Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Gilbane Building Company | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Gilbane Building Company

Aktualisiert am 16. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

171 Bewertungen gefunden

4.4
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
88%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
97%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Gilbane Building Company CEO Mike McKelvy (no image)
Mike McKelvy
50 Bewertungen
  1. „Good company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Manager 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Gilbane Building Company (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good benefits, family culture, employees are recognized for their hard work.

    Kontras

    Work/Life balance can be challenging.

    Gilbane Building Company2019-09-17

    Reaktion von Gilbane Building Company

    October 1, 2019SVP, Corporate Director Human Resources

    Thanks for your comments.

  2. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great Company Great Benefits”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Project Accountant in Las Vegas, NV
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 5 Jahre bei Gilbane Building Company gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Really has a great team environment with a strong emphasis on morals and ethics.

    Kontras

    Work | Family life can definitely blur into one another in intense jobs.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep close eyes on your stars, and make sure you acknowledge what they do.

    Gilbane Building Company2019-09-10

    Reaktion von Gilbane Building Company

    September 16, 2019SVP, Corporate Director Human Resources

    Thanks for your many years of service. Operating ethically is at the core of the Company's values and success. It's great to see that it resonates through the organization. I appreciate your comments about work and family life blurring. In today's work culture it's hard to maintain separation. As you may know the Company urges management through its training and programming to be respectful for family time, for themselves and others. I'd welcome hearing further about your experience, and additional steps we can take to promote work life balance. Please reach out to me at plaperriere@gilbaneco.com. Thanks again.

    Weniger anzeigen
  3. Hilfreich (4)

    „Decent company...if you have a good manager”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Gilbane Building Company gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Gilbane is a good company to work for - there are so many talented employees you'll work with and learn from. Lot of processes and order already in place, so there's a certain degree of predictability that comes with that. Leadership does a good job communicating strategies and goals and there's a lot of structure behind that. Benefits are great and there are a ton of smart employees.

    Kontras

    There are some truly terrible managers at Gilbane and if you end up with one, then you'll have no choice but to wait it out and transfer to someone else's leadership or leave the company. Managers (even the bad ones) are endlessly protected and at times their despicable behavior is tolerated. Don't bother speaking up though. When morale is down under these individuals, leaders start to wonder why but refuse to face... the obvious facts. Too many people at this company who are self-promoting, power-hungry and in it for themselves. If you like to have other people take credit for your work or hold you down in your career, then maybe you won't mind working for someone like that. If you're at all ambitious or have an ounce of respect for yourself, then you won't tolerate it long-term.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    It seems obvious, but don't believe everything you hear from your managers - you are only getting one side of the story. Think about what message you are sending the masses of employees who see abhorrent behavior in managers and nothing being done about it. Turning a blind eye is easy, but you'll lose respect from everyone. Do something about underperformers, A players are not going to last in environments where... that is tolerated.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Gilbane Building Company2019-07-05

    Reaktion von Gilbane Building Company

    September 6, 2019SVP, Corporate Director Human Resources

    Gilbane is populated with numerous strong leaders and caring employees. We invest heavily in leadership training, experiential development, a generous total rewards program and a positive work culture. So, it was disappointing to read of your experience. I urge you to reach out to me so we can discuss specifics and take appropriate action. Please email me at plaperriere@gilbaneco.com.

    Weniger anzeigen
  4. Hilfreich (1)

    „Positive company with areas for improvement”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Project Manager 
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Gilbane Building Company gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great training, support across the organization, and innovative thinking. Formalized strategic direction.

    Kontras

    Too many check the box requirements and processes that don’t translate to value and hinder culture adoption of a one company approach.

    Rat an das Management

    Hiring too many outside rainmakers can dilute the culture and have entitlements that can cause a lack of accountability in the short-term based on the sole focus of helping win jobs, but not help lead teams managing them.

    Gilbane Building Company2019-06-29

    Reaktion von Gilbane Building Company

    September 6, 2019SVP, Corporate Director Human Resources

    Training, innovative thinking, strategic planning and One Company organization-wide support are all hallmarks of Gilbane's success. Of course, we can always improve. I'd welcome hearing from you about your specific suggestions. I can be contacted at plaperriere@gilbaneco.com.

  5. Hilfreich (2)

    „Great Company to Work For”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Engineer III in Baltimore, MD
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Gilbane Building Company (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great Benefits (Health/Dental/Vision Insurance, PTO, 401K, Wellness Reimbursement, Travel Reimbursement, etc.). Company Culture. Core Values. People. Opportunities for Growth. Learning Opportunities. Large project backlog.

    Kontras

    Likely to work long hours, weekends, and sometimes nights. Possibility to have long commutes depending on available projects.

    Gilbane Building Company2019-05-08

    Reaktion von Gilbane Building Company

    June 10, 2019SVP, Corporate Director Human Resources

    Generous reward programs is one way we set ourselves apart from our peers and show appreciation for the challenging demands our employees face in construction management. At the same time, your positive comments help to reinforce Gilbane's unique family culture. I hope others take notice and consider joining our team to share in the opportunities and our growing backlog of work. Thanks for your input.

    Weniger anzeigen
  6. „Great Company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Engineer III 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Gilbane Building Company (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Excellent team attitude, great training, Some of the best benefits and bonus plans out there. 401k is salary based but works to be about 8%.

    Kontras

    Technology could use some simplifying and improvements. Could use more people on some projects so some aren't working 60+ hours a week on a salary.

    Gilbane Building Company2019-04-24

    Reaktion von Gilbane Building Company

    June 10, 2019SVP, Corporate Director Human Resources

    Thanks for your feedback. Be sure to enter your candid and critical comments about our technology during our various technology surveys We've invested heavily in technology. It's important you and others can maximize its utility. Also, perhaps others will take note of our award winning training and generous reward programs and consider joining our team. Growing our project staff remains a priority to improve Company performance and enhance employee work life balance.

    Weniger anzeigen
  7. „Good Company that has lost some of what has made it Great.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Superintendent 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 10 Jahre bei Gilbane Building Company gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good Compensation and Benefits, Reasonable work/life balance, variety of project opportunities, Good training programs, People with many different skill sets.

    Kontras

    Needs to be more attention given to how bonuses are given and timeframes. Make sure that all people are aware of when they will receive them and have senior management explain this in detail to everyone. Not enough young people coming up to replace some of the more experienced people and prevent them from getting burnt out. Company getting larger and losing touch with some of the employees.

    Rat an das Management

    Gilbane is a great family company that has been built on integrity, with the business of construction in the current market, Make sure that if you say something to an employee that you follow through with it. I feel that the senior leadership is losing touch with the people who keep the jobs moving each day and it can cause them to get burnt out quickly with little help or relief. Try to bring in more younger... talent to help the people who have the bigger skill sets get put into positions where they can grow even more.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Gilbane Building Company2019-02-25

    Reaktion von Gilbane Building Company

    February 25, 2019SVP, Corporate Director Human Resources

    Your suggestions are timely. We announced at the beginning of this year several changes to our superintendent career path, recruiting pipeline, and incentive programs intended to address the concerns you mention above. As we grow and become ever more successful we know we need to keep adapting to attract new talent. I'd be glad to discuss the changes with you if you want to reach out to me at plaperriere@gilbaneco.com. All the best, and thanks for your many years of service.

    Weniger anzeigen
  8. „Project Engineer 2”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Gilbane Building Company (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Company culture, Jobsite atmosphere, Active Jobsite, Always Changing

    Kontras

    10+ hour days, Commute varies per job

    Gilbane Building Company2019-01-16

    Reaktion von Gilbane Building Company

    January 21, 2019SVP, Corporate Director Human Resources

    It's challenging no doubt, but incredibly rewarding, especially when you're part of a successful team in a Caring culture . Thanks for sharing. All the best!

  9. „PE GILBANE”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Engineer II in Houston, TX
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Gilbane Building Company (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great family company that really cares about their employees.

    Kontras

    Low pay compared to competitors.

    Gilbane Building Company2019-01-15

    Reaktion von Gilbane Building Company

    January 16, 2019SVP, Corporate Director Human Resources

    Glad you like the work environment and culture. It's no accident. We work at providing a positive employee experience. Similarly, we work hard to ensure we provide competitive compensation. Any number of issues influence an individual employee's pay. I'd be glad to talk with you about yours. Feel free to reach out to me at plaperriere@gilbanceo.com. Thanks for the feedback.

    Weniger anzeigen
  10. „Summer Intern”

    SternSternSternSternStern
     

    Ich habe bei Gilbane Building Company gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Great people who are interested in seeing you grow

    Kontras

    None that I can think of.

    Gilbane Building Company2018-11-23

    Reaktion von Gilbane Building Company

    January 16, 2019SVP, Corporate Director Human Resources

    Our interns are our pipeline for talent for the future. Supporting your growth even as an intern helps you and Gilbane. Thanks for sharing your experience.

171 Bewertungen gefunden