Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)

Aktualisiert am 17. Apr 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
75%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
90%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) CEO Brian Crotty (no image)
Brian Crotty
26 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (1)

    „Good Work-Life Balance, Benefits”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Editor in Wall, NJ
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 8 Jahre bei Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Company believes in work-life balance - there's generous leave, you can work from home if needed, and they're okay with you leaving early to take care of personal or family medical issues. Medical and dental packages are more than adequate.

    Kontras

    Lack of communication sometimes between managers and direct reports, and between the company's main and satellite offices.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep the lines of communication open and you're golden!

    Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)2019-04-14
  2. Hilfreich (1)

    „Tread carefully with this company. Training is a real problem for them.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    It's a very clever and solid business model they have.

    Kontras

    Training is very poorly done and there is little to zero deviation from their set plan. You are either someone they want or not, and you have no idea how well you're doing at any time. I don't think they always know what they want. Very strange and disconnected environment at times, and is an extremely unhappy, cold, and unnecessarily stressful place to work most days.

    Rat an das Management

    Invest in training and in who you have doing the training. It was a disturbing and disappointing experience for me, and I hope things change there at some point.

    Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)2019-04-17
  3. Hilfreich (4)

    „Relaxed environment, but MANY red flags”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Developer in Rockville, MD
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - very relaxed environment - gaming room with ping pong table - a good amount of PTO and flex time - scheduled work from home day after 1 year of working - new yearly bonuses - restricted stock options that vest in 1 year - gym available for employees

    Kontras

    - raises are terrible - wellness plan was taken away with little notice or reason - Kickoff (yearly party to discuss achievements and celebrate) was scrapped due to budgeting constraints - remote workers were denied travel reimbursements (again due to budgeting constraints) - starting pay is a joke and upper management will not accept the fact that everyone is getting low-balled - budgeting and raises seem to... be tied to IHSMarkit goals (which are out of our control) - work can get repetitive and boring - no upward growth; acquisition by IHS resulted in titles that were just fluff, the people at the top are just going to keep getting better pay without any hierarchical changes; merge with Markit was supposed to result in new titles and possible pay adjustment but it was all fluff - promotions are rare and do not come with a satisfactory pay bump - challenging a raise is usually useless

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Take a hard look at all of your managers and really observe at the amount of work they do. Some of these people are making way too much money to be slacking around. Hard work does not get recognized and does not get rewarded fairly. Instead of targeting improvement and growth, the company is rewarding mediocre work from the higher-ups.

    Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)2019-02-26
  4. „Great”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt

    Ich arbeite bei Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Friendly place to work, exciting technology

    Kontras

    There are no cons I can think of.

    Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)2018-10-15
  5. „Great place to work!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer in Rockville, MD
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Nice new office, great co-workers, game room, etc.

    Kontras

    None so far, great place.

    Rat an das Management

    None

    Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)2018-07-06
  6. Hilfreich (2)

    „MAE”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Casual workspace, great people.

    Kontras

    Covers up bad salary with loads of benefits that does not benefit the greater good.

    Rat an das Management

    More flexibility, less favoritism.

    Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)2017-12-12
  7. „Great climate, hectic at times but fun”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Supportive culture, pretty good 401k matching policy, management takes time to listen to what employees want and improve accordingly. There is vision and dental insurance which is pretty good. Very stable business model, there is constant growth over 30+ years that promotes high morale

    Kontras

    Health insurance could be better, hard to book a conference room sometimes, but overall not bad

    Rat an das Management

    More clear ways of job advancement, better general health insurance

    Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)2017-05-25
  8. Hilfreich (3)

    „Salary is Not Competitive”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Gaithersburg, MD
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    It's more of a casual/laid-back work environment. You can dress casually. In my department, management seems to take more of an interest in your career progression and development so you don't feel too unappreciated or over-looked. Allowed to work from home one day per week. Now that IHS bought OPIS, we have actual vacation hours to use (before we had an open leave policy which meant managers harassed you for... taking time off). The vacation and flex leave are pretty generous and help to keep the managers in check when you want to take off.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Office location: there's just one MD office location. And it's not in walking distance to the metro. We have several people who take the metro to and from work and it's a huge hassle to have to take the bus from the metro to the office. The parent company, IHS, doesn't offer public transportation assistance. A way to fix this would be to allow colleagues to work from the DC IHS office or offer additional WFH days.... For the area, pay is not very competitive. We're headquartered in one of the richest areas of the U.S., we're growing rapidly and owned by a publicly traded company and we're paid in peanuts (to put it bluntly). This is why very good and highly competent employees who realize their worth are leaving and sub-par employees who don't mind the pay stay. Recommendation: Quit spending money on fruit for the fruit cart, quit giving away big bonuses, and invest that money into the place where it matters the most: people's bi-weekly paychecks. Lets be real here: everyone drives to work every day to get paid so they can pay their monthly expenses and if the costs start to outweigh the joys of the job - you'll see all of the progress OPIS has been making flushed down the toilet due to the highly experienced employees leaving for better-paying jobs. So, you can offer all of the free fruit in the world and throw parties and baseball games, but none of that will matter when you realize you have to get another job in order to keep living in this area (but when you're a 20 + year manager who makes twice/three times as much as your colleagues, that reality is lost on you). GOSSIP and favoritism amongst management can be pretty bad at times. There's too much subjectivity at times and if a manager doesn't like you, you're pretty much over-looked for another employee they can easily manipulate. (In all fairness, the gossip used to be really bad, but it's subsided a lot and in any office environment, you'll find gossip). The caliber of employees has gotten a lot younger and inexperienced. And this is because it's a lot cheaper to higher straight out of college young adults and IHS encourages this trend. The result: you end up spending 80 percent out of the year constantly training and explaining how to do a job because once you train a new 21 year old colleage, they get promoted, you have to hire again and train and so on and so forth. A couple departments are always in flux (i.e. IT and customer service) which are the glue that holds the company together, but this glue can't hold for long if this trend continues. You need to create stability by giving both the new and experienced and tenured employees incentive to remain on board. Work/life balance: This area has improved since IHS bought OPIS with the advent of a fixed leave policy. But asking for time off is still a hassle. I'm allowed by law to use my time off and I'm still harassed for asking for time off while managers can do whatever they want with their time off. And I always make sure to leave a few days extra leave at the end of the year - so I don't abuse it.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Raise salaries across the board (I've seen the earnings sheet, I would take that over a company stock any day out of the year). DON'T harass/question/pressure your employees when they ask for time off (especially when said employee has worked for OPIS for a good amount of time). Allow employees to telecommute. When you don't want to fork over money to help pay for public transportation costs and the cost of... commuting fluctuates, it only makes sense to allow this option. Also, the world is only getting more congested and working from home offers relief from the daily grind/stress of commuting. If you won't increase salaries to offset the commuting costs (+ D.C. cost of living costs), then at least offer flexibility with working from home. You'll also find that not as many people will call out "sick" and work productivity will increase.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)2017-04-02
  9. Hilfreich (2)

    „Oil Price Markets Editor job”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Editor in Rockville, MD
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Nice co-workers in markets editor department

    Kontras

    Management very poor, no clear instructions

    Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)2017-01-17
  10. „Software Developer”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
     
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Oil Price Information Service (OPIS) ()

    Pros

    It has a great culture and everyone is very friendly.

    Kontras

    Salary is a bit low for the years of experience.

    Oil Price Information Service (OPIS)2016-11-18
40 Bewertungen gefunden