Bewertungen für EF English First English As A Second Language Teacher | Glassdoor.de

EF English First Bewertungen für English As A Second Language Teacher

Aktualisiert am 12. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

1.4
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
2%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
4%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
3 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (1)

    „more cons than pros”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English As A Second Language Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    sense of community in the office, lovely to work with local teachers

    Kontras

    Your salary hardly goes up, there are no HR resources at all, paid way less than other teachers at language centres, duties far exceed what one it told in the beginning, no paid sick leave, some centres very rundown compared to other high tech and comfortable ones.

    Rat an das Management

    make sure all schools and offices are at the same level of comfort and efficiency.

    EF English First2019-09-13
  2. „Pick another school”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - English As A Second Language Teacher in Jiaxing
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Paperwork once you land is mostly done for you.

    Kontras

    From worst to least worst: * EF Management will not keep their word. I worked there for 9 months then put in my two months notice and even have screenshots of my DoS saying my work visa would be transferred to my new school. EF waited until my last week to tell me they, and the investors, were refusing to transfer my work visa and I’d have to return to the USA in a few days or I’d be in the country illegally and... face jail time. I am now in the US. * EF will go behind your back and cancel your permits without your consent or knowledge but inform you last minute. * You aren’t actually trained but are instructed to observe a fellow teacher and after a week begin co- teaching then receive the classes from the teacher who left before you. I went without a Senior Teacher observing me ever for 8 months and received no feedback. * The curriculum is very slow moving and poorly planned. Students in Small Stars (whether in Blue, A,B, or C) will learn to parrot questions and answers but aren’t actually learning how to have a conversation. It’s almost as if the authors of the curriculum spread out a course book over several courses and levels. Students in Small Stars, version 2.0 or 3.0, will learn the “what is it? It’s a ___” structure and really only two other structures which are “do you like____? Yes I do / no I don’t” and “how many___? 3 ___”. They can’t actually ask a native English speaker about themselves but they can ask “what time do you go home in the evening?” Even after going from Small Stars Blue through Small Stars C. It’s not conducive to interacting with native English speakers or foreigners. * The schedule for the following week will be made Sunday evening or even Monday of that week. * Newest teachers will be assigned Marketing Events due to their free schedule. Marketing at EF Jiaxing was a nightmare where I would speak to someone a week prior about an event I was assigned to only to be told nothing was needed of me except my attendance and participation. Come the day of the marketing team member would frantically ask me to prepare something like a report to read students or flash cards for a recent holiday then tell me the event isn’t 30 minutes as on my schedule but two hours. Also it isn’t in the center anymore it’s at a library on a stage. * The weekly workshops at EF Jiaxing contain no development or educational value. They are workshops for 3 hours that contain menial tasks corporate didn’t want to bother with and handed them down the ladder.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Don’t bully or coerce foreign teachers or make them face retribution for leaving EF. Pay local staff better and treat them well too.

    EF English First2019-09-05
  3. „Such a shame”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - English As A Second Language Teacher in Peking, Peking
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Get to work in multiple locations abroad.

    Kontras

    They lie about paying you back for flights (I was told this would happen as soon as I arrived but it actually comes in monthly installments). Seriously overworked and underpaid. They claim to offer language lessons, but with the great firewall of China none of us can access online lessons - pointless. Don't offer any help/guidance after first week. Upper management typically don't speak English at all, so if... you have a problem with your boss there are very few solutions. Racism is a problem within China and although I never encountered this I was told it happened to other people within other EF offices.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    1) Keep your promises 2) Pay fair wages/ set realistic working hours 3) Listen to and ask for staff opinions

    EF English First2019-07-08

    Reaktion von EF English First

    July 12, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank-you for your post. We are sorry to hear that you are unable to take advantage of our online Chinese language lessons. We did some initial testing from Beijing this morning and didn’t experience any problems using a PC or Mobile. We did, however, experience some delays accessing the online classroom. We have escalated this issue to IT, for more expertise testing and they will follow up with the IT team in Beijing to further test any potential firewall issues. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we apologize for the inconvenience. It would be great if you can reach out to me personally so we can further investigate this issue. In terms of your flight reimbursement, please reach out to me as well at Mario.Bermeo@ef.com so I can collect the needed information to look into this matter.

    Weniger anzeigen
  4. „It was fine”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English As A Second Language Teacher in Hangzhou, Zhejiang
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei EF English First als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with. I thought the salary was pretty decent. I liked the shift work. It was great getting Thursday and Friday off.

    Kontras

    None that won't make me sound like I have an ax to grind so nevermind. Thank you for the opportunity and I'll leave it at that. Cheers.

    Rat an das Management

    Be clear about what you are looking for in a teacher.

    EF English First2019-01-05

    Reaktion von EF English First

    March 24, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for your very positive post. We are happy to hear that you loved the people you worked with, as this is very important in any job. We are also very pleased to hear that you were happy with your salary and enjoyed having Thursday/Friday as your days off. If you have any further feedback, we encourage you to share it with us at teacher.feedback@ef.com. Although we love positive posts, we also appreciate learning about areas where we can improve.

    Weniger anzeigen
  5. Hilfreich (2)

    „Overall a Pretty Good Place to Work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - English As A Second Language Teacher in Bengbu
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -Decent pay that arrives on time -Lots of support and training once you arrive -Help with living and navigating life overseas -Chances for advancement are possible with hard work - Interesting coworkers and a good working atmosphere

    Kontras

    -High turnover, lots of people stay for just a year and then move on -Sometimes can get a bit hectic and stressful, especially during the busy summer months when you have to teach your normal course load plus summer classes during the week -Sales pressure creeps into the lives of teachers a bit more than it should- generally the business and education goals of the company are balanced but sometimes the former is... given too much importance

    Mehr anzeigen
    EF English First2018-11-03
5 Bewertungen gefunden