungen gefunden

4.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
100%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
100%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Okta CEO Todd McKinnon
Todd McKinnon
8 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (1)

    „Awesome company - but definitely not a startup...”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Okta (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Extremely rapid growth and work with very smart people. Making connections that will last throughout my career.

    Kontras

    Rapid growth means more employees, which from a sales perspective means smaller territories.

    Rat an das Management

    Make sure you're always scaling appropriately, rather than adding unnecessary headcount and processes.

    Okta2017-07-11
  2. Hilfreich (7)

    „Great place to work, excellent Sales Leadership, slow product development”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Negative Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Okta (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Disruptive, sticky, foundational technology. Co-founders are passionate about making an impact in this space. Sales Leadership is top-notch from CRO down to 1st line management. The product works - customers seem very happy with high retention rates.

    Kontras

    Newer upper management overpaid and use too many buzzwords - no real execution. Product development has screeched to a grinding halt. Customer success organization ill-equipped to handle technical use cases. Sales comp continues to decline. Inbound leads continue to decline.

    Rat an das Management

    Seriously look into the entire customer success org. Customer success at Salesforce/LinkedIn is non technical compared to Okta. Demand results from newly hired President.

    Okta2017-04-22
  3. Hilfreich (1)

    „Inspiring company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in Amsterdam
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Okta (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Okta has the best product in the IDaaS market and offers all the tools to sell it. The sales leadership is the best i've worked with and that counts for the rest of the colleagues as well. There's a no-nonsense & transparent cultgure which works really well. It looks like Okta promotes from within and if you perform well I'm sure there are many options within this company. Hard work will get rewarded.

    Kontras

    If you're in a small office you don't have so much colleagues around you, many will work from remote locations. There are no pension benefits, car allowance or other options. All you get is a salary, which by all means is pretty good. But be aware that even if your contract says you're entitled to use Pension Schemes in the UK, it doesn't count for the rest of EMEA.

    Rat an das Management

    It's a joy to work in your company and it's hard to think of improvements. The Amsterdam office is growing quickly and it would make sense to arrange benefits such as pension.

    Okta2016-09-29
  4. Hilfreich (4)

    „Why I Love Working at Okta”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Okta (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    My colleagues teach, challenge, and motivate me.  People at Okta are smart.  I learn new things from new people every day.  I'm constantly impressed by my colleagues' creativity and ability to solve new and complex problems.  Sales Engineers teach me how our technology works on the backend.  Sales Reps and Managers teach me how to organize my schedule, navigate accounts, and identify addressable pains in the... companies I work with.  Our Product Marketers teach me how to position Okta against competitors.  Our BizOps and Accounting teams teach me why it's important to structure contracts correctly and uphold our legal terms.  Every single other team helps me better understand something - from business tactics, position in the market, and product roadmap, to sales best practices and communication strategies.  Perhaps more importantly, my colleagues are happy and willing to help one another.  What we're doing together is not easy.  We're solving problems that 1) didn't exist ten years ago, and 2) evolve every day as new cloud technologies and security threats emerge.  All hands and minds are on deck when it comes to creating Okta’s success.  Being surrounded by intelligent, driven, and supportive people is what pushes me to want to learn, improve, and make an impact within this company.  I am learning how to build and scale a start up company. Okta has grown nearly 2.5x in the two years I've been with the company.  Many of the internal processes that were in place when I started have changed.  While those old processes might still work at our size today, they certainly wouldn't scale at the size we expect to reach ten years from now.   I've been watching our leadership team prioritize, reorganize, and optimize every part of the business.  From market segmentation, messaging and branding, to platform architecture and security.  I've been paying attention to where and why growing pains have manifested.  And I've been taking note of how we've addressed these pains to build a more mature company.   But I’m not just following blindly.  I see that we make mistakes along the way.  When those mistakes are related to my team, and when I can affect change, I have a hand in proposing new ideas and correcting those mistakes.   What I'm learning by being a part of this is going to make me an invaluable asset to the companies I will work for (and possibly start) and make successful throughout my career. I feel confident in and inspired by our leaders. Perhaps the main reason why it’s so beneficial to my career to watch how this company is being built is that we have a lot of people here who have successfully done this before. Our CEO, COO, and CCO (Chief Customer Officer) were all with Salesforce from the early 2000’s where they played major roles in building the first cloud company to successfully take on Siebel Systems who was the on-premise CRM leader, differentiate from Microsoft's new-at-the-time Dynamics CRM, and dominate a market that didn’t exist before.  Our CEO was the first VP of Engineering in 2003 and was responsible for growing that team from 15 people to 250.  Today, Salesforce has nearly 20,000 employees, supports over 150,000 customers, and generates over $5 billion a year.  My manager, the manager of the next team I'm working on getting promoted to, and their manager all came from SuccessFactors where they helped build the first cloud-based human capital management software company that paved the way for companies like Workday, and forced on-premise, perennial incumbents such as ADP and Oracle to innovate and develop cloud HCM offerings to compete in the market that SuccessFactors invented.  I truly believe that we have the best product in our market.  When I go head-to-head against any of our competitors, and the customer's use case is a good fit, I feel confident that I'm offering the best technology. The reasons why I've lost competitive deals in the past have been because of un-matchable price cuts, pre-existing business relationships, or technical requirements that we simply can't meet or are too far away on our roadmap.  My responsibilities as a salesperson are to articulate the value of our technology in order to avoid price wars with our low-cost competitors, to build rapport with my customers to overcome the weight of a pre-existing business relationship, and to identify early on when a use case isn't a good fit for our product.  These deals that I've lost have helped me improve in these areas and become a better salesperson.  But from a technology standpoint, when a buyer is looking for the best identity management product and company, and when they run a comprehensive evaluation, Okta always wins.  What fuels my conviction on this is that we have a lot of people - Product Managers, Cloud Architects, Implementation Consultants - who have been working in enterprise identity management for decades.  They were in this industry when only enormous enterprises could afford hundreds of thousands of dollars of on-premise identity management software.  Many of the same integration challenges that existed with early on-premise IDM have transposed as parallel challenges with cloud IDM.  Our team has designed our products with that knowledge in mind.  Beyond retrospective development, as we move forward and plan the roadmap for our products, our team does a great job of partnering with our customers and analyzing the market to understand how IDM demands are evolving and how Okta must to adapt to address emerging challenges.  When I talk to evaluators and existing customers about our roadmap, I often get positive, enthusiastic feedback that reassures me that our product team is deducing the market accurately.  As an honest salesperson, there is no better feeling than knowing that when I propose a solution to my customers, it's going to work well, it's going to work better than our competitors, and they're going to realize the benefits and gain the value that I've identified with them during the evaluation.  I have both freedom and structure in my sales cycles. Our sales team is rigorously trained on how to help customers understand their IDM-related challenges, define their objectives for an IDM initiative, and assist a customer's evaluation process.   While there is this framework to help guide the process for working with customers, our management team also allows me to be creative and put my own spin on how I interact with customers and work my deals.  This freedom has been valuable for my growth as a salesperson because it has allowed me to experiment with new strategies, identify my strengths and weaknesses, and leverage my personality to bring in business.  Okta is the only company I've sold for, so I my firsthand experience in a variety of sales organizations is limited.  But two years ago, when I was applying for sales jobs, I read numerous reviews on Glassdoor about sales teams that enforce a cookie cutter sales process, thus stifling creativity and narrowing the opportunity to learn.  I'm paid well.  There's a reason why TechCrunch lists Okta as one of the 20 highest paying start up tech companies.   For reference, as a starting point, it's not uncommon to start as a Sales Development Representative as a first job out of college and make $80-90k within a year -- six figures if you blow your number out of the water.  You have to be smart, hard-working, and produce results, but it's absolutely attainable. I have a clear path to promotion.  The sales progression is clearly defined.  I know who I'll be working for next.  All of the leaders of that next team are in the office every day, they're accessible, they're transparent about their hiring standards and their growth plans, and they're willing to provide guidance to help me prepare for their team.   That being said, in our sales org, we don't promote based only on tenure or results.  For me, it has also taken internal networking, developing personal sponsors, learning where and when growth is planned, and endorsing myself to the right people.  I think the internal politics have been a point of contention for some, but I also think it's unavoidable at any company.  In my personal experience, I've found the opportunity to progress within our sales team to be fair and obtainable.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    No 401(k) match or gym programs (which is ironic because our CEO Is super fit).  However, it has been made clear multiple times to the whole company why management has strategically chosen to not fund these employee programs - and the reasons make sense in terms of company investments and limited cash. Long hours tend to produce results, and that's rewarded.  You have to put it on yourself to find balance, stay... healthy, and say no when necessary.  Otherwise, you'll get pushed and pushed and run into the ground.  

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Keep up the transparency.  Don’t loosen hiring standards.  As we continue grow, make it easy for employees to find out who does what, what internal processes to follow, and how to find the right resources. 

    Okta2016-01-20
  5. Hilfreich (1)

    „Core Value - Customer Success”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Okta ()

    Pros

    -Okta's a fast-paced, growing company that pushes you to constantly learn, improve, and be your best -Excellent sales leadership that is committed to internal growth/promotion -A very transparent company, both internally with employees and externally with customers -Okta's culture is 100% focused on customer success, which requires hard work and commitment to each and every customer -A phenomenal place to start... and/or grow your career

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    I can only speak to the sales side of the organization - This company is not for everyone. If you're looking for a job where you can just "get by" without pulling your weight, look elsewhere. This is a company for people that are looking to build an amazing company that will be the long-term leader in this space and take on the legacy giants.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep doing what you've been doing... Inspiring people to push themselves, do their best work, and make our customers as successful as possible.

    Okta2015-12-29
  6. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great product and talented people”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Okta als Vollzeit

    Pros

    The product is an industry leader and the pay is competitive. There are some top notch professionals at the company and they have the top VC's in the country backing them.

    Kontras

    Adoption of cloud IAM is slow in the enterprise space. Seems to be difficult finding a compelling reason for customers to purchase. Cut throat sales environment.

    Rat an das Management

    Look at acquiring companies to create a competitive advantage.

    Okta2014-03-27

    Reaktion von Okta

    August 26, 2014Lead Recruiter

    Identity management is indeed a competitive space, but Okta continues to differentiate itself against the competition. Gartner recognized that this summer with our clear “leader” ranking. And, with announcements through the year, you will see how Okta is expanding the idea of what ...

    Mehr anzeigen
  7. „Okta is on fire!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Okta (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I've found that the talent and simply the quality of people Okta attracts is unprecedented. The leadership at Okta truly makes an effort to pave a path of development and growth if that's what you're looking for. Really a great place to grow your career and learn from the best in the industry.

    Kontras

    Okta has more of a buttoned-up culture. Not to say we don't have a great time getting to know our colleagues with side events, but it's definitely not a priority at Okta.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep up the transparency as we continue to grow!

    Okta2014-03-12

    Reaktion von Okta

    August 26, 2014Lead Recruiter

    Formality across the groups at Okta varies. Identity Management is a serious issue, and customers deserve a high level of professionalism from us. That said, we dress comfortably, vigorously celebrate Hawaiian Shirt Friday and enjoy our ping-pong tournaments and office happy hours.

  8. „Challenging, meaningful, and ful-filling work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Okta (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    + High-growth -- onboarding new hires nearly every week + Transparency with upper management -- All-Hands every week discusses the ins and outs of the company to keep employees informed + Positive career growth trajectories -- do your job + go above and beyond and your chances of promotion are high + Good benefits -- catered lunches, stocked fridge, massages, wine&cheese events, and more + "Identity management... is hot right now", the company is poised to be successful. Right space, right timing, solid leadership

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    + Very dynamic environment (which is also a positive) but certainly not for someone that thrives on stability and comfort in their every day work environment

    Okta2014-03-12

    Reaktion von Okta

    August 26, 2014Lead Recruiter

    We appreciate your feedback and love having you on the team.

8 Bewertungen gefunden