Bewertungen für General Dynamics Mission Systems Software Engineer | Glassdoor.de

General Dynamics Mission Systems Bewertungen für Software Engineer

Aktualisiert am 14. Oct 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

160 Bewertungen gefunden

3.8
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
80%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
100%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
General Dynamics Mission Systems CEO Chris Brady
Chris Brady
6 Bewertungen
  1. „Great company, but poorly structured internship”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Praktikant - Software Engineer(Internship) in Pittsfield, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei General Dynamics Mission Systems als gearbeitet

    Pros

    Working for defense is so rewarding. The people who work there are very passionate and they work on amazing projects.

    Kontras

    Not many skills to take away from the internship. Internship has flexible start and end date, but they won't tell you when important intern events occur that you are required to do until after you submit your end date. Housing assistance is not provided.

    Rat an das Management

    Structure the internship with an actual start and end date, or at least provide new hires with a timeline of events that interns are expected to participate in.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-10-15
  2. „Great place to work, great benefits, slow growth.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer in Fairfax, VA
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei General Dynamics Mission Systems (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, supportive leadership, ability to work from home whenever I want, top of the line technology. Will pay for almost any certification I would want to get to enhance my skills.

    Kontras

    Room for growth in this company requires you stay for 10+ years and then get the big bump up. Raises are minimal yearly no more than 3%.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-09-23
  3. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great Place To Work!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Praktikant - Software Engineer Coop 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei General Dynamics Mission Systems als gearbeitet

    Pros

    Wonderful team that helped me become familiar with the work environment, software and work culture. Grew as a developer as well as a person here.

    Kontras

    None, it was a fantastic place to work and would recommend it to anyone.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep it up.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-08-30
  4. „Interesting work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer 

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei General Dynamics Mission Systems (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Work with cool technology Good Salary Good PTO

    Kontras

    Poor employee investment Work life culture

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-07-22
  5. Hilfreich (1)

    „Lack of progression, poorly managed”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer 

    Ich arbeite bei General Dynamics Mission Systems (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    good friendly people. flexible working

    Kontras

    very messy management, little incentive to stay

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-07-14
  6. „Software Test Engineer at GD”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. befristeter Mitarbeiter - Software Test Engineer in Bloomington, MN
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei General Dynamics Mission Systems als gearbeitet

    Pros

    They use the 9/80 system which gives you every other Friday off.

    Kontras

    Management lies about converting contract workers to permanent positions. Project management is horrible.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep your fingers on the pulse and know what your subordinates are doing. Don't rely on team leads or project managers to do your job for you.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-06-28
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „Some projects are great, but most are dull”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Senior Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei General Dynamics Mission Systems ()

    Pros

    Startup culture, flexible hours, great people

    Kontras

    Dull work a lot of times

    Rat an das Management

    Bring in better projects

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-05-19
  8. „Excellent workplace, promotes growth and provides employee appreciation”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Praktikant - Software Test Automation Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei General Dynamics Mission Systems als gearbeitet

    Pros

    The team I worked with was absolutely amazing. The manager(s) provided and encouraged putting hours towards personal development, and even shared resources for doing so. The managers were very involved in the team even when they were very busy with other tasks. Everybody I've worked with at GD (including peers on other teams) are extremely helpful and willing to assist whenever help is needed. I highly recommend GD.... Flexible work hours and ability to work from home when required.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Cafeteria is a bit pricey

    Rat an das Management

    Keep up the good work!

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-04-23
  9. Hilfreich (3)

    „Forever grateful for my time at GDMS Viz”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Staff Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 10 Jahre bei General Dynamics Mission Systems gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I really can't imagine a better place to start out my career and was with the Viz office for almost 11 years. I was surrounded by incredibly talented and friendly people who were more than happy to share their knowledge with me. On top of that I was faced with complex problems that challenged me, got to work with some of the latest web technologies and distributed systems before they were common place, and was... provided with leadership and recruiting opportunities. Additionally, with there being many projects in the office I had the chance to move around, try new things, and gain new experiences. Office management does a great job of looking out for you as well and truly cared about my well being. They only ask that you work hard and are open and honest with them in return. The work life balance and office culture are great as well. It is probably worth noting that the only reason I left the company is to pursue a once in a lifetime opportunity that I simply couldn't pass up and would absolutely consider coming back if things don't work out.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    GDMS is a defense contractor, and with that comes some annoyances that are just part of government contracts. That said office management does an excellent job of shielding their employees from as much of that as they can. Also, over the years salary compensation has fallen a little behind other top notch jobs in Pittsburgh, but I know office management is working hard to change that and I suspect they will be back... ahead of the curve in the not too distant future. Even still, compensation is fairly competitive, if not ahead of most software development companies in the area.

    Mehr anzeigen
    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-04-07
  10. „Depends Entirely on the Federal Program on Which You Are Working”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer in Scottsdale, AZ
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei General Dynamics Mission Systems (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good big company benefits, PTO accrual is standard for the industry, reasonably flexible working hours accommodating to individual circumstances. Technically, the work is entirely dependent on the program/project you're working on. Could be cutting edge, could be maintaining legacy code.

    Kontras

    This is a big defense contractor and the wheels turn slowly. Although GDMS often touts Agile there is still quite a bit of top-down, waterfall methodology around. Sometimes the culture is very risk averse and stodgy. Although I would not dissuade a recent college grad from working here, keep in mind the development environment is very process oriented, lots of overhead. (These are complex systems for the military... and intelligence communities, after all.)

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Loosen up with the R&D, shake up middle managers with some Agile training, let the engineers talk to the customers (Agile!) and buy some more modern office furniture.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-04-11
160 Bewertungen gefunden