Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Lumos Labs | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Lumos Labs

Aktualisiert am 21. Dez 2018

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

4.2
74%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
Lumos Labs CEO Krishna Kakarala (no image)
Krishna Kakarala
0 Bewertungen
  1. „Great People, Amazing Products, Healthy Work Environment”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Lumos Labs - Vollzeit

    Pros

    People here are very friendly and care a lot about your well-being and interests. Joining Lumosity is like becoming part of a family. The work is interesting and meaningful and teams are aligned in a way that allows work to get done. I would recommend working here if you are the kind of person who enjoys working on something meaningful while being around great people.

    Kontras

    You get spoiled with the amazing catered lunches.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Lumos Labs2018-12-21
  2. „Operations”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Lumos Labs gearbeitet - Vollzeit

    Pros

    Benefits were good and coworkers were great

    Kontras

    Managment could be improved upon

    Lumos Labs2018-08-30
  3. Hilfreich (7)

    „Old Guard vs. New Guard”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Lumos Labs gearbeitet - Vollzeit

    Pros

    + Mostly friendly, down-to-earth people + Growth in position and responsibilities is generally encouraged + Working on lots of new games, products, features after years of a heavy focus on marketing + Decent benefits, with some unique options like Grand Rounds and OneMedical + Solid work/life balance, most people usually come in after 10 and start leaving after 5. Usually no weekends or late nights (unless you... choose to stay late, in which case, dinner is paid for), but no one will encourage you to go home either + People actually use the flexible PTO quite flexibly with one-off doctor's appointments, 2 week long vacations, long weekends. People generally take more time off than the industry standard, but up to you to do so. + A few people work remote and working remote from time to time is acceptable + Plenty of social events

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    - Multiple people are leaving the company every month. It won't be long until it's a very different company. This might be a pro. - Lumos's "core values" are not taken seriously. You'll rarely hear about them within the company. There are multiple egos on multiple teams. Some people will yell and raise their voice and not be admonished. There are people who directly say "I've worked here longer than you" and people... who indirectly say or think it, and this is used as rationale for decisions. These people and people with tenure at the company in general have favoritism as opposed to it being a meritocracy. Tenured and favorited employees can do no wrong, even if the team opposes their behavior and even if their behavior contradicts the "core values". - The combination of the two creates a serious Old Guard vs. New Guard feel, particularly with regard to some (not all) who were at the company before the FTC settlement. If the Old Guard doesn't agree with an opinion, it will feel not welcome or be pushed out, but don't expect any serious discussion about their opinions or decisions. The hypocrisy is real on certain teams. - Management/HR do not take transparent actions with regard to feedback and feedback may be ignored - No 401k match. - Insurance is not actually 100% covered for individuals unless you take the lowest tier plans. - No subsidized commuter passes, just the standard pre-tax option

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Really take a cold, hard look at yourself and your action and inaction and its impact over time. Listen to employee feedback universally (not just when you choose to). Treat all employees on all teams at all levels of all tenures equally. Let the best ideas win out. Ensure that this kind of behavior is standard across the company. If you're going to talk about "core values", really make sure they are treated with... the utmost significance across the company by all employees at all times. It should not be acceptable to relax these on any employee, and employees at higher levels or with longer tenure should really be held to a higher standard with regard to their behavior.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Lumos Labs2018-05-21
  4. Hilfreich (5)

    „Nice place to work that needs some organizational improvements”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Software Engineer 
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Lumos Labs gearbeitet - Vollzeit

    Pros

    The people are friendly and talented. Product collaboration is great - PMs and designers come up with cool new ideas, consult with engineers on feasibility and implementation strategies, and have open communication throughout the development process. Lumos has experimented with various team organizations and workflows over the years, and each change has helped improve engineer productivity. The codebase is... well-organized so it's easy to navigate and work with, and it's also well-maintained - engineers clean up outdated code and aren't afraid to rewrite existing code to improve performance. There is a good pairing culture and meetings are usually kept to a minimum. There's catered lunch 4 times a week and the food is amazing. There's a good work-life balance; Lumos has a flexible vacation policy and people actually use it (maybe averaging 3-5 weeks per year?) There are also fun company-wide offsites each quarter, and a budget for individual teams to organize their own events.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Management and marketing frequently set arbitrary deadlines for new product launches, even before deciding what features they want to include or consulting with engineers about development time and potential concerns. Upper management tried to introduce a 10-5 "core hours, everyone in the office" policy. This came across as a lack of trust in employee work ethic and a lack of respect for anyone who wanted/needed... to work outside of a 9-5 or 10-6 schedule (but on the plus side, many employees immediately pushed back and even though the policy wasn't officially rescinded, it also wasn't enforced.)

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Listen to your employees when they have suggestions, concerns, or even criticisms. Assume their feedback is made in good faith and with positive intentions, and consider their perspective before just glossing over and dismissing any negative comments. Officially rescind the core hours policy. Mandating bodies in chairs doesn't increase productivity, and most people already work 8-10 hour days - just with... slightly different schedules. Consult with engineers at the start of projects and accept their judgment about project costs. Impractical, arbitrarily-set deadlines can (and should) be moved. When interviewing for open positions, be aware of ego and arrogance that may cause conflicts later on. Create a plan for onboarding and mentorship so that new hires can be introduced to many parts of the codebase and work on a variety of features.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Lumos Labs2018-05-15
  5. „Better than most companies but limited growth”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Lumos Labs - Vollzeit

    Pros

    People, perks, and an amazing product

    Kontras

    No time to work on personal projects

    Rat an das Management

    Culture is not as flexible as it used to be years back

    Lumos Labs2017-02-22
  6. Hilfreich (14)

    „Best job I have ever had!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Principal Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Lumos Labs -

    Pros

    This is the best job I've ever had! + I love working with one artist to make an experimental game in a few months. + I love the friendly teams who volunteer their time to preview the customer experience. They made a big difference and taught me a lot! + I love the trust of my teammates in my experimentation. + I love the flat organization where anyone is available, yet we respect each other's time... highly and schedule very few meetings. + I love the healthy catering and subsidized Equinox gym membership. 4-years of these perks of working here has improved my mind and body's wellness and fitness. + I love the quiet library.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    This is the highlight of my career so far. The following sometimes challenges my confidence: - Each day, I get distracted by a lot of casual and committee-style chatting. Part of my distraction is the open floor plan and my own introversion. Part of my distraction is the dissonance between purported business goals and day-to-day culture: I wish the chatters were hands-on working. There's around 25% of work... hours scheduled for sharing knowledge, collaborating, and team meetings, team bonding, committee decision making, that I'd estimate 50% less work gets done, since those meetings generate follow-up work to do that is based on opinion-driven meetings. This throws off quite a bit of the priorities from the work that has hard evidence backing up its profitability. Those that contribute the least (due to skill-set mismatch, job description, or lack of their management) talk the most, which is distracting and a drain on the whole team's success. - Each week, I get impatient with some managers talking about adding value to customers, when I wish the managers were making simple financial forecasts, researching business intelligence and doing the simple and obvious work first rather than prioritizing high-risk, high-cost projects whose major upside is that it's really fun work to do (I enjoy the work, but have modest forecasts out of what customers get out of some the experiments with less financial evidence). - Each month, I get impatient with games that were blocked from progressing for over a year, and then excuses get made, and new people get hired, but the real causes of the blockage: lack of managerial accountability, and financial forecasting of these decisions. It's a drain on my enthusiasm when around 10% of my work held in limbo for months and the criteria for acceptance get changed in the meantime.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Broadcast financial forecasts of risky projects or features, and even day-to-day small features or improvements. Expect tighter deadlines for minimally viable products. That will necessitate: the simplest, cheapest solution first. Transparently and visibly broadcast which small teams accountable and autonomously authorized to deliver. Like SuperCell, hire capable team members that deliver autonomously.... Focus all OKRs on raising customer-metrics rather than focusing some OKRs on spending money. Ask everyone what they personally did (not what they said) to deliver the next game or feature. Do not accept talking as action. Keep it simple. There's a lot of financial streamlining and product cadence that can be lifted simply by doing the simple things with the proven tech, proven skills, and measurable outcomes. In general: specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, time-bound goals.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Lumos Labs2016-09-21
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great people, rocky product execution”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich arbeite bei Lumos Labs - Vollzeit

    Pros

    The people who work at Lumos are wonderful, smart, and have their heart in the right place. It's a fun environment to work in, with a lot of autonomy.

    Kontras

    Lumos hasn't yet figured out how to really execute well on product goals and chart a meaningful path towards constantly improving and innovating to remain at the forefront of the market.

    Lumos Labs2016-11-06
  8. Hilfreich (2)

    „Friendly and supportive culture solving challenging problems”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich arbeite bei Lumos Labs - Vollzeit

    Pros

    Team-centric approach to solving problems Company really does care about brain health Supportive environment Culture is relaxed, but we all expect one another to work hard and to learn/grow. No need to work crazy hours unless you want to; it's not expected by anyone. People are genuinely nice/friendly across the company. Egos are not a problem.

    Kontras

    Management team is currently in flux with regards to how they want to function or what they represent. Be prepared to give feedback on how *you* want to be managed, or what type of support you will need.

    Rat an das Management

    Find out how to identify your top performers more regularly, as well as how to help those you feel need more support. Since everyone is so nice, it is very possible and likely support is needed but the feedback is falling through the cracks when others don't want to sound too negative.

    Lumos Labs2016-09-22
  9. Hilfreich (2)

    „No place is perfect, but this place comes close!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
     

    Ich arbeite bei Lumos Labs -

    Pros

    The people. Hands down, the best people I've ever worked with! Employees are smart, interesting and laid back. I can genuinely say that coming to work cheers me up when I'm feeling down. Everyone is passionate about the product and about each other. We have people from vastly varying fields learning from each other. I've been given opportunities to learn and grow here that I never expected but have thoroughly... enjoyed. The product is innovative and at the edge of its field. While this can be scary, it feels great to be breaking new ground at the intersection of enjoyment and improvement. I think we're truly proud of our offering.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    We've erred on the side of giving too much freedom. While freedom in work is great, we've struggled with setting constraints and direction. Additionally, sometimes our processes can be too democratic or idealistic, which makes us unable to execute as quickly as we probably should.

    Rat an das Management

    Rather than bringing everyone into the decision making process at the onset, include only major decision-makers initially. Create an environment where people feel comfortable giving feedback, and put your decision out there for review.

    Lumos Labs2016-09-20
  10. Hilfreich (1)

    „Super awesome place”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Lumos Labs -Vollzeit

    Pros

    The people and culture are the best I've ever been a part of. The company treats us well. The product and the space we're in are interesting.

    Kontras

    If your goal is to get rich, there are better places you can go to achieve that goal. Which is to say: Lumosity is not currently an IPO rocket ship.

    Lumos Labs2016-09-20
31 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden