Bewertungen für EF English First Foreign Teacher | Glassdoor.de

EF English First Bewertungen für Foreign Language Teacher

Aktualisiert am 19. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

2.1
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
5%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
11%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
5 Bewertungen
  1. „EF Baotou is amazing!!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher in Baotou, Innere Mongolei
    Empfiehlt

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Working at EF Baotou is great, you have endless opportunities for growth, the staff are friendly and ready to help you with anything. There are variety of classes, so you get to practice your skills with different types/age of classes.

    Kontras

    The only con is the language barrier

    EF English First2019-10-19
  2. Hilfreich (1)

    „Don’t do it there’s better companies”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher in Ningbo
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Visa will be legal. And there’s a decent work expectation.

    Kontras

    Management is terrible. Everyone is a liar aboutbeven the most basic things. When you try to leave they threaten you with legal action. Overworked and make half the salary if other schools.

    EF English First2019-09-20

    Reaktion von EF English First

    October 22, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your post. Due to the nature of your post, we ask that you reach out to us at teacher.welfare@com to discuss your experience.

  3. Hilfreich (1)

    „Overworked and Underappreciated”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Teacher in Changsha, Hunan
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    The salary and benefits are good, and students are eager to learn.

    Kontras

    Everything is catered to the parents. Teachers are not allowed to run classes efficiently because parents always complain about one thing or another, and the school gives in to them. All they care about is a good performance, not the students actually learning. Especially with summer and winter courses, the teachers are massively overworked and held to unrealistic expectations in terms of lesson delivery and student... retention, all the while being treated like they're disposable and unimportant. At one point, I was vomiting and very sick, but was not allowed to take the day off because there wasn't anyone to cover my classes, and the school refused to cancel classes to please the parents. Then, when I got sick in class and had to run to the bathroom, the parents complained about me leaving class. I was also reprimanded for this by management later on, as though it were my fault for being sick. I also experienced many health problems due to the unhygienic conditions the school was kept in, and raised complaints about it.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Appreciate and listen to your teachers, or you will end up with none. The parents are important, but we are the trained teachers, not them. Trust us to do our jobs, and don't listen to every whim of the parent. I couldn't be more glad to have left this company. My health has greatly improved not being overworked and away from the filthy school.

    EF English First2019-07-13

    Reaktion von EF English First

    July 19, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your post. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at your school and felt you were treated unfairly. We take any allegation of unfair or improper workplace treatment very seriously. Although you are no longer at the school, we would still encourage you to reach out to us at compliance.china@ef.com so that we can properly look into the matter.

    Weniger anzeigen
  4. „Low salary not enough benefits”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Teacher in Jiaxing
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Offer opportunities to further your career. They promise you a lot of things

    Kontras

    Long hours on the weekends. We didn’t have any office hours before but the management pressured us to be at the school at 40 hrs a week since few months ago and implemented a fingerprint system. Now this is fine if only it was mentioned in our contracts. When i got interviewed the DoS actually said we never expect you to be at the office you’re not teaching but things changed so quickly after i signed the contract.... As a training center that doesn’t offer nowhere near as high salary as other centers, the only benefit of working at EF was the no office hours rule but now that’s gone. We’re expected to be at work like full time public school teachers who are getting paid twice our salary. Not to mention the peak seasons such as summer and winter course, then we have to be at work from morning till night 6 days a week with no additional pay, no overtime whatsoever. The center i worked at constantly put pressure on teachers, made them compete w each other when it comes to demo sales, retention, summer course sales etc. There is a big board in the office where each teacher has their target number for summer course and retention. Whenever a student of a teacher signs up they add it to their target to ‘motivate’ teachers when in reality it puts so much stress and pressure on teachers. It haunts us everytime we look at it. The management team looks at teachers as assets, means to make money and only that. Never as humanbeings w feelings. You’re only as good as your numbers. That’s how i felt all the time. Also there is a referral system where when you refer someone and they come and complete the probation period you get certain amount of money. I referred someone a yr ago and this person has come and completed their probation 3 months ago. I still haven’t gotten the referral payment and the person who is in charge of this stopped answering my emails so after a lot of unanswered emails i contacted them on their wechat and was left on read. My contract with them is up this weekend and i’m not sure if i’m ever gonna see that referral bonus.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Have your expectations clear and mention everything in the contract. Don’t try to change things up in the middle of contract. Properly reward and compensate your teachers because the turnover rate is insanely high and i believe it’s related to that. Pay the referral bonus or no one will want to refer anyone to the company.

    EF English First2019-07-09

    Reaktion von EF English First

    July 12, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your detailed post. Our recruitment team works hard to set clear expectations, particularly when it comes to teaching schedules and office hours. We regret if this was not the case for you. In terms of your referral bonus, we are happy to look into this for you. Perhaps we could schedule a call to learn more about your experience? Please reach out to me at Mario.Bermeo @ef.com

    Weniger anzeigen
  5. „Good starter job”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Organized and helps you set up easily.

    Kontras

    Long working hours and experience can vary wildly in different schools/cities.

    EF English First2019-05-24
  6. „Foreign English Teacher”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign English Teacher 
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Excellent compensation. There's also excellent support from local staff for help with visas, settling in, housing, healthcare and more.

    Kontras

    The workload is too high. Teachers very often teach more than 24 contact hours each week, which is exhausting and unfortunately makes teaching quality lessons to all students impossible.

    Rat an das Management

    Hire more teachers, both foreign and local, so that the teachers can have a more manageable workload and not be overworked. Invest more in training support staff (teaching assistants) so that they feel confident when working in the classroom.

    EF English First2019-01-18

    Reaktion von EF English First

    March 24, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at EF. It's a big commitment to come to China, and we do our best to make the relocation as smooth and worry-free as possible. We are therefore very happy to hear that you had a very positive onboarding and felt well looked after from our local staff. We understand that teaching is very demanding. We try to keep all teachers at or below their contract hours as this is in the best interest of our teachers and the quality of our classes. On those occasions when teaching hours do exceed contract hours, we do compensate for the extra hours. Thank you for your suggestion on providing more training to our support staff including our teacher assistants. This is an area that is often overlooked and one that we could, and should, focus more attention on.

    Weniger anzeigen
  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „It was a good foot in the door”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Expert Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Paid on time, hours were what I was told in the interview, teachers were great and we were a big family, students are fun and interested in learning - even the big ones, opportunity to advance, good start to work in china

    Kontras

    Summer hours are awful. you have to teach your normal hours and morning hours of summer courses... it only lasts 8-10 weeks depending on need but all teachers do it... there is no extra pay for these extra hours. Winter courses are just as bad.. usually 2-3 weeks long. pay is low but competitive for other learning centers.

    Rat an das Management

    adjust your pay and give housing bonus. shanghai is not an inexpensive place to live. pay for overtime hours don't mistreat staff !

    EF English First2018-04-21

    Reaktion von EF English First

    April 26, 2018Vice President

    Thank you for your honest feedback. It's not normal to not be paid for your overtime work. We'd like to follow up with you regarding your experience. Please email teacher.feedback@ef.com so we can properly address this situation.

  8. Hilfreich (2)

    „Only cares about money, doesn't care about people”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Teacher in Fuzhou, Fujian
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    The kids are amazing Get to sleep in on weekdays due to later start Some other teachers are amazing and you become great friends.

    Kontras

    Teachers have different days off, you're forced to come in on your days off, management is really inconsistent between people where they are nice to strong but bullies the weak. Can't take sick leave unless you have a doctors certificate which in china means you have to go hospital and wait 3 hours.

    Rat an das Management

    Let teachers have the same days off in tier 2 cities in china.

    EF English First2018-05-03

    Reaktion von EF English First

    May 14, 2018Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback. We take all comments seriously and would like to follow -up with you regarding your work schedule as this coming in on your days off without pay is not normal. Please email us at teacher.feedback@ef.com to clarify.

  9. Hilfreich (29)

    „Just Run Away...RUN”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Well...they get you to China I suppose.

    Kontras

    Makes it deliberately difficult for you to go to another company by messing with your visa if they decide to fire you or you leave. This can't possibly be legal. You cannot trust anyone in management not to throw you under the bus if you have even a single issue. You only get 10 days annual leave. 10. Teachers are stressed out and overworked...and no one really cares because you should feel "lucky to be... here." So lucky you will skip meals. The threat of being fired is constant and thus there is no room to feel comfortable. You never get to feel like your improvements matter. Is there any surprise the turn over rate is horrible? Not really. There isn't any actual training. Every single thing is just a test despite them claiming it's training. And if you make mistakes at "regional training" it will be held over your head when you get to your individual center. They can absolutely fire you without 3 days notice. I watched it happen. And if you are fired you will owe them money for the housing advance. Why is there no HR department? No really who are you meant to talk to about anything without facing consequences? They hold your reimbursement hostage so good luck with that. They ironically never use constructive feedback. I say ironic because they say that's what you should do when teaching...and every other company knows training=teaching you new employees not humiliating them for not being perfect at a job they have no experience in. Why bother recruit people with no experience in the first place?

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Be honest with people during the recruitment process. Also legitimate companies have a HR department so that you can avoid favoritism or unfair repercussions for making simple complaints.

    EF English First2018-04-03

    Reaktion von EF English First

    April 26, 2018Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear of your experiences. Please email us at teacher.feedback@ef.com so we can better address your concerns.

  10. Hilfreich (1)

    „LIFE WITH EF”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher in Peking, Peking
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    EF helps you settle into a new culturally different environment, they will financially assist with you commute to China and provide food and a high quality hotel to accommodate you on your transition. Once settled into the company, they provide their employees with training, health support, expatriate support, and an opportunity to sign up for numerous teacher events each month for free. These events vary from a... wide range of options: skiing, self-defense classes, foodie night, traveling to another city, visiting Hutongs, seeing famous ballets, etc.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    However, everything that you sign up for you will not get. The hours worked for EF are abnormal compared to your average Monday to Friday 9-5 occupation. Sometimes there can be excessive meetings, trainings and annual events to attend.

    EF English First2018-03-16
32 Bewertungen gefunden