Bewertungen für EF English First Foreign Language Teacher | Glassdoor.de

EF English First Bewertungen für Foreign Language Teacher

Aktualisiert am 19. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

1.9
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
11%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
12%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
4 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (1)

    „Don’t do it there’s better companies”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher in Ningbo
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Visa will be legal. And there’s a decent work expectation.

    Kontras

    Management is terrible. Everyone is a liar aboutbeven the most basic things. When you try to leave they threaten you with legal action. Overworked and make half the salary if other schools.

    EF English First2019-09-20
  2. „Good starter job”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Organized and helps you set up easily.

    Kontras

    Long working hours and experience can vary wildly in different schools/cities.

    EF English First2019-05-24
  3. Hilfreich (29)

    „Just Run Away...RUN”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Well...they get you to China I suppose.

    Kontras

    Makes it deliberately difficult for you to go to another company by messing with your visa if they decide to fire you or you leave. This can't possibly be legal. You cannot trust anyone in management not to throw you under the bus if you have even a single issue. You only get 10 days annual leave. 10. Teachers are stressed out and overworked...and no one really cares because you should feel "lucky to be... here." So lucky you will skip meals. The threat of being fired is constant and thus there is no room to feel comfortable. You never get to feel like your improvements matter. Is there any surprise the turn over rate is horrible? Not really. There isn't any actual training. Every single thing is just a test despite them claiming it's training. And if you make mistakes at "regional training" it will be held over your head when you get to your individual center. They can absolutely fire you without 3 days notice. I watched it happen. And if you are fired you will owe them money for the housing advance. Why is there no HR department? No really who are you meant to talk to about anything without facing consequences? They hold your reimbursement hostage so good luck with that. They ironically never use constructive feedback. I say ironic because they say that's what you should do when teaching...and every other company knows training=teaching you new employees not humiliating them for not being perfect at a job they have no experience in. Why bother recruit people with no experience in the first place?

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Be honest with people during the recruitment process. Also legitimate companies have a HR department so that you can avoid favoritism or unfair repercussions for making simple complaints.

    EF English First2018-04-03

    Reaktion von EF English First

    April 26, 2018Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear of your experiences. Please email us at teacher.feedback@ef.com so we can better address your concerns.

  4. Hilfreich (1)

    „LIFE WITH EF”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher in Peking, Peking
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    EF helps you settle into a new culturally different environment, they will financially assist with you commute to China and provide food and a high quality hotel to accommodate you on your transition. Once settled into the company, they provide their employees with training, health support, expatriate support, and an opportunity to sign up for numerous teacher events each month for free. These events vary from a... wide range of options: skiing, self-defense classes, foodie night, traveling to another city, visiting Hutongs, seeing famous ballets, etc.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    However, everything that you sign up for you will not get. The hours worked for EF are abnormal compared to your average Monday to Friday 9-5 occupation. Sometimes there can be excessive meetings, trainings and annual events to attend.

    EF English First2018-03-16
  5. Hilfreich (4)

    „Don’t work for Education Last- Run away!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher in Shenzhen, Guangdong
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    They get you to China- I suppose. There are lots of freebies- but they come at a price. Free TEFL, prepaid flights, and 2 weeks free hotel.

    Kontras

    The salary is the industry low! Only 13,677 RMB a month. Many other entry level jobs pay between 16,000-20,000 RMB a month. For the TEFL, they do offer for free, but you will spend 120 hours on it. If you change your mind to go to another company, they won’t even give you option to pay for your certificate. It’s a very shady way of entrapping you. Just go to Groupon and get an inexpensive TEFL yourself. EF... violates a law- when you quit, or finish your contract, they will ask you to turn in your passport to convert your resident permit to a exit visa. This is actually illegal and by law, they are supposed to cancel your FEC and give you the release letter, so that you can go to your next employment and transfer your resident status over. However, many naive people don’t know that and let Education Last screw them over. The Chinese management sucks. They don’t care about the livelyhood of teachers. During summer and winter intensive, although the max work hour is 40, they will bully you to working 45 even 50! If not, they will threaten to fire you. That’s what happened to me, and I was depressed for like 3 days... why only 3 days? I got 3 job offers paying double of what EF paid me. EF firing me was the best thing that happened to me! However, why go through this hassle, just don’t work for EF(EDUCATION LAST) from the beginning. I guarantee you will be happier.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Take a look at your competitor’s wages. For example, Russian teachers working in China illegally gets paid way more than EF teachers. White boys without degrees get paid way more than EFers!

    EF English First2018-04-13
  6. Hilfreich (4)

    „Liked my job a lot,but got tricked by the recruiter”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher in Guangzhou, Guangdong
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working at EF.The school facilities were top notch and the staff and students were excellent and very respectful.We always got feedback from the DoS and senior teachers and they always offered their support when necessary.They also provides efficient training early on in the contract and give you a lot of notes and other support.There are also career opportunities available to those wishing to stay... longer than a year

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    My recruiter blatantly lied to me.She offered me a ¥5,000 bonus upon passing probation and told me,via Skype and email,that it would be in my bank account once approved and that I would be entitled to a free domestic travel voucher anywhere in China.No pay arrived,or travel voucher,and when I told my DoS he was unaware that I was supposed to get benefits.I emailed my recruiter straight away and she insisted on lying...,saying that she never offered me these benefits until I sent her back the email clarifying what what she had promised and then she refused to reply to my email.My DoS also emailed his supervisor who insisted on telling me that there was nothing that he could do because it wasn’t stated in my contract.I also raised the point during my exit interview and once again they insisted on only apologizing and didn’t bother to even look deeper into the issue.Kind of strange,right?

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    I would advise the recruiters to stop lying and be very direct with what they are offering those willing to sign!Teachers are flying from long distances to work overseas and don’t deserve to be scammed into signing a contract with fake benefits.Eliminate the corruption and provide honest answers!!!!!

    EF English First2017-11-28

    Reaktion von EF English First

    December 21, 2017Vice President

    Hello, we are very sorry to hear about your experience. It’s not normal for a 5,000RMB bonus to be offered just for passing probation. There are some bonuses that are tied to specific criteria within our Kids & Teens schools. I’ve already informed our management about your situation and we would really like to hear from you to discuss your situation and if this is a training issue with one of recruiters we can rectify it. Please email us at teacher.feedback@ef.com.

    Weniger anzeigen
6 Bewertungen gefunden