Arbeitgeberbewertungen für ILA Vietnam | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für ILA Vietnam

Aktualisiert am 31. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.1
51%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
31%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
ILA Vietnam CEO Dzu Tran
Dzu Tran
101 Bewertungen
  1. „A great place to work.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - ESL Teacher in Ðà Nẵng, Ðà Nẵng
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei ILA Vietnam (Teilzeit)

    Pros

    I love the atmosphere in the TSC rooms. I have worked at 3 or 4 different centres over the 2 years and each of them are friendly and welcoming with lots of social chit chat provided. ILA offers PD workshops every month to further my teaching capabilities and expertise. They want us to be great teachers and therefore provide the means to be that. At ILA there is always someone to ask when you have a situation you... want help with. The TC's I have worked with are knowledgable and experienced. They have a wealth of knowledge that they are happy to pass along. I worked part time 4 classes a week. It was my choice to work more hours and there were always more hours to be worked as teacher love our holidays. ILA has great resources available to teachers. All lesson plans are are Google Drive and all work is completed within the drive. We have access to all this information. I am now, after 2 years, able to prepare lesson plans for different levels within a half an hour. Our pay rates are pretty decent. I can quite easily save a third, spend a third and pay a third in rent on a 16 hour week. I could find somewhere cheaper to rent however I love my community neighborhood. The ILA HR ladies are invaluable. They will make your life easier. Overall I am extremely pleased I joined ILA. There's probably a few other pros however this is a good start.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    We don't get paid for the time off over TET holiday even though it is a national holiday. For the two years I was with ILA the holiday was extended to include a weekend after the mandatory holiday period, but this was at the last minute. TET happens every year and so it is no surprise. Plan so that teachers can plan their time off more efficiently. With activities like Halloween, ILA expects us to throw in tasks... around the lessons when lessons are already tightly scheduled. Not too many cons. I have loved working here.

    Mehr anzeigen
    ILA Vietnam2019-11-01
  2. Hilfreich (1)

    „International Language Academy”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teaching Assistant in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei ILA Vietnam als Teilzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Professional workplace and well-equipped facilities.

    Kontras

    minor payment for a long-working period.

    ILA Vietnam2019-10-14
  3. Hilfreich (1)

    „A good place to start in Vietnam”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teacher 

    Ich habe bei ILA Vietnam gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    1. Lots of support from HR in regards to obtaining a work permit and a work visa. You also get health insurance. 2. Guaranteed at least two days off per week (albeit on some weeks you'll be asked to cover on your off days) 3. Decent pay, but could be a little higher considering that smaller centers in Hanoi often pay out more, even for teachers with little experience. 4. Friendly TAs, teachers and staff; I... always enjoyed interacting with my co-workers. 5. They're big on professional development, so you'll get better at teaching over time if you put in the work. 6. Lots of social events spread out throughout the year.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    1. Teaching hours for adult classes were recently cut, so if you want the same amount of hours you'll have to take double the amount of adult classes. 2. If you decide to leave early, you'll have to pay back the training and visa costs, as well as any other bonuses you've collected throughout the year (it's prorated, but yeah) 3. It can be difficult to shuffle around classes to your liking. 4. Personally, I think... the TAs should be paid more because of the amount of work that they do. Especially with the amount of money ILA makes each year. 5. Some centers feel a bit hectic while others are more subdued and relaxed. 6. This is my biggest complaint... but teachers aren't paid during Tet holiday. That's around 10 days without pay. And since the company uses a bank of hours for paychecks (you get a set minimum paycheck each month), you'll have to make up hours in subsequent months. It can be difficult to do this if you only have around 15 hours of classes a week. I know the company is raking in the dough... they could at least pay teachers during the biggest holiday season in the country.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Cutting adult class hours was a huge mistake in my opinion. I'm sure a lot of teachers would appreciate taking on more of those classes as it's a nice change of pace from teaching kids. Also please consider paying teachers during Tet... it's the least you could do.

    ILA Vietnam2019-10-21
  4. Hilfreich (1)

    „Positive experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teaching Assistant in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei ILA Vietnam als Teilzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Professional working environment, good colleagues, regular events and meetings are held to chill and strengthen networking in the company.

    Kontras

    Can't think of any.

    ILA Vietnam2019-09-26
  5. Hilfreich (2)

    „ILA full time teacher in both Saigon and Hanoi”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei ILA Vietnam (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Easy to get a job because they are always hiring. Not sure that is good though. If you wants to work public school do it in Hanoi not Saigon. The public school setup in Hanoi is good. Good quality schools in walking distance from center and with technology.

    Kontras

    Partime(meaning language center) does not provide you enough hours because they only have to guarantee you 30 hours/month which is not livable. You also will not get weekends or 2 consecutive days off if you work part time because it means you are working language center hours. WARNING do not work public school in Saigon with this company. You will work in very tough schools all around outskirts of the city with no... resources and will spend all of your time lesson planning and commuting. They work with poor quality schools and TAs. There is a reason center 12 struggles to keep teachers because it is the public school center in Go Vap. BE WARNED

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Work with quality schools and provide lesson plans.

    ILA Vietnam2019-10-09
  6. Hilfreich (2)

    „Teaching at ila”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teacher in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei ILA Vietnam gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Freedom in lessons. Good pay.

    Kontras

    Organisation at times. Growth too rapid.

    ILA Vietnam2019-09-17
  7. Hilfreich (2)

    „Healthy work / life balance”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - ESL Teacher in Biên Hòa
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei ILA Vietnam (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Low min working hours. Rich teaching resources base. Good pay. Plentiful benefits and incentives.

    Kontras

    Occasional misunderstandings and miscommunications between the admin and academic departments. Students/clients are always right and they will get their way regardless.

    ILA Vietnam2019-09-16
  8. Hilfreich (2)

    „Not suitable for those that have lots of experience and care about teaching!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei ILA Vietnam gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    They ran a YL course that you had to do before starting your classes. It was a good place to meet people, other teachers were very supportive.

    Kontras

    The senior management treated every teacher as if they were completely new to teaching. The amount of experience you had wasn't't really considered when the salary was offered and a lot of negotiating was done in order to receive something reasonable. It may have changed now but when I was working at ILA the teacher's opinion on the level of students and their progress was not taken into consideration at all. If... it was advised that a student should stay at the same level or only go up one (but there wasn't a another class available) then the senior staff would ignore the teacher's advice and make the sale anyway. Unfortunately, ILA is not really overly concerned about the development of the students' English. If a class is not available then you have to cover in order to make up your hours, which can mean you have to work 6 day weeks. Overall the impression I have of ILA is not that it is not very professional and there is an extremely corporate feel to it.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Listen to teachers and the advice they are giving, especially if they have many years of experience.

    ILA Vietnam2019-09-25
  9. Hilfreich (3)

    „Pretty average experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English As A Second Language Teacher in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei ILA Vietnam gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Low hours, good pay, good community with regular parties, activities paid for by the company. Lots of opportunities for Vietnamese classes, charity work, overtime by doing extra public school work.

    Kontras

    Vietnamese admin staff treated poorly and subject to much lower pay, different visa rules for different workers (I constantly had to submit my visa every 3 months or so for renewal). Classes are much too long - keeping 5 year olds busy and entertained for 2 hours is almost impossible. Classes are also too big, stop cramming students into classes that aren't meant for them just to up the numbers.

    ILA Vietnam2019-08-16
  10. Hilfreich (2)

    „Money talks...”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei ILA Vietnam gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    If you are new to the industry you can develop a lot with managerial support and resources.

    Kontras

    Money is the only true measure of success for ILA and the marketing and sales departments will do anything to sell courses and hit targets. Some of the things I saw and experienced need to be seen to be believed. As Gordon Gecko said, 'Greed is good'.

    Rat an das Management

    They never listened before why would they start now? Academic management is much better than the business management who are morally bankrupt and full of sociopaths.

    ILA Vietnam2019-08-16
232 Bewertungen gefunden