Bewertungen für Duke Clinical Research Institute, „dcri” | Glassdoor.de

Mitarbeiterbewertungen für Duke Clinical Research Institute zu „dcri“

Aktualisiert am 6. Aug 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

154 Bewertungen gefunden

2.5
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
24%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
31%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Duke Clinical Research Institute CEO Lesley Curtis, PhD
Lesley Curtis, PhD
7 Bewertungen

Bewertungen zu „dcri“

Zurück zu allen Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (6)

    „So much untapped potential! DCRI could be THE company...But”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Clinical Research Associate in Durham, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Duke Clinical Research Institute (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Overall DCRI is a great place to work - the benefits are fantastic, the work/life balance and schedule flexibility is great, usually good job security/stability (aside from upcoming RIF/Layoff), numerous discounts for products and services in the Raleigh-Durham area, lots of training and development opportunities via programs and conferences offered by Duke University and the Hospital, will pay for you to attend... local conferences in your field/educational reimbursement, gives you access to a lot of educational programs and entertainment and the overall company culture is supportive/friendly with lots of employee recognition- as an ARO they don't engage in a lot of the overly metric driven cut throat non-sense I have seen at CROs that lead to burn out and well paid, but demoralized and jaded staff. I give DCRI a lot of credit for doing more than most companies to foster diversity, inclusion and cohesion among staff and for encouraging fun and engagement in the work place.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    The problem (and this is said with love) is that there is so much potential for this company to be exceptional on so many fronts, but they consistently fail to fully tap into that potential. whether it is forgetting to fully leverage the skills of their staff, taking on too many poorly organized/poorly funded and poorly written study protocols, being slow to improve and modernize work processes so that they are... more efficient/less redundant and less error ridden or offering enough opportunities for EVERYONE to grow and move up the career ladder. So, many people have left simply because they hit a wall in terms of career advancement/mobility and financial compensation. I can't tell you how many times people have said "I love my co-workers, I love the company and it's mission, I don't want to leave, but they aren't utilizing me properly and I have to move on and find something where I can have an impact and grow". In the end, this leads to mostly younger people leaving, the people with advanced degrees/certifications and the people with a generally higher subset of skills and or investment in the quality of the work - and as a company, if they want innovative, new and energized staff who are going to push for and achieve bold things in the world of research (as they say), they can't continue to be OK with all of their entry level and mid-level staff who are aching for a chance to be heard and utilized leaving or staying, but languishing. The people under 35 stay for a few years (1-3), get experience or connections and then they move on because they feel like they can't implement their ideas, contribute in novel ways and or expand in their therapeutic areas of interest. What you have left over are the people who are OK with being in the same role, doing the same things for below market/ below industry pay for 30 years (which in turn suppresses the pay of everyone else when you have someone who has been in a role for 20 years and only makes $50,000/yr) and who are literally just waiting on their retirement check and the benefits duke offers for college tuition to pay for their kid's education. What you end up with are the people who are complacent and less interested in change and the big ideas DCRI has for its future. Until DCRI decides that it can do more and be more, and is willing to expand its roster of clinical research positions, expand the types of studies they take on, asks for and bids for what they are actually worth, expands its roster of therapeutic areas and works to keep the employees that are still bright eyed enough to care about the quality and direction of their work, they will continue to be a company that gets high marks for what they try to do and what they claim they to want to be, but will keep hemorrhaging the people who could be helping them make it a reality. Lastly, DCRI is unique in that they have "thought leaders" - these are doctors and other high-level professionals who are actively involved either as PIs or advisers on the trials we have. Although they are really great resources in many ways, I have also heard/seen a number of people in management and leadership positions, who's job it is to make sure that the operational/logistical aspects of the trials and the resourcing are in order, regularly find their hands tied and can't do their jobs in the most effective manner because everyone cow-tows to the thought leaders. So, to avoid office politics and fall-out, management gives into requests or wants of the thought leaders that aren't always feasible or that don't always make sense for a given trial or task...as one can imagine, this doesn't always bode well for the staff working on said trial or for management who at some point has to answer for the progress, mistakes, planning or timelines of a given trial. In the end, DCRI could have it all - they could be THE company. And I honestly hope that one day, they find a way to do just that. But at present, they seem to be OK with trying to convince people that the status quo is acceptable - that mediocre pay, decent benefits, the Duke nomenclature and the company culture outweighs being challenged, outweighs progression and outweighs making enough money to actually use all of that fabulous vacation time you've accrued...to actually take a vacation. Other "con" is paying for parking - can range from $15.00 -$200.00 per month depending on where you park/what is available/proximity to work location etc.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Despite the unfortunate round of layoffs, please don't lose sight of one of your biggest assets and what sets this company apart from a lot of the CROs (aside from the thought leaders and connection to academia) and that is the culture. Although the company is restructuring (or whatever HR buzzword is cool right now), the vibe we used to have that encouraged learning, recognition of employees, training/support..., engagement with social issues/local community, fun and connection should continue to be a focal point. These things will be more important than ever for morale and productivity post-RIF. "Train people well enough so they can leave, treat them well enough, so they don't want to"

    Mehr anzeigen
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-05-29

    Reaktion von Duke Clinical Research Institute

    June 3, 2019Sr. Writer and Content Strategist

    Thank you for such a thoughtful response. We can tell that you really do love the DCRI. We believe the DCRI is at an inflection point that demands transformative change. That’s why, under the direction of our Interim Executive Director, Lesley Curtis, we launched a strategic ...

    Mehr anzeigen
  2. Hilfreich (5)

    „Strategy is Non existent, but they constantly talk about it”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Clinical Operations Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 10 Jahre bei Duke Clinical Research Institute gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    DCRI permanent Full time employees receive Duke University pay & benefits. Which are great in many ways (403B plan, Insurance options), BAD in many others.. Work life balance is good for some, horrible for others.

    Kontras

    Duke Health has become too big for any strategy to work for most departments, Duke School of Medicine, (SOM) of which DCRI is a part, is in debt and failing to retain the best professors or residents. Not to mention the huge negative press for many research fraud cases and just general mismanagement. DCRI has lost their magic pitches and pipeline of studies. SOM Faculty members at DCRI who run studies have a huge... proclivity for picking favorites, and totally ignoring the careers of some who work longest hours. High level and expensive degrees MATTER here, so if you have one, apply and stay for a few years to get Duke on your resume--then leave for high dollars and great career future. Duke is SLOW to promote and very stingy with salaries, unless you are someone's son, daughter or other family member.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Cut your losses, since you just made that HUGE layoff last week, over 20% of your full time workforce~ WOW ! hope you all make it better, because CROs are killing you in the biz world !! Stop the nepotism ! makes you look bad and old fashioned to say the least. and No Lesley, no need to respond to this message. Bye.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-06-04

    Reaktion von Duke Clinical Research Institute

    June 5, 2019Sr. Writer and Content Strategist

    Thank you for your input. The DCRI recently launched a strategic planning effort in response to changes occurring across the clinical research industry. Among other transformative measures, this planning determined that the DCRI needed to reduce its staff to align the size of its ...

    Mehr anzeigen
  3. Hilfreich (3)

    „Horrible few years”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Clinical Trials Specialist in Durham, NC
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Duke Clinical Research Institute gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    great resume builder for starting out career

    Kontras

    Outdated technology, unhappy employees, horrible pay. Way too many instances of people who have worked here 20+ years and get away with whatever they want. Employees who produce quality work are not valued. No real opportunity for career growth. Management takes advantage of employees. RIF was announced in Januery 2019- people were not let go until June 2019 - 5 months of stressed out employees is a very bad thing... and a slap in the face to those who have worked hard for this company for years. DCRI has gone way downhill in the past 5 years. No real leadership.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Focus on innovation- management HATES new ideas... even though DCRI claims innovation as one of their "5 values". LISTEN to your employees and make actual changes. The "way it's always been done" is no longer a valid excuse for sub-par work.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-06-04

    Reaktion von Duke Clinical Research Institute

    June 5, 2019Sr. Writer and Content Strategist

    Thank you for providing your thoughts and sharing your experience. We strive to strike a balance in all areas -- honoring our team members’ experience, offering growth and development opportunities, transparency, and implementing innovative ideas in a clinical research environment. ...

    Mehr anzeigen
  4. Hilfreich (8)

    „Beware”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Proposal Manager in Durham, NC
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 8 Jahren bei Duke Clinical Research Institute (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good benefits and work from home with tuition support

    Kontras

    DCRI is about to have another layoff due to poor management and bad finances. It is not a healthy place to work at this time

    Rat an das Management

    The good people are leaving as part of this announcement and the dead wood stays, one of the worst places I have ever worked

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-02-20

    Reaktion von Duke Clinical Research Institute

    February 22, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your input. We are proud to provide our employees with numerous benefits, including flexible work arrangements, that traditional companies typically do not offer. At this time, there are transformative changes occurring at the Institute as we undertake a robust ...

    Mehr anzeigen
  5. Hilfreich (11)

    „Dysfunctional & Unhealthy Environment”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Supervisor/Manager 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Duke Clinical Research Institute (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    * The mission...if you can ever deliver on it with accuracy and on-time which is rare. * The health care coverage and PTO are good. However they tout all the other "benefits" they feel compensates for the lower pay scale such as children tuition assistance but if you don't have children, this is a meaningless benefit.

    Kontras

    * No strategic vision or plan for DCRI or within the departments * Siloed work groups - lack of true collaboration * The pay is a joke. Well below the average for this area. 2% annual raise across the board (if you're lucky) and no bonuses. * Constant disputes among the Senior leadership team - everyone has their own agenda. No cohesive goal or vision. * Unrealistic expectations - DCRI wants to compete with the... organizations like IQVia, PPD, INC, etc. but lack but the vision, technology, and skill sets to do so.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    * DCRI was run so long as a Mom & Pop shop. This cannot continue if DCRI wants to remain IN business let allow be competitive. * Stop appointing people into the Senior Leadership position that don't have any knowledge and experience running a business or the area they are suppose to be in charge of and who do NOT know how motivate and lead people. * Change the pay structure to hire and retain competent people... - and listen to them. Too many times their advice and guidance for which they were hired is blatantly ignored. It should be no surprise to the organization when they leave. * Leslie needs to take charge of this organization NOW and be actively engaged full-time if she wants to save the company. Otherwise, put together an exit strategy to close the doors for good because that where DCRI is headed.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-01-04

    Reaktion von Duke Clinical Research Institute

    January 14, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Every day, DCRI’s faculty and staff are focused on developing and sharing knowledge to improve patient care through innovative clinical research. To achieve our mission and plan for a vibrant future, we recognize the need to ...

    Mehr anzeigen
  6. Hilfreich (10)

    „The execs don't care about the employees”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Duke Clinical Research Institute gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Nice perks overall w/being part of Duke. Great benefits, especially the PTO and reasonable health insurance plans. Good learning environment and opportunity to continue education.

    Kontras

    Very toxic place to work at all levels and all departments. The execs put on a fake show but do not truly care about the happiness or success of individuals. They only care about their own advancement and money in their pocket. DCRI pretends to be this great research academic org but behind the scenes it is a very unorganized place. If you are not part of the click or in crowd you can forget ever moving up on... the career ladder regardless of hard or well you work. HR doesn't listen either and are of no help when an employee has an issue with a bad manager-which tends to happen alot.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Listen to the people in the trenches and stop promoting horrible employees that are not qualified to manage people!!

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-09-13
  7. „Professional Staff”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Durham, NC
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 8 Jahre bei Duke Clinical Research Institute gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The DCRI has a well-deserved excellent reputation. Everyone I worked with was incredibly capable . Accomplishment and achievement are celebrated by all levels of management.

    Kontras

    Sometimes it can take a long time to get deserving projects approved and budgeted.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep it up!

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-09-11
  8. „Great place to work!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich arbeite bei Duke Clinical Research Institute (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Best reasons for working at DCRI Work life balance and opportunity to work remotely. Collaborative and friendly environment. DCRI encourages and provides opportunities for supporting the Durham community.

    Kontras

    You must ride the bus or pay for parking.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-07-25

    Reaktion von Duke Clinical Research Institute

    September 22, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We always strive to find ways to create a healthy working environment that supports our employees including fostering a culture of work-life balance and providing the opportunity to work remotely. Also, giving back to our local community—whether ...

    Mehr anzeigen
  9. Hilfreich (1)

    „The New DCRI”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei Duke Clinical Research Institute (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I have been at the DCRI for over 15 years. The interaction with Faculty and key Thought Leaders in the medical community is a very unique and rewarding experience. There are also opportunities to work on innovative and groundbreaking projects that will ultimately be published regardless of the outcome. The new initiatives DCRI are looking to improve some of the issues that we have been experiencing and will... elevate the quality and level of service we are able to provide moving forward. The new direction DCRI is taking with the support of management and the initiatives and changes being implemented to make improve DCRI processes and systems is much needed and will no doubt make DCRI better than ever. The retirement plan, time away from work, tuition benefits and work life balance are the main reasons I have stayed instead of leaving for a higher salary elsewhere.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    There has been a lot of growth and change over the past few years and not all of the systems and processes have been able to keep up. The new DCRI initiatives should improve these issues.

    Rat an das Management

    Continue to support your employees and reward them for their hard work and dedication to DCRI. Support the initiatives and work needed to constantly make the DCRI a great place to work.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-07-11
  10. „It's all about the mission!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Duke Clinical Research Institute (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I work with super intelligent, dedicated individuals who are all about the mission of the DCRI. I have been here for several years and see the work that is being done to make this an even better place to work. I get involved and being a part of the Employee Brigade has been great. We not only help patients, but the community around us. I am able to take advantage of the child tuition program and am saving thousands... of dollars!

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    We have to wait a year for our new building. NP is old and ready for an update. While I would like to make more money, there is no way I would go back to a corporate life.

    Rat an das Management

    Keep focused and communicating.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-07-11

    Reaktion von Duke Clinical Research Institute

    September 6, 2017

    We are delighted to hear about your positive experience at the DCRI. As you noted, in addition to developing and sharing our knowledge through our innovative research, our faculty who are practicing physicians, helps us stand apart. Furthermore, we are also highly committed to giving ...

    Mehr anzeigen
154 Bewertungen gefunden