Arbeitgeberbewertungen für NYC Teaching Fellows | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für NYC Teaching Fellows

Aktualisiert am 20. Aug 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

2.1
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
27%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
16%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
NYC Teaching Fellows CEO Anthony Finney
Anthony Finney
6 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (11)

    „Just Don't”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe bei NYC Teaching Fellows gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Faster than traditional route to teaching

    Kontras

    The teaching fellows are undertrained over achievers who are thrown into some of the worst schools in New York City. Pre-service training is a terrible ordeal. You will be placed in a summer school with students who have failed the academic year and no prior training to deal with the types of problems these children may have. Be prepared to work 12-hour days, have prep work to complete once you get home and run on... 2-3 hours of sleep per night. Your weekends will be consumed by work trying to prepare for the coming week. While you are actually at the training site, you will be treated without dignity and as if you are a prisoner. You will not be able to leave the campus for any reason; for food coffee, or even to make copies if the printer happens to be broken as it often was. One trainer was a decent person, the rest were sadistic and looking for excuses to give teachers low evaluations and kick them out. They give very little actionable feedback, yet expect you to hit their unrealistic standards - prepare to be judged, not coached. Don't ask for help because you won’t get and it will be seen as a sign of weakness. My trainer was late everyday and missed important meeting with her fellows. However, if you are a fellow they will throw you out for the same behavior. Two times late and it counts as an absence, and after two absences they throw you out. Some fellows had to commute across the city up to two hours yet there are training centers throughout all the boroughs. Many fellows drop out. On the last day they tell all those remaining that they have "made it" only to have some receive an email several weeks later informing them that they have been dropped from the program for "not meeting expectations." Some fellows have it easier with small groups of quiet students. Others have classes of 30 or more. Either way, you will be held up to the same expectations and viewed as responsible for whatever behavioral problems these students may have. Think very carefully before placing your career in the hands of incompetent individuals and a flawed program. Look into other alternative teaching programs or a traditional route into teaching.

    Mehr anzeigen
    NYC Teaching Fellows2016-08-27
  2. Hilfreich (11)

    „Beware before you make any commitment to this job”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Teaching Fellow 
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe bei NYC Teaching Fellows gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    If there is only one 'pro' I can think of, it would be that the fellowship offers a faster alternative route to obtaining a job with the NYC DOE.

    Kontras

    Where do I begin? To start, the fellowship's model of education is more like boot camp. They are not interested in producing educators; they want drill sergeants. You will spend many hours per day role-playing scenarios with your colleagues and coaches about managing student behavior. Your coaches will read to you from a power point for three hours straight, and they will model 'effective classroom teaching' by... doing things like rewarding you with candy for giving the right answer, as if you are a kid and demanding that you sit upfront and direct your attention to the instructor at all times, among other things. Second, the education classes that you take at your university are useless. You will not learn any academic content at all; research papers, for example, are extended personal reflection essays about anecdotal experiences. Your professor's lecture will consist of reading from a power-point projector verbatim. To make would matters worse, they have people who have no background in mathematics, for example, teach math regents classes to students who failed their regents. To say that is unethical would be an understatement. Finally, fellowship predetermines that 15% of fellows need "professional improvement", and they dismiss this 15% from the program at the last day of training. Even if you had already accepted a job offer within the DOE, the fellowship will demand that you withdraw from your job offer. This is wholly unacceptable, especially when they accept people from all walk of life and with various circumstances to commit to weekdays that begin at 7am and end at 7pm.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    You need to be more mindful of, and responsive to, your fellows needs outside of the brutal 7-7 workday.

    NYC Teaching Fellows2016-08-21
  3. Hilfreich (9)

    „they raise your hopes up just to bring them down”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
     
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe bei NYC Teaching Fellows gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Rigorous training. Great opportunity to network with people.

    Kontras

    Doesn't give you enough time to evolve into the teacher that you can be. Raise your hopes up then kick you out if you ratings don't meet their unrealistic expectations. They talk about bringing equity into the classroom but they don't provide equity to potential teachers that want to serve their community.

    Rat an das Management

    Do not fire fellows who don't meet your unrealistic expectations after PST. It doesn't make sense to out your heart and soul into an organization's expectations just for them to drop you if you don't meet those expectations.

    NYC Teaching Fellows2016-08-18
  4. Hilfreich (4)

    „Teacher”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
     
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose

    Ich habe bei NYC Teaching Fellows gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    none it's horrible. Don't do it to yourself. Take out a loan. Do your masters in a cuny school

    Kontras

    I would never do this ever again. Get your masters the old fashioned way. Not worth the stress and aggravation. They want you to teach like a robot to perfect fictional students. The ratings on you is harsh and they have no sympathy for . Do yourself the favor take out the student loan in a cuny school and call it a day. The coaches are fake phony and make u feel as if you'll make it. 10 days before school starts I... was told I was no longer eligible. Waste of an entire summer o could have worked. And good luck to those going in the classroomn after being trained for one period a day for 5 weeks. Redic

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Be more sympathetic that some of us have no clue what we are doing and have no clue how to teach. Maybe teach us what to do before throwing us in a summer school. Good luck

    NYC Teaching Fellows2016-08-19
  5. Hilfreich (5)

    „Not What You Think It Is”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich habe bei NYC Teaching Fellows gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - interesting experience - "free" Master's degree

    Kontras

    - everything else... - long hours - not enough training before going into classroom - ZERO support for finding a teaching position

    NYC Teaching Fellows2016-07-26
  6. Hilfreich (5)

    „teaching fellows made me less hopeful and not want to teach”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Fellow in New York, NY
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose

    Ich arbeite bei NYC Teaching Fellows ()

    Pros

    -Free masters degree- the carrot they dangle in front of you. -My classes at LIU are interesting, professors are very down to earth. Going to LIU is the only part of this I am enjoying

    Kontras

    highly disorganized- I am getting a 7-12 sped certification with a social studies extension and teaching 8th grade ELA. The content teacher in the room is a math teacher and tries to help, but does not know much on ELA and therefore is a good resource. DO NOT expect to get practice in your content area. coaching/support?- The coaches do not actually coach, they just criticize and make you feel like everything is... your fault. Biased- as a white woman I feel like men and people of color get preferential treatment. coaches give shout outs to how many members of these groups are in the room. Video examples- all of the examples of great teachings videos we watch are in gen ed classrooms, as sped teachers we should be preparing for working in ICT and self contained classes, but no models of that. A lot of videos show elementary school classes which does not help in a room of 7-12 teachers. -You will not be prepared to work with special needs students. there is nothing taught about differentiation, how to work with ELL's, or students with learning disabilities. -be prepared to feel like you are not good enough all the time, and get ready to spend your whole summer frustrated and anxiety ridden 24/7

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    focus more on how to teach students with disabilities and how to differentiate.

    NYC Teaching Fellows2016-07-23
  7. Hilfreich (2)

    „Demanding and Rewarding Experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Fellow in Bronx, NY
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe bei NYC Teaching Fellows gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues Good Training Elite Feel I was part of cohort 6, and was extremely pleased when I was made my offer. The other Fellows in my cohort were very bright. My school received 6 fellows, and collectively we were able to make a difference in the school. Test scores went up, especially in mathematics. Great program for a liberal arts graduate looking for a fast track into classroom. I made many... life long friends with people from my summer training cohort.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Teaching in an inner city school is demanding. The induction and training is excellent, but results in the classroom will depend largely on the individual and school placement. Teaching full time, and going to school at night was difficult, and left little downtime.

    Rat an das Management

    The NYCTF office should constantly and consistenly reach out to Fellows. I found the gatherings, and Newsletter extremely encouraging.

    NYC Teaching Fellows2016-05-28
  8. Hilfreich (9)

    „Fellow”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Fellow in New York, NY
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei NYC Teaching Fellows (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Free masters and a easy way to break into teaching

    Kontras

    Disorganized, will change the info that is shared at drop of a hat. Will lie to you to get what they want and change things to benefit them. They are difficult to reach and though they subsidize lots of the education it will cost you 300-1000 before you start and they will kick you out at any moment. The process to get accepted is long and be prepared to give them your entire summer from 7am to 7-8 pm mon- fri and... work on stuff when you get home. I recommend just enroll at relay and pay it out of pocket and forget the bs they have going.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    figure it out. you make a broken system even worse.

    NYC Teaching Fellows2015-08-28
  9. Hilfreich (5)

    „Math Immersion”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Mathematics Teacher in Bronx, NY
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei NYC Teaching Fellows ()

    Pros

    - Tons of smart people - Subsidized Masters

    Kontras

    - Super disorganized - No focus on data quality

    NYC Teaching Fellows2015-07-13
  10. Hilfreich (4)

    „Quality program for become a new and effective teacher!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
     
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite bei NYC Teaching Fellows ()

    Pros

    high quality training program with amazing colleagues and mentors; focused on the most important skills to be successful in your first year.

    Kontras

    be ready to commit because training will take 100% of your time!

    NYC Teaching Fellows2015-02-17
55 Bewertungen gefunden