Bewertungen für LA Fitness Personal Training Counselor | Glassdoor.de

LA Fitness Bewertungen für Personal Training Counselor

Aktualisiert am 7. Nov 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

1.9
0%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
0%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
LA Fitness CEO Louis Welch (no image)
Louis Welch
8 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (2)

    „Stay Away”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Personal Training Counselor 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei LA Fitness (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You get a free membership. Also immediate coworkers were cool but that's of course will vary based on location.

    Kontras

    I was flat out lied to about payment. I was told I was being hired for Assistant Personal Training Director and would just have a "30 day training period". What that actually meant was that I was actually starting as a PTC (not the job I applied for) until I could basically prove myself worthy. Okay, would have been good to know but I will live. I find that about 2 weeks into the job tat not only have the bonuses... been lowered from what I was told in my interview (I have a hard time believing that they were unaware of thus when hiring me), but also that my "base pay" was actually hourly minimum wage (again, fine but this was different from what I was told there would be a set base in my Interview). They also "forgot" to tell me that commission doesnt even begin to kick in until you've basically hit your minimum amount to bonus anyway. So basically, if you dont hit bonus, you're making $7.25/hour. That's it. The job is literally going around in the floor bothering people to buy training. And then watching your bosses lie to customers to get them to sign up, and then having to deal with their wrath. There is also NO sense of work life balance, as I frequently get calls and texts from my boss past 9 p.m. and on weekends (which I work most of anyway). Overall, they will day whatever they can to get you in the job and then leave you to fend for yourself. I have worked in gyms for years. I get it. But this is a terrible way to run business. Come to terms with the fact that this will be a stepping stone to gain sales experience, or run in the opposite direction.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    The management is full of "superstars" that, from my observation, told a lot of lies to get to where they are today. Maybe the upper management should spend a few days actually doing this job they way they teach people to do it, and see how they do with that. Also please understand that people in the workforce in 2019 will not last long unless there is fair compensation and a decent work/life balance.

    LA Fitness2019-10-22
  2. Hilfreich (1)

    „Downright criminal. I feel embarrassed to have taken this job”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Personal Training Counselor in Pittsburgh, PA
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei LA Fitness gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Working in a gym environment, management is not in the gym often to watch your every move

    Kontras

    When I interviewed for this position, it was presented to me that I would be involved in personal training sales, as well as training clients I signed up. This was not even remotely the case. It’s a desk job all in all. I have two degrees in the exercise science field, and was grossly overqualified for this position. My coworkers in my same position were all “fitness enthusiasts” who had sales experience. Even... though we spent some time training members, the other PTC’s had little knowledge of the physiologic workings of the exercises they were prescribing to clients, and had zero understanding of how to progress or regress for specific or general injuries. My daily duties included making cold calls to new members (we were expected to begin calls at the start of our work day - 9 am on the weekdays, 8 am on Saturday’s - interrupting many members mornings as they prepared for work, or still asleep on saturdays), as well as “marketing”. LA Fitness’s marketing strategies included walking around the gym and interrupting members’ workouts to give them a sales pitch about personal training. My boss placed me in many uncomfortable situations interrupting people to the point where I was was having breakdowns in the bathroom daily. The hours are extremely long, having split shifts with a break that was not long enough to get in a workout, eat, and finish household chores, but long enough to be bored out of your mind if you simply workout and have lunch. The pay is extremely low. You will make minimum wage, unless you are generating $10,000 or more EFT each month. Meaning unless you are conning at least 10 or so members into buying low-grade personal training each month, you are making pennies. The work is downright criminal. You’re essentially using used car salesman tactics to get people (mainly older folks with money to spend) to purchase training packages. The sessions themselves are only 25 minutes long, and the prices are high compared to market rivals with longer sessions. You set up “sets” with people, spend about 30 minutes degrading their current lifestyle choices, then knowing very little about their background or history, put them through a workout too difficult for their population to make it seem like they desperately need training. One of our “lessons” in training was on a topic they called sleeping giants. Essentially, if someone has not been in for their training sessions for more than 2 months or so, we were instructed not to call them to bring their attention to this, in order to continue receiving their monthly payments under their nose. This was a huge tipping point for me. My second week there I began applying for positions as a trainer elsewhere. After about a month at LA, I received an offer during my lunch break, came back to work and quit on the spot. Best decision I ever made.

    Mehr anzeigen
    LA Fitness2019-11-07
  3. „Terrible”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Personal Training Counselor 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei LA Fitness (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Coworkers, free gym membership, nice staff

    Kontras

    Pay Time off Packages are too pricey

    LA Fitness2019-04-11
  4. „I'd do it again for the free gym membership”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Personal Training Counselor 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei LA Fitness gearbeitet (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    Free gym membership, good hours, great training/Friday meetings

    Kontras

    Low pay, bad management, unorganized, very money driven

    LA Fitness2019-01-28
  5. „Personal Training Counselor”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Personal Training Counselor 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei LA Fitness gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Met some great people including both coworkers and potential clients.

    Kontras

    It’s been a while since I’ve worked at LA Fitness but I remember that there are so many cons Every time I went to work, it felt like I was selling a scam Some may like this, I personally don’t. I worked split shifts 9am-1pm then 4pm-8pm. The time I was there, I know the ptc’s were being overwhelmed. I’ve heard ptc’s going weeks without days off and not being paid OT. I personally have been called in on my... one off day for “meetings”. The other day off I was supposed to have was almost always a half day.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Honestly, if you were to push your salesmen on proactively wanting to support their clients with their health rather than to get the prospect’s signature as soon as possible, there wouldn’t be so many complaints about your pt program. It’s no wonder why your clients are unsubscribing and your pt guys are walking out.

    LA Fitness2018-12-03
  6. „Not For Everyone”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Personal Training Counselor in Crescent Springs, Kenton, KY
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei LA Fitness (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Work in a gym, if you're fitness-oriented it's definitely a plus Fun people to work around, I liked all of my co-workers

    Kontras

    They can't hold on to people very well, the hours are pretty awful, 9-1 and 4-8 weekdays and 9-1 on weekends to start off, only to go higher from there. Can't speak for every club, but I was under tremendous pressure to sell and maintain a full schedule even when doing so was near impossible when you have to draw from a pool of existing members. Pay is not good, all of my co workers and myself were dissatisfied

    Rat an das Management

    Understand what works for one club will not work in every club, as the guests vary widely. A club in a big city and one in a rural area will not have the same demographics of clientele

    LA Fitness2018-10-07
  7. „Sales experience needed. (@SF city sports location)”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Personal Training Counselor in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei LA Fitness gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great if your looking to start at a trainer job, good at learning company wide policies.

    Kontras

    To move up, you need to sell constantly, if nobody bought can't get a higher wage. No matter degree/experience. Management experience thrown out even if you can't sell.

    LA Fitness2018-05-23
  8. Hilfreich (1)

    „Here’s a detailed review of my experience at LA Fitness”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Personal Training Counselor in Staten Island, NY
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei LA Fitness (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Free gym membership.. is all that I find a positive outcome here.

    Kontras

    During the interview, I was under the impression that I could make all this money and how easy it would be to do so. I was under the impression that I would be a manager in training since I have over 10 years of fitness and sales background, which was all lies! They make you get this “AAAisa “ certification to cover any liabilities which isn’t nationally acredted! I was also under the impression that I could use... this to be able to train clients! Wrong they don’t accept this very after I got it! I was hired to be a ptc “personal training counselor” with a work schedule of 6 days per week of 9-1 break till 4pm to 8 pm! Also when I was hired I had to sign 13 signatures before I was able to look at the handbook or company policy! The personal training director “ ptd” bullies sales, makes me shadow her on her sales as part of the training which is extremely uncomfortable not to mention that she knows the personal training sales script by heart! They don’t care about people or there health at all! We also have mandatory meetings on fridays an hour away from our location but the meeting isn’t mandatory but they just tell us it is! The manager here high jacks all the sales at the end and leaves the personal training counselor to watch the disresssed member. There is no formal training when it comes to selling! Example: the enrollment fee is $149 but they say “it’s a 1 time investment” which the price is really $99! Secondly the session is $70 per session “with a master trainer” which is only a master trainer because the Trainer is pulling in 40 + sessions a month which earns them the title? Uh yeah then they tell you that they have regular trainers “those who do not do 40 sessions a month and drop the price down to $55-65 per session for 6 months! We have to break our draw of 20-24k for the month which means the total invoice. Example: I put a 12 month package of 3 times per week at $60 per session with a master trainer which comes out to around 3k or so, so selling 6 more of these types and hitting your draw of 20-24k you get an $150 bonus but your hourly drops down to $2.88 dollars an hour from $13 and anything you sell after you get $250 bonus for any additional sales ! This would equal to the as if you worked 160 hours at 13 an hour ! Oh I forgot to mention that the gym is 90% over crowded and the people don’t re rack there weight!

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Simple, there is no advice I can give because it comes from the top down!

    LA Fitness2018-04-12
  9. Hilfreich (1)

    „Don’t work for LA Fitness!!!!!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Personal Training Counselor in Tucker, GA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei LA Fitness gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Free membership to the gym and the smoothie bar after a workout

    Kontras

    Co-workers will talk behind your back, Management terrible, long hours and little pay, nothing but sales, it’s their way or the highway... constantly harassing about sales. Only one day off a week

    Rat an das Management

    Pay your employees better and stop scamming the customers with your B.S. personal training packages.

    LA Fitness2018-01-17
  10. Hilfreich (1)

    „Awful and toxic work environment.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Personal Training Counselor in Springfield, IL
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei LA Fitness gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Really the only positive about working there was the free gym membership that you get. The trainers were nice to work with too.

    Kontras

    The company only cares about sales. They don’t care about their employees or their members. They just want you to sell sell sell and if you don’t sell you get in trouble. They say they’re not pushy on sales but they teach you how to make people feel bad about themselves so they will buy a personal training package. On top of it all you only get minimum wage for working full time.

    Rat an das Management

    Show that you actually care about your employees.

    LA Fitness2018-01-16
30 Bewertungen gefunden