Arbeitgeberbewertungen für International Sports Management | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für International Sports Management

Aktualisiert am 5. Nov 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.4
58%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
53%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
International Sports Management CEO David Whitmore (no image)
David Whitmore
25 Bewertungen
  1. „Hard work pays off”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Account Executive in Milwaukee, WI
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei International Sports Management (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -This position will simply give you what you give it. If you can roll up your sleeves and work hard, keep a positive attitude, learn from what your output is giving you, you can succeed here at ISM and make a great living. - Opportunity to control the sales process from start to finish -Great work life balance - Most importantly, BIG potential to make BIG commissions. - Management get's involved and listens to sales staff feedback -Growth opportunities to run your own sales team once you prove you can sell and understand the fundamentals. -Great work/life balance -Fun open office environment

    Kontras

    -You have to have thick skin and deal with rejection -Performance paid position. This position is not a BIG base salary. You have to work hard and come in focused every day to close deals. Some people might not thrive in this type of role if they're not motivated by this type of pay structure.

    Weiterlesen
    International Sports Management2019-11-05
  2. „Had Fun, Made Money, and Learned a Lot!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Portland, OR
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei International Sports Management gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Made pretty good money and had the rare opportunity to talk with sales executives day in and day out. I wouldn't be where I am now without paying my dues in this role. $50k/yr is about the cap a fresh college grad is going to make today and I was able to vastly outperform that number at ISM.

    Kontras

    You get hung up on and told "no". This is probably nothing new to most experienced sales people but it tends to be a shocker to young people in their first sales role and I suspect most of the reviews on here are from young people who tried this and decided they were not sales people, ha. I really had to work hard and I didn't ramped up as fast as I would like to have but I got there. The biggest con was not getting to attend any events. Mostly sales managers get to go to events.

    Weiterlesen
    International Sports Management2019-10-29

    Reaktion von International Sports Management

    November 5, 2019Employer Representative

    We appreciate your review and hope you stay in touch for future opportunities. We are constantly evaluating our employee attendance model for events which largely revolves around clients in attendance.

    Weiterlesen
  3. „Not Bad, Just Not the Right Fit”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in Portland, OR
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei International Sports Management gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -Ed, the boss here, is very respectable and is genuinely good at what he does: a great mentor for beginning a sales career. -Professional work environment, convenient daytime schedule (7:30am to 4:30pm) -If you are comfortable with cold calling and sales, this could be a really great opportunity for you. -You get what you put in, so there's incentive to work hard. -The company is reputable and isn't going anywhere soon; corporate entertainment seems like a relatively stable career outlook. -If you can last six months, you'll probably do well here.

    Kontras

    -Low pay! Largely commission! You're paid a base of ~$12.50/hour with commission on top, so you have to be making consistent sales for this to work. -It's really hard to just get the decision-maker on the phone. I felt a bit like a boogie man while working here, calling and trying to get through gate-keepers. -EXPENSIVE parking, and not reimbursed. -I'm pretty sure there's a high turn-over, I couldn't get a straight answer when I had asked about it. Just make sure that you're comfortable pitching a full, single-spaced page over the phone. -There was a fair amount of fibbing involved. We were instructed to call a company, ask to verify titles and then if we didn't have titles, to make up a names to get started. This made me feel a bit uncomfortable because I wanted to look up correct names online and then call for extension numbers. I was told this was too time consuming and was required to call first. -You're expected to do tasks outside of work, even though you're being paid hourly. I'm fine with working off the clock, but only if I have a real salary. -I did not respond well to the teaching methods here--I went to the bathroom to cry a couple of times and once saw my coworker crying at his desk, too.

    Weiterlesen
    International Sports Management2019-11-01

    Reaktion von International Sports Management

    November 5, 2019Employer Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and opinions. We appreciate hearing what you have to offer however there are a few areas that seem to provide a limited view which we’d like to expand on. • One of these is the “Low pay!” piece. As you mention, the position involves a (monthly) base salary (not an hourly wage), however it fails to mention that the bulk of the compensation is derived thru commissions. These vary based on multiple factors, but “consistent” sales may be 1 or 2 a month to clear $60K+ in year one. • Regarding the others, there is turnover as not everyone makes it however there are plenty of opportunities for success as is proven by our staffing with over 25% being tenured for 5 years+. Not sure what a boogie man feels like, but yes, there are challenges in getting executives on the phone. Parking is extremely limited and not included, however there are many other amenities allowing for easy transit, including having free access to the secure bike room and gym facilities with lockers plus there are also numerous bus and light rail options that are nominal compared to parking options. No one should be asked to “fib” –limiting information that is provided, yes. We will examine this to ensure proper training methods are being adhered to. As for “tasks” outside of work, nothing unrelated to work is expected of any staff member. The training is thorough but certainly shouldn’t send to tears. Thanks again for taking the time – we have some areas to review and will do so. Please stay in touch with your manager to check in and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Weiterlesen
  4. „Account Executive at ISM”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei International Sports Management (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Friendly team and welcoming environment

    Kontras

    Not an optimal environment for success. Not entirely truthful during the interview process. Strictly cold calls with low success rate.

    Weiterlesen
    International Sports Management2019-10-29

    Reaktion von International Sports Management

    November 5, 2019Employer Representative

    Thank you for reviewing. Not sure what happened in your interview but no one begins the AE position in Account Management so to start, yes, you will be focused 100% on new business acquisition or "cold calling" as there hasn't been an introduction yet. However, this is not "new" and most large organizations around the U.S. rely on different methods of cold calling into prospects - it's simply how business is acquired.

    Weiterlesen
  5. „Thankful for lead development”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - National Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei International Sports Management (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I've had 3 sales jobs in the last 2 years before finding ISM, which is exactly what I was looking for with regards to lead freedom. I enjoy new business sales and most companies impose restrictions to new sales staff as far as which companies they may only reach out to, or outline only certain industries, districts or regions, etc. ISM encourages staff to approach anyone and everyone with very few exceptions (active clients are really the only ones). I am given guidance on which execs to call (at least 3 or 4 certain titles, many times more) but the choice and decision is mine, and my manager provides feedback after the fact. Some leads are provided which is nice to not have to start from scratch, but I can also research new companies and contacts and are given plenty of time to do so.

    Kontras

    Some people may want more time initially to research leads, and most are given it. Although I didn't really need it because I already have a basic understanding of how different titles work within businesses (what a CEO does, what a Managing Partner is, etc) so it was a little mundane. But the manager recognized that and customized my training after the first few days so that was good.

    Weiterlesen
    International Sports Management2019-09-18

    Reaktion von International Sports Management

    November 5, 2019Employer Representative

    Thanks for your time to review- keep up the good work and we'll look at how to keep improving. Please continue to share with your manager.

    Weiterlesen
  6. „Promoted in 3 months, more to come”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei International Sports Management (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    First week of training program is intense but thorough. I like that the first week is more of a group training, but then after that it's customized between myself and my manager. Manager is involved with me on a day-to-day basis, not just telling me what to do and then vanishing. He's doing a lot of the same things I am, so i can learn from him but make it my own too as I learn. I'm selling the Ryder Cup and we've had 4 different major events at the course over the past 15 years. Most companies in our industry can't touch that, so it's awesome to be able to bring up. Lots of different leads to be able to work thru so the day isn't just calling the same people over and over. Plus I can add my own contacts if I find good contacts on Linkedin or whatever.

    Kontras

    There is so much to learn right away that some might get turned off by it. This is not a job or a company for the weary. If you don't want to be on the "front lines of sales" as they say here, then be ready for a tough experience. This isn't an easy telemarketing job as I've read on here and kind of anticipated, you have to have a dynamic, polished delivery to a C-level or you're going to get crushed.

    Weiterlesen
    International Sports Management2019-08-22

    Reaktion von International Sports Management

    August 27, 2019Employer Representative

    Thanks for your review and for being so thorough. It's always a steep learning curve but a little perseverance goes quite a distance and it shows in what you've experienced. Keep it up and have a blast at the Ryder Cup!

    Weiterlesen
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „Interesting job opportunity”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in Portland, OR
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei International Sports Management gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I started working at ISM in late 2018 with a few others and it was a great learning environment to work in. They have a training program that gives you inside sales skills and knowledge that can help you in all kinds of sales jobs. Your manager will help you with anything you need. You work with C-Suite Executives on the phone which can benefit you in future jobs. I made made several sales in my time there before I got an offer to move on to a position I felt was better suited for my skill set.

    Kontras

    The last post I saw about the Portland office made me think for a minute. In my eight months there I never worked with anyone who had been with ISM for more than six months accept the two managers. This story about someone who had been there recently and left after two years doesn't add up based on the people I worked with and what I experienced there. Only six people were working there and they were interviewing all the time. I only saw one person make senior account executive and they quit shortly after they did, but not sure why. No one seemed to like the management style because it was very passive aggressive.

    Weiterlesen
    International Sports Management2019-09-01

    Reaktion von International Sports Management

    September 9, 2019Employer Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to respond with some insight into your experience. To unravel your confusion, the post that was written by the former employee who moved to Denver was not a "story" and doesn't say they had been here "recently". They moved prior to your start at the end of 2018 and are doing great. As for the rest of your review, you actually worked with another Senior AE that was here and in the Portland office before you arrived and had been in Portland for over 3 years. Why you neglected to include that seems odd. About the technology, it seems quite odd that you somehow weren't aware of, or didn't recognize the Digital Marketing program that was housed in Portland to support the entire organization. This program has generated over $1M in revenue since it rolled out in 2018. Best of luck in your new endeavors. While again, we appreciate the time for the review, the false and misleading statements are definitely not appreciated.

    Weiterlesen
  8. „Was there for 2 years - great experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Account Executive in Portland, OR
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei International Sports Management gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I started after college. Worked my way up from account exec to Sr. AE. My manager helped me the entire time - thru my first deal and was there to assist on calls as needed. Having the chance to talk with different executives in leadership positions in different industries helped me a ton. I got to Sr. AE after 3 1/2 months and then averaged about 1.5 sales a month the rest of the year. My second year was better, and my average sale price went up too (which is more important than number of sales, in my opinion.)

    Kontras

    It was hard learning at first, and I took a chance on the lower base to get the commissions. For that, I am so grateful- I had a friend who took a bigger base and didn't have the chance for commissions or bonuses beyond about 5%. We talked and I considered that, but I ended up making almost $12,000 more than her my first year (just over $60K.) I would have stayed but I had an opportunity back in Denver that I couldn't pass up with a company in a different industry. Would definitely work with the team again if the right opportunity came up.

    Weiterlesen
    International Sports Management2019-08-07

    Reaktion von International Sports Management

    August 12, 2019Employer Representative

    Thank you for the time to review. We certainly try to evaluate each employee on an individual basis but are constantly looking at how to refine and improve this process. We wish you the best of luck in Denver and appreciate your time with ISM.

    Weiterlesen
  9. Hilfreich (2)

    „Do Not Waste Your Time”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei International Sports Management gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Most of the people employed there are pretty cool.

    Kontras

    Extremely unorganized company, from the first day we got on the floor they were already interviewing new candidates. I was with ISM for 2 months and 7 of the 10 kids in my training class had already quit before I did.

    International Sports Management2019-08-15

    Reaktion von International Sports Management

    August 22, 2019Employer Representative

    While we appreciate the feedback provided, this particular review is simply not accurate. The sales division within our U.S. Headquarters in Chicago, even though it is the largest within the company, has not had a training class of 10 people in over 10 years. This is by design, as we keep sales team sizes low (typically 3-6 total staff) as well as our new hire trainings low, to avoid being “unorganized” as this reviewer falsely claims. This allows each Sales Manager to focus as much time on their staff development as they do on their own sales, and new hires are able to meet and learn from all senior sales staff within the division during the initial training program, including heavy interaction with our Senior Vice President. There was a recent expansion of all of the teams in the Chicago office in May 2019 and most of those individuals are still with the company and many are on the cusp of earning a promotion. Unlike the reviewer, successful sales staff must be willing to commit more than 60 days to the role and the learning process in order to achieve success. This has always been explained during the interview process to individuals who are seeking a career and a position with ISM. We do wish this reviewer the best of luck in the future, which is hopefully more than a 60 day job.

    Weiterlesen
  10. Hilfreich (1)

    „Telemarketer”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei International Sports Management gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    It's a good office with good guys

    Kontras

    You are a telemarketer. Calling all day to strangers and hand me downs. Average sales are 4 a year for new workers for the first year or two.

    Weiterlesen
    International Sports Management2019-06-12

    Reaktion von International Sports Management

    June 24, 2019Employer Representative

    We appreciate you taking the time to write something here, however, just because you are selling via the phone, does not make you a traditional "telemarketer". The AE position s at ISM involve calling on corporate executives (and new business development indeed means talking to "strangers") and creating business relationships that can and do last for years. The packages also cost up to and in excess of $100K and are used for business development with clients and prospects. Quite different than "telemarketing" jobs. As for the sales, a sale every 3 months is not average, it would be quite below average. The sale price, which wasn't mentioned, is also a very important factor to one's success.

    Weiterlesen
161 Bewertungen gefunden