Bewertungen für EF English First Teacher | Glassdoor.de

EF English First Bewertungen für Teacher

Aktualisiert am 13. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

2.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
38%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
36%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
90 Bewertungen
  1. „Don't come here for money”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit

    Pros

    -The children are incredible and a joy to be around -They take care of getting you to China

    Kontras

    To start with, most of the things they tell you and advertise to get you here are a lie. Even the contract says you will have all PRC holidays off yet you are required to come in to sit at your desk twiddling your thumbs for five hours just because. Against what the contract says. Out of the other jobs in my city we are paid the very least even though going to the school is the most expensive in the city. We have... the fewest off days for holidays and sometimes they are split (so mark off all the vacations they say you can go on). We work more than the other schools in the city even over 40 hours weekly yet no extra pay for that. They discourage any friendship in the office. We were even told not to associate with non-EF employees. Please do not get trapped here.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    You wonder why your teacher turn-over rate is so high yet you treat your teachers like trash you can throw out at any time. Show your teachers you actually value them and let them have the life you advertise. If not then start being honest before hiring people. That's an immoral way to run a business.

    EF English First2019-06-28

    Reaktion von EF English First

    July 7, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your post. We are happy to hear that you enjoy being around your students and that you appreciate our assistance regarding your relocation to China. The Public holiday calendar is set by the Chinese government, and unfortunately, holiday days are sometimes split. All full-time EF positions, teaching, and non-teaching are based on a 40 hour work week. For teachers, this allows sufficient time for lesson planning, administrative work, and training and professional development sessions.

    Weniger anzeigen
  2. „Good place to start, get experience and move onto bigger things”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teacher in Jakarta
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Easy working hours and friendly people

    Kontras

    organisation is not well planned and lack of training. Local staff work 6 day weeks which causes low moral

    Rat an das Management

    Invest in staff

    EF English First2019-10-13
  3. „Let down”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Online English Teacher 

    Ich habe bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    They did give lots of hours to begin with and the schedule is flexible

    Kontras

    I was working many hours a week. The pay is lot great, then, I lost my hours and had no work. Contact with try he office is chaotic to say the least

    Rat an das Management

    Reward hard work, don't penalise us

    EF English First2019-10-10
  4. „Massive disconnect between management and staff.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - International English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Set Schedule Limited Hours Career Progression Lateral Movement Diverse Work Force

    Kontras

    Disconnected Management Corporate structure is flawed

    Rat an das Management

    Standardize the working life between teachers at all centers. Centers are completely disconnected from each other and if you get one that doesn't care about your work life, prepare to be doing lots of extra things on the side in your own time, with no extra compensation.

    EF English First2019-10-09
  5. „Online English Teacher”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher in Peking, Peking
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You get the hours you request so you can work whenever you want and work as many hours per week as you want (probably even 80 if you wanted!).

    Kontras

    The salary increases over time are a joke, management is a joke, they have rigid rules and if you break them at all they will be happy to fire you, even if you are one of the top ranked teachers who dozens of students personally request weekly.

    Rat an das Management

    Offer better promotions / pay increases to teachers as they continue to waste away their lives helping the EF empire grow. Offer teachers who are willing to commit to 40 or more lessons a week health insurance and a 401K option.

    EF English First2019-10-08
  6. Hilfreich (2)

    „A decent job that could be better”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Online English Teacher 

    Ich arbeite bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    (1) The system is relatively simple to navigate. (2) You can choose any hours. (3) You can recover from student no shows with writing corrections. (4) The lessons are straightforward and some of the best lesson materials I have ever encountered.

    Kontras

    (1) The pay is comparatively low. (2) There is no opportunity for career advancement or raises. (3) Trying to have lessons with people who are extremely low level (who need bilingual teachers) is very frustrating. (4) Trying to have classes with people whose levels and lesson materials are mismatched is very frustrating. (5) People enrolling in the courses without any counseling as to their English... development path is frustrating. (6) Having to accommodate ridiculous custom lesson requests from students. (7) People who do not participate are permitted to remain in group classes.

    Mehr anzeigen
    EF English First2019-09-26
  7. „Okay”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. befristeter Mitarbeiter - Teacher in London, England
    Empfiehlt
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als gearbeitet

    Pros

    Flexible, nice students and facilities

    Kontras

    Very average salary that could be better.

    Rat an das Management

    Raise the salary

    EF English First2019-09-28
  8. „Good start in teaching abroad”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Teacher in Shenzhen, Guangdong
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit

    Pros

    plenty of progression opportunities and mainly it is a positive working environment.

    Kontras

    The pay is lower than other schools and often is longer hours.

    Rat an das Management

    BE MORE ORGANISED

    EF English First2019-09-23
  9. Hilfreich (1)

    „Suspicious tactics”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Teacher in Peking, Peking
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Students are great, curriculum well organised

    Kontras

    Longest hours of any teaching job with by far the worst pay. Hours are in theory reasonable, but expectations for preparation and performance are so high that many extra hours every week are required without any possibility of overtime. I have seen employees - even those with the company for several years - in tears at the office due to stress from the workload and insufficient time to deal with it. Their tactics to... keep workers employed under these conditions seem to be a scorched earth policy - where they refuse to provide you with necessary information and documents you need to apply for further visas in the country. Essentially - it seems to be that you finish your contract with EF (which the majority of teachers at my centre do NOT) or you will have to leave. When trying to move to a new job after EF (and having given the requested 2 month notice) I had a Visa/employment helping me with the transition who was tearing her hair out trying to get any legal documents and information from EF. She was beyond suspicious of the company and felt that some of their tactics were borderline illegal. Tread with caution

    Mehr anzeigen
    EF English First2019-10-01
  10. „A good first job”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Teacher in Moskau
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -living abroad -good colleagues and work environment -continual training and professional development -yearly promotion to next band

    Kontras

    -hectic daily and weekly schedule -low salary compared to dollar -high teacher turnover

    Rat an das Management

    Find ways to keep teachers longer than a year: better pay, improved benefits, more reasonable schedulig.

    EF English First2019-09-16
240 Bewertungen gefunden