Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Disney English | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Disney English

Aktualisiert am 23. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

137 Bewertungen gefunden

2.8
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
43%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
54%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Disney English CEO Bob Igor
Bob Igor
60 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (1)

    „Ok Company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Trainer 
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Disney English (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -Pay rate -Free Admission to all disney parks around the world -Lots of holidays off

    Kontras

    -Management could suck -ignorance/racism from parents

    Disney English2019-09-23
  2. „Great Experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Trainer in Peking, Peking
    Empfiehlt

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Disney English gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - Amazing 1 month training before you start teaching - Disney help settle you into China (Bank account, phone, social events etc) - Fun job, everyday is different - Disney perks - Great for a few years of fun

    Kontras

    - Wage is low compared to other schools - Not much progression available

    Disney English2019-09-12
  3. „Good Intro to China”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Trainer in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Disney English gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Hold your hand through China's often hectic visa process and guide you every step of the way. A built-in community of like-minded people are there to enjoy the experience with. Disney's benefits are great. The insurance is top notch by China standards and you get to visit the Disney parks for free. Also, they put you in a hotel for three weeks which is much longer than most other companies. Plenty of... opportunities to climb the ladder if you're interested in doing so.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    You're kind of more of a clown/ entertainer than a teacher. Serious educators will get turned off quick. But if you don't take it too serious you'll be fine. Commercialized education will always have conflict between the academic side and the sales side which can be annoying. The weekends are LONG and draining. A lot of the management is inexperienced and incompetent. There are other companies in China that... will pay much more although they won't have as good of benefits as D.E.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Sales and education are never a good combo. Be mindful of that.

    Disney English2019-07-16
  4. „You get out what you put in”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Trainer in Peking, Peking
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Disney English gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    If you're a positive person, there are endless opportunities for growth, personally or professionally. Everyone is in the same boat, they all moved to a new country and started a teaching job. The vast majority of people rise to the challenge and have a wonderful time here, it's a lot more common for people to stick around than the '1 and done' attitude at other TEFL companies.

    Kontras

    Like everywhere, the people who complain the most usually look everywhere but themselves to place blame. Moving to China is difficult, the company will help you but management are not your parents who are going to hold your hand while you cross the street. I heard people complain because their manager didn't offer to talk to their landlord for them when they weren't satisfied with their TV. Grow up.

    Rat an das Management

    Don't let the words of the entitled few impact the way you manage the others.

    Disney English2019-07-14
  5. Hilfreich (9)

    „Beware of what you are signing up for”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Trainer 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Disney English gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The kids are the sweetest and most enriching part of the job, and getting to teach them is an honor.

    Kontras

    The management is incompetent and gossips about employees behind their back. Coworkers gossip about each other constantly. There are days we had no classes but were asked to show up to work for 8 hours to literally do nothing. It is a completely dysfunctional work environment, and once you do start teaching classes the regional manager will come in and rip papers off your board if you didn't correct your student for... putting the tail of the p under the dotted line. The customer relations people would come into my class and stand around with a clip board peering and judging. The work environment was so negative and parents were so racist to one of my coworkers she was in tears. I didn't have a problem with parents, but with management. I felt awful for the kids most of all. l had a manager who never showed up for her one-on-ones, and in the time I was there the turnover was so high. I had two new bosses during the time I was there... neither were better than the first. One guy event went quit and went to work for a private school after two weeks. But being Disney English and all, the center won a trophy for lowest turnover rate. They are excellent at fooling you initially, but once you leave the hotel and the fun and games are over... once you start the job... it is truly a nightmare. The job has potential to be a wonderful opportunity, and it sounded like one to me. But poor management has really killed it. They really don't know what they're doing. I learned a lot from this negative experience, but if a positive experience is what you're looking for you may not find that. Some centers/cities are better than others... but please do your research. Talk to someone who has worked there on LinkedIn or something. Get their opinion.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Disney English2019-06-13
  6. Hilfreich (10)

    „Know what you're getting into...”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Trainer in Guangzhou, Guangdong
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Disney English gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I read all of the Glassdoor reviews before applying, and still wanted to try it out. There were, unavoidably, many negative things with this company, but there were a few really great things about living in China with Disney English. --The students!! They work hard and are really cute. --The coworkers and people in your community who become life-long friends. --The visa process, although stressful and... tedious, is one of the best; great for getting you IN to China. --your typical Disney cast member perks (tickets, discounts, swag) --The allowance of creativity and imagination during EOTP (End of Term Presentations) and "graduation" ceremonies; these were my favorite moments. --Your weekends are in the middle of the week, so it's great for travel. You can squeeze a lot of trips in, if you plan it right and budget appropriately. China is picturesque, so there's lots to see and do around where you live, and traveling around by public transportation and/or trains is super convenient. --A lot of people seem to find their significant other (either local or foreigner) whilst working for DE, hahaha.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    For every pro, there is a reflected con to match. --The students are phenomenal, and the reason I got out of bed each morning, but the PARENTS... the parents can be a nightmare, as the "Course Consultants" (CC) often lie about what's entailed in the class package. I've had CCs tell parents that their child would be completely FLUENT within the first year, so they'd complain and not want to renew because what they... were promised didn't happen. Many of the parents considered us a full-fledged school, and wouldn't practice at home; they thought that the two hours a week at DE was sufficient for language acquisition (it's not). Also, many of the parents struggled with the concept of parenting, and couldn't manage their child's behavior and/or left an ai yi or grandparent to tend to them -- many of the kids were literal accessories. Or, they cared way too much, and made their children high strung/overly stressed. I often spent most of my PTCs giving basic parenting advice. I left because of the sinking feeling of unethical practice. What DE is selling (for an ungodly, ghastly amount of 26,000 CNY per child, per year), isn't worth its price tag. Many of the staff are under paid and under qualified or just plain bad at their jobs. DE claims to care about the students and their families and "education," but they don't. Not at all. I attended two round table discussions with the "heads", and was displeased at their vision and lack of care for the company and its subjects. All the big execs care about is money. Money, money, money. Literally every decision is based on $$$, and nothing is based on the needs of the employees or students... because, after all, it is just a business. A messy business with notorious communication issues. --DE work culture can be a nightmare, depending on what center you're placed in. Your managers really make or break your experience. My LLD was barely there, but my Center Manager was INCREDIBLE. For the most part, we did well as a center but ALL centers were causing various levels of juvenile, impudent drama. The regional leaders were very unprofessional and vacuous; they played obvious favorites and ignored blatant issues. Our poor local staff was egregiously overworked and underpaid and miserable (only 3000 CNY per month, with possible bonus if you make your goals --- 3000 CNY was less than what I paid for my monthly rent........). There tends to be segregation, where locals hang with locals and foreigners with fellow foreigners, but I refused to let that happen at my center. Again, I was fortunate in my placement. I could not have lasted a year there if I wasn't placed in my center. --The visa process going IN was great, but leaving DE will be a nightmare, especially if you leave but plan to stay in China. I had many colleagues who toiled and clawed their way out. I left China, so it wasn't too bad, but it still was a bit troublesome (mainly because of China's infamously ever-changing regulations). --the perks are great, no cons there! --EOTPs were the highlight of my time in the classroom, but they were super stressful. Our center was very small and didn't have the resources or space that others had. The content itself is a mess. As an actual educator with a degree in education and certifications in teaching ESL, I found the forced "Disney Method" to be completely fatuous and stale. The entire program, its materials, and its software are overdue for a massive overhaul. They need real educators to create and source their content and methodology. It's all on the basis of parroting and pony shows. --By the time your weekends come, you're extremely exhausted. My beloved LP and I had ten full classes, with an occasional demo or event thrown in -- more than any of my coworkers. Most had six to eight classes. I actually had a male coworker who, at one point, only had TWO classes (but got paid the same as me?). With ten classes, I worked all of my lessons back-to-back, with parent care afterwards and little to no break time in-between to prepare for the next class or use the restroom. So, when weekends came, all many could do was rest and drink to forget their woes, haha. I did travel to many countries and cities, though, as much as I could muster the energy for. --As for finding love, I must warn you: DON'T DO DISNEY. Just don't. Please. It gets weird, and lots of drama will ensue. I've seen many fall to their demise because of it, haha. --Also, for POC, be aware that living in China is very, very hard. Racism and racial crimes are disgustingly rampant, especially in Guangzhou, and Disney English didn't have a safety/legal plan to support my friends going through personal hardships. The police are very xenophobic and, at the time of my living in GZ, were finding any reason to detain and/or deport foreigners. Make sure you follow local laws and keep your head down. Carry your documents always.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Listen to your employees and show them courtesy and respect. Learn to communicate effectively and efficiently. Hire and train professional, qualified managers, not just British white boys who stuck it out for two years in DE. Give more career opportunities to those who actually deserve it, and remove those who don't do the job at all. Create a plan of security and legality for your cast members, in the event... of an emergency. Give your local staff a break, and PAY THEM BETTER. Fix your curriculum and the package of the program itself. Overhaul how you sell it. Decide upon what you want the business culture and values to be.

    Mehr anzeigen
    Disney English2019-04-12
  7. „The magical world of Disney English”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - ESL Teacher in Guangzhou, Guangdong
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Disney English als Vollzeit

    Pros

    The money, healthcare, free Disney tickets, benefits of traveling to other countries. I'm enjoying my time that I have.

    Kontras

    Sometimes I think management needs to be retrained or just changed altogether but that's my opinion. It is how you make it. Try to stay positive when working at any ESL jobs abroad. Just always have a friend that you can trust to talk to. Not everyone here is you're friend (but that's with any job). Its only a year, you can do it!

    Rat an das Management

    Do more management trainings please!

    Disney English2019-04-27
  8. Hilfreich (6)

    „Fun environment”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Foreign English Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Disney English gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great co-workers Fun classes and children Great opportunity for travel

    Kontras

    some centers were too micro-managed work schedule is not ideal. you either have a tuesday-wednesday off or wednesday thursday off. Weekend hours were almost 12 hours long.

    Disney English2019-03-18
  9. Hilfreich (8)

    „Average”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Foreign Language Teacher 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Disney English (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Disney Parks access Great medical insurance

    Kontras

    Long hours Low pay

    Rat an das Management

    LISTEN to your staff!

    Disney English2019-02-24
  10. „Great fun”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich arbeite bei Disney English (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great benefits, and they have great training plans that we can be followed.

    Kontras

    Long day on the weekend

    Disney English2019-02-07
137 Bewertungen gefunden