Bewertungen für EF English First English Teacher | Glassdoor.de

EF English First Bewertungen für English Teacher

Aktualisiert am 10. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

2.7
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
27%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
4%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
24 Bewertungen
  1. „Let down”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Online English Teacher 

    Ich habe bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    They did give lots of hours to begin with and the schedule is flexible

    Kontras

    I was working many hours a week. The pay is lot great, then, I lost my hours and had no work. Contact with try he office is chaotic to say the least

    Rat an das Management

    Reward hard work, don't penalise us

    EF English First2019-10-10
  2. „Massive disconnect between management and staff.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - International English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Set Schedule Limited Hours Career Progression Lateral Movement Diverse Work Force

    Kontras

    Disconnected Management Corporate structure is flawed

    Rat an das Management

    Standardize the working life between teachers at all centers. Centers are completely disconnected from each other and if you get one that doesn't care about your work life, prepare to be doing lots of extra things on the side in your own time, with no extra compensation.

    EF English First2019-10-09
  3. „Online English Teacher”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher in Peking, Peking
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You get the hours you request so you can work whenever you want and work as many hours per week as you want (probably even 80 if you wanted!).

    Kontras

    The salary increases over time are a joke, management is a joke, they have rigid rules and if you break them at all they will be happy to fire you, even if you are one of the top ranked teachers who dozens of students personally request weekly.

    Rat an das Management

    Offer better promotions / pay increases to teachers as they continue to waste away their lives helping the EF empire grow. Offer teachers who are willing to commit to 40 or more lessons a week health insurance and a 401K option.

    EF English First2019-10-08
  4. Hilfreich (2)

    „A decent job that could be better”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Online English Teacher 

    Ich arbeite bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    (1) The system is relatively simple to navigate. (2) You can choose any hours. (3) You can recover from student no shows with writing corrections. (4) The lessons are straightforward and some of the best lesson materials I have ever encountered.

    Kontras

    (1) The pay is comparatively low. (2) There is no opportunity for career advancement or raises. (3) Trying to have lessons with people who are extremely low level (who need bilingual teachers) is very frustrating. (4) Trying to have classes with people whose levels and lesson materials are mismatched is very frustrating. (5) People enrolling in the courses without any counseling as to their English... development path is frustrating. (6) Having to accommodate ridiculous custom lesson requests from students. (7) People who do not participate are permitted to remain in group classes.

    Mehr anzeigen
    EF English First2019-09-26
  5. „Not for everyone”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Helpfull assimilation process 2 week hotel stay on arrival

    Kontras

    They did not cover my flight expenses while "Free Flights" is advertised almost anywhere you look

    EF English First2019-09-14

    Reaktion von EF English First

    October 7, 2019Vice President

    Thanks for sharing your experience of working with EF to teach online. While we often run campaigns that offer free flights, this isn’t part of the standard package for working in China. Understandably this can be disappointing, but we hope that you enjoyed other benefits of the package that you were offered. The class simulations always get such positive feedback from teachers, so we’re happy that you enjoyed that part of our Onboarding. Thanks again for your feedback!

    Weniger anzeigen
  6. Hilfreich (1)

    „more cons than pros”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English As A Second Language Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    sense of community in the office, lovely to work with local teachers

    Kontras

    Your salary hardly goes up, there are no HR resources at all, paid way less than other teachers at language centres, duties far exceed what one it told in the beginning, no paid sick leave, some centres very rundown compared to other high tech and comfortable ones.

    Rat an das Management

    make sure all schools and offices are at the same level of comfort and efficiency.

    EF English First2019-09-13
  7. „Depends on location (mine was Chile)”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher in Santiago
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Great colleagues, nice students, some flexibility with timetable

    Kontras

    Dishonest, arrogant management, who don't keep their word. Pay is crap.

    Rat an das Management

    Treat staff with more respect

    EF English First2019-09-11

    Reaktion von EF English First

    October 7, 2019Vice President

    Thanks for your candid feedback! While happy to hear that you had a great experience with your colleagues and students, we’re surprised to learn that your experience with the management wasn’t consistent with this. If you would like to elaborate on your experience, please email: teacher.feedback@ef.com to share more. Like you, many of our online teachers enjoy the flexibility with their schedule. Thanks again for sharing.

    Weniger anzeigen
  8. „Excellent workplace with great material”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Freelancer - English Teacher in Bangkok
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als gearbeitet

    Pros

    Great material. Stimulating environment. Caring.

    Kontras

    None. All good. Nothing bad.

    EF English First2019-08-25
  9. „great way to travel, that's about it”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Native English Teacher in Nowosibirsk
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I got to travel and meet some great people during my stay abroad. Salary was well above the local average and I was able to support my girlfriend and myself comfortably. I was not able to save a lot but we had a fair amount of fun and made some great memories. The health insurance was also very good. The HR department was quick to respond but not very helpful once I was on the ground in another country!

    Kontras

    TLDR; -disorganized management - poor communication skills -terrible hours As a disclaimer, I am willing to admit that the company as a whole must have some good aspects about it given that it has grown so much within the past 5 decades. It is one of the world's leading ESL education providers and that does not happen overnight. That being said, the... management at my particular school in Russia was disorganized and demonstrated poor communication skills time and time again. Several months before arriving, the HR department provided me with a labor contract. As soon as I got there, I was told I had to sign a different contract. The key differences between the two contracts were that I would have to work weekends and that the school was not obligated to pay for my housing. I was also told before arriving that the school would find me a place to stay. Two days before arriving, my manager told me that they couldn't find me a spot "because it was hard to find a landlord who would rent to a foreigner", but "it will be okay, you can stay in a hotel for a couple days and then surely, you'll find someone". WHAT!? Thank goodness my girlfriend was able to find a mutual contact who lived in the city where I would work, so that was taken care of. We arrived and suddenly, magically, I was told that they had found an apartment for me, of course it was significantly more expensive than the one we had found. When I told them we had found a spot on our own, their eyes lit up like a deer in headlights, "REALLY!? HOW!? THEY SAID THEY WOULD RENT TO YOU, AND DO THE REGISTRATION!?" I was met with skepticism from the get-go. This attitude carried over into the work environment. The management and other coworkers were very much the type to let problems linger and build up until the damage had already been done. Ultimately, I knew I could teach, but being there made me feel like I couldn't. At the same time, my planning and organization skills did improve. They had to, imagine 4, 2-hour classes back to back with less than 10 minutes in between.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Hire someone with more than a B1 English level who actually worked in the education field to direct the school. Don't just think of the profits. Those children's futures are in your hands

    EF English First2019-09-04
  10. „Teach English”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - English Teacher in Jakarta

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Good great fun easy and fantastic

    Kontras

    None it was smooth sailing

    EF English First2019-08-09
80 Bewertungen gefunden