Bewertungen für NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Systems Engineer | Glassdoor.de

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Bewertungen für Systems Engineer

Aktualisiert am 24. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

4.5
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
99%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
90%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory CEO Michael Watkins
Michael Watkins
7 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (2)

    „Diverse environment with freedom to get your work done.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Systems Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great place to work. Diverse environment. Freedom to do your work with minimum interference. Able to talk to anyone at ANY level. Work on unusual projects. Management does sincerely make an attempt to keep work/life balance in check.

    Kontras

    Benefits not as strong as current tech companies. No profit sharing (government). No free coffee, soda, juices, meals, yogurt, childcare, etc. Skills learned may be of limited value for other companies. Transition to other projects when current tasks get completed, is not smooth. New hires seem to get more attention than current employees.

    Rat an das Management

    Nurture your employees. Train them for new projects and challenges. More classes and inclusion into new projects. Encourage more mentoring and team building.

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2017-07-27
  2. Hilfreich (2)

    „Horrible Working Conditions!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Systems Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Cool work, smart people in a beautiful setting!

    Kontras

    We are packed in offices like sardines and there is not sufficient parking for the workforce. They keep making the parking spaces smaller which results in dings in your car door.

    Rat an das Management

    Management should try working in the tight working spaces and parking their cars in the small parking spaces (if they can even find one). Then, they might do something about the working conditions!

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2017-06-06
  3. „Technologist V, Quantum Sciences and Technology”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Systems Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als 8 Jahre bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Great awesome Experience I don't know Awesome people

    Kontras

    Nothing Perfect environment Go space hello

    Rat an das Management

    No advice is n ended else

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2016-09-24
  4. „Worth It”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Systems Engineer 

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory als

    Pros

    Challenging work, work life balanace, great people, promotes educational outreach in the community

    Kontras

    Generation gap (although the Lab is trying to fix this), same problems most organizations can have (management, etc)

    Rat an das Management

    Keep young engineers engaged. Help them find a good mentor.

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2016-01-07
  5. „A funfilled, mysterious place to work and explore”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Systems Integration & Test Engineer II in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great place to work! Campus like setting. A lot of extracurricular activities to opt into, should you choose to do so. Ample opportunities for keeping interns and temporary employees busy, challenged, and entertained.

    Kontras

    Moving up the ladder has become more challenging, probably because the HR structure has been reformatted over the years. Could be a con, however professionally it is likely a pro.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep your employees challenged, but also allow them the freedom to explore alternate avenues within JPL. There are a lot of doors that can be opened, and exposing your employees to these avenues allows everyone a win-win situation.

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2015-10-14
  6. „Summer Intern”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Praktikant - Systems Engineer Intern 
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory als gearbeitet

    Pros

    Really amazing environment to work at. Everyone is very enthusiastic about the projects they're working on, and seeing a project in use is an amazing feeling.

    Kontras

    Government clearance is a hassle. Feels less driven than private sector companies/ start ups, most likely due to the fact that lots of employees have been there for a very long time (which can also be seen as a strength)/

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2015-10-21
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „Awesome place to work, I hope to be here forever!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Systems Engineer 
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Very interesting projects, robotic exploration of space, cutting edge space technology, nice people, good management

    Kontras

    Budgets at the whim of Congress

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2015-02-24
  8. Hilfreich (1)

    „Wide range of experiences”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Systems Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Options for projects Wide range of experiences Lots of research projects

    Kontras

    Management bs, "we've always done it this way" attitude on flight projects, not the highest salaries

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2015-02-14
  9. Hilfreich (3)

    „Interesting work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Systems Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good work life balance, excellent benefits, interesting work

    Kontras

    Poor correlation between performance and compensation. There are only two tracks to higher compensation: 1) Management 2) Write papers and proposals If you are an exceptional performer, but do not fall into the two above tracks, expect weak raises and little recognition. I left the academic world since I do not want to push paper in the tenure-track rat race. Now at JPL I have found out that is the only way... to be rewarded. I am an exceptional performer and far better than my peers yet only those who bring in money are rewarded, not those who actually do the work.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    If you do X amount of work in half the time the manager expects, you create problems and are criticized for not charging enough time. It is backwards. One should be rewarded for exceptional productivity, not criticized.

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2014-09-29
  10. Hilfreich (5)

    „Incredible history with stale and weary management”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Systems Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - It is the only place I have ever worked where (and it is up to the individual's effort and contribution), the opportunities and lessons are extraordinary and unique. - The talent, dedication and commitment of some of the people have been inspiring and motivating. The knowledge and experience of some of the folks who have been around create fantastic mentoring opportunities. - The technology and mission studies... are cutting edge. - Relatice to industry, the pay is "comparable", it's not as high but they don't work you to death. Very relax hours and flexibility in schedules. Excellent benefits package and retirement through TIAA-CREF.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Although one can learn a lot, career growth is limited, as well as compensation. JPL does not reward on performance. You are ranked based on performance but actual raises are based on the availability of funds by divisions. After more 10 years, you have to find a personal reason to want to make the effort. I fall in the group of folks who see this place as a way to gain experience and improve my resume. I have... people around me who show up (and that's a big if), do the minimum and contribute only when necessary. It can be demoralizing sometimes. And as a woman, this place is sexist. It is still very much an old boys club and those inside, work very hard to keep others out. I see some incredible leaders and some are women, but the pervasive sexist mentality is what brings the place down.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Stop building a new layer of management to accommodate existing managers who don't "have" a specific role. You are paying someone to create and attend meeting, how many "deputies" do you need? The current morale is low, compounded by the bullying by some of the managers. If an employees brings an issue up, the answer is not, if you don't like it, leave. Ethics has been a joke and no help. You are firing those with... experience and frustrating the younger people who want to contribute. All you have left are people who give you lip service, the worker bees are leaving the nest. Take heed!

    Mehr anzeigen
    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2014-05-19
28 Bewertungen gefunden