Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Nerdery | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Nerdery

Aktualisiert am 25. Jul 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

168 Bewertungen gefunden

3.3
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
52%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
57%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Nerdery CEO Adrian Slobin (no image)
Adrian Slobin
9 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (7)

    „Not the same company.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Nerd 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 5 Jahre bei Nerdery gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The Nerdery started their growth with a business model of working with agencies. They focused on agencies that didn't have the in-house talent to build out the website part of rebranding or marketing initiatives. Somewhere along the way, mobile apps and other services became part of the offerings, but websites were always the bread and butter. They figured out they could make more money by helping companies do... "digital transformation". Hired a new CEO and tried to turn on a dime to go after relatively huge clients. As a result, the business model is almost completely changed. There's much less website work. The remaining work is also different, so there's turnover/layoffs. The sales cycle takes longer. Not doing smaller projects means there's less ability to simply get the foot in the door and eventually scale up to large transformation projects. There is potential here for the company to make money. No idea what it's going to be like for developers. Biggest pro for the company is work/life balance. This hasn't changed - if you make sure your work is taken care of, you have flexibility (time off or work from home) to do what you need .

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    The high point of the Nerdery was always the people. Passionate developers that care about their work. This is becoming less and less true. Some people are being let go. Others are leaving because they don't feel as secure or engaged. No idea how much this will continue. I've seen people laid off that I consider to be top notch, first class nerds. The sales people I've talked to have been really alienated as well.... There seems to be less opportunity for real engagement with the work. Bottlecap - the Friday end of week party used to be an opportunity for socializing. It helped knit the company's culture. Now it's been moved to noon, and there's less socializing.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    You've burned a lot of bridges. I hope you figure out the sales cycle and preserve the company. Not sure how you can keep the high quality of Nerds we had in the past. Good luck with that, no sarcasm intended. Keep communicating and do your best to allow people to take pride in their work. With these larger projects there's going to be more of a tendency for people to feel like parts of a machine instead of... valued individual contributors. Watch out, since people will leave because of that. You've pretty much shown you don't value Nerdery culture, apart from how it directly affects the bottom line. Mistake. Hope you start taking the sense of community seriously again.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Nerdery2019-07-16

    Reaktion von Nerdery

    July 23, 2019CEO

    Thank you for spending more than five years of your career here and for sharing your insights with us. You are absolutely right that our business model has shifted away from primarily supporting agencies and creating marketing sites towards long-term partnerships with our clients who are facing a wide range of digital challenges. The primary reason for continuing to evolve our business model is that we are an organization that was founded on the premise of being a part of the changing technology landscape, which allows for a dynamic career opportunities for our people and for Nerdery to remain relevant in the market. Whether or not you agree, we believe the work that Nerdery was doing 5 years ago is increasingly commoditized, which means a limited market for us and limited advancement opportunities for our people. Regarding the Bottlecap knowledge-sharing and social events, we shifted the events to take place at noon on Fridays vs. 4 p.m. so that more Nerds could participate. In fact, I’ve heard a lot of positive feedback about the change and the higher attendance is also great validation. While we have had some folks leave over the last few years, I’m really proud of the strong team that we have as well as our recent hires. They continually push us to be a better Nerdery — internally as a team and as we serve our clients.

    Weniger anzeigen
  2. Hilfreich (1)

    „Commodity Services”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in Bloomington, MN
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Nerdery gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    At times, people were highly engaged and working together

    Kontras

    The focus on the customer was misaligned between teams and it became a cutthroat environment

    Rat an das Management

    Find your differentiation and focus on the customer

    Nerdery2019-07-25
  3. „Not a bad little company!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Project Manager 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Nerdery als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Tight knit groups, people have fun and work well together. No bad apples that I've found.

    Kontras

    Better support for remote workers

    Nerdery2019-06-02
  4. Hilfreich (14)

    „Stay away”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Strategy in Bloomington, MN
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Nerdery gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Talented coworkers, ability to contribute at varying levels, flexible work environment, regular company activities with food.

    Kontras

    The turnover. Wow, it was surprising, constant, and disruptive to both teams and client projects. You walk the halls and everyone is just miserable. A vision touting "change" and "new direction" and yet no ability to communicate "why" or "how" or for "who". Leaders who seem to be paid by the buzzword yet can't explain anything in plain language. A desire to move the company downtown because it would be... "cool" like the other shops. The Nerdery was good because it wasn't like the other shops. A "Boys' club" at the top of leadership - lots of past coworkers working together again.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Ha, very funny. They don't have ears. Only mouths.

    Nerdery2019-06-03
  5. Hilfreich (15)

    „No idea where the company is heading”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Minneapolis, MN
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Nerdery (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The Nerds have always been what made Nerdery a special place to work, but people are leaving left and right, whether through being laid off or quitting on their own accord, so I can't really say that's a pro anymore.

    Kontras

    All leadership support of the unique culture that made Nerdery a great organization has been removed and it's a struggle to organize anything special anymore. With so many people leaving, it's unclear whether they want to even have a development portion of the company or simply want to be a consulting group. While adaptation is understandable, there's a real loss of any positive corporate culture or a clear... understanding of where the company wants to go. It's very different than what Nerdery used to be and because of this, I can't advise anyone to consider getting a job there. With so much outside leadership coming in, long-term employees simply leave to get a promotion somewhere else.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    I don't know if you have a long-term strategy to sell or simply change the focus of the company, but your current activities (and lack of any sort of culture or current-employee career paths support) will leave you with a shell of a company with nothing but employees that don't care about the company or their work.

    Nerdery2019-04-02

    Reaktion von Nerdery

    April 15, 2019CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback around your frustrations. As a current employee, I hope you were able to participate in the rollout of our new vision and priorities and that you will work with us as we continue to gain momentum around it. In those sessions, we discussed the ways in which our development team is vital to every one of our market offerings. I hope you’ll continue to raise your ideas and feedback within Nerdery to help us continue to evolve, and please know you can reach out directly to me at anytime to discuss your concerns.

    Weniger anzeigen
  6. Hilfreich (7)

    „WHOA! Lots of Feelings on Glassdoor”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Client Partner in Bloomington, MN
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 5 Jahre bei Nerdery gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Nerdery is able to hire really nice people. You're offered a pretty flexible work environment, it's not smack in the middle of downtown, and Nerdery has a pretty decent reputation with clients in the local area. Contrary to what others may think, I do think that the leadership team does care and is willing to listen, but I don't think many people know that. Instead of approaching them to have a conversation, many... sit and let their feelings fester, which is never good.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    There has been a lot of turnover at all levels of the organization, the direction, who we are, what we do and who we help is constantly changing. Many talented people who could have pushed the company to the next level have left. You can look at that two ways - really great talent leaving OR making room for the next generation of new leaders - your choice. Leadership is fine. Many are new, none are the terrible... people that have been cited in the previous posts. Are they similar to the original leaders (owners) who were some of the most down to earth, humble individuals? No, they aren't - but Nerdery isn't the same either. Nerdery used to be an amazing place to work, great perks, lots of fun, ever-changing environment - it still has a lot of those qualities, but the competition does too. There's lots of work to be done there, many production people are incredibly talented in their craft, but lack the soft skills to be client facing and the production staff that does hold those highly coveted skill sets are leading multimillion dollar engagements and won't be able to lead a new project or mentor other people. Everyone leaves jobs, everyone leaves companies. Nerdery isn't terrible, but it also isn't the special gem it used to be. I'll be interested to see where the company goes.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Talk to your people, listen to how they are feeling and empower them to be leaders. There is a lot of good talent left at Nerdery, if you can provide emotional security for them to push some boundaries, great things can happen.

    Nerdery2019-04-11
  7. Hilfreich (5)

    „Lost the way”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Nerdery (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Coworkers are great. A great culture that’s slowly degraded to a new normal. There’s potential for greatness. You’ll learn a lot, assuming you have the right connections and get into good projects. Still better then most corporate jobs.

    Kontras

    5 star reviews that sound oddly like the leaderships hopes. Turbulence. Never ending revolving door at every level. The great people are inevitably finding themselves much better off elsewhere. Benefits are slowly reduced and are noticeably less then the competition. The common theme is to pay under market rates. The last leader who cared was replaced and now it’s purely about the vision of current leadership,... subject to change based on the winds of the day. Limited growth potential. Lay offs.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Make it the best place in the world for nerds to work. Used to be the slogan.

    Nerdery2019-05-02
  8. Hilfreich (4)

    „Fantastic people and direction”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Bloomington, MN
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Nerdery (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The company is finally on the right track after lots of changes over the last several years. Yes, people have left, but the people that remain are awesome, and I'm amazed at the kind of talent that we've been able to attract to help us continue to evolve. I'm really excited about the direction and where we are headed!

    Kontras

    There is still some cultural work to be done in getting people focused on the right things (less about us, more about our great work and great clients).

    Rat an das Management

    Continue to keep us all focused on doing great work, and the rest will take care of itself.

    Nerdery2019-02-27

    Reaktion von Nerdery

    March 8, 2019NA

    This is Adrian Slobin. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and I agree that the people and level of talent here is one of the best part of the job, hands down. You’re right that we have some work to do in terms of culture but I’m excited to see where our new vision statement takes us in 2019 — let’s find time to chat if you have ideas for ways we can continue to bring it to life.

    Weniger anzeigen
  9. Hilfreich (4)

    „Great Company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Nerdery (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Nerdery really cares for their employees. My job is relatively low on stress. We get a catered meal and free beer every Friday. The kitchen is stocked with free bananas, apples, bagels, cereal, coffee, ramen, oatmeal, chocolate, and LaCroix. Employees at Nerdery are very social and friendly, as well as into technology and their careers. Employees are often empowered to learn new things and cross-train on different... technologies.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    The overall vision and direction of the company is mysterious, and attempts to communicate vision to the employees often fall short.

    Nerdery2019-02-19
  10. Hilfreich (2)

    „Best Place I've Ever Worked!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Phoenix, AZ
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Nerdery als Vollzeit

    Pros

    1. The people. The Phoenix team is second to none. Our Phoenix Nerds are not only smart, but they CARE. We are truly a family - each of us on our own mission to help change the world one client at a time. Our Managing Director is an all-around awesome human, too. Such a pleasure to work with! 2. Transparency - In just about everything we do from a business perspective. Our CEO is VERY communicative and has been a... wonderful agent of change over the past year. Some tough decisions have been made, but he has kept us in the loop as to why and what the plan is moving forward. 3. Work/life balance - Each and every one of us enjoys a great balance of work and life. We aren't pushed to work a crazy amount of hours and we are always encouraged to take time off. Many of our Nerds enjoy plenty of flexibility in work from home options as well. 4. We are GOING places!! SO much growth happening in Phoenix. it's an exciting time to be here, especially with the build out of our new office space in Park Central. 5. Solid benefits and lots of little perks! Things like fitness incentives, doc-on-call, LegalShield, etc. We will also be getting a Mother's Room in our brand new space.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    None that I can think of.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Nerdery2019-02-25
168 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden