Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Obsidian Entertainment | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Obsidian Entertainment

Aktualisiert am 5. Aug 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

27 Bewertungen gefunden

3.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
68%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
76%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Feargus Urquhart
15 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (6)

    "All heart, no teeth"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Obsidian Entertainment gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    High Creative energy. Interesting projects and pitches Studio attempts to make development team happy

    Kontras

    No strong gameplay emphasis Poor production scheduling. Overly Top heavy management. Layoffs are frequent as well as mismanagement of talent.

    Obsidian Entertainment2014-03-19
  2. Hilfreich (1)

    "I look forward to coming to work each day."

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Hiring Manager in Irvine, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Obsidian Entertainment (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I have worked for many companies over the years and working at Obsidian Entertainment has become the career I always never knew I wanted. I look forward to going to work everyday, even on the stressful ones. I get to work with true talent. The Owners have always been good to me.

    Kontras

    Being a small developer has its moments where you are waiting for the next project and in all the time I have been at Obsidian that is my one and only con.

    Obsidian Entertainment2013-05-30
  3. Hilfreich (4)

    "Great people, poor future thinking"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich habe bei Obsidian Entertainment gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    The people are amazing, they work on some great projects and a great location at the Irvine Spectrum.

    Kontras

    Layoffs occur after almost every project, no bonuses and small, insignificant celebrations for project completion. Story focused studio, not enough emphasis on gameplay.

    Rat an das Management

    Work on keeping your best employees and giving them a reason to stay, don't just rely on company loyalty to keep people.

    Obsidian Entertainment2013-02-26
  4. Hilfreich (2)

    "Obsidian - where RPGs and storytelling live"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Producer in Irvine, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Obsidian Entertainment gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great creative design and storytelling; solid art and animation; good work environment; good location; decent benefits

    Kontras

    Homegrown technology trailed top competitors (internal tech was not where it should have been - given the reliance certain projects had on its predictable delivery); pay was decent, but larger companies could offer larger base salaries and almost always had stronger bonus plans. My work-life balance was not very good. Part of that was my fault - I took on a lot of work and had a hard time stepping away from company...

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    It would be good if Obsidian could take on a deep-pocketed strategic partner. When paired with the right project, they can do amazing work for the money. Their D&D, Star Wars, and Fallout work was top notch.

    Obsidian Entertainment2012-09-05
  5. "Great RPG studio that I fear has grown to big for its britches"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Designer in Irvine, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe bei Obsidian Entertainment gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Most talented and versatile designers in the industry Chris Avellone is just awesome to work with

    Kontras

    Pigeon-holed as an RPG developer Very reliant on publishers No original IP

    Rat an das Management

    As far as designing traditional RPG's, nobody knows better than Obsidian's upper management. However, management could really benefit from being more open to fresh ideas and new business models and opportunities. Obsidian's reliance on publisher funding dampens the potential of all their talented employees, and makes it feels like they are one cancelled project away from utter collapse.

    Obsidian Entertainment2012-09-06
  6. "Worth every moment (but not a moment more)"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Gameplay Programmer in Irvine, CA
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe bei Obsidian Entertainment gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    * One of very few RPG companies in America with such a rich a history in the industry * Some tremendously talented people across tech/design/art * Excellent workplace facilities * An impressive amount of transparency from management regarding any issue * Worthwhile, high-profile projects * A tangible sense of comraderie among most of the company

    Kontras

    * Typical-of-the-industry project mismanagement issues create significant, avoidable overtime * Excessive redefinition of project goals and revisitation of pre-production tasks during production * Design occasionally given too much latitude without equivalent accountability * Salaries are more competitive elsewhere * Many of the best qualified shy away from leadership positions while ambitious but under qualified...

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Iteration is to be expected, but drastic or frequent changes do more harm than good by compromising the team's confidence in leadership's competence and decision-making ability. No one wants to create anything less than the best, but take the time to quantify the shortcomings of a pre-production decision before attempting to shoehorn revisions into a production schedule that is already bursting at the seams. As the...

    Mehr anzeigen
    Obsidian Entertainment2011-10-26
  7. "A good place to work, with a few caveats."

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Santa Ana, CA
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe bei Obsidian Entertainment gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    The owners have a lot of hands-on development experience (having previously worked at Interplay), and are generally "with it" as far as dealing with the development process goes. They also have solid publisher contacts and are one of a small number of RPG developers in North America, which means that publishers looking to develop a title in that genre come knocking fairly frequently. The employees, at least during my...

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Project expectations and mid-level management vary widely by project -- scheduling, project direction, and milestone expectations can be shaky.

    Rat an das Management

    Tighten up the project management -- iron out the development process and fix problems sooner rather than later.

    Obsidian Entertainment2008-10-07
27 Bewertungen gefunden