Bewertungen für City Year First Year Americorps Member | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für City Year

Aktualisiert am 21. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.4
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
58%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
76%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
City Year CEO Michael Brown
Michael Brown
467 Bewertungen
  1. „Über die Maßen gut und toll.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Softwareentwickler in Gossau, St. Gallen
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei City Year als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    gut schlecht weiß nicht ok

    Kontras

    zu groß für mich, es passt nicht

    Rat an das Management

    bleibt so

    Übersetzt aus dem Englischen
    Original zeigen
    City Year2013-07-19
  2. „AmeriCorps Member”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great community, value-driven organization, diverse staff.

    Kontras

    Long hours, not a lot of upward mobility.

    City Year2018-03-14
  3. „Rewarding but Very Hard”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Team Member in Columbia, SC
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    experience of working with kids, rewarding, good on resumes

    Kontras

    long hours for little pay, but if you are doing City Year for the money you are confused

    City Year2019-10-21
  4. „Experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - AmeriCorps Member in Baton Rouge, LA

    Ich habe bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great way to network and get transferrable skills

    Kontras

    Management is messy. The pay is low. You work over 40 hours per week.

    City Year2019-10-16
  5. „Best opportunity I've ever had!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - AmeriCorps Member in New York, NY
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei City Year als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    -Became part of a family with my team members -The kids are the best -When you keep asking for opportunities and chances to talk to sponsors THEY WILL HELP YOU, you just have to keep asking for it with determination -I was interested in technology as my career field (whilst a lot of people are in teaching) and joined a group called Service Year. I participated in a contest and won a trip to San Francisco to meet... with other EdTech service members! -Talk about what you need & constantly give recommendations for improvement, especially when they're constantly asking for it. -Loved my manager, and my team leader -When you & your team strive for excellence, then it really shows. In everything. -The CYNY spirit. Honestly its corny to you at first but it's one of the things you love at the end. -While this may seem like a crazy, long hour, low pay job, it IS SO WORTH IT. As long as you stay determined & work hard for the kids and only the kids. The kids are what you're there for. -Monthly Metrocard (the best, you will miss it) -Perks (there are many which you will receive throughout the year, whether free food, meeting at fancy offices, getting NBC tours, etc.)

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    -The pay (which is increasing every year, so you'll have it much better most likely) -Other AmeriCorps members that don't care/don't want to do anything. Takes away from the kids' experience honestly -Just dealing with people I guess. But that will be part of any job you have.

    City Year2019-10-09
  6. „City Year Dallas”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - AmeriCorps Member in Dallas, TX
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei City Year (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    daily impact, supportive managerial team, training and professional development.

    Kontras

    partner teacher relationship can sometimes be draining as well as school climate depending on school placement. However, overall like most of life its about mindset and your perspective.

    Rat an das Management

    more clarity during admissions process

    City Year2019-10-06
  7. „City Year Boston”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Corps Member in Boston, MA
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei City Year als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    - Social Justice driven. You can develop great relationships with your teammates. Numerous training and development days (if you choose to actively participate and pay attention). I was placed with an amazing partner teacher whom I learned so much from throughout the year. You can really connect with your students. You're living on a stipend, which can be difficult (especially if you're a recent college grad paying... for yourself), but the benefits are great (Food Stamps and free public transportation [it really does add up] plus the Segal Award at the end of service is huge). - If you want to go into teaching or work with a non-profit, you will make great connections.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    - Although I was placed on a great team, in a great school, with a great partner teacher, this is not always the case. I have hard horror stories from my friends in other schools who often feel defeated and unable to make the positive impact they are hoping for. I have heard of corps members not getting along with their partner teachers. - A lot of IMs left last year, and I believe that is because City Year Boston... is going through a transition period where it is trying to find its identity. - Although I do support the social justice aspect of City Year, myself and other Corps Members found that this push for social justice and the conversations centered around it could at times go over the top. (take that as you will). - Also, super long hours and you have to make up hours for the days you take off (due to the AmeriCorps requirement of meeting 1700hrs). You would also feel a sense that you will be looked down upon if you don't attend any of the extra events City Year puts on (this is not necessarily on the organization, it's just a pressure that lingers over your head as a Corps Member).

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    - Keep training your Corps Members on how to Interact With The Kids! There is so much social justice training (which is important and necessary to understand the communities in which we serve), but it seems as though that is the organizations main focus, not the actual work we do with the students. But to be fair, there are great Impact Coaches who lead great coaching sessions. The main focus for most every LDD... should be about how to better interact with the children in the classroom.

    Mehr anzeigen
    City Year2019-10-07
  8. „Okay”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Student Mentor 

    Ich habe bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Teaches you valuable skills

    Kontras

    Long hour, no pay, demands so much of mentors

    City Year2019-10-19
  9. „Great for experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Team Leader 

    Ich habe bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    people are great. The students will boost the work environment. A growing environment.

    Kontras

    A growing environment so there will be some bumps in the road.

    City Year2019-10-01
  10. „Depends on School Placement”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach in Baton Rouge, LA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei City Year (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Team, Children, hands-on classroom experience. I enjoyed my students and my team.

    Kontras

    Under appreciated, untrained management, petty unnecessary drama, disrespect that you just have to take for the sake of a school partnership. Advertises that they care about our wellbeing but they don’t, they may as well be like every other big corrupt corporation out there. They show favoritism they preach inclusiveness but fail to provide that. To sum it up everyone in power there is CHILDISH and it was basically... a popularity contest so it was like I was in high school all over again. I agree with what they stand for but as far as how we’re treated and we’re just supposed to take it? Not fair.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    TRAIN YOUR MANAGERS! Corps members mental health is more important than school partnerships because at the end of the day, no corps members=no partnerships and vise versa but cybr needs major work and I wish you all nothing but luck on improving the corps member experience.

    City Year2019-10-12
1188 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden