Arbeitgeberbewertungen für JFF | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für JFF

Aktualisiert am 12. Aug 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.5
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
68%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
83%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
JFF CEO Maria Flynn
Maria Flynn
12 Bewertungen
  1. „Interesting”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Program Associate 

    Ich habe bei JFF gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great People to work with day-in and day-out

    Kontras

    No mission-driven bottom line to work towards.

    JFF2019-08-12
  2. Hilfreich (164)

    „Awesome Non-profit in Ed and Work Force Development”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Oakland, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei JFF (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues and great leadership!

    Kontras

    Benefits and compensation could be more competitive with the area.

    JFF2017-07-24
  3. Hilfreich (12)

    „Mass exodus”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei JFF (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Most staff are passionate about their work; great benefits; better than market pay.

    Kontras

    Lack of trust and transparency. Many valued senior individuals left or leaving (with more expected) due to poor leadership, questionable hiring practices (beware) and irresponsible management.

    JFF2018-11-28

    Reaktion von JFF

    November 30, 2018vice president

    I thought it might be helpful for a member of the Executive Team to comment on the latest review from a disgruntled employee. We readily admit that change is hard, and not everyone is comfortable with it. We understand and appreciate that those who aren’t might need to move on to something that is a better fit for themselves. And with that in mind, we'd like to publicly invite (and will support) this person to move on. Here's what we see daily inside of the organization. Maria, JFF's CEO, has set an exciting vision for the organization called "New Horizons.” We still have the same great staff and knowledge we have always had, and we are also pumped to have nearly 60 new employees who have joined us in less than the last two years. Together, we are on an ambitious path to move our highly reputed, mission-aligned work and its impact to the next level—given the imperative of our times—and people are taking notice. In fact, we were recently named one of the Top 100 Women-Led Organizations in Massachusetts. For our work to date, we've been transparent about the change underway. That has been applauded not only by our key funding and field partners but also by key staff and new hires. Naturally, we’ve received constructive feedback, and we welcome it because we’re still learning, given our new goals. We've been very open that our organization's continued growth has significantly outpaced our skills and capacity, so we’re adding that complementary skill set. The Executive Team is managing this and is in active conversations with foundations about adding to our capacity to support all of us as we continue to scale in support of our mission. I came to JFF to do work that truly impacts. And it's become increasingly clear to me as a leader that the values we have put forward—bold, transformative, passionate, mission-driven, and rigorous—are characteristic of the type of people we want here at JFF. So, for those of you out there who love change, growth, and embrace our values, we'd love to hear from you. Check out our job openings. And, as we say here, let's build a future that works! Michael L. Collins

    Weniger anzeigen
  4. „Program Manager”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Karriere­chancen
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich habe bei JFF gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great team, excellent opportunities for growth

    Kontras

    HR team needs a major revamp

    JFF2018-10-16
  5. „Work/Life Balance”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Program Manager in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei JFF gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    decent work/life balance, great employees, over all a fun office environment

    Kontras

    lack of transparency in salaries across the org, a lot of transition in leadership

    JFF2018-09-14
  6. Hilfreich (6)

    „Opportunities Galore... Org Culture Lacking”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei JFF gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Amazing/smart colleagues, access to thought-leadership (also places individuals in positions to become thought-leaders) and new/innovative program strategies, amazing benefits, strong Fiscal Ops & IT teams, fun staff retreats, and much more! Depending on the program unit you join there will be a strong connection to high-quality content and program work. Take advantage of any and all writing opportunities as... they arise.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    The org culture lacks trust and genuine collaboration. Staffers compete for spotlight and teams have turf battles to determine who will lead an effort from a funding perspective. The org has been actively working to address this, but alas, old habits die hard. Staff, especially junior, can get sucked into negative energy and become frustrating when decisions made are not transparent and governance is not understood.... Some staff also actively engage in the blame game when something falls through the cracks or if a funder isn't happy about a work product and this activity is enabled by managers/senior leadership, all to make the funder happy.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Assess toxic culture within the organization, call it out, and put staff that engage in this behavior on notice. Develop a real opportunity culture for PAs & PMs to both show their chops but also grow into content experts. Flip the leadership and professional development structures upside down and start over.

    JFF2018-07-05
  7. „Working atmosphere counts.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
     

    Ich habe bei JFF gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Helpful colleagues and good guiding superiors makes your working hours lovable.

    Kontras

    Hectic time during the peak period creates a bit of frustration.

    Rat an das Management

    Salary increase is expected from all employees

    JFF2018-05-08
  8. Hilfreich (4)

    „Program Manager”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Program Manager in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei JFF (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Room for growth, they hire from within

    Kontras

    Hard to move up if you don't have an MA

    Rat an das Management

    They need training on how to be managers

    JFF2018-03-21
  9. Hilfreich (16)

    „Can fulfill your professional dreams here, but organizational management and work/life balance need improvement”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei JFF gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    An important consideration when reading these reviews is that this is a highly siloed organization; approximately half of it is focused on helping adults and the other half is focused on helping youth, and individual experience can vary greatly depending on “which side of the house” you’re based in, or even what manager you report to within your silo. There are offices in Oakland, Boston, DC, and a number of... employees not based in any of the three locations, which can contribute to a sense of disconnect for all parties and a range of opinions about what it’s like to work here. The CEO is aware of the disparities and wants to unify the company, but when an organization is dependent on grants and contracts, the funding structure inherently promotes instances of territorialism and inefficiency. The youth focused faction of JFF runs a tight ship. They have clearly defined goals and population segments they’d like to help, less diverse funding sources (meaning they’re not stretched in as many directions at once), and coherent operating practices. The Oakland office is similarly tightly-knit, despite having some staff working on both the youth and adult teams. The adult focused faction of JFF is more hit or miss, and harder for new employees to assimilate into unless they're able to establish mutual trust and expectations with their clients and managers. Generally, as a new program staffer (Project Associate, Program Manager, or Senior Program Manager) you have to be prepared to juggle multiple assignments simultaneously under the direction of multiple supervisors, which can be beneficial to your career development but also create unnecessarily discombobulated situations with clients and other JFF staff. The ideal way to enter the organization in one of these roles is to ensure that your position will be initially funded by only one grant/project. Positions funded by more than 3 grants are more likely to lead to frustration and confusion. The manager-employee relationship is critical at this level, so ask honest, direct questions during your interview: “How many of your supervisees have been promoted during your time as a manager at JFF? How many have left the organization? What have you learned from those experiences? What steps will you take as my manager to ensure I can succeed and grow within the organization?” Interns get a lot of value out of working here. Internships are paid positions that enhance your resume and insight into an employment field that many aren’t even aware of, and if you like the experience you’ll almost certainly have the opportunity to work at JFF full-time. Plenty of full-time employees at JFF start as interns. However, keep in mind the above caveat that your mileage will vary greatly depending on where in the company you intern. Administrative staff often have less flexibility or career advancement opportunities than others, but to be honest these aren’t likely to become available in large numbers anytime soon as most admins have been entrenched in their roles for a long time. Unfortunately, JFF’s admin staff level contains the highest concentration of diversity. Senior level program staff (Associate Director, Director, VP) are universally overworked, but they make a lot of money to make it worth their while. If you’re in the running for one of these positions and they offer you a job, play hardball during salary negotiations. Especially if you have a good track record of prior management experience, which is in short supply at this organization. JFF can afford your demands, and they will expect you to go above and beyond your job description without acknowledgement. Be prepared for many late nights in hotel rooms writing, editing, researching and emailing after you’ve presented at a conference and networked at dinner with a group of funders. Operations staff (Human Resources, Editorial/Graphic Design, IT, Finance, Grant Development) tend to have less volatile jobs than Program staff. You’re not expected to travel, and the experience is probably best described a lower pressure/intensity version of the corresponding experience in the private sector. You’ll definitely have spikes of activity depending on the time of year, but nothing outside the bounds of industry standard for those roles. Pros: The pay and benefits are best-in-class, as is the flexible work schedule and central locations accessible via all forms of public transportation in all 3 cities. The DC and Boston offices are very close to the airport for those many trips to conferences and visits with partners, while the Oakland office tends to focus primarily on work in California. This is pretty much the ideal place to work if you have kids or need to work from home and want to dedicate your career to helping people through research, policy development and “training the trainers.” Program staff have tremendous support with access to a design and editing team, event planning staff, knowledge management staff, and grant development staff unparalleled in the field. It’s also a wonderful place to build connections with visionary education leaders, travel the country from big cities to rural communities, and establish your professional gravitas through publications, presentations and broad field exposure. At times, it can feel like you’re living out all of your professional dreams when you see all of your hard work pay off in the success of your partners and constituents.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    This can be a bureaucratic, office-politicking organization. You have to be a strong self-advocate in order to get noticed, promoted, and protected from an unreasonably burdensome workload. The type of personality who excels tends be willing to work 80 hour weeks (including travel), gossipy, able to successfully pin mistakes on others, and continuously schmoozing with senior leadership and colleagues. More than... anywhere else I’ve worked, personality fit is extremely important to succeed here, and it’s unfortunate that the organization has lost so many good workers who were well liked by clients and partners because they didn’t fit into the organization’s narrow ideal of a personality type. They are aware of this and doing everything they can to work on it, but unless you have a humanities-focused graduate degree and an affinity for handmade crafts, fitting in and winning promotions can be an uphill journey.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Continue your efforts to introduce transparency into the organization’s policies and ensure you’re establishing an equal set of expectations for all employees. You value flexibility, but given how spread out the organization has become it can be easy for the workload to become disproportionately dispersed across team staff members and pay grades. Turnover is an issue, and perhaps you should consider refocusing the... efforts of your diversity and leadership committees toward implementing practices that encourage people to stay. Continuity is so valuable at a unique place like JFF, and it’s a shame that so much of it is lost from year to year. When hiring senior level positions, lend more weight to candidates with experience successfully guiding the growth of their charges moreso than those with potential fundraising connections or established consulting/program implementation chops.

    Mehr anzeigen
    JFF2017-12-04

    Reaktion von JFF

    January 30, 2018CEO

    Thank you for the in-depth and thoughtful review of JFF. It is particularly timely as the organization has just kicked off its 35th anniversary! I genuinely appreciate the extensive number of positive attributes included in the assessment, and I want you to know that we continue to work diligently on the areas in need of improvement. I recently completed my first year as JFF’s CEO. Coming into my new role, one of the first things I did was fortify my senior leadership team, which works with me to address our cultural and organizational issues. Additionally, as part of my vision for JFF’s future, we have renewed our values, competencies, and norms, and are launching several exciting endeavors, including OneJFF, an initiative aimed at breaking down internal silos, increasing transparency, and improving staffs’ ability to ideate and collaborate across teams. We’ve rolled out a new mentoring program, launched a program to expand professional development opportunities for junior and mid-level staff, created affinity work groups to further empower and grow these staff, and stepped up best practices to update our performance management processes. We are proud not only to have a diverse workforce—37 percent of our staff identify as people of color—but to have 43 percent of our executive team identify as people of color. I am also pleased to report that we were just awarded a grant to further our diversity and inclusion goals, which will include a comprehensive training for all staff and managers. I strongly believe that our diversity is our strength, and through learning, awareness, and, most importantly, mindful practice of diversity, equity, and inclusion principles, we will continue to transform our internal culture and have a greater and more meaningful impact on the people we serve. Lastly, one of my top priorities is to diversify JFF's funding base. This would allow us more flexibility to expand our national reach as we pursue economic advancement for all, while improving work/life balance and building in more planning and development time for our staff. I hope the above points are helpful. Our organization is growing—we are investing internally and increasing our impact in the field; our mission is more relevant than ever—now is a great time to join us at JFF!

    Weniger anzeigen
  10. Hilfreich (1)

    „Doing meaningful work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei JFF (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    JFF approaches 1 year under a new CEO in Dec. New leadership is making great strides to enable meaningful work inside & outside of the organization. There is real momentum forward let the work soar.

    Kontras

    Inconsistent management across teams. Dated systems can be frustrating to use.

    JFF2017-11-13
36 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden