Bewertungen für NYC Teaching Fellows Teacher | Glassdoor.de

NYC Teaching Fellows Bewertungen für Teacher

Aktualisiert am 28. Jun 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

12 Bewertungen gefunden

2.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
41%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
0%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
NYC Teaching Fellows CEO Anthony Finney
Anthony Finney
2 Bewertungen
  1. "Worth it, just hardvwork"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Special Education Teacher in New York, NY

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei NYC Teaching Fellows als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Great Alternative path to teaching

    Kontras

    Long hours, no salary during PST

    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-06-29
  2. "Difficult Job"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Math Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei NYC Teaching Fellows (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Masters Degree at Reduced Cost Full-time job with benefits

    Kontras

    Low-support for administration It is stressful to teach full-time while trying to get a masters.

    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-04-29
  3. "This program is only for you if you are dedicated to serving NYC public schools."

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Special Education Teacher in New York, NY
    Empfiehlt

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei NYC Teaching Fellows (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    *Majority of tuition subsidized *Become an employee of the DOE with full benefits while completing masters. *Pre service training (PST) will prepare you for the expectations of the DOE *The support system of current Fellows and alums *No commitment to stay with the DOE once you complete the program *You are placed for PST training- but you select your school placement in the DOE (apply, interview, and decide if...

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    *Balancing the demands of full time teaching and completing a masters program *Onsite training (on the job training with a class) for PST is demanding- you have to lose yourself and be whatever the coach wants you to be (ADVICE: Do whatever it takes to pass.Once you complete PST you chose the school that fits you and allows you to develop your teacher self) *The stipend is low during training

    Rat an das Management

    I am very happy with my Masters Program because my course work is relevant and can be applied to my pedagogy immediately. The CST webinars to prep for state certification exams and online portal checklist, and helpline were great resources to get me off to a solid strat in the program. PST onsite training is disheartening, try training staff on how to approach training adults. It honestly feels like a hazing process and...

    Mehr anzeigen
    NYC Teaching Fellows2019-03-31
  4. Hilfreich (8)

    "This Organization Commits Some Acts That Are Likely Illegal"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teacher in New York, NY
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 8 Jahren bei NYC Teaching Fellows ()

    Pros

    The mission is great. It is unfortunate that they don't accomplish that mission.

    Kontras

    The organization overhires people in order to ensure that all positions are filled. In the event that there not attrition to reduce the number of applicants by summer's end, they get rid of some of their qualified fellows, who by then have invested time, money, and energy into the program. The org should be shut down by its funders.

    NYC Teaching Fellows2018-09-29
  5. Hilfreich (8)

    "Looking for a stable job opportunity? This is not it!"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Special Education Teacher 

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei NYC Teaching Fellows (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    After pre-service training you are paid as a full-time teacher while you earn your Master's degree and work on your certification. With the exception of $8,000 which you must pay, DOE pays for your Master's degree.

    Kontras

    1) Due to heavy politics, position is not stable; if you have a job already don't quit to become a fellow, because acceptance into the program is no guarantee that you will be allowed to finish; and then you will be stuck with no job. 2) First three months ~$800 month stipend only. 3) If you don't live at home with your mother, you'll need a second job to survive 1st 3 months; caveat is - it is almost impossible to...

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    There are some schools in the DOE that are operated by less than professional administrations. The teaching fellows should work hard to identify those schools, and alert fellows to steer clear of them. Be up front and honest about the pros and cons of the program. Develop a housing program for out of town people. Increase the stipend.

    NYC Teaching Fellows2018-02-01
  6. Hilfreich (1)

    "The Program Is Done Poorly, But Sometimes There Isn't a Better Choice"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - ENL Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei NYC Teaching Fellows (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - You are allowed to work as a fully-paid NYC teacher while getting your certification. (For me, a father supporting my family on my single income, two years in a traditional teaching school was not an option.)

    Kontras

    - Grueling. - Management, classes, training, schedules, everything is poorly organized. - The grad school classes may have little to do with what is actually going on in your classroom. - Grueling.

    Rat an das Management

    Consider what your teachers need to be successful day one. Some of that is the classroom management techniques that you teach, but they also need to know how to plan lessons. Training and grad school require far more focus on that.

    NYC Teaching Fellows2017-11-01
  7. Hilfreich (32)

    "I would give this zero stars if i could"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Special Education Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei NYC Teaching Fellows (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - foot in the door of the oldest and one of the most arcane and bureaucratic school systems in the US -subsidized masters

    Kontras

    - don't fool yourself - even if you've got the diploma nothing in experience makes the masters program feels like a real masters - next to no support (think benign neglect) and in some cases, forces outright undermining your success as a teacher.

    Rat an das Management

    get this program in shape or shut it down. to prospective and current candidates: for the love of god, don't do this if you're a rational human being who is sane or who likes themself. this program in no way prepares you for teaching, and you'll probably have to unlearn some of the bad habits and information you're taught during the summer intensive. teach like a champion? more like teach like a robot. the masters...

    Mehr anzeigen
    NYC Teaching Fellows2017-04-23
  8. Hilfreich (3)

    "Teaching fellow"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teacher in New York, NY
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei NYC Teaching Fellows ()

    Pros

    Good salary , paid master degree, full benefits and free health insurance. It's is a golden opportunity if you got selected for this program

    Kontras

    They send you to low income communities school where they need you. Sometimes it's hard to do full time job SMS to do master simultaneously . Too much work

    NYC Teaching Fellows2017-01-27
  9. Hilfreich (7)

    "Not for ESL"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - ESL Teacher in New York, NY
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei NYC Teaching Fellows gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Cheap Masters options from an okay school

    Kontras

    Literally everything else. The schools I worked at didn't follow the law when it came to ESL scheduling, had no ESL materials and literally no ESL curriculum in any way shape or form. I had to make everything from nothing while attending Grad school full time. Horrible experience that made me hate my life for two years.

    NYC Teaching Fellows2017-02-24
  10. Hilfreich (5)

    "Math Immersion"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Mathematics Teacher in Bronx, NY
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei NYC Teaching Fellows ()

    Pros

    - Tons of smart people - Subsidized Masters

    Kontras

    - Super disorganized - No focus on data quality

    NYC Teaching Fellows2015-07-13
12 Bewertungen gefunden