Arbeitgeberbewertungen für City Year | Glassdoor.de

Bewertungen für City Year

Aktualisiert am 16. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

3.4
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
60%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
75%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
City Year CEO Michael Brown
Michael Brown
467 Bewertungen
  1. „Good for someone looking to get postgrad experiences in education/nonprofit/social work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Academic Coach in Los Angeles, CA

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei City Year als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Well-meaning people, good support if you know where to look and have a good team, opportunities for growth and leader ship, and of course amazing opportunity to develop relationships with students makes it very fulfilling in that way, good benefits and good education/nonprofit/social work skill building, L.A.’s teams are diverse and have many from the city in the teams which helps form a deeper sense of connection... to the community and students you serve, challenging in a way that will inevitably grow you

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Type of experience is Very dependent on the team you’re placed in (mine and many others I knew of were beyond great and a good team dynamic is what I depended on sometimes immensely to get through the most difficult aspects of this post grad experience, but those who didn’t struggled much more). wish it was used more as a gap year for highschoolers because it’s hard to independently sustain a living on what your... stipend pay offers (at least in LA) with little opportunity to get a supportive and sustainable part-time job given the level of daily emotional and time investment, something a recent college grad would need to do if they weren’t placed in their own hometown. Definitely a VOLUNTEERING position not work, albeit a great resume booster once looking for a real job. not as easy for or helpful for those not pursuing a career in the education/nonprofit/social work area and without an exit strategy you can feel a bit sucked into those career paths by the end/after

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Be firmer about work life balance, fewer surveys more responsiveness. Good end of year close-out programming though

    City Year2019-09-04
  2. „Positive Experience”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - AmeriCorps Member in Miami, FL
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei City Year als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Good support, and a great team.

    Kontras

    Long work hours with emotional stress. Low pay for the amount of work.

    City Year2019-09-04
  3. „Great experience for future teachers”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - AmeriCorps Member in Miami, FL

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei City Year als Vollzeit

    Pros

    If your on the fence about being teacher this is a good place to work.

    Kontras

    It isn't easy work, but rewarding non the less, still it will often take all your strength to be there for your students. Don't join if you aren't willing to go all out for them.

    City Year2019-09-01
  4. „Good place”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Impact Team in Chicago, IL
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei City Year (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Good people, great beliefs, for the most part a culture of caring...genuinely wants you to self care

    Kontras

    Lots of changes every year

    City Year2019-08-26
  5. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great experience, but HARD work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Corps Member in Los Angeles, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -The KIDS! Was lucky to work with some of my most incredible young scholars. They alone were the reason I showed up day in and day out.

    Kontras

    -Management seems to care little for corp members- instead emphasis is placed on appeasing donors and receiving fundraising $ -Hours are insane; 50 hours minimum which is considered overtime at most places is compensated with less than minimum wage rates

    City Year2019-09-03
  6. Hilfreich (1)

    „Tough, but worth it”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Student Success Coach in Chicago, IL

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Really rewarding job! Students are amazing. Looks great on a resume, especially if you are coming right out of high school. Can open up other opportunities in the school district. Given lots of responsibility. Although the organization gives you lots of requirements, you honestly don't need to fulfill most of them and no one will care, which can give you a lot of flexibility in how you want to structure your time... and what supports you want to give to your students!

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    Micromanaging supervisors, long hours, too many responsibilities and not enough time to complete all of them effectively ("quantity over quality" mindset in the organization generally)

    Rat an das Management

    Do less! Hire less corps members, but make them more qualified. Have less programs (get rid of social-emotional learning, for example, as corps members are not qualified to deal with the various traumas of students) to allow corps members to fully invest in those attributes. Stop focusing on expanding and do what you already do, better. Also, time on task is a terrible measure of performance! Get rid of it. Get rid... of the 1700 hour requirement; it's pointless to stay after school doing nothing just for the sake of hours. Pay corps members a living wage!!!!

    Mehr anzeigen
    City Year2019-08-18
  7. „No Clear Focus. Micro Managing and No Support for Core Members. No Diversity at the Top”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Impact Staff in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    It was a great item to include on my resume

    Kontras

    I was the new kid to my particular department who was blamed for the "ills" of my CY target area, but they could never tell me what my job was or what my SOW was. SMH. I had a superior (use that term loosely) asked me what supports I needed and did just the opposite. Excluded me from co-facilitating of workshops, retreats and collaboration opportunities. Had "check-ins" where I couldn't get a word in because she was... ready to jump on anything she perceived as a "wrong answer". Very Unprofessional. Long story short, I complained to HR and suddenly/abruptly my department was mysteriously "eliminated". Oooops. You're being let go because your program was a "pilot program". My "superior" couldn't even name 5 Americorps members.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    How can you serve urban schools when none of your executive board reflect the diversity of CY school partner's student populations?

    City Year2019-09-25
  8. „It’s very a challenging job”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Corps Member 
    Empfiehlt nicht

    Ich habe bei City Year gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Kids will melt your heart

    Kontras

    Staff expects too much

    City Year2019-09-02
  9. „Rewarding but long hours/days”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - City Year Corps Member 

    Ich arbeite bei City Year (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Pouring into the lives of the young people is always rewarding, even if you don’t see immediate results.

    Kontras

    The only con is that the hours/days are long.

    City Year2019-08-16
  10. „Impact”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Impact 

    Ich arbeite bei City Year (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Culture is dope, people are engaging

    Kontras

    No trajectory and no ablility to grow.

    City Year2019-08-27
1186 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden