Arbeitgeberbewertungen für OMERS | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für OMERS

Aktualisiert am 16. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.3
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
56%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
67%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
OMERS CEO Michael Latimer (no image)
Michael Latimer
23 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (6)

    „Is the Glass Half-Empty of is it Half-Full in Pension Services?”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Pension Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei OMERS (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -DB plan for employees -Bonus for FT employees -Great office space -Friendly co-workers and managers -Good benefits and vacation days -Amazing Location

    Kontras

    *No Work From Home (used to be 2 days a week)- new leadership team has removed WFH saying it doesn’t boost productivity (took 1 year for them to admit this). *No Flex Hours (used to be able to start/end within a reasonable time frame)- used to be allowed to do your 8 hours whichever time you decide to start/leave. Employees now need to come in latest 9am and leave earliest 4pm each day and stick to same schedule... every day. Stressful for anyone not living Donwtown *Increase to work hours to 37.5hrs/week (used to be 36.35hrs/week)– was done under premise of “work harmonization” but is also cost savings by making employees work more hours for the same annual salary (lower hourly rate). *Nepotism- seems to be a common trend that many family members/relatives are being hired without much thought into conflicts of interest. *High Employee Turnover – it has now reached the highest level, especially high among newer and young employees *Low Employee Morale- At the lowest level in years. You cannot see it on their faces, but employees often share their frustration/dissatisfaction amongst themselfs *Long Service Employees being let go- Employees with years of experience and no direct involvement with the “failed project” have been let go for unclear reasons. *Cuts to Work Life Balance/Days off- removal of summer days (used to have a half-day for every other Friday in the summer) and flex days. What used to be 2 float days and 4 work life balance days have been replaced with 5 “OMERS days. Also, used to be 1 additional week of vac for employees with 10 years service (now 15 years). Volunteer days used to be paid time off, now you need to take an unpaid day off or use a vac day. *Handpicked promotions- Numerous instances in pension operations as well as client services with a lack of transparency. Annoys other employees who end up complaining things are not fair and thinking only "favorites" get promoted *Too Much Increases to Productivity/Performance Metric– steady yearly increases to productivity measures and performance objectives. Employees are working harder than ever, feeling stressed out, mentally exhausted, not having time to take breaks/lunches, putting in extra hours. *Wasteful Activities/Events-emphasis on incentivizing employees who participate in non-core work related initiatives such as volunteer committees by increasing the weight of “interpersonal skills” on total performance. So people who do the actual work on the team are not rewarded fairly. The “extra-curricular” activities are wasteful spending and don’t increase engagement or deliver value Ex) Dialogue Series, social/diversity committee

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    We need to take a look in the mirror and ask our selfs what we want to become. Deep reflection and pause for thought is needed. Clearly something is not right as we can tell. There are more questions than answers. What is the main priority and how best to achieve this? Do we want to be a “World-class” organization which is an industry leader? Or do we want to be mediocre and never make the annual “GTA’s Top 50... Employers” list again? Do we want to take an old-fashioned/military discipline approach to the work environment or Do we want to take a modern/flexible approach and attract “top-talent”? Do we want to only focus on driving productivity/performance or do we want to do that while fostering employee well-being and a balanced work/life balance? Who is to blame for all these issues? Is the employees who are used to being given so much over the years, that a simple regression to the mean is troublesome? OR are any of the Vp, Svp, President, CEO to blame for state of things? Do employees have justified reasons to be disgruntled? OR are they overreacting by a bunch of changes that leaves them with a lot of positives? If there is a real need to cut expenses in Pension Servcies (due to the "failed project"), should we not look at irrelevant teams like Agility, Internal Controls, Communications, etc? OR force Pension Services to do more with less at the risk of employee dissatisfaction/burnout? To summarize: Is the glass half-empty or is it half-full??? You be the judge.

    Mehr anzeigen
    OMERS2019-10-12
  2. „Not a great culture”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Vice President 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe bei OMERS gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You can focus your work on doing something great - helping pensioners

    Kontras

    The focus is on the who will be the new CEO. Lots of jockeying for advancement with the President who is likely to become CEO. President is fake. Not a man of principles and surrounds himself with the same.

    OMERS2019-10-16
  3. Hilfreich (11)

    „Something needs to change”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 8 Jahren bei OMERS (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The people who do the work are great, and you can't beat the benefits and, of course, the pension

    Kontras

    Senior management shows no respect or appreciation for their people. It's not the place it once was and it's a shame to see so many great people leave. There is a recent trend in getting rid of longer term/older employees which must be an HR nightmare. I've been waiting for the lawsuits!

    Rat an das Management

    Treat your people well. But not lip service. Don't talk the talk. Take employee engagement seriously and don't do things just to "look good".

    OMERS2019-10-01
  4. Hilfreich (5)

    „Irresponsible management of pension contributions”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Customer Service Representative 

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei OMERS (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Free coffee, fruit and yogurt. Vacation day allotment

    Kontras

    Client services has no contact center expertise in the management team and the management team there has no people management skills or pension experience. Nepotism is throughout the departments and plays a role in promotion selections and hiring. Managers just following orders of leadership and cannot help you if you want to move up. Managers do not make decisions- they just tell you that it was a senior... leadership decision and part of the new vision whenever there are changes, or promotions that have no clarity. No opportunities to be innovative- VP implements new initiatives that are sold to senior leadership to be exciting and loved by everyone but in reality they cause more work and stress. Has coffee chats that are either cancelled multiple times that makes you feel your time is not important or you sit through a painful session where a top down message is always presented for every issue brought up. No opportunities given to apply for new positions as leadership hand picks individuals based on face time exposure with SVP not on performance known to mangers. Environment is not stable and is toxic. There is constant changes and terminations followed by renaming and shuffling of teams that just causes everyone confusion and stress.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    All job opportunities should be open to everyone. Address Nepotism. Hire leaders with people management skills not political ones.

    OMERS2019-10-09
  5. „Great company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Investment Analyst 

    Ich arbeite bei OMERS (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Collaborative culture and talented staff

    Kontras

    Corporate management slow to react

    OMERS2019-09-18
  6. Hilfreich (1)

    „Get me out of here”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Pension Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei OMERS (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Coffee, middle management, good pension

    Kontras

    Terrible senior management, VP and above in the pension operational area. Nepotism is prevalent Favoritism isn't hidden Better be a yes person or feel the wrath Wfh is gone Strict schedules for timing - factory worker?? Morale is at an all time low Productivity trumps real collaboration Faux collaboration exists with the creation of all of these useless diversity and engagement programs

    Rat an das Management

    Maybe have better and more trustworthy engagement surveys and postings like this can stay internal. HR I I know is supposed to protect the company, but this is an extreme... Get HR to investigate your pension division and see what the root cause is. I'm sure you'll come up with the answer pretty quickly - ensure senior leadership has no say/input or exposure to the results.

    OMERS2019-10-15
  7. „IT”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Director 

    Ich habe bei OMERS gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good pension benefit, opportunities, location

    Kontras

    Poor IT management, repeat the same mistakes

    OMERS2019-09-09
  8. „Work life Balance in better way”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Temporary Employee in Pune
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei OMERS (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    Work life Balance in better way

    Kontras

    Timing shifts are not good.

    OMERS2019-09-09
  9. „going down”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Analyst 
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei OMERS gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    good perks excellent work life balance coaching and learning opportunities across business functions

    Kontras

    politics and bias under the table

    OMERS2019-09-18
  10. „My experience here at OMERS”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Analyst 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei OMERS (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great people and great benefits

    Kontras

    High turnover lowering employee morale

    Rat an das Management

    Encourage loyalty and train employees rather than replace them

    OMERS2019-08-24
102 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden