Arbeitgeberbewertungen für NOVA (Japan) | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für NOVA (Japan)

Aktualisiert am 29. Aug 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

2.9
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
56%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
  1. „Decent place to work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher in Tokio
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei NOVA (Japan) (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Get to meet interesting students, visa sponsorship, textbooks are easy to get used to

    Kontras

    Feedback from some managers is unhelpful, no company health insurance, salary can often be lower than similar positions at other companies

    Rat an das Management

    Try to support employees more with feedback and advice

    NOVA (Japan)2019-08-29
  2. Hilfreich (3)

    „Treated me well”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teacher 

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei NOVA (Japan) als Vollzeit

    Pros

    -Help with housing -Classes are fairly easy to teach -Some students are lots of fun to talk to

    Kontras

    -Little time to prepare for classes -Kinder classes are basically babysitting

    NOVA (Japan)2019-07-24
  3. Hilfreich (2)

    „It all depends on where you are”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teacher 
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei NOVA (Japan) gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Working with nice people, some of the students are great, and an overall easy job.

    Kontras

    The company itself is very shady and doesn't provide health benefits to its teachers.

    NOVA (Japan)2019-07-08
  4. Hilfreich (3)

    „Teach English in Japan!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Instructor in Umeda, Osaka
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei NOVA (Japan) (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You get out of it what you put into it. It’s as simple as that. Just follow the rules. The interview process was simple and stress-free. The lessons are fairly simple to teach. Training was useful.

    Kontras

    No benefits like regular Japanese workers. Shift patterns won’t suit everyone.

    Rat an das Management

    More feedback at the start would have been nice.

    NOVA (Japan)2019-06-26
  5. Hilfreich (3)

    „Not as bad as I'd heard”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teacher in Sakai, Osaka
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei NOVA (Japan) gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Individual managers make the difference I think. Company has many long running students and most branches are nice to work in (ie. fairly new, colleagues, close to train stations). I made some great friends with the other teachers. Working evenings and having mornings off was nice.

    Kontras

    It's mostly the culture shock of working in a Japanese company which is quite different to a western company.

    NOVA (Japan)2019-06-26
  6. Hilfreich (3)

    „Worked at NOVA for 3 years”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Instructor 
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei NOVA (Japan) gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Wonderful students Kind staff and fellow teachers Easy and fun work if you enjoy conversation Nice way to live in Japan

    Kontras

    Children can be troublesome Little room for advancement/pay increase No benefits besides paid travel expenses

    NOVA (Japan)2019-06-05
  7. Hilfreich (3)

    „Pretty good for a year in Japan”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teacher in Kōbe, Hyogo
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei NOVA (Japan) (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Work is easy I worked here for a year and honestly it was one of the best jobs I ever had in regards to the actual work. You go in and choose your lesson from a book. Once you get good this can take a couple of seconds and that all the preparation you need for the class. Lessons are 40 mins, so they seldom drag. Pays good. I managed to save £5k over the year and I wasn't being frugal. I was on the... independent contract.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    So the bonus scheme if you're there for a year is a con. Basically just disregard it if you plan to stay there for just a year. Japan attracts a certain kind of person. It you fall in to this bracket you'll stay in Japan forever. I left after a year. Oh and if you want a holiday you have to pay 500 yen per lesson. I booked 3 weeks off and actually had to pay money back which means i was in the minus by about £120.... Yep, thats right, I didn't get paid one month and if anything had to pay money back. And i've heard the employment contract is a nightmare. And also the Japanese staff are treated like slaves they work easily 60+ hours a week while watching foreign staff work half that. It difficult to watch when those staff members become your friends.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Sort out the holiday system. To be fair I had a pretty good experience with Nova and would recommend it.

    NOVA (Japan)2019-05-30
  8. Hilfreich (4)

    „Easy work, but do not keep to the promises they made in the interview”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - English Instructor in Tokio
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei NOVA (Japan) (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The job can be quite fulfilling, especially with some of the better students with whom you can clearly see progress Ample training is provided (with a fee), and continuous help is provided by area managers and other staff. The lesson structure is very easy to absorb, well thought out, and will feel natural to the instructor in a very short time. The staff are all helpful and friendly and all very easy to... talk to transportation is paid for, as long as you take the cheapest route

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    A large number of foreign workers I have met here working for Nova had all been fed the same lies that I had: that the employee will get two consecutive days off, and that those days can be decided on your first day. Not true in the slightest. Another lie which has seen many people including myself put in to serious financial issues was the promise of a paid airfare. On the first day of training is when everyone... is told that you can only get your airfare paid if you sign as an independent contractor, therefore sacrificing many of the standard benefits of a position in the average job. Depending on when the employee is asked to arrive in the country, you may only get paid half a paycheck after your first month. Pay day is the 15th of every month and is based on the days worked the whole previous month, therefore if you arrive on the 15th, you will only get paid for 15 days on your first paycheck, which does not make living in Japan any easier. The training fee, something around 35,000 yen, the equivalent of about $318, is also taken from this first paycheck, leaving the employee stranded until they can finally get a slightly more substantial paycheck on their 3rd month. The instructor has to pay to use the resources for every class, the resources being a couple of textbooks and a tablet or laptop. There should not be a "rental" price for the resources if the instructor does not have a choice but to use them. Nova must now have made a gigantic profit off this alone. Nova have had many run ins with legality and issues with how they have treated their staff before, and it is unlikely to be the last time.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Don't mislead potential employees, it can cause financial havoc, especially those who have saved up enough money, but feeling safe due to your promise that you the company will 100% pay back the airfare, when the company will really only pay 50% of it on the first paycheck to those who sign their rights away on an independent contract. Don't promise consecutive days off if you cannot provide it. Don't promise... anything that you cannot provide. Don't treat staff as disposable. One of the things that keeps regular students coming to Nova are familiar faces. his is true of all industries working with people. Treat the staff better and they will treat the role with more respect.

    Mehr anzeigen
    NOVA (Japan)2019-05-30
  9. Hilfreich (3)

    „Bad experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei NOVA (Japan) als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Some of the other teachers were great to work with

    Kontras

    No health insurance through company and no guaranteed paid holidays. Management was very unprofessional and controlling. I got another job in japan and am much happier.

    NOVA (Japan)2019-06-26
  10. Hilfreich (1)

    „disorganized”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teacher in Kitakyūshū
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als 5 Jahre bei NOVA (Japan) gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    nice students and sometimes staff

    Kontras

    no incentives, managers can be grumpy

    Rat an das Management

    quality first

    NOVA (Japan)2019-05-29
72 Bewertungen gefunden