Bewertungen für NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, „missions” | Glassdoor.de

Mitarbeiterbewertungen für NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory zu „missions“

Aktualisiert am 23. Aug 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

733 Bewertungen gefunden

4.3
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
86%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
92%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory CEO Michael Watkins
Michael Watkins
102 Bewertungen

Bewertungen zu „missions“

Zurück zu allen Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (14)

    "Working for the Government Presents its Own Challenges"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Systems Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Interesting projects. Incredibly smart coworkers who are usually very willing to help get you up to speed. Current upheaval of the old guard is actually presenting some new opportunities to lay down the foundation for the lab for many years to come. Name-drop-ability is real. People's ears perk up when they hear JPL and NASA, and if you're the type that likes to work at a place a lot of people are interested in, and flat out envy at times, JPL will do the trick. It's also a conversation starter when talking to recruiters, and most will be very interested in chatting with you to hear what you were up to at NASA. 9/80 work week is observed by most people on the lab, and yes that means every other Friday off. Unlike most engineering jobs, it's not a trick, either. People take it off and the lab basically shuts down every other week on Friday. I've had a few Fridays I felt like I would use the day to catch up, but that was my call and overall the lab tries to practice what it preaches and does honor a good work/life balance. Remote work is also available, and depending on your team could be encouraged, due to the parking issues the lab does have. Those are real... You'll see people complain about parking a lot on here, and it's a serious problem. When I can, I work from home, which helps greatly get work done and not have to worry about running all over campus, and especially not waste time hunting for a place to park in the morning.

    Kontras

    Work can move at glacial pace. Constantly fighting the old way of thinking, and there is a lot of push back toward anything new (whether it be a tool, a different way of working, or even a messaging app). Some missions are fully agile, with a slew of modern tools and technology, while others are using software and build practices that would have looked outdated in the late 90s. There is a constant bucking of new and smart grads and younger techs against the old-been-there-forever engineers. Most employees are also on matrix based project schedules, and it is rare to be assigned to more than 25-33% on any one project. Most engineers are juggling three to four projects, each with unique requirements, tools, and processes. It's actually closer to working three to four completely separate jobs, and with the variance and meeting schedules it can really feel like all you're ever doing is running around from meeting to meeting. Not a lot of guidance if you want a structured role. Most folks are so busy bouncing from meeting to meeting, and doing their own time juggling, that they expect you to pick up the ball and run with it. Sometimes even getting basic requirements can be a challenge, and on one hand that's very liberating, but on another when you're dealing with limited time, it is costly to have to go back and forth on a bad design, or just a completely wrong direction, due to not understanding the scope or requirements for an assignment. Government work can be hard to stomach at times. Big shock, but, yes, things get political here. There are a lot of rules, a lot of cautions, and I've heard numerous times that, "If this is mishandled, you're going to prison," and it's not a joke. It can be stressful. Zero perks around the office, and it may sound petty, but those coming from private industry might be shocked to see there's no free coffee, no tea, not even water coolers. If you want to drink water, a few groups have started water clubs (no joke) where you pay a little money each month to have access to a water cooler. Same with coffee. Otherwise, you're huffing it to the cafeterias for water or Starbucks for an overpriced drink. Forget free meals. There are some parties once in a while on lab, but don't expect food, drinks, or anything really that you don't need to get work done. Likewise, trips, travel, conferences, and what have you, are all paid for by your projects, meaning you need to have at least three groups sign off on anything you do. As a taxpayer, I'm happy that spending is so closely monitored and controlled, but as an employee it can be a pain to simply do things that might better all of my projects as a whole. This isn't a place where you come and work for a group, and work on several projects while being paid by your Org. You're actually assigned projects and paid a fraction by each, so you really have to constantly work at keeping all your projects up, hunting for new projects when things are ramping down, and manage your relationships with people on lab to make sure you always have work to do. Group supervisors can help, but mine hasn't been very present in my day to day work, and half the time he's busy with his own tasks and can't really spend time with his reports. Great guy, but sort of a hands off and never present supervisor. Perhaps other people have a different experience there. Parking is a real problem. There aren't enough spaces. It's a gag around JPL. If you try to park after 9am all bets are off. If you dare leave at noon for lunch, you're screwed. People park illegally all over the lab. There are cars crammed next to cars, parked almost blocking roads, sometimes completely blocking lanes in the parking lots. I don't blame them. I've circled for an hour plus to find a spot before, and didn't. I ended up calling my teams and told them I was going home and working there. It's bad. It's really bad.

    Weiterlesen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2018-11-28
  2. "Prove Yourself"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Spacecraft Mechanical in Los Angeles, CA
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory als gearbeitet

    Pros

    Everyone here is an expert at what they do. No shortage of cool projects

    Kontras

    Work gets caught up in the sheer amount of people and bureaucracy of it all for larger missions. You have to prove that you are worth time to people due to the amount of work on everyone's plate.

    Weiterlesen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2018-10-26
  3. "Who doesn't love space?"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Electronics Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - Get to work on things that go to space - All of your friends/family think it's really awesome that you work at NASA

    Kontras

    - Projects/missions take a very long time to complete (3 to 5+ years) - A lot of bureaucracy and oversight

    Weiterlesen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2018-09-04
  4. "Technologist's Thoughts"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Technologist V in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Varied work assignments... If you can dream it you can (maybe) do it!

    Kontras

    Funding is very competitive for research that is not aligned with flight missions.

    Weiterlesen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2016-08-05
  5. Hilfreich (15)

    "No Career Advancement"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Member of Technical Staff in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 5 Jahre bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    JPL offers the allure of working on spacecraft, instruments, and science related to planetary exploration. A lot of talented, curious individuals work there in many different fields. There is an academic atmosphere and lectures are offered on many different topics by people from Caltech, NASA, and other companies. You can work on a variety of projects including flight software, hardware, research, formulation, system engineering, mission operations etc. You can also write your own proposals, papers, studies, reports, and travel to conferences and other countries/centers. There is a high level of cooperation with other space agencies, public outreach, and educational priorities.

    Kontras

    Because JPL is a non-profit government subcontractor, they fundamentally lack the budgets to offer meaningful performance incentives. Wages are low and grow extremely slowly (2%/yr), benefits get pared back each year. This also means that advancement opportunities are not there for all the deserving people they have and get doled out to a select few based on closed-door meetings - often not the most talented but the best-perceived. Heavily male-dominated management are former engineers, and have inadequate training in conflict resolution and personnel development. They rely on fear tactics to create uncertainty about the government funding to keep people from asking too many questions about their future. There is no guarantee of continued employment, even if you do good work, you might still be left scrambling to find your next project, even though management supposedly plans these things. They make a lot more than the engineers although there is no value-added to their work, it is still up to the people to apply for funding and keep themselves employed. You also have to constantly come up with new ideas for space missions to get funding from NASA, even though they often end up making arbitrary decisions to spread money to their other centers. Bureaucracy and too much oversight over budgets is a constant burden, as is the yearly scare at the fiscal year boundary (Sept. - Oct. ) when funding from the government often gets delayed due to threats of a shut down. Despite all this, JPL does manage to retain people for far too long with the promise of a family-friendly environment and a twisted sense of stability. If you decide there are no other options than to settle down in the Pasadena area, you can easily resign yourself to a career at JPL, where you are likely to stay employed on various things for decades, without ever attaining a real sense of being valued or appreciated. You will also end up working many unpaid hours for no reward. I have watched many people with Ph.D.s devote their life to JPL out of a sense of pride and commitment to engineering and science, only to end up feeling bitter and cynical about the politics. It promises exciting work, but simply cannot compete with private companies that are driven to invest in their employees for their own mutual financial benefit.

    Weiterlesen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2016-06-08
  6. Hilfreich (3)

    "Recent PhD new hire"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Mechanical Engineer II in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory als Vollzeit

    Pros

    I have been working at JPL for about 6 months and everyone that I have worked with thus far has been incredibly enthusiastic about their work.

    Kontras

    JPL's primary focus is on flight projects (such as the Mars rovers and other large scale NASA missions) and secondarily on technology, innovation and research. Coming in with a background in research (I just got my PhD), this was definitely a shift in mentality.

    Weiterlesen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2016-03-04
  7. Hilfreich (9)

    "Nepotism, Nepotism, Nepotism"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are great. The "brand name" of JPL goes great on a resume. The facilities are great and reminiscent of a college.

    Kontras

    Nepotism - you would think most people that work here are brilliant and come from MIT, Caltech, Stanford, UCLA, USC engineering... Unfortunately if you browse the company directory you'll start seeing a lot of CSU Dominguez Hills, CSU Northridge, CSU LA, Pasadena City College as educational background. Not to bash those schools, but I thought JPL had the brightest minds. They don't seem to anymore, and every third person here seems to get hired due to a family connection. The overall mission is awesome, but there are also a ton of dead end jobs that support those missions. There is no career development culture in place, it seems as if everyone is supposed to stay exactly where they are and do the same thing until they retire.

    Weiterlesen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2016-02-26
  8. "Summer Internship"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Intern in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory als gearbeitet

    Pros

    Everyone I worked with was so motivated and loved their jobs. The team that I worked with was very willing to help me out and I learned a lot in just a summer!

    Kontras

    A lot of missions are contingent on funding, so it's disappointing to see some projects being cut back because of lack of funding.

    Weiterlesen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2015-10-22
  9. "A Great Place to Work!"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory ()

    Pros

    I love it here !

    Kontras

    I think they should get more space missions

    Weiterlesen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2013-04-17
  10. Hilfreich (5)

    "A Very Unique Place to Work"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Electrical Engineer in La Canada Flintridge, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - Work/life balance is very good - Unique projects/missions that no other company has done or attempted - Unique blend of engineers and top scientists and PhD's in the world. - Good benefits overall (new employees earn 3 weeks + 1 day vacation and 12 sick days per year) - Great employer contributions to Key Staff retirement plan - Casual environment

    Kontras

    Like most companies the size of JPL (5000+ employees), there are "companies within the company" which means that certain sections or divisions may be vastly different than others. As a result, it is difficult to provide a sweeping, all inclusive company wide con. However, here is my attempt: - JPL is struggling financially right now because although often successful, they have been labeled as too expensive for many deep space or interplanetary missions. Consequently, they have been forced to compete for other types of contracts and have been failing because of their excessive cost. The days of receiving a blank check from NASA to send a rover to Mars (JPL's specialty that requires no competitive bidding) looks to be over or at least suspended for the next 8 years or so. - JPL has their share of common issues involving companies of this size - ineffective or apathetic group supervisors, too many levels of management on some projects, etc. However, nothing too far out of the ordinary and most of these cases are isolated rather than chronic.

    Weiterlesen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2012-10-16
733 Bewertungen gefunden