Bewertungen für City Year Senior Corps Member | Glassdoor.de

City Year Bewertungen für Senior Corps Member

Aktualisiert am 10. Jan 2016

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

4.6
98%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
99%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
City Year CEO Michael Brown
Michael Brown
12 Bewertungen
  1. „Great for Recent College Grads!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. befristeter Mitarbeiter - Senior Corps Member in Denver, CO
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet -

    Pros

    -Student loans award after completing a set amount of hours (around $5,000) -Great way to develop as an individual based on what your needs are (leadership, diversity, real-world experience) -Regular training sessions that includes job interview prep, resume refining and college applications in addition to your needs in the school environment -They assist you with making sure you have a plan for when you year of... service ends and continue to network with you afterwards as a valued alumni.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    -Age range is significant, you could have corps members fresh out of high school and immature for a professional work environment. -Long hours... for a living stipend -The uniform -Physical Training

    Rat an das Management

    Off the same level of flexibility that you require from the corps members. A little more transparency will help corps members to work towards the overall goal(s).

    City Year2016-01-11
  2. „Great experience to learn more about your self and help others”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Corps Member in Washington, DC
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet - Vollzeit

    Pros

    - community - Unity (ubuntu) - planning/help with next steps - leadership development - resume builder - great results!

    Kontras

    - long hours and hard work! - sometimes disorganized - very large non-profit- businesslike atmosphere - cultish sometimes

    Rat an das Management

    stay organized, and in your lane: keep on being focused and doing the great public service you are doing !

    City Year2015-10-30
  3. „Great People, Great Work Community, Misguided Idealism”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Corps Member in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet - Vollzeit

    Pros

    Long-Lasting Friendships Strong Focus on Professional Development Great Brand, Awesome Connections, Always on the cutting edge

    Kontras

    Focus on "dropout crisis" without real discussion on opportunity and wealth divide/inequity Lack of focus on civic engagement beyond physical service projects In certain sites, not at diverse as you would expect

    Rat an das Management

    Focus on the first part of the mission. Really get involved with the community with regards to civic engagement via voter turnout, social activism Convene discussions, conferences and actions addressing opportunity, access and wealth inequity

    City Year2015-01-20
  4. „Great organization. The culture may not be for everyone, but if you give it time you'll probably fall in love with it.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Senior Corps Member in Little Rock, AR
    Empfiehlt
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet -

    Pros

    The people, the history, the idealism being put to work.

    Kontras

    Some of the organizational culture is plain silly and doesn't contribute much. Other parts of the culture are great and really add value.

    Rat an das Management

    Cut the culture things that don't add value and keep people from joining or continuing on. Publish the Idealist Journey.

    City Year2014-09-15
  5. „Life changing”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Corps Member in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei City Year -Vollzeit

    Pros

    I have worked at CY for two years now as a corps member and I absolutely love it. The culture and support of the company is amazing. My first year, I got to work with high school students who were at risk of dropping out. I have never learned more about what I wanted to do with my life until I joined CY. This year, I lead corporate volunteers in beautifying communities across the country. Both jobs, have challenged... me in different ways and has allowed me to grow. Teamwork and culture are the best part.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    You live on a stipend as a corps member and sometimes it is tough. However, you do get a $ 5,500 scholarship once you have completed one year.

    City Year2014-04-06
  6. „Corps Member”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Corps Member 
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei City Year -Vollzeit

    Pros

    The best part is working with the students and developing relationships with them. You learn a lot about yourself and the world around you. You develop a lot as a person and leader. The education stipend at the end is a great bonus as well. And you get a lot of free stuff.

    Kontras

    Extremely long hours and very little money. Also - there are a lot of rules that can be seen as constraining. Also - if Corps members around you decide to be negative, it's hard to fight it. Negativity and gossip can become a disease among the Corps members that can negatively affect your experience. Also - self care can become difficult.

    Rat an das Management

    Be flexible with the Corps members, and keep the mental health of the Corps members a priority.

    City Year2014-03-29
  7. „City year has supported me to grow incredibly as a professional and individual”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Corps Member in Columbus, OH
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei City Year -Vollzeit

    Pros

    Great Training and support for direct service with students Great Network opportunities Exposure to high profile community movers and shakers Amazing managerial and site support in plans for after City Year

    Kontras

    Inefficiencies in time entry systems due to nature as americorps program Long hours

    Rat an das Management

    Continue to "listen to the corps" as the answers are probably there. Open up a clear pipeline for Senior Corps Members to enter as staff if City Year is looking to expand.

    City Year2013-10-27
  8. „Senior Corps Member”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Corps Member in Detroit, MI
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet - Vollzeit

    Pros

    lots of opportunities to network, community involvement, exposure to other non-profits in the area, opportunities to grow and do things that you wouldn't normally do in an entry level job, fun work culture

    Kontras

    low wages (part of being in AmeriCorps), long hours, weekly schedule varies,

    City Year2013-10-24
  9. „This experience is life changing.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Corps Member in Manchester, NH
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet - Vollzeit

    Pros

    Extremely transforming work that makes a major impact in communities.

    Kontras

    Extremely hard job. Forces you to become introspective and understand the things you are good at and not good at. Challenges you to change for the better and teaches you how to become a leader.

    Rat an das Management

    I would be more intentional and consistent at the transparency you provide. Give the 'why' for decisions made, and give appropriate time for people to adjust to changes.

    City Year2013-10-15
  10. Hilfreich (1)

    „Hard work, very rewarding, transferrable skills”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Corps Member 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei City Year gearbeitet - Vollzeit

    Pros

    -Lots of leadership training -Changes the way you view the world -Engages you in communities -Awesome, engaging culture -The kids you work with will change your life. -Opportunities to learn lots of new skills and work with new organizations -Segal Award at the end--$5550 scholarship -Make lifelong friendships -Learn what you're good at and what you need to work on--I can ace job interviews now. -Free... cable/internet through Comcast -Community support/recognition

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    -60 hours weeks -Low pay ($500/biweekly) -Organization still learning what it's about, but growing well. -The culture isn't for everyone -Need to learn how to balance work/life while working here -Can get exhausted mentally and get compassion fatigue from working with kids in tough situations.

    Rat an das Management

    You lose a lot of good talent when your SCMs don't get offered positions. Work on developing their talent and skills so you can keep them.

    City Year2013-07-22
19 Bewertungen gefunden