Bewertungen für EF English First Director of Studies | Glassdoor.de

EF English First Bewertungen für Director of Studies

Aktualisiert am 15. Jul 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

2.4
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
34%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
77%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
6 Bewertungen
  1. „Sales Sales Sales”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Director of Studies 
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Most of the employees are hard working and really want to make a difference. Some of the academic managers are nice and want to help you develop. Students and parents are friendly and fin, and the facilities are generally well maintained and new.

    Kontras

    If you come to Guangzhou is is all about politics, they have fired people on maternity leave (moved them to inferior positions) the GM moves people on a whim, decides she doesn't like someone and then gets rid of them. The experience completely depends on manager. If you are foreign you are not respected, the only thing that matters is the CD and making a sale. They don't care about your opinion, your complaints or... your ideas. The rules are rigid and there is no room for flexibility or creativity. Foreign Director of Studies rarely last long as the sales and marketing teams rule, Academics or very far down on the list. It is a popularity contest, if the GM likes you than a position will open up, they will move people around, demote, promote, get rid of or do what needs to be done to ensure they are surrounded by yes people. Good managers struggle as the current environment favors always saying yes, being beholden to sales and parroting the scripts handed down from shanghai.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    focus on Academics not sales all the time. Treat foreigners with respect and not contempt.

    EF English First2019-07-15
  2. Hilfreich (3)

    „EF Changshu - The Truth”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Director of Studies in Changshu, Jiangsu
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei EF English First gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    During my time at EF, I worked for three centers as well as in the Shanghai Headquarters. Here's the truth: EF Changshu hijacked my heart for life, and nothing else I've ever been a part of quite compares to the fellowship and camaraderie you feel on the adventure. For me, the experience was everything that I'd hoped it would be and more... The location is perfect for an authentic Chinese experience - in the... centre you get all the buzz and electric vibe of an Oriental metropolis, and of course the city's gardens and teahouses preserve the elegance of the traditional China we all read about and see in the movies. The best part is that the school is directly opposite a stunning mountain and park! The HR department (bless them) take care of you so much. They help you with your apartment, your banking, your phone, taxis, finding your way around the city... They saved me so many times and I couldn't thank them enough! You get the consistent training, the ongoing feedback, and the professional support to strengthen your skills as a teacher and even build your career. That's how I ended up working in the Shanghai Headquarters. Everyone in the school really makes sure that it's more than a job. It turns into such an enjoyable experience because you're around people who you build a connection with and who actually care. The atmosphere is just like being with a bunch of friends. It turns into a joy and I've certainly missed the place and the people since I left.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    If you are interested in finding the job with the most money, then this isn't for you. If you learn and grow here, it is possible to be promoted - but still, even the promotion, even with all the opportunities it offers, doesn't come with a big chunk of money. However, if you keep going then the professional experience you gain can turn into big bucks down the road. Trust me. As a manager, I was overworked. The... local staff also have a lot to do. But I think the foreign teachers get a really good deal (definitely fewer hours than the average job back home, and much more enjoyable too!)

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Of course, more money would be great but that decision comes directly from the investor. For managers there needs to be a more narrow focus of responsibilities and less pressure. Only hire people who bring the right attitude! ;-) Thank you for everything!

    EF English First2018-09-23
  3. Hilfreich (2)

    „Director of Studies China Franchise”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Director of Studies in Hangzhou, Zhejiang
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Able to meet, work with, train and develop a large number of interesting people from all walks of life. Fast paced work and never a dull moment. Many opportunities for personal and (funded) professional development. Rewarding position with quick evidence of development of staff and students.

    Kontras

    High staff turnover can sometimes be demoralising. Talent is sometimes thinly spread. Better staff retention will help this.

    Rat an das Management

    Give people more reasons to stay. Think carefully about product lifecycles and product turnover - This is a constant source of problems in my working context.

    EF English First2017-07-31
  4. Hilfreich (7)

    „Good Training, Low Salary & Inexperienced Management”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Director of Studies in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Plenty of learning opportunities for motivated staff, although you have to seek these out. Good for meeting like-minded people living abroad.

    Kontras

    Salary is very poor in comparison to competitors', and they mis-represent this on job adverts. Teachers who don't pass probation are expected to pay for their own flights home, after putting a non-refundable deposit down on an apartment.

    Rat an das Management

    Treat teachers fairly and with respect. Pay on a similar level to your competitors so teacher retention isn't as high. Don't take away all decision-making ability for teachers in the classroom.

    EF English First2017-03-08
  5. Hilfreich (13)

    „Steep Learning Curve”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Director of Studies in Tianjin, Tianjin
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    A very steep learning curve throughout your entire career with the company - this is a job you often walk into having very basic skills under your belt, but you are given adequate support and training to be able to hit the ground running. These are skills which are transferrable to different industries and which are achievements that can be looked upon as positive personal milestones. The company is very... well-organised in terms of making you feel at home and giving you the right support where support is needed - China is not an easy place to live for a foreigner, but with the right support and assistance, which EF Tianjin provides, your life here can be very comfortable. You are given the opportunity to teach students from a culture so different from your own - I find that I learn as much from my students as they learn from me. Management understand that we will not be in China for the rest of our lives as foreigners, and provide us with skills that not only apply to current work situations, but also can be used for various other industries beyond the scope of our current employment. Management work hard to make our working environment as comfortable as possible. Managers don't only manage the school, they manage the teachers on a different level - they turn up at the hospital in an emergency, they help their staff member move house if there is nobody else to give a hand, they give travel advice! But this isn't it. As a manager myself, I am unequivocally supported by senior management, whether this be on a personal or a business level. Senior (and Regional!!!!) Management take the time to coach not only on current business practice, but ALSO on personal growth and development - it is comforting not only for me, but for my family as well, to know that I will have the support I need during any crisis I might face. YES I need to provide care to my own team, but sometimes I need that support as well, and I can tell you now, that support is there, no matter what.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Work hours can be long at times, but are generally balanced in the long-term. Sometimes we need to work holidays/festivals (Halloween etc) but management are always quick to jump in and buy us dinner when this happens. There are "extras" we need to do, which are often viewed as a drag, but in the long-run, it depends on what attitude we spin - these are actually good team-building opportunities to get to know the... other people we work with on a different level, rather than seeing it in a negative light. The job and the expectations are made clear at the beginning. Unfortunately the ESL industry attracts a lot of people who just want an easy year living in China as opposed to viewing the opportunity as a time to work hard and contribute to a team, to learn and to GROW as an individual, so the attitude of colleagues who feel hard-done by as a result of the company requiring them to fulfil their end of the bargain is a little bit draining. As with any job, you're far away from home so it can be a little lonely at times - you do have a good support network of teachers in the city. This is the advantage of working in a city like Tianjin where there are six EF schools - the foreign teacher network is populous and reliable.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Keep up the good work, and thank you for the continued opportunities I have been given as an employee to succeed, and as a human being, to grow.

    EF English First2015-12-03
  6. Hilfreich (4)

    „Terrible Management”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Director of Studies 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    They do take care of visas, apartments and the school are very nice (image-wise), the students are amazing and the parents are very nice but that's as much as it can be said.

    Kontras

    Management is terrible, they are not clear as to goals, action plans. I have been working here for a long time and my managers have not offered any kind of support only threats that if I don't do my job as they see fit then we need to think about other options, but this is not the worst, the school is actually falling apart with chipped paint on the walls, the desks for the students are bent and if you light bulb... goes out on your projector for your IWB they won't replace for weeks, don't bother complaining.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Provide better feedback and take better care of your facilities.

    EF English First2015-02-16
  7. Hilfreich (2)

    „I've liked it so much I've spent four years within the EF franchise, moving from a teacher, senior teacher to DoS..”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Director of Studies in Qingdao, Shandong
    Empfiehlt

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The possibilities of promotion are very real and for a teacher with a real interest in making a career in the ESL world EF is a good place to be.

    Kontras

    One minor issue for new teachers is adapting to higher hours in the winter and summer intensives but I have found once you've done one the others come easily.

    EF English First2014-12-02
  8. Hilfreich (8)

    „Working with EF has been a growing experience in which I have developed a very diverse skill set.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Director of Studies 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei EF English First (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Being able to use a great product really enables teachers to develop students and really see their progress over time. Having a strong academic support structure also helps to improve teachers' abilities and promote their self confidence as well as their avheivement.

    Kontras

    Sometimes flexibility is required when dealing with parents and center intiatives. Events and activities can often be put through with little notice. Cultural differences when dealing with management also need to be understood well for best results.

    Rat an das Management

    Ensure product launch deadlines are met as well as all of the resources with the products. Small Stars Second Edition didn't have the pronunication videos for a while after the product release. This is felt with every academic staff member across the world that uses this product and generates the same discontent.

    EF English First2014-07-22
8 Bewertungen gefunden