Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Degenkolb Engineers | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für Degenkolb Engineers

Aktualisiert am 5. Feb 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

19 Bewertungen gefunden

3.6
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
75%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
58%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Degenkolb Engineers CEO Stacy Bartoletti
Stacy Bartoletti
7 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (1)

    „An Excellent Engineering Company With Wonderful Company Culture”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 8 Jahren bei Degenkolb Engineers (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Degenkolb Engineers believes in investing in their engineers so that the make their careers with our company. Almost all of our senior management started out as a young engineer and have worked at this company for decades because it's a great place to work. Work/life balance is important to Degenkolb and they try spread staffing evenly so engineers aren't working overtime. When you do have to work overtime all... engineers (except management) are paid for that overtime and are able to expense their meals and their transportation home if it's late at night. Degenkolb also allows for a flexible work schedule and telecommuting. Degenkolb highly values life-long-learning and will pay to send their engineers to seminars and conferences. There are weekly webinars on various topics that engineers can pop into if they're interested. We also have a yearly technical conference where all of our offices convene in San Francisco and present about the projects they worked on this last year. It's a way to get to know all the employees in the company and learn from each other. We value camaraderie and host monthly happy hour events and quarterly large social events. Birthdays and anniversaries are always celebrated. Finally, the and the collective knowledge and willingness to collaborate is excellent in this company. There is always someone who is highly skilled in a certain material/construction type that you can talk to and have advise on your project. This company pays well (we aim to be in the top quartile of what structural engineering firms pay in the bay area) and the benefits are excellent.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    While we work on a wide variety of projects in different sectors (Healthcare, Higher Education, Science and Technology, Bio-tech, Forensics, Commercial TIs, etc) some of our big projects can be demanding and have long design/construction periods. Some engineers in the past have become burned out on their project or the type of work and ultimately sought employment elsewhere.

    Rat an das Management

    We do scheduled check-ins with our engineers twice a year to see how they're feeling about our projects, but perhaps engineers don't feel comfortable voicing their concerns if the manager they check in with is also the manager on their project. Perhaps we should set up a system to make sure engineers are checking in with a "neutral" engineering manager so there isn't this conflict of interest.

    Degenkolb Engineers2019-02-06
  2. „Empowering Work Environment”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Degenkolb Engineers (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Personal and professional growth is highly supported. This is a wonderful company to learn how to be a strong engineer, manager, and leader.

    Kontras

    There is an expectation of excellence, which can be stressful to achieve.

    Rat an das Management

    The open and collaborative atmosphere fostered by the managers is a huge plus to Degenkolb.

    Degenkolb Engineers2018-07-30
  3. „Good work life balance and culture”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 

    Ich arbeite bei Degenkolb Engineers (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good work life balance and culture

    Kontras

    Don't do as much new building design

    Degenkolb Engineers2017-11-11
  4. „Leaders in the industry with complicated projects”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Degenkolb Engineers (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Really pushes engineers to be leaders in the industry with employees as key leaders in SEAOC, EERI, ASCE, AISC, ACI, and may others. Supports employee growth. Focuses on complex projects and pushes the limits.

    Kontras

    Like many firms there are peaks and valleys, the peaks of deadlines can be difficult on the staff.

    Rat an das Management

    Push for more work-life balance. Company tends to hire the best, but many can get burned out over time trying to do too much.

    Degenkolb Engineers2017-09-28
  5. „Engineering Intern”

    SternSternSternSternStern
     

    Ich habe bei Degenkolb Engineers gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    Knowledgeable people, nice environment, good benefit

    Kontras

    Sometimes boring and stressful working environment

    Degenkolb Engineers2017-01-06
  6. „Good firm, but don't drink the koolaid.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Design Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 5 Jahre bei Degenkolb Engineers gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good resources, good support for outside involvement and education, good projects if you are in the right group and/or work with the right PM. Some nice perks.

    Kontras

    Expected to put in time outside work on work-related things. Employment not as reliable and steady as they claim.

    Degenkolb Engineers2016-07-08
  7. Hilfreich (5)

    „Worst few years of my career”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Design Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Degenkolb Engineers gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    It's a great company to have on your resume, as it'll get you plenty of interview opportunities.

    Kontras

    They have a bunch of policies and perks (mentorship, work-life balance, continuing education, etc.) on paper, but management doesn't follow through on supporting this. Lots of arrogant engineers who can't admit any wrong. This so bad engineers from other companies talk about the inflated ego of Degenkolb engineers.

    Rat an das Management

    Tone down the arrogance. Learn to listen.

    Degenkolb Engineers2015-10-19
  8. „Looks good on paper”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
     
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Degenkolb Engineers gearbeitet ()

    Pros

    They have an outstanding reputation, have very skilled employees and you can learn a LOT.

    Kontras

    Salary is not competitive. Anyone without an engineering degree is treated very differently. Goals seem to focus too narrowly on raising the value of the stock

    Rat an das Management

    Focus on the long-term, and take into consideration employee feedback, outside of annual reviews.

    Degenkolb Engineers2015-02-11
  9. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great place and people. Could make better business decisions”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Degenkolb Engineers gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great culture and respect for work-life balance. Flexible hours. Pay was decent before they started having trouble getting work and went though pay cuts. Benefits were decent before pay cuts and cutbacks. Strong supporter of continuing education and involvement in SEAOC with dues paid for and at least $800 a year available per person for life-long learning seminars, webinars or whatever the person is interested... in.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Degenkolb was unwilling to modify their fee in order to place themselves more competitively in bids for a variety of jobs. This resulted in them loosing job after job and pushed them into more highly-technical jobs where they are still able to negotiate their higher fee.

    Degenkolb Engineers2014-09-29
  10. „Shifting Culture”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in San Francisco, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei Degenkolb Engineers (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great perks such as paid for cell phone, many free lunches, free fountain drinks, a beautiful work space and really nice celebrations for employee birthdays and anniversaries. Certain departments have outstanding leadership. Others have good managers, but lack genuine leadership. The company's culture is shifting along with the direction of the firm. I list that as a pro because I believe it could be an exciting... time.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Lack of value for support staff. Business run by engineers, not necessarily by individuals with strong business acumen.

    Rat an das Management

    Make adjustments to your business model that allows for stronger leadership roles from non-technical staff. Require an MBA for senior leadership/executive positions. If openness is a core value, you need to do a better job of painting an accurate picture of the business, strengths and weaknesses, finances, etc.

    Degenkolb Engineers2013-06-07
19 Bewertungen gefunden