Bewertungen für Genentech Research Associate | Glassdoor.de

Genentech Bewertungen für Research Associate

Aktualisiert am 23. Jul 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

70 Bewertungen gefunden

3.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
91%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
Genentech CEO Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
0 Bewertungen
  1. "Great environment for career development"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Research Associate in South San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Genentech ()

    Pros

    The are so many learning opportunities provided by Genentech. Whether or not you take advantage of them is up to you!

    Kontras

    Contractors do not have all the opportunities that a FTE would.

    Weiterlesen
    Genentech2019-07-23
  2. "a decent place to work"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Research Associate 

    Ich habe bei Genentech gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    autonomy and great perks at gne

    Kontras

    limited mobility if you want to rise up the ranks

    Weiterlesen
    Genentech2019-04-29
  3. "Great Benefits and Salary."

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Research Associate 

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei Genentech (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Benefits & Salary, resources. Commuting options. Flex timing Can be fun and challenging at the same time

    Kontras

    Can be stressful. Need to navigate culture to get noticed for promotions in addition to contributions. You have to promote your self.

    Weiterlesen
    Genentech2019-04-16
  4. "Meh"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Research Associate 

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Genentech gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Stimulating research topics and smart co-workers

    Kontras

    Way too much pressure and unrealistic timelines

    Weiterlesen
    Genentech2019-03-27
  5. "Genentech"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Research Associate in South San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Genentech (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great opportunities to learn different things, enjoy coworkers, great pay

    Kontras

    Management play favorites, management has lost some control for not speaking up

    Weiterlesen
    Genentech2018-08-12
  6. "Supportive of Creative Research"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Research Associate in South San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 8 Jahren bei Genentech (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Resources. Support for creative ideas. Researchers pushed to be better managers, supportive of their reports' careers and freedom to pursue interests outside the strict job descriptions. Minimal bureaucratic requirements, allowing more effective working hours, at least for RAs.

    Kontras

    Stress can be high at times. High expectations.

    Weiterlesen
    Genentech2018-08-06
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    "Very bad company for contractors"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Research Associate in South San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Genentech gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Nothing literally nothing for contractors.

    Kontras

    Treat contractors as second class citizens. The full time employees get all the benefits and recognition even though the contractors put the same amount of effort as full-time employee. The company should treat the contractors with some respect

    Weiterlesen
    Genentech2018-07-03
  8. Hilfreich (2)

    "Research Associate"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Research Associate 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 8 Jahre bei Genentech gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Free subscriptions to any scientific journals and literature that you want. Complimentary gym available on campus with free group classes. Flexibility to work schedule. Multiple ways of reimbursed eco-friendly transportation for commute to work. Several career development tools and programs available. Offer 401K matching of 4% and 7% is given for free regardless of your contribution. Matching donations to non profit organizations up to $2000 a year and offering $10 per hour for your volunteer time paid to your choice of non profit organization. Green Genes club which focuses on spreading awareness to sustainability and healthy life styles. Annual Genentech give back week to offer opportunity for employees to go volunteer during work hours (still being paid) and give back to community. Annual Genentech concert at the AT&T ball Park. First friday of the month Hoho's (happy hour social) provided on campus to encourage colleagues engagement. Free safe ride home five times a year regardless of where you live.

    Kontras

    Repetitive work that is highly important in delivering the pipeline does not get recognized by management. Promotion criteria is unclear. Department engagement is below 50%. Employees are afraid to speak their mind and hope someone brave enough to step up and voice for everyone. Benefits of employees are slowly diminishing, such as no more breakfast at morning meetings, lunch meetings are limited to in house sandwiches only, and increasing demands for higher work efficiency given that the amount of work each employee is handling already doubled. Research associate (RA) positions does not get replaced when someone leaves the company. The salary compensation for RA are unfair compared to compensations received from other functions of the company of equal employee status ranking level. Double standards across the company for conserving and leaning processes where later stage functions of the company has luxurious annual conferences at Las Vegas (including lodging accommodations and team building activities) where as R&D technical functions of the company get budgeted for expense to reduce what already was relatively minimal to become even less. First friday Hoho event had slowly become mostly a way for employees to hoard food to bring back home. Most employees who attend rarely networks but only stay within own comfortable group. Complimentary food and drinks are being limited where shortly after an hour of event start time, it will run out. Given the multiple available career development opportunities but with the expectation of more work efficiency due to 10x higher volume of projects funneling in, employee does not have the time to take advantage of most of these benefits of the company.

    Weiterlesen
    Genentech2018-01-10

    Reaktion von Genentech

    March 12, 2018Account Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are grateful for our brilliant employees that make the work here possible. This is why we continue to evolve our people practices and systems to better support our workforce. Although roles and departments operate differently, we are all working to transform the lives of patients. Thus, we strive to make our benefits and opportunities diverse, relevant, and meaningful. We do this through examining our internal population, as well as the external marketplace. We appreciate your time at Genentech. Thank you again for sharing a review.

    Weiterlesen
  9. Hilfreich (5)

    "Zero Growth as Contractor R&D at Genentech"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Research Associate in South San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Genentech gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Lots of R&D pipeline, you're always surrounded with really smart people.

    Kontras

    As a contractor, you are treated as an outsider - you don't belong to the company although you are working in Genentech. At R&D, contractors are not allowed to attend group meetings and project meetings even though you are actually assigned on that specific project. You cannot present your data and findings. Moreover, contractors are not invited to company's holiday/outdoor functions. So while everyone is out partying at AT&T park, you will be at the company working with other contractors. Be careful with their promises that they will convert you to full time or permanent position from contracts. That will never happen! Genentech has one of the biggest contractors turnover because contractors are simply tired of such empty promises and really bad people culture. I happened to work under a great manager who would put my name on several publications (which is rare for a contractor). But that's it. He wanted to convert me to full time, but the upper management prohibited this -- it's a lot cheaper for them to hire contractors. It's unfortunate that the larger the company becomes, the worst the company treats their contractors.

    Weiterlesen
    Genentech2017-10-24
  10. Hilfreich (5)

    "Great company with challenges ahead"

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Research Associate in South San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Genentech (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    1. Colleagues are some of the smartest, and most experienced, around. 2. Company makes formal efforts to explore new technologies and methodologies and cares about employee engagement/development. 3. Office hours appear to be less demanding than other companies. 4. Company benefits are exceptional.

    Kontras

    1. Tons of organizational inertia and employee complacency so it can be hard to get things done. 2. Leadership appears to be abandoning ship. 3. Management can make boneheaded decisions about technology focus. 4. Department budget tightening makes it less convenient to perform some activities. 5. Competition is fierce for access to high profile projects and responsibilities.

    Weiterlesen
    Genentech2017-07-03

    Reaktion von Genentech

    July 19, 2017Account Manager

    Thank you for your review and rating us as a great company! We do have some of the most talented individuals here and we’re happy we can offer comprehensive and competitive benefit programs for our employees. Being a part of an employee community that celebrates the little things we do every day is inspiring. However, we do recognize that there are areas we can improve on. For example, we often discuss the importance of work process improvements and are continually looking for ways to streamline our business processes. A shared philosophy at Genentech is that people can lead from any seat. That said, we encourage you to initiate a candid conversation with your manager, perhaps even invite some peers/colleagues to join-- and really talk about possible solutions to enacting change in your group. An approach like this is not only inclusive, but might spark some innovative ideas to improve your work processes. Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We appreciate your feedback!

    Weiterlesen
70 Bewertungen gefunden