Bewertungen für City Year Student Success Coach | Glassdoor.de

City Year Bewertungen für Student Success Coach

Aktualisiert am 12. Oct 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

12 Bewertungen gefunden

2.9
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
12%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
20%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
City Year CEO Michael Brown
Michael Brown
5 Bewertungen
  1. „Depends on School Placement”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach in Baton Rouge, LA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei City Year (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Team, Children, hands-on classroom experience. I enjoyed my students and my team.

    Kontras

    Under appreciated, untrained management, petty unnecessary drama, disrespect that you just have to take for the sake of a school partnership. Advertises that they care about our wellbeing but they don’t, they may as well be like every other big corrupt corporation out there. They show favoritism they preach inclusiveness but fail to provide that. To sum it up everyone in power there is CHILDISH and it was basically... a popularity contest so it was like I was in high school all over again. I agree with what they stand for but as far as how we’re treated and we’re just supposed to take it? Not fair.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    TRAIN YOUR MANAGERS! Corps members mental health is more important than school partnerships because at the end of the day, no corps members=no partnerships and vise versa but cybr needs major work and I wish you all nothing but luck on improving the corps member experience.

    City Year2019-10-12
  2. Hilfreich (1)

    „Tough, but worth it”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach in Chicago, IL

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Really rewarding job! Students are amazing. Looks great on a resume, especially if you are coming right out of high school. Can open up other opportunities in the school district. Given lots of responsibility. Although the organization gives you lots of requirements, you honestly don't need to fulfill most of them and no one will care, which can give you a lot of flexibility in how you want to structure your time... and what supports you want to give to your students!

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Micromanaging supervisors, long hours, too many responsibilities and not enough time to complete all of them effectively ("quantity over quality" mindset in the organization generally)

    Rat an das Management

    Do less! Hire less corps members, but make them more qualified. Have less programs (get rid of social-emotional learning, for example, as corps members are not qualified to deal with the various traumas of students) to allow corps members to fully invest in those attributes. Stop focusing on expanding and do what you already do, better. Also, time on task is a terrible measure of performance! Get rid of it. Get rid... of the 1700 hour requirement; it's pointless to stay after school doing nothing just for the sake of hours. Pay corps members a living wage!!!!

    Mehr anzeigen
    City Year2019-08-18
  3. „Leadership has forgotten the groundwork”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - meet new people near your age - the kids will bring light to your life - get an insider perspective in working in a public school system

    Kontras

    - leadership is incredibly naive about the work student success coaches are actually doing - expectations are hard when we're working around a school work day - your team leader will either make it or break the year for you

    Rat an das Management

    Cut down on the endless responsiblities and expectations. It's draining to do the work of 3+ different job titles (academic tutor, SEL support, after school, etc)

    City Year2019-07-17
  4. „It's Okay”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach in Chicago, IL

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - real classroom experience - tons of professional development - steady schedule (for the most part)

    Kontras

    -VERY long days - potentially long commutes - can be extremely difficult to collaborate with partner teachers in the classroom Definitely would only recommend if you have experience with working in the nonprofitt sector or have a genuine interest in working with children.

    City Year2019-07-12
  5. „Good Luck, it may or may not be worth it”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei City Year (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The kids make it worth it. Segal Education Award is a bonus.

    Kontras

    Impact Mangers just look out for their own- doesn't really advocate for you like they say they do. We have no say in how administration at the schools handle the partnership with City Year. Very stressful environment. Says there is support for Life After City Year, but there really isn't anything.

    Rat an das Management

    If you're going to mange someone, you are not able to maintain a friendship with them. The fact that someone who is in their early 20s have to say this to a grown adult says a lot.

    City Year2019-05-22
  6. „Great Experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach 

    Ich arbeite bei City Year (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Education advocacy and the experience working with kids.

    Kontras

    Hours can be extremely long. Managers can sometimes be unhelpful.

    Rat an das Management

    Better training of IM's

    City Year2019-05-09
  7. „depends”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach 

    Ich arbeite bei City Year (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great opportunity to be in the classroom and see what teaching is like

    Kontras

    Very mixed bag. The quality of your experience is very tied to who you work with in the classroom, who your team leader is, and who your team is. And you won't know this until after you start. The nonprofit definitely lacks organization and expertise. They take a lot of your time and at times I feel exploit the fact that you're doing service. Working with high school grads as a college grad can be a bit of... adjusting.

    Mehr anzeigen
    City Year2019-03-21
  8. „Mixed feelings”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach in Milwaukee, WI
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei City Year als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Valuable work experience, meaningful connections with students, learning environment, health insurance.

    Kontras

    Too much work, too few hours. Be prepared to take a lot of condescension from staff. Sometimes you won't get paid and there's nothing you can do about it. They misrepresented the benefits of working there.

    Rat an das Management

    Treat corps members with more respect.

    City Year2019-03-18
  9. „City Year Chicago”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach in Chicago, IL

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei City Year als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Tons of professional development opportunities, rewarding, promotes civic engagement

    Kontras

    Low pay, long hours, too many job duties

    City Year2019-03-10
  10. „City Year does not care for its workers”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Student Engagement was great! It was beautiful working with the children and the bond that forms is special. I liked that part of the job.

    Kontras

    City Year only cares about it's nonexistent data. Young managers do NOT know how to do their jobs effectively. One quit halfway through the year and now a whole team is without leadership. The pay is TRASH. 630 every TWO weeks in NYC and its TAXED. SIGH.

    Rat an das Management

    Put your workers first Stop paying your workers less than 2000 dollars a month (in NYC of all places)

    City Year2019-04-03
12 Bewertungen gefunden